Metroid Prime GameCube

User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 828 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 828
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MetroidOmegaRidley
    Jan 7, 2003
    10
    This game is simply brilliant in every aspect you could give it. From details to rain drops on visor to intense Boss battles. Good storyline essepcally the mindbending third ending with the arm out of the Phason, do you smell "Metriod Prime Reborn". Anyways just great game good controlls, great sound, great graphics,and superb plot. Lets see if it will compete with Zelda The Wind Wakers.^_^
  2. Unknown
    Mar 24, 2003
    10
    It is amazing.
  3. Theimminent26
    Mar 4, 2003
    9
    Am I late? I guess not. This game is almost definitely the best gamecube game out. While people complain about bad controls, I never take things like that into affect because like every other game with weird controls everything is learnable with time. The graphics are pretty nice I didn't like the popup steam but whatever. Alot of people dismiss this game for its disobeying its third Am I late? I guess not. This game is almost definitely the best gamecube game out. While people complain about bad controls, I never take things like that into affect because like every other game with weird controls everything is learnable with time. The graphics are pretty nice I didn't like the popup steam but whatever. Alot of people dismiss this game for its disobeying its third person roots, All I can say is don't judge the game after playing it for 10 minutes, I know It's all been said before but this game is very true to the classic Super metroid. In closing I will say the main thing that bugged me is the lack of new power-ups (other than visors)other than that I can only recomend this game to everyone don't miss out....THe masive 26 is the best... Expand
  4. DizantheMan
    Apr 2, 2003
    10
    Metroid prime is the greatest game i have ever played. anyone who says it has no story didnt scan enough, fools.
  5. DougM.
    Apr 27, 2003
    9
    Awesome game with some of the best graphics in an game on any console. The visor effects kick some serious ass!
  6. Uter
    Apr 5, 2003
    9
    Excellent game, but I do think it's a touch overrated. The graphics are it's strongest point. The sound I don't think is very good; it's adequate though. The world is huge and there aren't real load times between areas, so it's revolutionary in some ways. 1 thing I don't like is how enemies respawn. Although with so much backtracking I'm not sure Excellent game, but I do think it's a touch overrated. The graphics are it's strongest point. The sound I don't think is very good; it's adequate though. The world is huge and there aren't real load times between areas, so it's revolutionary in some ways. 1 thing I don't like is how enemies respawn. Although with so much backtracking I'm not sure what they could have done instead to make that part exciting. Expand
  7. CarlosA.
    Jul 31, 2003
    10
    Its a great come-back for SAMUS ARAN!The graphics are fantastic,the story is very well planed out.Samus arsenal is very creative and unique.The controls are a bit complicated and not that orthodox. Its a good first person shooter.The enemis are very cool.And for Cody S.(who loves the word "mediocre",and probably mis uses it),he doesnt really know what he's saying and hes comparing Its a great come-back for SAMUS ARAN!The graphics are fantastic,the story is very well planed out.Samus arsenal is very creative and unique.The controls are a bit complicated and not that orthodox. Its a good first person shooter.The enemis are very cool.And for Cody S.(who loves the word "mediocre",and probably mis uses it),he doesnt really know what he's saying and hes comparing Metroid Prime with Splinter Cell which is not possible because they are both diferent game types, i mean you cant compare a car with an airplane, its car with car and plane with plane, sorry Cody just stick to playing instead of writing :) Expand
  8. SoulCalibur2
    Sep 9, 2003
    9
    Beautiful graphics. This game has perfect enviroments, and Samus looks really cool in this game. Even though it doesn't really follow the Metroid series, it would be a lot more fun if there was a multiplayer, something like Halo's (great game). This is a great game and the excellent graphics and gameplay make up for the difficulty.
  9. BonehoC.
    Nov 14, 2004
    8
    The only Gamecube game I ever really got into.
  10. ToryS.
    Dec 21, 2004
    10
    Couldn't put it down.Great graphics for Gamecube.
  11. AkhilM.
    Oct 24, 2004
    10
    It's awesome.
  12. JacobK.
    Mar 2, 2004
    10
    Zelda was a very good game I spent years trying to beat, and i succeeded. And Metroid Is same exact thing exept its in the future instead of the past. And I wanna give an 11!!!
  13. L.S.
    Apr 27, 2004
    10
    aWESOME... nEeD i SaY MoRe?
  14. MattP.
    Jul 14, 2004
    10
    Damn near perfect in every aspect. Metriod Prime isn't a game that you just pick up and hope to beat in 3 or 4 hours: it requires a good chunk of you life and you will be more than willing to give it. My only gripe though is the fixed camera, it makes it kind of hard to target a specific enemy without cicling though the targeting visor.
