Luigi's Mansion Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 205 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Luigi steps out from the shadow of his brother Mario and into the gloomy shadows of a very haunted house in this, his first-ever starring role. Armed with a flashlight and a customized vacuum cleaner, Luigi must rid the mansion of Boos and ghouls--and find his missing brother to boot. AsLuigi steps out from the shadow of his brother Mario and into the gloomy shadows of a very haunted house in this, his first-ever starring role. Armed with a flashlight and a customized vacuum cleaner, Luigi must rid the mansion of Boos and ghouls--and find his missing brother to boot. As Luigi, you'll search for the keys that open the many locked doors; vacuum coins, cash, and gold bars; and explore vases, bookcases, and drawers. From the brick-walled basement to the gloomy grounds, Luigi's Mansion is packed with chills, thrills, and creepy surprises. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Nintendo Direct's 3DS Lineup
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. One of the most entertaining games I’ve played in a long time.
  2. 90
    It's not quite the flagship title you might expect for a Nintendo launch, but Luigi's Mansion is still a must-have.
  3. The graphics are top-notch, the sound is catchy and simply lovable, the controls are delightful and the gameplay is original and just so much fun. But the whole thing is dragged down by the frighteningly short game time.
  4. When you’re talking about a Miyamoto launch title, "pretty good" just won’t cut it.
  5. Fun. In fact, it's five or six of the best hours you can spend on any system this year. Unfortunately, that's all that it is.
  6. GMR Magazine
    70
    Like getting socks for Christmas, it's good and comfortable, but not what we wanted. [Feb 2003, p.96]
  7. Cheat Code Central
    60
    If you are a Mario fan, you'll probably walk out of the store with this one anyway, just don't expect the second coming.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 62
  2. Negative: 4 out of 62
  1. Jun 15, 2011
    10
    Well this game is fanastic! The first time I played it was when my Dad brought it home from his game whiz friend,Well I played on thinkingWell this game is fanastic! The first time I played it was when my Dad brought it home from his game whiz friend,Well I played on thinking well whats the point of this game? But then when I new what the point was it was one of the most fun games ive ever played! And can't wait for the release of Luigi's Mansion 2 for 3DS although I dont even have one..;( Expand
  2. Feb 20, 2017
    10
    I absolutely love the concept of this game. this isn't a traditional Mario game, and that's what makes it special. I loved exploring theI absolutely love the concept of this game. this isn't a traditional Mario game, and that's what makes it special. I loved exploring the creepy mansion and catching all the different types of ghosts was extremely fun. This game is definitely in my top 3 Gamecube games. Expand
  3. Mar 25, 2013
    10
    This game is a true classic. I have beat this game at least 7 times and it just seems to never get old. Even with today's consoles this gamesThis game is a true classic. I have beat this game at least 7 times and it just seems to never get old. Even with today's consoles this games graphics still look great. The whole concept is just incredible. I highly recommend this game. Expand
  4. AnthonyV.
    Sep 21, 2003
    9
    Its a very fun game. even though its kinda short you got to give the game some credit its the first game for luigi to star on his own.im so Its a very fun game. even though its kinda short you got to give the game some credit its the first game for luigi to star on his own.im so happy for luigi :) even though i like mario more i noticed that luigi never had the spotlight but now he has his very own game :) good job luigi Mario and Luigi forever Expand
  5. Feb 20, 2017
    8
    While this game suffers from low replay-ability and a lack of soundtracks, it makes up for it in it's engaging game-play and amazing graphicsWhile this game suffers from low replay-ability and a lack of soundtracks, it makes up for it in it's engaging game-play and amazing graphics that still hold up today. It has a simple, but interesting story featuring Luigi instead of Mario, and most importantly, it's a lot of fun! It is a fairly short game however, being only 5 hours. If you enjoy Mario games and are looking to play something that won't take too much of your time but will still be a really fun and different experience, Luigi's mansion is the game for you. Expand
  6. May 3, 2013
    8
    Luigi's first game and one of the creepiest games I've played (without the horror aspect), Luigi's Mansion, is one of those little gems peopleLuigi's first game and one of the creepiest games I've played (without the horror aspect), Luigi's Mansion, is one of those little gems people often overlook when it comes out. Fortunately people see the game's incredible impact now and frankly so do I. This time the guys at Ninty I guess watched Ghostbusters one too many times because this game just simply screams that movie. Luigi wins a mansion from a contest that he never entered and asks Mario to meet him there to see it. Luigi arrives at the location (which is conveniently in the perfect horror setting) and finds the creepy house staring at him in the face. Luigi decides to check the place out, but can't find Mario. Suddenly in the midst of this EXTREMELY dark place, ghosts attack him. Fortunately Luigi is sort of saved by an odd old man named Prof. E. Gadd. They both escape the overwhelming onslaught of spirits and retreat to E. Gadd's nearby lab. Luigi tells him about his predicament and asks him if he had seen his brother. E. Gadd remembers seeing someone in red enter the spooky place (undoubtedly Mario) and agrees to help Luigi find his brother and his missing ghost paintings that had escaped since the mansion appeared (thats right the mansion appeared out of nowhere right next to his house). In this game Luigi uses the only arsenal capable of defending against ghosts. A vacuum cleaner, flashlight, and cool looking Gameboy (dubbed Gameboy Horror) to hold data, a map, and find hidden items. The device to capture ghosts is the infamous Poltergeist 3000, which E. Gadd had apparently been using to catch the spirits all those years before. Luigi can catch ghosts by flashing them into shock, which then leaves them open to be vacuumed. The ghosts all have health though, and special boss ghosts especially have an enormous amount. The key is to explore all 4 sections of the vast mansion, while looking for clues on Mario's whereabouts. Eventually you meet Boos in the game, which begins a huge hunt for them while you progress in the game. Soon you find out that Mario is trapped in a painting by these fiends and you must catch them all to make it to him. The leader of this army of ghouls is none other than King Boo himself. This game is really fun, but what makes it so distinct is the concept. Ghost hunting is a very lightly touched genre in gaming and surprisingly it's a perfect fit for Luigi's cowardly, but reluctantly persevering persona as he desperately fights not only the many ghosts in the mansion, but his own fear to save his older brother. The atmosphere is scary for a Nintendo game. The dark portions of the Mansion bring on a very grumpy tune that I'm sure everyone remembers and it's unsettling, but charming to see Luigi hum it along to keep himself calm. The difficulty is pretty tough, especially during the black out scene. Overall though the game provides lots of entertainment but is kind of short. The sequel would fix this, but the game does not suffer much for its length. Collecting money really makes you a money grubber and gems are hard to get, but reward you in the long run. I would give this game a spin if your interested. It's really an underrated classice. Expand
  7. LuigiJ.
    Jun 2, 2002
    0
    I really don't see what's so cool about some guy in green tights with a vacuum strapped to his back.

See all 62 User Reviews

Trailers

Awards & Rankings

12
2
#2 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2001
2
#2 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2001