Mario Party 5 GameCube

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 54 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 54
  2. Negative: 3 out of 54
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 15, 2016
    9
    Well Mario Party 4 was better than this one but is still great! It does have better and smoother graphics. The minigames are great and are very entertaining!
  2. Jan 12, 2016
    10
    This game has varied environments and very few luck based mini-games so if you hate luck based game play you shouldn't worry to much. your skill and patience is what will lead to victory.
  3. Jul 21, 2014
    8
    Mejor de lo que imaginé en un principio. Mucho mas largo también. Los tableros y los minijuegos eran realmente divertidos, jugándolo solo o con gente, no importa, este juego no es la obra maestra de Mario pero es mucho mejor de lo que parece.
  4. Jan 3, 2014
    8
    Mario Party 5 adds new elements that the series needed. The mini-games are a lot more and have a bigger variety, and the different maps are actually fun to play on. The game made tweaks and now doesn't lack as much as Mario Party 4. Because of that Mario Party 5 is worthy party entertainment game, Possibly one of the better ones on the Game Cube.
  5. Mar 2, 2012
    8
    Mario Party 5 has new boards, new mini-games, and improved graphics. It continues the Mario party traditions. Even though it is the same old idea, it continues to be fun.
  6. SolomonR.
    Oct 4, 2007
    8
    When i got bored of mario party 4, i found mario party 5, i didn't even know how to feel when i started playing, it was like a new experience, 3 more playable characters in 'party mode', all these different capsules, in fact i barely even play mario party 4 anymore, it was also smart that DK had became an ally instead of a playable character and helps you (especially in When i got bored of mario party 4, i found mario party 5, i didn't even know how to feel when i started playing, it was like a new experience, 3 more playable characters in 'party mode', all these different capsules, in fact i barely even play mario party 4 anymore, it was also smart that DK had became an ally instead of a playable character and helps you (especially in story mode) when you step in a 'DK space' which was new to mario party and it also reminds me of mario party 2 on the N64 with the past items like golden mushroom and normal mushrooms. Story mode isn't much of a letdown and at least it is not overly as long as mario party 4 story mode is, thank heavens. Expand
  7. EduardoR.
    Oct 21, 2005
    8
    Nice game to play with friends. Most mini-games are fun easy.
  8. JulianR.
    Sep 23, 2004
    10
    Das ist ein Super-Spiel!!!!
  9. Marioluigi
    Jun 25, 2004
    5
    This game looks great from the pics i seen but i have not played it but i will soon i just can not wait:)
  10. RyanM.
    Feb 20, 2004
    8
    This game has NO 1 player fun. You CANNOT play this game by yourself. Most of the time your waiting for computers turns to go by, and this is like in all Mario Party games. It's a multi-player experience, and with that alone this game can be fun.
  11. Starwarsspiderman
    Jan 1, 2004
    10
    This game is totally amazing! There is so much packed into such a small disc! This one is so much better than Mario Party 4! There are so many mini extras to enjoy when you and your friends want to play!
  12. BraynG.
    Dec 26, 2003
    10
    This game RULEZ !!!
  13. JOSHF.
    Nov 21, 2003
    10
    I Wish i could rate it better but it only goes up to 10.
  14. DaevoLogger
    Nov 19, 2003
    10
    I have bought and owned each and everyone of the Mario Party games, but this one is the best ever. Totally awesome characters added in and amazing courses. The extra stuff is crazy fun. I love ICE HOCKEY! The final boss battle against Bowser is sweet and the graphics are better than ever. The tunes are great and I've only stopped playing it to eat, sleep some, and write this review...
  15. SoulCalibur2
    Nov 19, 2003
    6
    Mediocre. The only thing that keeps this series going are the new and fun minigames you hope will come up. Unfortunately, the Mario Party series has been declining steadily. I think MP 3 was the best. Better graphics can only take a game so far...
  16. Mar 2, 2012
    0
    Mario Party 5 has new boards, new mini-games, and improved graphics. It continues the Mario party traditions. Even though it is the same old idea, it continues to be fun.

Awards & Rankings

#26 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2003
#24 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2003
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 33
  2. Negative: 3 out of 33
  1. GMR Magazine
    80
    Minigames, as always, tread a fine line between clever and stupid. [Jan 2004, p.87]
  2. games(TM)
    70
    The biggest enhancements come in the single-player experience - always the worst part of the previous games. This time, Nintendo has clearly put some thought into it and come up with a story mode that actiually has a point, rather than being a player-vs-computer rehash of Party mode. [Jan 2004, p.113]
  3. Edge Magazine
    50
    Were spirits to play a game while they waited in Purgatory, surely it would be Mario Party. It can take an age to get to the end, and the minigames are interspersed with a turgid board game section that tests the patience to its limits. [Jan 2004, p.109]