Luigi's Mansion GameCube

Luigi's Mansion Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 161 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Luigi steps out from the shadow of his brother Mario and into the gloomy shadows of a very haunted house in this, his first-ever starring role. Armed with a flashlight and a customized vacuum cleaner, Luigi must rid the mansion of Boos and ghouls--and find his missing brother to boot. AsLuigi steps out from the shadow of his brother Mario and into the gloomy shadows of a very haunted house in this, his first-ever starring role. Armed with a flashlight and a customized vacuum cleaner, Luigi must rid the mansion of Boos and ghouls--and find his missing brother to boot. As Luigi, you'll search for the keys that open the many locked doors; vacuum coins, cash, and gold bars; and explore vases, bookcases, and drawers. From the brick-walled basement to the gloomy grounds, Luigi's Mansion is packed with chills, thrills, and creepy surprises. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. One of the most entertaining games I’ve played in a long time.
  2. 90
    It's not quite the flagship title you might expect for a Nintendo launch, but Luigi's Mansion is still a must-have.
  3. The graphics are top-notch, the sound is catchy and simply lovable, the controls are delightful and the gameplay is original and just so much fun. But the whole thing is dragged down by the frighteningly short game time.
  4. When you’re talking about a Miyamoto launch title, "pretty good" just won’t cut it.
  5. Fun. In fact, it's five or six of the best hours you can spend on any system this year. Unfortunately, that's all that it is.
  6. GMR Magazine
    70
    Like getting socks for Christmas, it's good and comfortable, but not what we wanted. [Feb 2003, p.96]
  7. Cheat Code Central
    60
    If you are a Mario fan, you'll probably walk out of the store with this one anyway, just don't expect the second coming.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 51
  2. Negative: 4 out of 51
  1. BennyF.
    Apr 4, 2002
    10
    Hardly played but it's GREAT!
  2. Oct 3, 2013
    10
    DRY BOWSER WAS RECENTLY FOUND IN LUIGI"S MANSION!!!! (This tells you how to fight him)

    Dry Bowser was recently discovered in Luigi's
    DRY BOWSER WAS RECENTLY FOUND IN LUIGI"S MANSION!!!! (This tells you how to fight him)

    Dry Bowser was recently discovered in Luigi's Mansion. You have to have 6 coins, 6 dollars, and 6 gold bars and also this can only be done in the Hidden Mansion. There is a low chance of it happening, but if you want a higher percent chance for it to happen, then you have to beat the game 6 times on each files. If you get it to work, after you beat Bowser and King Boo it shows a close up on Mario and he is still banging on the glass as if you didn't defeat King Boo. The lights go out and it shows Luigi's Poltergeist 3000 releases King Boo again and he going into the celling. When he does this you will see a picture of Dry Bowser on the celling on the room. Luigi will get sucked into the painting. you battle of the roof again, but the background is blue fire instead of red fire, and it is the same cut scene when you fight bowser, except it is Dry Bowser. King Boo has 1000 HP instead of 500 HP. When the fight is over, you will get 2 extra gold diamonds (The gold diamonds are Dry Bowser's eyes). After you exit the painting, the ending of the game will still happen normally and you get a picture of Dry Bowser and King Boo instead of Bowser and King Boo. Good luck trying to find Dry Bowser.

    I will be posting picture of the boss fight very soon. Probably 10-31-13 or 12-25-13. I haven't chosen a date yet. It is going to be one of those dates. And the place where I am going to release it has not been chosen yet. And if the pictures get enough publicity, then I will post my video of me fighting Dry Bowser. The boss fight is pretty hard (a lot harder than the regular boss fight). It is actually very hidden. From what I know, it can't be found when digging through the game's data. I will be posting more info about the boss fight throughout the year.
    Expand
  3. Mar 25, 2013
    10
    This game is a true classic. I have beat this game at least 7 times and it just seems to never get old. Even with today's consoles this gamesThis game is a true classic. I have beat this game at least 7 times and it just seems to never get old. Even with today's consoles this games graphics still look great. The whole concept is just incredible. I highly recommend this game. Expand
  4. AndyB.
    Nov 29, 2001
    9
    This game is getting a bad rap. I had TONS of fun playing it. All my friends like it TOO!
  5. May 29, 2014
    8
    An underrated GameCube classic. A fresh addition to the Mario franchise even to this day. The Ghostbuster like gameplay is addicting and itAn underrated GameCube classic. A fresh addition to the Mario franchise even to this day. The Ghostbuster like gameplay is addicting and it has a charm you usually don't find in Mario games. The visuals also look good to this day and the classic theme is one of the most memorable theme's in games. It is short, but those 4-6 hours are never boring. I reccommend this game to anyone with a GameCube or Wii. Expand
  6. DivineStorm
    Jul 11, 2008
    8
    This was one of the games I really enjoyed. It has nice graphics, sound and gameplay. Unfortunately, It doesn't last very long with its This was one of the games I really enjoyed. It has nice graphics, sound and gameplay. Unfortunately, It doesn't last very long with its low replayabilty and the game is very short. However, I can still recommend the game to those who like adventure games and mario fans will probably going to love this one. Expand
  7. LuigiJ.
    Jun 2, 2002
    0
    I really don't see what's so cool about some guy in green tights with a vacuum strapped to his back.

See all 51 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2001
#2 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2001