  15. SteveB.
    Sep 28, 2004
    10
    Here's something entertaining: do a search on this page for the word "ever," and see how many of these hardened critics call Metroid Prime one of the best games EVER.
  16. RobC.
    Jan 27, 2005
    9
    Initially difficult but ultimately BRILLIANT!
  17. JustinB.
    Oct 3, 2005
    10
    With a simple premise, the game thrusts you into a deep world full of danger, and you lose yourself in the experience. The controller melts away in your hands, and the intuitive controls give way to one of the most compelling gaming experiences ever.
  18. DanielF.
    Jun 21, 2005
    10
    Amazing! Best game I,ve ever played in my life!
  19. BossGamer
    Jun 29, 2005
    10
    Ignore the PS2 freaks who haven't played this and look at the 10's. This game rules ALL!!!
  20. MarkG.
    Jul 22, 2005
    9
    Some of the negative comments on here are so trifling and inconsequential that it's hard to believe. Different doors are opened by different beams? Yes, what exactly is so bad about that? In Super Metroid you used different concussive weapons as opposed to beams, but it's the same principle. Also, and similarly, the enemies susceptibility to different weapons is a feature that Some of the negative comments on here are so trifling and inconsequential that it's hard to believe. Different doors are opened by different beams? Yes, what exactly is so bad about that? In Super Metroid you used different concussive weapons as opposed to beams, but it's the same principle. Also, and similarly, the enemies susceptibility to different weapons is a feature that has run throughout the series. The game is an excellent example of how to take a series and transplant everything that makes it great in to, quite literally, a different dimension. The transition from 2D to 3D has been fraught with failure and dispute in the instance of many classic series, but Metroid is one Franchise that is almost undisputed in its success at making the jump. Retains the atmosphere and depth of the previous games whilst managing to feel even more vast and spacious with the added dimension. A well crafted and enjoyable challenge. Expand
  21. AndyE.
    Jul 4, 2005
    10
    Buy this game! These guys just say it is bad but it rules! They just don't want to say is one of the coolest games. Just go and ask a Samus/Metroid fan and you'll see!
  22. Marshmallow
    Aug 17, 2005
    9
    The guy who gave this a 5 obviously has never played a metroid and wants the series to become your average fps. The reason there are puzzles and different beam strategies in the game is to stop from becoming repetitive.
  23. AdamT.
    Sep 11, 2005
    10
    This game, basically had my life for a month. I had never before played a Metroid game before, so I had somewhat low expectations, being that my favorite game ever was the Immaculate Masterpiece "The Legend Of Zelda; Ocarina Of Time", and Metroid never really called my attention, but right at the start, this video game amazed me, the grapics first of all, were astounding, on par with any This game, basically had my life for a month. I had never before played a Metroid game before, so I had somewhat low expectations, being that my favorite game ever was the Immaculate Masterpiece "The Legend Of Zelda; Ocarina Of Time", and Metroid never really called my attention, but right at the start, this video game amazed me, the grapics first of all, were astounding, on par with any X-Box game, if not better. The story line at first seemed a little far-fetched, but then again it's a "Video GAME", but this intergalactic bounty hunter had my absolute attention, and I could not put this game down, the bosses weren't the perfect challenge at first but as the game progressed they greatly improved, and Samus's constant power-ups kept the otherwise overdrawn game alive and spontaneous. The sheer amount of variety in bosses, enemies, and especially the diverse levels makes the game even more perfect.This is my favorite game ever, it's better than "Echoes" and "Ocarina Of Time".Go Retro Studios =] Expand
  24. DanH.
    Jan 12, 2006
    10
    This is what videogames are all about. The graphics are stunning, the controls are flawless, the play mechanics just perfectly tuned. I can't really understand how anyone could dislike this game...short of simply not liking first-person games in general I suppose. Complaints about the targetting lock-on are ridiculous. It works perfectly in the context of the game (why wouldn't This is what videogames are all about. The graphics are stunning, the controls are flawless, the play mechanics just perfectly tuned. I can't really understand how anyone could dislike this game...short of simply not liking first-person games in general I suppose. Complaints about the targetting lock-on are ridiculous. It works perfectly in the context of the game (why wouldn't a futuristic soldier with a visor containing all manner of cool features not have a weapon lock on?) The game is designed with the lock on feature in mind and the difficulty expertly tuned. Superlative in every regard... Expand
  25. JonathanG.
    Mar 14, 2006
    9
    The graphics are great, and the game play is sweet. This game is more figuring things out than it is a combat game. The only thing that I didn' think was perfect was the back tracking. I guess they had to back track because of the small disc.
