User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 203 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 203

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 16, 2011
    9
    Solo mode is fun, but playing with others makes this game more fun! I like the whole idea of special items and 2 people of a kart! The tracks are amazing and there are so many things to unlock, constantly keeping you on your feet. I love how the character rooster was huge and the addition of some new characters such as toad and toadette. A must have for gamecube owners!
  2. Nov 7, 2011
    9
    It is one of the best Mario Kart games and the ability to have 2 players in each vehicle makes it even better. It really makes the game more customizable and unique compared to other racing games.
  3. Apr 22, 2012
    6
    Mario Kart: Double Dash is a solid kart racer that does what it sets out to do. It's fun in multiplayer and quite entertaining as a solo experience too. It is missing the 'x factor', though. It's not something you can put your finger on, exactly, just a notion that the game isn't as fun as it should be. The N64 Mario Kart had that special ingredient and so did the DS version. This GamecubeMario Kart: Double Dash is a solid kart racer that does what it sets out to do. It's fun in multiplayer and quite entertaining as a solo experience too. It is missing the 'x factor', though. It's not something you can put your finger on, exactly, just a notion that the game isn't as fun as it should be. The N64 Mario Kart had that special ingredient and so did the DS version. This Gamecube iteration misses the mark in that regard and flounders in the company of it's more durable brethren. Basically speaking, this is a descent game but there are much better karting games available. Expand
  4. Feb 23, 2013
    3
    This game is horrible. Why? Well let me tell you this. First up, the controls. The controls are HORRIBLE.
    Your characters move all over the place while driving, resulting in colliding with walls, CPU players or even items you would normally easily avoid like bananas or shells. Second, the tracks. They are not designed well and some of them are actually really frustrating (Like the Wario
    This game is horrible. Why? Well let me tell you this. First up, the controls. The controls are HORRIBLE.
    Your characters move all over the place while driving, resulting in colliding with walls, CPU players or even items you would normally easily avoid like bananas or shells. Second, the tracks. They are not designed well and some of them are actually really frustrating (Like the Wario Stadium or the ice stage). Next up is the soundtrack. For me, soundtrack is the most important thing in a video game and yeah.. that is lacking in this one. Not memorable at all and some are just a pain to listen to. The only real good soundtrack in the game comes from Rainbow Road, the final track in the game. It's also the only acceptable race track in the game. Next up are the graphics, which are honestly not that bad! Colorfull and sparkling, they really take full advantage of the GameCube capabilities. So yeah.. finally a positive thing about the game haha. Next up is the difficulty IT IS INSANE. Due to the bad controls you will swing back and forth in the track, making it almost impossible to get even first in the 100 CC Cups.
    Plus the bad designed race tracks adding it all up makes for a very frustrating experience. The CPU will CRUSH you if you can't handle the controls and that's exactly what's gonna happen to new players to the Mario Kart series. Lastly the replay value. Like in Mario Kart 64, you can play the 50 CC, 100 CC and 150 CC all of which are easy or terribly hard, depending which one you choose. 50 CC is the easiest while the unlockable Mirror Mode is the hardest. But other than that, there is nothing else you can do in the game but that is understandable in a Mario Kart game; It was so before in the past so I won't call it a negative point. In conslusion, Mario Kart: Double Dash!! is one of the worst games i've ever played in my life. Bad controls, bad camera angle, bad level design, frustrating AI and forgettable soundtrack makes this one kart game you DON'T want to ride.
    Expand
  5. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    I really enjoy this game but the two players to one kart isn't the best idea. I do, however, find that the fact that each character has his/her own special item. The battles are very enjoyable as well.
  6. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    I always have loved racing games, especially racing games with weapons, and if you use mario characters and not just use one character drive with 2 character simultaneously
  7. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    While the solo single player is fun, multiplayer is what makes Double Dash great, it's the fantastic, fast, dangerous game we've come to expect from Nintendo
  8. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    Excellent game, easily the best in the Mario Kart series. Has some of the most memorable tracks of the series but easily it's stand out is if you find someone else who loves this game as much as you (or 4 people ideally) and team up. The double Dash feature needs to make a return because it really added a whole knew dynamic to the game. There's nothing more satisfying than being so onExcellent game, easily the best in the Mario Kart series. Has some of the most memorable tracks of the series but easily it's stand out is if you find someone else who loves this game as much as you (or 4 people ideally) and team up. The double Dash feature needs to make a return because it really added a whole knew dynamic to the game. There's nothing more satisfying than being so on the same page as your partner that you can they can mushroom you over that short cut after boosting you round a corner and neither of you had to breath a word. Innovation at it's best that somebody should really take note of. Expand
  9. Jan 23, 2012
    10
