User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 179 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 179

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 4, 2011
    10
    Here's my Top 50 games of all time:

    The Legend of Zelda a Link to the Past
    Super Metroid
    The Legend of Zelda
    Metroid Prime (Trilogy)
    Banjo-Kazooie
    Resident Evil 4
    Tetris DS
    Words with Friends (Scrabble)
    Super Mario Galaxy
    Mike Tysonâ
  2. Nov 5, 2011
    9
    While not as good as Metroid Prime, the improved graphics, the addition of new suits and powerups, as well as the light and dark world, makes this a very compelling experience that everyone should play. Lore is as good as always, bosses are very fun to kill, and the general feel of the game is very polished. And also, hard difficulty really means hard. Really. Also features multiplayer, but it's not very good to be honest. That would be the con of the game. 9/10. Expand
  3. Sep 28, 2011
    7
    Funny how I read a few reviews and people compared this game to Halo 2 as if Nintendo and Microsoft are having a "who has the biggest dick" contest and are throwing out their armored space-fighters to do the talking. I played Halo 2 on the PC and thought it was **** but everyone says the port was **** so who cares. The PC of Halo 1, however, was supposed to be good and I found it boring. Why people have to make the Halo v Metroid comparison is just baffling. Metroid is clearly better because it isn't nearly as boring. The environments are way nicer. And Samus is much more appealing than Master Chief. So can we stop comparing now? Metroid Prime 2: Echoes is a sequel to the stupendous Metroid Prime. While I expected MP2 to not out-do the predecessor, I didn't think it'd falter this much. Then again, I consider the first to be nearly flawless while the second doesn't feel quite like a Metroid game should. That isn't to say that it's bad. But it just feels out of place in Metroid continuity so it's an awkward fit. What's good? Envinroments are as nice as ever, better detailed this time around. You also get to encounter friendly aliens for once in your miserable life. They are the Luminoth and they don't want you to be assimilated, but, instead, help them fight the Ing, a race of dark monsters that were created by some kind of weird disaster. The corrupt living and dead things to do their bidding, Borg style (I guess you might get assimilated after all). But where's all the Metroid **** we had to deal with in the last game? Well, for those who managed to get 100% completion in the first game, you'll see that Metroid Prime's new form (ala Dark Samus) is a main antagonist to the game, but lacks the tension that SA-X brought to the evil-Samus-clone department. Also, for some reason, there are space pirates here and they brought Metroids so that way this can still be called a Metroid game. Like I said, the story in this game doesn't quite mesh with the rest of the Prime trilogy and I don't like that. I'm also not a fan of ammunition for Samus' lasers. Yes, it may make it feel like every other bull**** FPS game that is out on consoles these days, but Metroid is better than those and doesn't need to be trying to copy those bastards. Besides, we all know that Dark beam is the same as the "Ice Beam" and that the light beam is the same as the "Plasma beam". Let's just drop the shenanigans and leave the ammunition limits to missiles like they've always been, okay? I would argue, however, this game is definitely harder than the first, but not impossible. It's just that the environments don't feel nearly as linear. So getting lost might happen from time to time. Not to mention that going between Light World and Dark World will force you to search through twice as many areas. And let's not forget that Dark World hurts you where as, in Zelda Tradition, it just makes you see prisoners of some dark magic spell and fight chickens. The addition of a multiplayer feature is definitely awesome, but I feel it lacks something. I love being able to see who the better Samus is. But there are so few levels (even if you can unlock two of them) and there isn't a lot of variety to really make the game challenging. Maybe if they included some maps from Metroid Prime 1 and allowed you to use characters from Metroid Prime Hunters, then it might be a lot better. As it stands, however, multiplayer is fun for a bit, but gets old fast. On the whole, MP2E is a good game, but it is well overshadowed by Metorid Prime 1. It still does a lot right, but I just think the crippling issue is that the story seems a little out of place. Lack of Kraid got some fans pissed at MP1. Now we don't even have Ridley and the pirates aren't that big a deal anymore. Now it's a bunch of shadow-bugs or whatever. I'd say this game is still worth getting, or at least renting. Expand
  4. Jun 16, 2014
    10
    While not quite as good as the original, Metroid Prime 2 Echoes still contains the excellent immersion, atmosphere and level design. It is also darker and more challenging than Prime. If you didn't like Prime you won't like this, but if you did you'll love this also.
  5. Apr 28, 2011
    8
    Metroid Prime 2: Echoes is -- in some aspects -- an improvement over the first game. Pros: Fantastic graphics and visuals; the gameplay is an excellent mixture of FPS and action-adventure elements. Cons: A tad bit too reliant on backtracking; the multi-player is unimpressive.
  6. Jun 14, 2011
    8
    Though it's not quite as memorable as the first game, Metroid Prime 2: Echoes is an excellent sequel that's beautifully polished and -- in some aspects -- better looking. Pros: Excellent graphics, control, and sound; involving story; stunning visuals; challenging. Cons: No widescreen mode; weak save system; multiplayer feels secondary.
  7. May 26, 2011
    10
    I liked this game better than its predecessor because it's easier. Not only that, but this FPS looks great. The dark, brooding atmospheres, accompanied with eerie music make for a chilling experience, especially when you turn around to see an alien making a beeline towards you.