  26. KyleM.
    Mar 9, 2006
    10
    Simply beautiful single-player gameplay. To those who dislike the controls, they are perfect for this type of game. Sure, a mouse and a keyboard would have been better: but for a first-person adventure, absolute aiming accuracy is not required. This game is more like Myst than Counter-Strike or Halo: exploration, puzzles, pure fun rather than blasting the poo out of everything you see. Simply beautiful single-player gameplay. To those who dislike the controls, they are perfect for this type of game. Sure, a mouse and a keyboard would have been better: but for a first-person adventure, absolute aiming accuracy is not required. This game is more like Myst than Counter-Strike or Halo: exploration, puzzles, pure fun rather than blasting the poo out of everything you see. And that was a welcome change of pace! I just beat it, took me about 15 hours and it was one of the best console single-player experiences ever, behind maybe Zelda:OOT. Expand
  27. OisinD.
    Apr 18, 2006
    10
    A simply stunning game, no game so far this generation can stand near MP its so good Halo comes close but not close enough to this fantastic adventure story, the attention to detail is unbelivable and the way in which Retro managed to make this game work is unbelivable, the scanning, the level design, the creatures, all unique and you will be forced to finish this game, just to see the A simply stunning game, no game so far this generation can stand near MP its so good Halo comes close but not close enough to this fantastic adventure story, the attention to detail is unbelivable and the way in which Retro managed to make this game work is unbelivable, the scanning, the level design, the creatures, all unique and you will be forced to finish this game, just to see the brilliant final boss, be prepared for GAMECUBES FINEST 20 HOURS. Expand
  28. ChoochMcSpankens
    Apr 5, 2006
    9
    Fantastic game!...but no game in the universe on ANY grading scale deserves a perfect score. Now I am a huge Nintendo fan and this game is great but NO game has NO flaws. My only complaint is that this game is somewhat repetitive. For all the people who said the controls are too different or "they suck", I actually quite enjoyed them and thought that they did a good job of branching away Fantastic game!...but no game in the universe on ANY grading scale deserves a perfect score. Now I am a huge Nintendo fan and this game is great but NO game has NO flaws. My only complaint is that this game is somewhat repetitive. For all the people who said the controls are too different or "they suck", I actually quite enjoyed them and thought that they did a good job of branching away from the normal stereo-typical shoot-em-up fps games. I love this game because is has puzzles and makes you think. Also, I can't say this game is better than or even compare it to halo because they are too different in many ways. Also, the music really emerses you into the game and really gets you lost into a world that a LOT of games can not achieve. FANTASTIC!!! Expand
  29. JimW.
    May 20, 2006
    10
    Fantastic atmosphere, I felt like I visited Samus's world.
  30. JoshK.
    Jul 24, 2006
    10
    The GameCube's first killer app revitalises the acclaimed Metroid series with a stunning 3D makeover. Massive worlds, beautiful visuals and top level design lend this game real scope and atmosphere. A must for your Cube collection.
  31. DeanK.
    Aug 1, 2006
    10
    Metroid prime is one of the best games for gamecube. the story, graphics, weapons, being in morph balll all rock, this is a must buy for any Gamecube owner.
  32. JasonC.
    Jun 14, 2007
    10
    They turned a classic platformer into a 1st person shooter and lost none of what made Metroid a great series, while adding a distinctive graphic style.
  33. SeanK.
    Aug 10, 2007
    10
    Immersive environments, absolutely stunning to look at. The music is great too. Overall, a very artistic game, but that doesn't mean blowing the crap out of space pirates isn't as fun as ever! Best gamecube game out there.
  34. LiamT.
    Aug 15, 2007
    10
    In my opinion Metroid Prime is a pure masterpiece of gaming. I rate Metroid Prime with a perfect score. Along with Ocarina of time its one of the best games ever made. The boss fights were such an intense experiance and are some of the best boss fights i have ever played. If they were any easier it would not have been the same for me. The graphics, the moody atmosphere, the music. I feel In my opinion Metroid Prime is a pure masterpiece of gaming. I rate Metroid Prime with a perfect score. Along with Ocarina of time its one of the best games ever made. The boss fights were such an intense experiance and are some of the best boss fights i have ever played. If they were any easier it would not have been the same for me. The graphics, the moody atmosphere, the music. I feel lost for words of compliment the game. Its bloody awsome. Expand
  35. DivineStorm
    Jul 11, 2008
    10
    Truly a masterpiece!! I am a metroid fan and this game is besides super metroid my favourite metroid game!! The graphics, sound and gameplay are INCREDIBLE!!!!!! Its like you are samus in the game!! and this game is definitily the best of the prime trilogy!! There are lots of secret areas that you can explore and you collect chozo artifacts to gain access to impact crater where you fight Truly a masterpiece!! I am a metroid fan and this game is besides super metroid my favourite metroid game!! The graphics, sound and gameplay are INCREDIBLE!!!!!! Its like you are samus in the game!! and this game is definitily the best of the prime trilogy!! There are lots of secret areas that you can explore and you collect chozo artifacts to gain access to impact crater where you fight against the final boss: Metroid prime. Also Kraid was originally going to be in the game as a boss, but is replaced by Omega pirate because of time restraints. Still THE best game ever on the gamecube and will keep you entertaining for months or even years to come! Expand
  36. JamesBond007
    Nov 13, 2002
    10
    This is everything a Metroid game should be...and more. One of the best game I have ever played!!!!
