Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. 40
    The problem with Mario Party is this: the downtime is completely ridiculous. In a game where the sole purpose is to entertain you in a party-like environment, sitting out for periods of up to 10 minutes at a time, waiting for everyone to roll the dice, run around, shop for items, use said items, compete in stale, single-player mini-games, pointless microphone games and other random events drives one to tears of boredom.
  2. Mario Party 7 probably is the best game overall in the franchise to date; however, even with that being the case it simply doesn't do enough new to warrant a definitive purchase.
  3. Probably is the best game overall in the franchise to date, however it simply doesn't do enough new to warrant a definitive purchase.
  4. The storyline is so lame that the game would have been better off without it.
  5. The seventh iteration crams even more mini-games than you care to count, but sadly shies away from offering something truly innovative for loyal Mario fans.
  6. 60
    Doesn't offer up anything different here, with the exception of some new minigames and a freshly themed game board.
  7. The minigames are simply too short - newbies might find a game ending just when they've gotten the hang of it. [Jan 2006, p.125]
  8. This is yet another sequel for the fans of the series that don't want anything more than a comfortable dip in the same old pool.
  9. It's such a shame that Nintendo - the creator of Mario Kart, which is arguably the most fun you can have with platonic friends - just can't seem to sort Mario Party's problems out, even for the seventh instalment in the series. Roll on number eight, eh.
  10. 60
    And what's with all the text? One thing that continually aggravated our group of casual gamer test subjects (relatives we roped into playing) was the inordinate amount of text you need to wade through while you're playing.
  11. There are plenty of better ways to do a bunch of crap with your friends that isn't ay fun and doesn't make any sense, like hiding batteries in people's shoes. [Dec 2005, p.178]
  12. 80
    For those of you who party religously, you won't be disappointed. [Jan 2006, p.80]
  13. This latest Party shows too many similarities to last year's part six, and not nearly enough improvements. Fans can dig in, but the rest of us need a livelier Party.
  14. For the eighth installment we recommend a speed play option; until then the party will have to get along without us.
  15. It's not dramatically different from Mario Party 6 or, frankly, any of the other Mario Party games, but as a cheery collection of simple pick-up-and-play minigames that's well suited for younger and more-casual players, it still works.
  16. 80
    It's better than the last game but not all that innovative. Of course, until somebody else steps up and makes a great party game, Mario Party's the only gig in town.
  17. Looks, feels, and plays exactly like every other Mario Party ever made. The new 8-player games, new boards, and new minigames aren't enough to differentiate it from anything else you've seen served up by the pudgy plumber and friends.
  18. 70
    To its credit, the title delivers some fun new boards and mini-games, and the multiplayer experience is as robust and enjoyable as ever. But it in contrast dishes out a worthless single-player mode marred by tediously slow computer-controlled character interactions.
  19. 75
    Mario Party 7 offers much love to everyone that will take it. The mic is accurate and responsive, no complaints there, though it would have been nice to have a few more mini-games that actually involved it.
  20. Unless there is a vested interest in this game, it is not really worth getting.
  21. Basically Mario Party 6, but with less fun and [fewer] new ideas.
  22. Adds some nice new features to the tried-and-true formula. [Jan 2006, p.110]
  23. The game is very challenging, and trying to collect all of the mini-games is rewarding. I will be playing this one even on my Revolution next year.
  24. Takes you back to the world of minigames. It seems like the best ideas are already used, though. Only the mic games are slightly refreshing. [Jan 2006]
  25. For new players or rabid fanatics, Mario Party 7 is a respectable addition to the series. But for anyone expecting to have a great time with less than four people, this release can kill the party instead of starting it.