  8. Sep 10, 2011
    9
    To me this is a far more superior game than the first game, it is more fun, has better looking graphics, great boss battles, and fantastic gameplay and music.
  9. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    the best gameplay ive ever experienced,full of puzzles action and platforms, technically flawless MASTERPIECE
  10. Mar 21, 2012
    9
    outstanding game......my friend insults nintendo a lot for no reason..............trully though i ony played an hour of this and i love this game............the controls might be alittle confusing at first which can tick people off with no patience........nintendo desercves praise and loades of credit...and if your like my friend who likes to insult nintendo because you have horrible video game ystems like hime then dont say anything......i mean who seriously insults the wii or nintendo when you have only a ps2 to back you up...........ps2 has poor graphics which my friend likes to insult nintendo about if he cant think of anything..........all i can say is leave nintendo alone they did their job and they rock!!!!!!! Expand
  11. Nov 24, 2013
    9
    A solid and safe sequel to one of the best games ever made. It's not AS good though. It has a few pacing problems as you will be backtracking a lot, through light and dark. The dark world has the same layout as the light world so you'll be going through the same areas a lot. Being the hardest out of the series didn't make it more enjoyable. But if you persevere you will find that Prime 2 does do a lot of things right like Prime 1. 9/10 Expand
  12. Jun 27, 2013
    8
    The original Metroid Prime was a masterpiece, without a doubt, so Metroid Prime 2: Echoes had I a lot to live up to. While it's not as good as the original, it's still pretty fun. The mechanics are just as solid as the first, the world is large and full of interesting environments, and the boss battles are all well done (except for the Boost Guardian). The light and dark world mechanic is interesting, but it really doesn't make the game any more fun. If anything, going back and forth between worlds is just a bit tedious. Also, the dark world is very annoying.
    This is still a great game, however it is a bit disappointing given it's outstanding first installment.
    Expand
  13. Dec 23, 2013
    8
    Hmmm... I loved the first Prime, absolutely loved it. This one I didn't love quite as much at the beginning. Maybe because it just seemed the first game couldn't be topped, and for some reason this one didn't reel me in right away. I even quit playing it halfway through. Then when I came back after a six month hiatus and tried picking it up again, I seemed to enjoy it much better. The further you dig the better it gets. Expand
  14. Apr 25, 2013
    2
    Most people like games because of gameplay, graphics, how hard it was... but this game is hard to get into. The first level involves running around with virtually no direction given, and the second is worse, as you have to look for several keys with even less direction. Funnily enough, if you could save whenever you wanted, it might get a 3, but it screws that up too. You have to backtrack all the way to your ship to save. No thanks, this game is strictly for Sci-fi nerds. Expand
  15. Jun 2, 2013
    9
    It's probably the best game that was released that year (2004) and is a solid entry in a terrific series that has always offered deep and immersive gameplay. You could say that the first Metroid Prime is superior at a casual glance, but for some reason this one feels more satisfying on multiple playthroughs. Loses one point for the key quest towards the end, which is a bit tedious.
  16. May 16, 2013
    10
    The graphics and controls for Metroid Prime 2: Echoes are very good and the boss battles are challenging and great. But I didn't care for the mutli-player mode because the modes that's offered in it is very limit.
  17. Feb 2, 2014
    9
    Very good sequel that builds on a lot of tried and true.
    That is not it so fascinating as its predecessor is logical.
    Despite it offers tons of gaming fun.
  18. Aug 29, 2013
    10
    Metroid prime 2 echoes is my absolute favorite in the series. I did play this on metroid prime trilogy so I won't talk about the controls. The story is amazing even if it is simple and straight forward the graphics are great but again I am playing on the Wii. I know that one of the biggest complaints id the fact that your beams use ammo I think that's one of the best parts of this game in metroid prime 1 when you get a new beam it is stronger and you never have to use the weaker power beam but in echoes it causes you to be smart when should you use certain beams it make the game much more challenging. If you are on the fence about buying it I would say get it it is well worth your money Expand
  19. Nov 22, 2013
    8
    I'm giving this an 8 since the levels look the same especially Dark Aether. Sure it supposed to be dull and colorless since, well its Aethers dark twin. This game is a little more suggestive then the first Metroid Prime since enemies now are a lot more scary looking and sounds from them sound very vicious. Multiplayer is so so
  20. May 27, 2014
    10
    Graphics: 9.8 Sound: 10 Gameplay: 10 Fun/Story: 10

    A beautiful, natural and darker sequel of Metroid Prime. Perhaps not having the same surprise factor, but a really great game.
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 60 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 60
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 60
  3. Negative: 0 out of 60
  1. 100
    To match such thrill-a-minute environments, the level design, puzzles, and boss fights are all insanely original.
  2. Other than a few superficial tweaks and some vanilla, offline multiplayer, the rest is exactly like the first Prime.
  3. 90
    Whilst none of the levels quite match up to the stunning quality that was Phendrana Drifts, it is, as a sum of its parts, wonderfully evocative as a playing experience and induces the same level, if not more, of internal satisfaction that Prime achieved.