    The first GameCube game I have ever played and the first Mario Kart game I have ever played and in my opinion, the most underrated Mario Kart game and my personal favourite Mario Kart game (though Mario Kart DS is better in a broader perspective). I love the two person kart mechanic where you can mix and match two characters and karts together plus the added teamwork with another player,The first GameCube game I have ever played and the first Mario Kart game I have ever played and in my opinion, the most underrated Mario Kart game and my personal favourite Mario Kart game (though Mario Kart DS is better in a broader perspective). I love the two person kart mechanic where you can mix and match two characters and karts together plus the added teamwork with another player, the gameplay is ridiculously hectic and fun, the track selection is one of the best in the series and graphics still holds up to this day. Today, I am still regretting the day I traded in this wonderful gem of a game. If you have a GameCube's, do not pass this up. It is one of GameCube's finest games it has to offer. Expand
  10. Aug 12, 2012
    9
    I'll say this right off the bat: this game is quite possibly my favorite GameCube games I own. If you're a big Mario Kart fan you may be wondering what is different this time around. Well, two big things: a co-op option and Special Items. The co-op option is usually more fun than single player and special items usually make for chaos. Especially DK's giant banana and Bowser's Bowser shellI'll say this right off the bat: this game is quite possibly my favorite GameCube games I own. If you're a big Mario Kart fan you may be wondering what is different this time around. Well, two big things: a co-op option and Special Items. The co-op option is usually more fun than single player and special items usually make for chaos. Especially DK's giant banana and Bowser's Bowser shell (a gigantic koopa shell). Probably the best Mario Kart of its time. Expand
  11. Sep 23, 2012
    10
    So many memories. Solo mode is amazing, great maps, fun characters, awesome powerups. But playing multiplayer is even better. I can't say anything bad about this game. Watch out for the flying blue bomb of death!
  12. Jan 7, 2013
    9
    I am a fan of racing games, and I have to say Double Dash is much better than what some of those purists are giving it credit for. The tracks are very well designed, and don't have those lame glitches the N64 version had. The music is great as well as the beautiful graphics. Since there is not hop to the drift, the controls are much better than in the previous versions, and just as good asI am a fan of racing games, and I have to say Double Dash is much better than what some of those purists are giving it credit for. The tracks are very well designed, and don't have those lame glitches the N64 version had. The music is great as well as the beautiful graphics. Since there is not hop to the drift, the controls are much better than in the previous versions, and just as good as recent Mario Kart games. The game is actually quite fast, but it just feels slow because the tracks are wide and the turning is not as violent. While 150cc is not as fast as previous games, believe me when I say that the game is still exciting. The co-op feature is not the gimmick some say it is either, it simply involves thinking things through and adds an element of strategy. I can mix and match different teams of the 20 characters. Single player is very worthwhile with the unlockables and different team combinations. Multiplayer is fun with more modes and a very workable LAN multiplayer. A few annoyances make this game less than perfect, however. The single player mode only has two modes (no free run?), and the characters voice overs will repeat themselves, a lot. I think the purists hate this game because it tried to be different or that the co-op feature requires a thought process, in which they show scorn for not being as simple as usual. This really is one of the better Mario Karts out there. The character list is great, tracks are awesome, and the 2 to a vehicle is not as frustrating as some say it is. While I do consider DS the best version, I have no problem with those that say this is the best. Very fun, and much better than the N64 or Wii versions. 9.1/10. Expand
  13. Jan 19, 2013
    9
    Following suit to its traditions of multiplayer mayhem and tight controls, Mario Kart: Double Dash adds new elements to multiplayer and beautiful graphics to create a truly charming game for the Gamecube.
  14. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    Mario will never stop being fun. And when there are other characters from the Nintendo universe, it was so fun. They never make games like this anymore.
  15. Jun 27, 2013
    8
    It's classic Mario Kart, only with tighter controls and a two-person twist. The courses are great, the multiplayer as awesome, and the game never seems to get boring. Pick this one up if you want a fun racing game. It's not the best racer on the GameCube, but it's definitely up there.
  16. Jul 7, 2013
    8
    Mario Kart: Double Dash is the quintessential Gamecube game for newcomers to the series and for experienced racers as well. It's unique two-racer game play sets it apart from the other games in the franchise, giving the beloved series a new and exciting twist. As if this wasn't enough, this title hosts what are easily the greatest battle mini games in the series. As far as replay abilityMario Kart: Double Dash is the quintessential Gamecube game for newcomers to the series and for experienced racers as well. It's unique two-racer game play sets it apart from the other games in the franchise, giving the beloved series a new and exciting twist. As if this wasn't enough, this title hosts what are easily the greatest battle mini games in the series. As far as replay ability is concerned, time has taken its toll on this title. With the addition of new Mario Kart games to the franchise and the death of the Nintendo Wii, only the truly dedicated are still playing to this day. That being said, Mario Kart: Double Dash is still one of the greatest party games on the Gamecube, and can definitely be dubbed as a racing classic. In my opinion, the controls work fine until it comes time to turn. If you're not using the L or R buttons, you'd better believe that you're going to fall off of the stage, because the turns are incredibly wide. Even with the L and R buttons, you'll still encounter momentary recoil that takes a second to recover from. In conclusion, anyone with a hankering to play a Gamecube racing classic should consider picking up this game. Expand
  17. Aug 10, 2013
    9
    Amazing entry in the Mario Kart series.

