Mario Kart: Double Dash!! GameCube

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 271 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 271
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 22, 2012
    6
    Mario Kart: Double Dash is a solid kart racer that does what it sets out to do. It's fun in multiplayer and quite entertaining as a solo experience too. It is missing the 'x factor', though. It's not something you can put your finger on, exactly, just a notion that the game isn't as fun as it should be. The N64 Mario Kart had that special ingredient and so did the DS version. This GamecubeMario Kart: Double Dash is a solid kart racer that does what it sets out to do. It's fun in multiplayer and quite entertaining as a solo experience too. It is missing the 'x factor', though. It's not something you can put your finger on, exactly, just a notion that the game isn't as fun as it should be. The N64 Mario Kart had that special ingredient and so did the DS version. This Gamecube iteration misses the mark in that regard and flounders in the company of it's more durable brethren. Basically speaking, this is a descent game but there are much better karting games available. Expand
  2. ChrisM.
    Jan 1, 2004
    5
    This game has nothing on MK64. This game feels so slow and boring it is painfull. Not only that but it can be completed with such ease it isn't worth purchasing. Multiplayer is the only area where this game shines unfortunatley.
  3. JayE
    Aug 10, 2009
    6
    If you are under 10 years old or if you play the game with your little kids, then you will like this game. If you are 15+ after a beefed up sequel to MK:64, it wont appeal to you. The gameplay is too simple and there is virtually no skill involved. Winning generally depends on what items you get. Its a family game, not a racing game. Mario Kart 64 and SNES are much better games, they have If you are under 10 years old or if you play the game with your little kids, then you will like this game. If you are 15+ after a beefed up sequel to MK:64, it wont appeal to you. The gameplay is too simple and there is virtually no skill involved. Winning generally depends on what items you get. Its a family game, not a racing game. Mario Kart 64 and SNES are much better games, they have proper karts and require of skill and reflexes to master, and have that classic Mario Kart atmosphere. Dislikes: Crying babies, driving prams and other weird vehicles, no karts!, everything is too cutesy, unable to jump while power sliding, the frustrating item bashing from the CPU players when you are ahead, dull gameplay, cannot hold items behind you. Nintendo should have taken MK:64, kept the same gameplay and dynamics, updated the graphics and made longer tracks, and added more content. Instead we get Mario Pram:Double Cry. Expand
  4. Rikardos
    Nov 25, 2003
    6
    Disappointing - where's the look behind button? Where's the more complicated challenging tracks (even on the original the second cup started getting difficult - so such luck here)? Battle mode sucks! Where's the levels with elements to hide in or steer around when you're being chased - they're too small to do anything in (and that Gamecube level is a total waste Disappointing - where's the look behind button? Where's the more complicated challenging tracks (even on the original the second cup started getting difficult - so such luck here)? Battle mode sucks! Where's the levels with elements to hide in or steer around when you're being chased - they're too small to do anything in (and that Gamecube level is a total waste and lazy programming). Good graphics, sound and initially I was pleased but the hard turn without the hop doesn't feel right and makes it less precise than it previously was. A good game for people who haven't played Mario Kart before but old-time gamers prepare to be disappointed! And I've been a fan of Mario Kart from the beginning on the SNES but this ain't nothing like it! Expand
  5. DougF.
    Jan 20, 2004
    6
    It's not the better mario kart. i'm sorry there are not many things in this game.
  6. Wood
    Nov 3, 2004
    7
    good not not much in depth it all u do is win the cups murphy is so wrong.
  7. MarcusB.
    Dec 1, 2003
    5
    I will never understand how the Mario Kart series gets such high accolades. Sure, the multiplayer is fun for a while, but the cutesy graphics and repetitive gameplay drag this title down bigtime.
  8. JimmiA.
    Jul 31, 2005
    7
    Very good and funny. The big problem with this game is to short. I have done all races in 50 & 100CC in my first day (in I think 2 hour). And I haven play Maruio cart for about 3-4 year.
  9. Tonygoose
    Nov 14, 2003
    6
    its O.K. ... you can't hop in this game which was always one of mario carts best features. graphics are a 7 out of 10.. gameplay 7 out of 10. replay value 8 out of 10 ... control 8 out of 10 ...and originality gets 5 out of 10 ... over all i rated it 6 out of 10... i just think they could have left everything intact and also progressed the whole presentation of the game ... it doesnt its O.K. ... you can't hop in this game which was always one of mario carts best features. graphics are a 7 out of 10.. gameplay 7 out of 10. replay value 8 out of 10 ... control 8 out of 10 ...and originality gets 5 out of 10 ... over all i rated it 6 out of 10... i just think they could have left everything intact and also progressed the whole presentation of the game ... it doesnt feel that much different than mario kart 64 ... except for the double kart thing and taking out the jumping of the kart was there biggest mistake! shame on you nintendo your better than that! Expand
  10. RAV
    Nov 14, 2003
    6
    Some fun to be had. Screw the karts. Ive been waiting for a killer christmas game for gamecube and ps2. Xbox is the only system delivering, with rainbow six 3, topspin, amped 2, crimson skies ,a ll stellar titles. AND FABLE, NINJA GAIDEN AND MAX PAYNE 2 ARE ALL ON THERE WAY

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2003
#7 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2003
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 58 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 58
  2. Negative: 0 out of 58
  1. Weekly Famitsu
    90
    9 / 9 / 9 / 9 - 36 platinum [Vol 778]
  2. Yeah, we'll say it: Mario Kart: Double Dash is the most fun you'll have with a game this year. And probably next year. And maybe even the year after that.
  3. Between opponents' backseat bombers, traps, and other natural threats (breaking waves, thunderbolts), you'll need much more than a good drift technique to finish first.