Metroid Prime 2: Echoes GameCube

Metroid Prime 2: Echoes Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 60 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 294 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The sequel to Metroid Prime puts you in the role of bounty hunter Samus Aran once again. Your mission is to locate federation troopers who are missing on Aether--a planet torn into light and dark domains. To help you travel through the depths of light and dark, you'll have all-new beamThe sequel to Metroid Prime puts you in the role of bounty hunter Samus Aran once again. Your mission is to locate federation troopers who are missing on Aether--a planet torn into light and dark domains. To help you travel through the depths of light and dark, you'll have all-new beam weapons, a screw attack, and power-ups. Eliminate your enemies, solve puzzles, and open doors in an effort to restore peace to Aether. Metroid Prime 2: Echoes also features competitive multiplayer modes supporting up to four players. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 60
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 60
  3. Negative: 0 out of 60
  1. 100
    To match such thrill-a-minute environments, the level design, puzzles, and boss fights are all insanely original.
  2. Nothing comes close to the feeling you get when the Eznite shuts down your systems for the first time and you have to reboot.
  3. It's not dramatically different from the original but, man, is it fun. Metroid Prime 2: Echoes is a title every GameCube owning shooter fan should have.
  4. The Dark Aether parts of the game added quite a bit of backtracking and mapping which really took me out of the experience more than I'd have liked. Still, the game is better than almost any other released this year, so it's definitely worth picking up.
  5. The great graphics, excellent gameplay and intriguing story line will have gamers glued to their GameCube for hours.
  6. Features a lot more action, is much more story driven, has better graphics and sound, and the game is a lot harder than its predecessor was.
  7. The constant scanning slows down the game, and the generic soundtrack does little to create any drama. But Metroid fans just want to play as Samus. And what's thrilling for those folks is the multiplayer action.

See all 60 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 86 out of 98
  2. Negative: 6 out of 98
  1. Samus
    Sep 10, 2004
    10
    I can't believe I played a demo of one of the most anticipated sequels of all time. It's the most gorgeous Gamcube game ever and I can't believe I played a demo of one of the most anticipated sequels of all time. It's the most gorgeous Gamcube game ever and probably will be the best Gamecube game ever. Expand
  2. Jan 4, 2011
    10
    Here's my Top 50 games of all time:

    The Legend of Zelda a Link to the Past Super Metroid The Legend of Zelda Metroid Prime (Trilogy)
    Here's my Top 50 games of all time:

    The Legend of Zelda a Link to the Past
    Super Metroid
    The Legend of Zelda
    Metroid Prime (Trilogy)
    Banjo-Kazooie
    Resident Evil 4
    Tetris DS
    Words with Friends (Scrabble)
    Super Mario Galaxy
    Mike Tysonâ
    Expand
  3. JuanV.
    Nov 20, 2004
    10
    This game is amazing in every single way. the graphics are stunning, the music is great, this game is just a masterpiece. plus the addition This game is amazing in every single way. the graphics are stunning, the music is great, this game is just a masterpiece. plus the addition of multiplayer just makes this game perfect. this is a must own game, period. Collapse
  4. Geckat
    Jun 3, 2005
    10
    Who cares if the multiplayer was got old and boring within two hours? This is still my favorite game ever for single-player. The storyline is Who cares if the multiplayer was got old and boring within two hours? This is still my favorite game ever for single-player. The storyline is amped-up since the last one. The graphics, bosses, and hardness likewise. I'm still trying to beat Quadraxis in Hard mode, and I've been playing about two hours a day for the past two months. But ít's the first time you play it, you get that warm feeling inside that you used to when you were seven. You heave a huge sigh of relief, and realize that there's sweat dripping down your shirt, and everything in the end makes it so that if you had really just defeated the Emperor Ing yourself, it would all be worth it. Best game ever. Expand
  5. Aug 29, 2013
    10
    Metroid prime 2 echoes is my absolute favorite in the series. I did play this on metroid prime trilogy so I won't talk about the controls. TheMetroid prime 2 echoes is my absolute favorite in the series. I did play this on metroid prime trilogy so I won't talk about the controls. The story is amazing even if it is simple and straight forward the graphics are great but again I am playing on the Wii. I know that one of the biggest complaints id the fact that your beams use ammo I think that's one of the best parts of this game in metroid prime 1 when you get a new beam it is stronger and you never have to use the weaker power beam but in echoes it causes you to be smart when should you use certain beams it make the game much more challenging. If you are on the fence about buying it I would say get it it is well worth your money Expand
  6. JeffR.
    Jan 23, 2005
    9
    I find it to be a whole lot of fun to "discover" the past history of this ravaged planet and the races that inhabit it - i dont think there isI find it to be a whole lot of fun to "discover" the past history of this ravaged planet and the races that inhabit it - i dont think there is a single game ever that has been so genuinely believable, and the writing and intuitive scanning features have a lot to do with that. the story feels collected, never shoved down your throat. there is a lot ot say for the subtlety of echoes. The visuals are flat-out astonishing, wth lush organic environments spanning the entire adventure and some of the absolute best art direction ever to come out of any game studio (this easily gets my best graphics nod for the year). the backtracking can get tedious sometimes, and i would have definitely appreciated a "save-anywhere" feature (getting killed right after finally beating a boss after numerous attempts is NEVER fun), but the pros heavily outweigh the cons on this one. 9.5/10 Expand
  7. EthanR.
    Apr 16, 2006
    0
    This game is absolutely terrible. The controls are impossible to use the story mode is boring and bland. The graphics are the only descent This game is absolutely terrible. The controls are impossible to use the story mode is boring and bland. The graphics are the only descent thing in this game. It is the worst game I have ever played and do not play this game ever! Expand

See all 98 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2004
#4 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2004