  37. J.C.
    Nov 16, 2002
    10
    This game is amazing from what I played and it seems to be the Game of The Year.
  38. PasiK.
    Nov 17, 2002
    10
    Grat, this ih one the best games i played, why because this is metroid IN gamecume:)
  39. DylanM.
    Nov 19, 2002
    10
    An outstanding achievement!
  40. MikaelKääriäinen
    Nov 21, 2002
    10
    It's sad that some people think that this game is FPS. Actually it is more like an FPA (First Person Adventure). Despite the fact that game's graphical power is outstanding the main thin is that this game is The Game. Ten points.
  41. ChrisS.
    Nov 20, 2002
    10
    To those who said that this doesn't compare to any FPS on the PC -- it's not an FPS. It's not just another game based on running around and aiming. It has story, style, gameplay that involves more than just spinning around and shooting, and the best sense of adventure I've felt in a long time. I would never apply the title of the tired, repetitive genre to Metroid To those who said that this doesn't compare to any FPS on the PC -- it's not an FPS. It's not just another game based on running around and aiming. It has story, style, gameplay that involves more than just spinning around and shooting, and the best sense of adventure I've felt in a long time. I would never apply the title of the tired, repetitive genre to Metroid Prime. As for the graphics, Metroid Prime is perhaps the most visually impressive game I've seen. It lacks some of the high-res textures and bump mapping effects effects of Halo, but makes up for this with fantastic lighting, models, architecture, and twice the framerate! Expand
  42. TerryP.
    Nov 25, 2002
    10
    I've been playing games for the last 20 years. I was a bit apprehensive about the first person prespective. Controls are actually quite accurate with a bit of getting use to. Nevertheless, a quite gargantuan achievement. You feel as if you are the afforementioned character (SAMUS) and immerses you in 100% Sci-Fi Fantasy realism. Superb visuals, Stunning Soundset and most of all, I've been playing games for the last 20 years. I was a bit apprehensive about the first person prespective. Controls are actually quite accurate with a bit of getting use to. Nevertheless, a quite gargantuan achievement. You feel as if you are the afforementioned character (SAMUS) and immerses you in 100% Sci-Fi Fantasy realism. Superb visuals, Stunning Soundset and most of all, AMAZING GAMEPLAY. RETRO STUDIOS-TAKE NOTE. If you have this kind of talent, By the grace of god, surely you should be thinking of coding METROID 4. No game could ever be perfect but this one comes in pretty close. achievement. Expand
  43. HansV.
    Nov 25, 2002
    10
    Awesome! The first night I played it I stayed up all night. I just couldn't put it down. I haven't had this much fun with a game in five years.
  44. ChrisG.
    Dec 22, 2002
    10
    I don't know what some of you expect, but this is a sequel to a SIDESCROLLER ACTION GAME, and not an FPS. It stays true to it, and easily parallels the gameplay of Metroid Fusion. The story is deep with lore and is only exposed if you want it to be. Ever try using your scanvisor on the tablets on the wall? Read it. The game never tried to be anything beyond a Metroid game and it I don't know what some of you expect, but this is a sequel to a SIDESCROLLER ACTION GAME, and not an FPS. It stays true to it, and easily parallels the gameplay of Metroid Fusion. The story is deep with lore and is only exposed if you want it to be. Ever try using your scanvisor on the tablets on the wall? Read it. The game never tried to be anything beyond a Metroid game and it succeeded in every way possible. Expand
  45. JuanA.
    Dec 23, 2002
    10
    This is an outstanding game you must buy it now or you will be missing out.