    The gimmick in this game is that you are two characters in one car. It works very well.
    The characters have their own special items and cars they can use, so that creates a great dynamic.

    The tracks in this game are amazing as well.

    If you need a GameCube game for multiplayer, this one is a must have.

    9 out of 10!
  18. Oct 25, 2013
    8
    Very fun as very unique, 2 people to a kart and special items are great features and bomb-omb blast is just crazy fun. No other mario kart will ever be this unique.
  19. Dec 8, 2013
    9
    The best game in the MarioKart franchise in my opinion. Previous examples lacked the precise controllability and graphics while later incarnations became way over the top crowding out the actual racing experience. The track choice in this game is large, the racing is close (thanks to items) and the physics are perfect for an arcade GoKart game. The only drawback with this game which itsThe best game in the MarioKart franchise in my opinion. Previous examples lacked the precise controllability and graphics while later incarnations became way over the top crowding out the actual racing experience. The track choice in this game is large, the racing is close (thanks to items) and the physics are perfect for an arcade GoKart game. The only drawback with this game which its successors addressed was a multi race championship ladder for multiplayer. Besides that though this is a great multiplayer game that will prove to be an extremely solid and enjoyable game decades on. Expand
  20. Mar 24, 2014
    8
    This game is pure joy. Especially playing against friends and family. The music and tracks are gorgeous, the gameplay is fluent, the controls are excellent, the amount of polish that went into this game is impressive. Personally I think MK:DD is the second best kart racer ever made (1st place is CTR), but of course that's subjective.
  21. Mar 30, 2014
    9
    I think Mario Kart: Double Dash is an amazing game and probably my absolute favorite Mario Kart game. It is full of a lot fun a creative courses, it is amazing playing this game with friends. It may not have some of the "bells and whistles" that the later Mario Karts have, but I still enjoyed it very much. I loved the fact that you can have two characters on one Kart, however I do thinkI think Mario Kart: Double Dash is an amazing game and probably my absolute favorite Mario Kart game. It is full of a lot fun a creative courses, it is amazing playing this game with friends. It may not have some of the "bells and whistles" that the later Mario Karts have, but I still enjoyed it very much. I loved the fact that you can have two characters on one Kart, however I do think that they should have at least had the option to play it traditionally as well, but I did like that they used that and I think that should make it return to a future. Mario Kart. Double Dash!! is my favorite Mario Kart and I think that all Mario Kart fans should try it if they haven't already. Expand
  22. Apr 21, 2014
    9
    this is my absolute favorite Mario kart game. having a player ride on the back of your kart sounds gimmicky, but it is actually just as fun as being the driver. I wish they would implement this more in future Mario kart games. the vs. games are lots of fun too if you get tired of racing.
  23. Apr 25, 2014
    9
    My favorite Mario Kart game so far. The two character racing is so much fun due to combinations you can make, the tracks are very well designed, the soundtrack is memorable, Battle Mode is an absolute blast and the visuals are really good. The game could have been a bit longer as you can beat this game in a couple of hours, but this is one of the games that if you have a GameCube, youMy favorite Mario Kart game so far. The two character racing is so much fun due to combinations you can make, the tracks are very well designed, the soundtrack is memorable, Battle Mode is an absolute blast and the visuals are really good. The game could have been a bit longer as you can beat this game in a couple of hours, but this is one of the games that if you have a GameCube, you should have it. Expand
  24. May 20, 2014
    9
    Mario Kart Double Dash shines it's brightest in it's multiplayer modes. The two players per kart dynamic is not only inventive, but adds a whole new layer to gameplay even when you are in single player. Ihope that Nintendo brings back this mechanic some way, somehow.... The actual gameplay is also some of the best the series has seen, the slide works very well (I don't miss the hop), andMario Kart Double Dash shines it's brightest in it's multiplayer modes. The two players per kart dynamic is not only inventive, but adds a whole new layer to gameplay even when you are in single player. Ihope that Nintendo brings back this mechanic some way, somehow.... The actual gameplay is also some of the best the series has seen, the slide works very well (I don't miss the hop), and nothing about it feels awkward as was the issue with MK64. The game looks relatively simple but has aged quite nicely, and looks as cartoony as ever. The music is kind of catchy, but I would not put it up there with the best. The courses themselves are a wee bit bland at times with some tracks being extremely wide with not a lot going on compared to others. However there are many memorable tracks such as Baby Park, DK Mountain, and Waluigi Stadium. Battle mode in this game is only available in multiplayer, but is an absolute blast to play in my opinion. Overall I think this is one the strongest entries in the franchise, despite some major changes to the formula. Expand