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. JackH
    May 24, 2008
    3
    Unfortunately, this is a sad repeat of a tiresome series. It probably would have been best if Nintendo had stopped with the third Mario Unfortunately, this is a sad repeat of a tiresome series. It probably would have been best if Nintendo had stopped with the third Mario Party. But as long as there are new gamers, there will be a new Mario Party, so there will probably be more Mario Party games than Super Bowls by 2030. You know, I'm not even sure why I bought this game in the first place. Why did I expect there to be anything new or interesting about this version? This is truly Mario's low point. Even Mario himself would be baffled as to why there are 7 (SEVEN!!!) games in this series. Don't get me wrong, I like Nintendo, but I think that they need to put an end to this. To those who gave this game a 10, this is your first Mario Party game, isn't it? I for one know that this game is a repeat of an OK game. Even back when I actually liked this series (Mario Party 4), I most certainly would not have given it a 10. An 8, maybe, but not a 10. What's wrong with you all? This whole game is based on LUCK. Basically, that means that the single player is pointless. The only reason to play this game is for the mini games, and 1) you need to play single player to even get the mini games, and 2) not even half of the mini games are any good anyway. The only reason that I would bring out Mario Party 7 now is if I were desperate to entertain company, and I have much better games for that. That is, unless I have an ignorant 4 year old over, which has like a 1 in 1,999,999,999 chance of happening. Plus, what makes this game worse is that there is no final boss battle! The boss battle against Bowser in Mario Party 4 was awesome. It took me a while to finally beat that guy on his evil cube of death. Heck, even Mario Party 5 wasn't that bad. 6 and 7 have been awful, though, and they make me have nightmares at night about a possible Mario Party 50. Man, that gives me the shivers. Full Review »
  2. J.L.Toledo
    Jul 21, 2006
    5
    Waths wrong with nintendo? Are they losing the creativity so thats why they keep repeating the same game with the same things? They are just Waths wrong with nintendo? Are they losing the creativity so thats why they keep repeating the same game with the same things? They are just using Mario so they can win money, the microphone is not fun and you will just usit once. And finally, the game takes forever, its not even a party, i will call i t "Mario wait in the line 7". Full Review »
  3. 160R
    Nov 11, 2005
    10
    One thing some casuals don't understand is why some gamers pick Nintendo's console instead of a playstation. Well, of course one of One thing some casuals don't understand is why some gamers pick Nintendo's console instead of a playstation. Well, of course one of the main points is the "play with friends support" with a great quantity of games featuring 4 players on 1 screen (Mario Parties, 1080º: Avalanche, Final Fantasy: Crystal Chronicles, F-Zero GX, Metroid Prime 2, Geist, Harvest Moon: Poem of Happiness, Custom Robo, Legend of Zelda Four Swords, Kururin Squash, Pac-Man VS, Phantasy Star Online Episode III: C.A.R.D. Revolution, Pokemon Colosseum or XD, Kirby Air Ride, Wave Race Blue Storm, Viewtiful Joe Red Hot Rumble, WWE Day of Reckoning 1 or 2, Tube Slider, Wario Ware: Mini Games Inc., Super Smash Bros. Melee, StarFox Assault, Mario Power Tennis, Nintendo Puzzle Collection, Naruto 3 or 4, Mario Kart Double Dash, Donkey Kongas, Mr Driller Drill Land,...) for name some of the exclusive GC 4 player games. Well, Mario Party 7 makes a big step and offers 8 player support in the same screen at same time with only 4 controllers. That's nothing new because it really appeared in Micromachines 64, based on the GameGear's micromachine multiplayer (and I'm sure some other game have used this idea) but it's really worth that the Mario Party saga uses this idea. If Mario Parties were funny with 3 friends, think about 7 friends. If there is something bad in this game isn't the 1 player mode because it's really a multiplayer game. I see 1 player mode just like an addition instead of a game mode. There are some details could be improved like (in my opinion) get Waluigi out of the saga (I hate it), and definitily remove the weird capsule balls that makes the game in boards slower and gives more chances to luck than hability. Board game seems too slow to you? Then play directly to the minigames, of course you can. Full Review »