  46. PeteP.
    Dec 24, 2002
    10
    Excellent!!! This game sets a new standard on FPS/Exploration games. This game takes you and doesn't let you go. It captures all the elements of the Metroid series and put them in a 3D world. All the classic Metroid elements are there such as Morph Ball, Missiles, Wave Beams, and Graple Beams. There are new tricks as well such as the space jump and gravity suit. The controls are a Excellent!!! This game sets a new standard on FPS/Exploration games. This game takes you and doesn't let you go. It captures all the elements of the Metroid series and put them in a 3D world. All the classic Metroid elements are there such as Morph Ball, Missiles, Wave Beams, and Graple Beams. There are new tricks as well such as the space jump and gravity suit. The controls are a bit tricky to learn at first. They're not your typical FPS controls and you'll see why. Much detail was taken into the graphics such as rain drops and condensation hitting the visor. Effects such as Samus' face reflecting off the shield is totally awesome. I sometimes find myself looking for places to blast so I could witness the reflection of her face. The music is excellent. It totally sets the tone and theme of this game which is Sci-Fi. It fits the game just as the music did for Blade Runner. Sound effects are also totally awesome. I haven't heard such great sound effects since the likes of a Star Wars movie. The Space Pirates growl with a creepy, monster like voice. The sound effects from the different blasters is amazing. Loadtimes? What loadtimes? Loadtimes are minimal and will easily go unnoticed. There is no sitting around, waiting while the load bar moves accross the screen. This isn't PS2. Overall, this game has all the elements of a great game. Everything that your looking for in a Sci-Fi game is here. Hands down, if you don't have this game, there's something wrong with you. Expand
  47. Dr.L.
    Dec 6, 2002
    10
    This is to cancel out the idiot who rated it "0" cause someone said something bad about halo. XD
  48. JohnF.
    Dec 6, 2002
    10
    Truly incredible, amazing. This game holds true to the originals but the, biaised loosers who base their decisions on which their favorite systems are should really just shut the f... up.
  49. NeillC.
    Dec 9, 2002
    10
    This game captured me from the opening cut scene. It's amazing how these people have kept this a Metroid game, but it still has all the elements of a NG game, maybe more. Definately BETTER THAN HALO!!
  50. DemonicAngel
    Nov 26, 2003
    8
    For once, a game that lives up to all the rave reviews. Metroid fans may be a little disappointed with the transition to 3D, as Samus is somewhat less versatile than in her traditional 2D outings. That said, this is an exceptional game. Controls are tricky at first, and there are times when I sincerely wished for a "180-degree-turn" button, but once you get used to them you'll wonder For once, a game that lives up to all the rave reviews. Metroid fans may be a little disappointed with the transition to 3D, as Samus is somewhat less versatile than in her traditional 2D outings. That said, this is an exceptional game. Controls are tricky at first, and there are times when I sincerely wished for a "180-degree-turn" button, but once you get used to them you'll wonder why you found them so hard. Sound and music is good and typically Metroid, and graphics are nothing short of stunning. Gameplay can be a bit frustrating sometimes, but is deep and pretty open-ended - there's a whole planet out there for you to explore, ingenious secrets to find, upgrades to collect and annoyingly tough bosses to dispatch, all of which makes up for a very satisfying package. If you have a Gamecube there's no reason why you shouldn't own this. Expand
  51. FTcharter
    Jan 14, 2003
    10
    I rent a PS2, played good games like Metal Gear Solid and didn't slept because I was too busy playing, too captivated. I rent an Xbox with a friend and played Halo 22 hours in a row because we couldn't stop. I rent a Game Cube and played Metroid Prime all the time, forgetting to eat, to drink, to pee. I am not going to buy a PS2 nor a Xbox, but I will Buy a NGC for MP. Metroid I rent a PS2, played good games like Metal Gear Solid and didn't slept because I was too busy playing, too captivated. I rent an Xbox with a friend and played Halo 22 hours in a row because we couldn't stop. I rent a Game Cube and played Metroid Prime all the time, forgetting to eat, to drink, to pee. I am not going to buy a PS2 nor a Xbox, but I will Buy a NGC for MP. Metroid Prime is the best. Expand
  52. JedT.
    Dec 12, 2003
    10
    I LOVE this game. I bought it the frist day it came out and it is the PRIME of my collection. I will tresure it forever!
  53. HansGruber
    Dec 21, 2003
    10
    Sehr Gut!
  54. SalmonE.
    Oct 23, 2003
    10
    Retro Studios showed us one of the best games ever made. This game is a masterpiece! It made gaming history!
  55. AndrewC.
    Feb 18, 2003
    10
    Very cool! As for Jeff M. :P This game has excellent graphics. Get about 75% complete and ya' get to see Samus's hot face. Can't stand first person? Get used to it!!! Pff! Has plenty of action!
  56. TomC.
    Apr 13, 2003
    10
    Super Metroid in 3D. Enough said.
  57. LordA.
    Aug 12, 2003
    8
    Initial impressions- great graphics, great music and sound, pretty good but slightly bland gameplay and far too much scanning.
  58. StephenC.
    Nov 11, 2004
    10
    This game is the best im proud to be an owner of it.
  59. DavidM.
    Dec 4, 2004
    10
    This game is highly complicated and is a chalenge for REAL game fans. i simply love this game thats all there is to it. the world made up by these people are to die for. that is why i rate this game a ten out of ten.
