Mario Party 4 GameCube

Mario Party 4 Image
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 69 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Toad, Koopa, and other party-planning pranksters have hidden birthday presents for their closest friends inside the Party Cube. To win the presents, Mario, Yoshi, Peach, and other Mushroom Kingdom favorites will have to plunge into a circus of minigame trickery. As always, keep an eye outToad, Koopa, and other party-planning pranksters have hidden birthday presents for their closest friends inside the Party Cube. To win the presents, Mario, Yoshi, Peach, and other Mushroom Kingdom favorites will have to plunge into a circus of minigame trickery. As always, keep an eye out for Bowser and his trouble-making goons. Even Whomp and Thwomp have rockin' surprises for you in their Extra Room. Packed with surprises, wild multiplayer action, and zany challenges, Mario Party 4 is your ticket to a good time. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. Does exactly what it sets out to do, and as such it comes highly recommended to anyone with more than one controller to their name.
  2. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    83
    It's kind of a letdown that the only major difference in MP4 is the sharp GameCube visuals. [Jan 2003, p.187]
  3. If your house is party central, you can’t go wrong with Mario Party 4. It’s got everything the previous games had (plus more) to keep GROUPS of two or more happily playing.
  4. While some mistakes were made in the making of this game, not enough were made to make it bad.
  5. 69
    Outside of... basic upgrades, there's nothing new about Mario Party 4... An absolute must-rent if you have a few friends over for the weekend.
  6. The GameCube version is, not surprisingly, the best looking of the four games, but it’s not the huge leap in visual quality it could have been given the dramatic improvement in technology.
  7. Game Informer
    30
    If anything, the game did show me how much torment I can put up with before breaking down, sobbing, and pleading to make it stop. [Dec 2002, p.125]

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 27
  2. Negative: 4 out of 27
  1. [Anonymous]
    Nov 5, 2002
    10
    Good fun if you've got 4 people. Its just as fun even if the people aren't gamers!
  2. HenryM.
    Dec 19, 2002
    10
    Come on dont be so synical you pile of boring old farts... its a laugh and if all you can do is sit there and groan about it, I really likeCome on dont be so synical you pile of boring old farts... its a laugh and if all you can do is sit there and groan about it, I really like the game and HIGHLY reccommend it to others and well done JUSTIN G (FUK!!!FUN!!!FUN!!!) I AGREE! Expand
  3. Jun 18, 2016
    10
    My favorite mario party out of all is this one. This game has fun and cool minigames that are memorable to anyone. The controls are great andMy favorite mario party out of all is this one. This game has fun and cool minigames that are memorable to anyone. The controls are great and this game 100% aged well. Expand
  4. JackH
    May 24, 2008
    8
    Believe it or not (most probably do believe it), the Mario Party series gets progressively worse with each new game. Mario Party 4 was my Believe it or not (most probably do believe it), the Mario Party series gets progressively worse with each new game. Mario Party 4 was my first Mario Party game, and therefore my favorite. See how it works? If you played the first Mario Party, then you probably think this game sucks, and rightfully so. Personally, I think Mario Party 5 is alright, Mario Party 6 is bad, Mario Party 7 is awful, and Mario Party 8 (which I do not own, thank god) probably deserves the scrap heap. The final boss battle in MP4 is great (although it has nothing to do with the concept of the game), and it took me awhile to defeat Bowser on his big cube that's floating in who knows where. Expand
  5. Jun 28, 2013
    7
    This is the point in the Mario Party games started getting repetitive. After Mario Party 4, they just all began to get worse and worse. ThisThis is the point in the Mario Party games started getting repetitive. After Mario Party 4, they just all began to get worse and worse. This is the last great Mario Party, however it's not as good as the ones on the N64. Expand
  6. BrendanO.
    Mar 24, 2006
    7
    It's not too bad..quite fun..but I'd definitely say that that Mario Party 2 on the N64 is by far the best!
  7. RyanM.
    Feb 10, 2003
    0
    The first one was great. the second one was ok. the third one sucked. Mario party 4 is a sick disgrace of a video game. If your able to getThe first one was great. the second one was ok. the third one sucked. Mario party 4 is a sick disgrace of a video game. If your able to get through one game without throwing up and getting sick in the stomach, god bless you. Expand

See all 27 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.

Awards & Rankings

#12 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2002
#22 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2002