  25. Jul 21, 2014
    9
    Podría decirse que este fue mi primer videojuego. Venía en un pack con la GC e hice bien en cogerlo. Un juego realmente divertido y adictivo, podías repetir las carreras todas las veces que quisieras que nunca se hacía aburrido. El multijugador era genial. El mejor Mario Kart de todos, no deberían haber quitado la opción de dos personajes por kart, deberían haber dejado eso en todos.
  26. Aug 26, 2014
    9
    Yet another classic Mario Kart. I liked the double-kart element which added a nice twist to the gameplay and I liked how in general it was a bit more focused on skill than other Mario Karts. Great track design as always and visuals that were a big step up from Mario Kart 64 completed the package. This was also the last time a battle mode was good on a home console Mario Kart, though IYet another classic Mario Kart. I liked the double-kart element which added a nice twist to the gameplay and I liked how in general it was a bit more focused on skill than other Mario Karts. Great track design as always and visuals that were a big step up from Mario Kart 64 completed the package. This was also the last time a battle mode was good on a home console Mario Kart, though I still think Mario Kart 64's battle mode is the best. Expand
  27. Sep 5, 2014
    9
    I was very exciting when I wanted to get this game. And it did not disappoint. I expected it to be my favorite in the Mario Kart series…and it almost was.
    The control takes some time to get used to, that's the only reason I didn't give it a ten. Once you're used to the control however, it's incredibly comfortable and well done.
    Some tracks are very fun, sporting huge jumps, exhilarating
    I was very exciting when I wanted to get this game. And it did not disappoint. I expected it to be my favorite in the Mario Kart series…and it almost was.
    The control takes some time to get used to, that's the only reason I didn't give it a ten. Once you're used to the control however, it's incredibly comfortable and well done.
    Some tracks are very fun, sporting huge jumps, exhilarating views, sharp turns very fun to drift on and very unique parts. The music is pretty upbeat in most stages and it fits the stages very well. Especially stages like Mushroom Bridge and Daisy Cruiser.
    The graphics don't look too amazing nowadays, but I'm pretty happy with how it looks. It's got nice shading in the right stages and it sports some good colors.
    The gameplay is definitely the best out of any Mario Kart game, including two players in one kart adds to your strategy because each character gets their own unique item and you can switch drivers to keep an item in stock. It is possible to shoot straight from last to first, with both assistance from the Chain Chomp and using items which make you work to use them well, but end up being rewarding in the end.
    One of my favorite aspects of this game is the Battle Mode. You have your standard Balloon Battle, but you also have Shine Thief which is an excellent four player game and Bob-Omb Blast where the only item is Bob-Ombs which makes it completely skill based. It's fun with any number of players this game.
    The one player mode has some replayability, while the multiplayer has very high replayabilty. It's great for tournaments and parties, plus reunions and friend hangouts. I would highly recommend this game, as high as Mario Kart DS.
    Expand
  28. Dec 3, 2014
    9
    Fine, Petey, you can steer if you REALLY want to...

    Mario Kart: Double Dash! is the best game in the Mario Kart franchise. It has decent graphics and a wide character selection. The best part is riding together on one kart. My friend was a horrible Mario Kart driver, but he could always be in the back shooting power-ups. The battle modes were really fun, too, especially the Bob-omb one.
    Fine, Petey, you can steer if you REALLY want to...

    Mario Kart: Double Dash! is the best game in the Mario Kart franchise. It has decent graphics and a wide character selection. The best part is riding together on one kart. My friend was a horrible Mario Kart driver, but he could always be in the back shooting power-ups. The battle modes were really fun, too, especially the Bob-omb one. Hop on the back of my kart, we got some shells to shoot.
    Expand
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 58 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 58
  2. Negative: 0 out of 58
  1. 9 / 9 / 9 / 9 - 36 platinum [Vol 778]
  2. Yeah, we'll say it: Mario Kart: Double Dash is the most fun you'll have with a game this year. And probably next year. And maybe even the year after that.
  3. Between opponents' backseat bombers, traps, and other natural threats (breaking waves, thunderbolts), you'll need much more than a good drift technique to finish first.