  60. Samus
    Jul 29, 2004
    10
    Brilliant plot, stunning graphics, amazing controls and an addictive play once again prove that metroid is the best series ever made. Long Live SAMUS!
  61. Ripper
    Nov 26, 2005
    10
    Great Graphics, Immersive Gameplay, Brilliant Soundtrack, Intricate & Geometrically Detailed Level Design, Releastic Lighting, Intelligent A.I., Beautifully Polished, Perfect 10.
  62. IvanV.
    Nov 18, 2006
    9
    excellent game however i cant help but feel it is highly overrated. this game is two points below zelda in average score on metacritic and it doesnt compare to it. The game at times becomes frustrating and i have certainly had more fun playing other games which have much lower scored. story is almost non-existant as well, you really dont feel part of the story at all. However still an excellent game however i cant help but feel it is highly overrated. this game is two points below zelda in average score on metacritic and it doesnt compare to it. The game at times becomes frustrating and i have certainly had more fun playing other games which have much lower scored. story is almost non-existant as well, you really dont feel part of the story at all. However still an excellent game Expand
  63. GilesL.
    Mar 21, 2006
    10
    The GameCube's finest offering: A stunning, unique adventure game played from a first-person perspective. Retro Studios prove themselves to be masters of presentation with this game. The graphics are technically incredible, but it is the art-direction which is truly awe-inspiring. The sound design is crisp and powerful, and the score is an atmospheric mix of organic and electronic The GameCube's finest offering: A stunning, unique adventure game played from a first-person perspective. Retro Studios prove themselves to be masters of presentation with this game. The graphics are technically incredible, but it is the art-direction which is truly awe-inspiring. The sound design is crisp and powerful, and the score is an atmospheric mix of organic and electronic elements. The gameplay is where this game truly stands out as one of the games, if not THE game, of this generation. All (well, most) of the classic Metroid tropes are transposed to a three dimensional world wonderfully. The morphball can be rolled through narrow passages too small to otherwise traverse, or rolled back and forth on massive halfpipes; combat is both intuitive and intense, Samus having her standard power beam and missiles, along with three additional beam upgrades and four beam-missile combos; the environments all contain numerous secrets and hidden areas, ensuring that the ubiquitous Metroid backtracking is fully in place. Exploration, in fact, is in my opinion the most engaging and rewarding facet of the game. A new addition to the Metroid formula comes in the form of Samus's four visors, which change the way you interect with the world around you. You begin the game with the combat visor and the scan visor. The first represents the standard viewing mode in which you can make good use of Samus's arsenal of weapons, but it is this second visor which gives Prime it's trump card. The scan visor allows the player to scan almost every conceivable element of the game world -- items, enemies, technology, landscape, Space Pirate computer terminals, the list goes on -- and retrieve images and data which are then displayed on the screen whilst the game action pauses. Not only do these entries provide necessary clues to solve the game's numerous puzzles, but they are fascinating in their own right. Scans also serve to slowly unveil the story behind the game, a feature which, while not entirely original, is by far the most impressive and fully-developed example of this style of narrative (Metroid's scans are on a different plain entirely from Resident Evil's hackneyed 'files', for instance). All of these game elements -- graphics, music, sound design, scanning -- combine to create what is the most immersive videogame world I have ever entered into. Everything feels genuine and real -- through the windows of elevator shafts you are given tantalisingly brief glimpses of the site you will ultimately reach in the game's last few minutes; scanning Space Pirate computer terminals will reveal logs of their biological experiments, troop orders and security protocols, and in one memorable instance even morale-boosting propaganda. From the game's electrifying opening sequence onboard a seemingly deserted frigate right through to the incredible climactic battle, Metroid Prime oozes style, atmosphere, maturity, intelligence, and, most importantly, fun. It is both lengthy and challenging; it never outstays its welcome. Metroid Prime is the most immersive game I have ever had the joy of experiencing, and the best title currently available on the GameCube. I haven't played a better game this generation. Suberb beyond words. A modern masterpiece, a future classic. Buy it. Now. Expand
  64. JoeBob
    Feb 14, 2009
    10
    This game is great. The amazing gameplay, graphics, atmospheres, puzzles, bosses, and music more than make up for any other flaws. To all you morons giving this game reviews of 0 because you think it's "an average FPS" or "not as good as Halo", you have to remember that it's not like most FPS's. It's a Metroid game, and that means exploration and puzzles.
  65. SilentAssasin
    Nov 15, 2002
    10
    Simply Amazing.
  66. Jon
    Nov 16, 2002
    10
    Wow, this game rules!!
  67. DannyG.
    Nov 16, 2002
    10
    Holy crap, i cant say i've played it yet, but it looks so @#^&*(ing sweet! and to the guy who scored it a 1, you are a fool, a fanboy, and a f***head.
  68. JustinS.
    Nov 17, 2002
    10
    This game is revolutionary...breaking the barriers between adventures and first person shooters...this is the ultimate game for any console...this is not an FPS game at all by the way.
  69. KevS.
    Nov 17, 2002
    10
    Awesome...best game ver.
  70. JoeC.
    Nov 19, 2002
    9
    Haha. Not near what I thought it would be, but still a good game. For everyone who said great gfx, you must only play gamecube games. Plus the guy who said something about going back to your Xbox... Guess he was too stupid to read that the other guy said something about Outcast for PC.
  71. JasonH.
    Nov 24, 2002
    10
    It's just a really good game.
  72. VijliD.
    Nov 24, 2002
    10
    Holy S##T, this is one of the best titles out for the GC as of 2002. Metroid prime lives up to all the hype, but I can say the controller for me is a little iffy. Nothing will compare to the mouse, and the keyboard for fps controls, but nevertheless its absolutely justifiable to buy a Game Cube for this title.
  73. Joojoobee
    Nov 27, 2002
    10
    This game is rad. I feel like im back in the 80s wit a sooped up NES and Mizzetroid up in it. Only its been time warped and all. The game graphics look like a T&C shirts been cut up really short and thrown on a beach babe...radical. yeah dude.
  74. AaronE.
    Nov 28, 2002
    10
    First off this game is not perfect...however every aspect of the game from gameplay to graphics is so top notch that anything less than a 10 would be a travesty. Second for the people that complain about the controls if you would actually play the game for more than an hour they become very second nature unless you're a cripple. Also people comparing the graphics to splinter First off this game is not perfect...however every aspect of the game from gameplay to graphics is so top notch that anything less than a 10 would be a travesty. Second for the people that complain about the controls if you would actually play the game for more than an hour they become very second nature unless you're a cripple. Also people comparing the graphics to splinter cell...in the context for the difference in power of the two machines Metroid Prime is much better...and a hell of a lot better game. Expand
  75. TarikT.
    Nov 29, 2002
    10
    Great game not so hot at 1st but as u play on u learn 2 luv samus, get this game now!
  76. KalleK.
    Dec 11, 2002
    10
    This game is the BEST!! Very good gameplay ....I mean everything is very GOOD!!!!
  77. [Anonymous]
    Dec 17, 2002
    10
    This is the best game so far for GameCube! ....even though there is no story, it makes that up with gameplay and graphics.
  78. EricN.
    Dec 24, 2002
    10
    Metroid Prime is arguably the single best game for the Game Cube. Everything about the game, from start to finish, is well thought out and masterfully executed. The only real problem that it has is not a flaw of the game, but of gamer perception - like the rest of the Metroid series (and Prime is a faithful adaptation thereof) it is primarily an *adventure* game, not, as many have been Metroid Prime is arguably the single best game for the Game Cube. Everything about the game, from start to finish, is well thought out and masterfully executed. The only real problem that it has is not a flaw of the game, but of gamer perception - like the rest of the Metroid series (and Prime is a faithful adaptation thereof) it is primarily an *adventure* game, not, as many have been led to believe by the screen shots, a First-Person Shooter. Its lack of multiplayer modes, for example, is intentional. One would not expect the next Legend of Zelda game to feature a deathmatch, and Prime is more akin to the Zelda series than to, say, Halo. Make no mistake: Metroid Prime is no mere point-and-shoot bloodfest, however entertaining they can be. It is a game of survival and exploration. It's the type of game that you pick up to kill 20 minutes and end up playing an hour. And for the first time in the series, you realy feel as if you are the one delving into magma-filled caverns or trudging across the frozen plains. It is a completely engrossing adventure that grabs hold of you and fills you with a sense of both wonder and dread. -EJN Expand
  79. MatthieuR.
    Dec 25, 2002
    8
    Metroid Prime is a good game that would have scored higher if Halo hadn't come out a year before. They even borrowed the "Flood" type creatures and the lasers! The story here is also pretty weak and again full of cliches. That said, my biggest gripe is the constant busy work that is required: scan, activate, switch to combat, repeat. The graphics are good overall, but some textures Metroid Prime is a good game that would have scored higher if Halo hadn't come out a year before. They even borrowed the "Flood" type creatures and the lasers! The story here is also pretty weak and again full of cliches. That said, my biggest gripe is the constant busy work that is required: scan, activate, switch to combat, repeat. The graphics are good overall, but some textures are better than others. I'm not a fanboy, so I couldn't care less which system "wins", but Halo, Splinter Cell have better graphics and more intuitive controls. That said, this is a solid effort. Expand
  80. DaveB.
    Nov 18, 2003
    10
    This is the best game out there (still) for any next gen. console!
  81. ChrisC.
    Nov 22, 2003
    10
    An awesome first person adventure game that will echo through NIntendo history for many many years to come!
  82. JoeH.
    Nov 29, 2006
    10
    I'm playing this game again, 4 years later. This is my current impression. I love this game. I never did beat the sequel, which is unfortunate, someday I will, but not before I beat this one again.
  83. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    One of the best games of all time. This game was and still is brilliant in every way. Graphics, presentation, story and gameplay this game is as close to perfection as any game can get.
  84. Feb 7, 2014
    10
    Possibly my favourite GameCube game. Great action and exploration with a decent amount of challenge, tension and rewarding gameplay. The thinking man's shooter...
  85. Jul 23, 2011
    10
    Metroid was one of the few games that got changed by the genre, and got a successful margin. Sub estimating a game because it's having something new is tricky, sometimes you don't know if it is going to be a success. But Metroid did well, very well. Level design can be confusing with nice puzzles , the graphic's looks stunning for a game this old. Game Cube may be dead, and buried by theMetroid was one of the few games that got changed by the genre, and got a successful margin. Sub estimating a game because it's having something new is tricky, sometimes you don't know if it is going to be a success. But Metroid did well, very well. Level design can be confusing with nice puzzles , the graphic's looks stunning for a game this old. Game Cube may be dead, and buried by the strong dead competitors ( PS2 and Xbox) but it had the abilities that we never saw that it could have let go at the time. And this is a big example of the potential the cube had. Expand
  86. Jun 28, 2011
    10
    One of the best games for the gamecube, great graphics, gripping story, good controls, and especially you get to play as Samus obviously one of the biggest nintendo starts ever. I would recamend this to anyone IF you have the time to put into it.
  87. Oct 31, 2013
    9
    The long running Metroid series has been highly regarded amongst gamers for two decades and this update continues the trend of providing quality gaming. In much the same way that Ocarina of Time translated the Zelda series into 3D whilst retaining the series uniqueness Retro Studios have taken the 2D formula of previous instalments to the next level.

    Metroid Prime is an action/adventure
    The long running Metroid series has been highly regarded amongst gamers for two decades and this update continues the trend of providing quality gaming. In much the same way that Ocarina of Time translated the Zelda series into 3D whilst retaining the series uniqueness Retro Studios have taken the 2D formula of previous instalments to the next level.

    Metroid Prime is an action/adventure game that is unusually played from a first-person perspective and takes place just after the original Metroid on the NES. The game opens with bounty hunter Samus Aran on the trail of space pirates intent on using a substance known as Phazon to create a genetically engineered army capable of taking over the galaxy. Following an explosion in which she narrowly escapes with her life she finds herself trapped on an eerie and isolated planet without many of her abilities.

    Once on the planet the gameplay itself also follows the template laid down by the 2D iterations. The focus is largely on exploring the massive, uncharted world around you. As you do you gradually regain abilities such as the Morph Ball and Dash Boots that allows access to previously inaccessible areas that provide teasing hints as to the planets history. With useful signposting along the way it is only rarely that this exploration can become frustrating.

    Combat itself also takes inspiration from Ocarina of Time. A simple lock-on mechanic allows the player to target individual enemies and removes the need for twin analogue controls. Once targeted enemies can be blasted with a variety of weapons although many are weaker or stronger against certain types.

    With its superb graphics and haunting score Metroid Prime became an instant classic on release and remains amongst the best games of its generation.
    Expand
  88. Jul 3, 2011
    10
    One of the highlight games for the GameCube, Metroid Prime really shines for its transfer from a 2-d to a 3-d dimension. I really like the work they put into for this game: the visuals, music, gameplay, everything.
  89. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    Woah! This game was amazing! first let me shut the people below me up. Metroid Prime has scored higher than Halo! It is the most critically acclaimed FPS of the 2000-2010 period. Graphics are great. The controls took about five minutes to get used to (hey we live in a time where everything is handed to us). The story is great. The atmosphere is just incredible. The final boss (MetroidWoah! This game was amazing! first let me shut the people below me up. Metroid Prime has scored higher than Halo! It is the most critically acclaimed FPS of the 2000-2010 period. Graphics are great. The controls took about five minutes to get used to (hey we live in a time where everything is handed to us). The story is great. The atmosphere is just incredible. The final boss (Metroid Prime) left me gasping for breathe and my heart beating freaking fast (I just barely beat it with 10% of my health left). It was the most exhilarating experience ever! Space Pirates, metroids, and a whole bunch of other creatures give the game life and something to shoot at. Pick it up! Now! 10/10 Expand
  90. Aug 7, 2011
    10
    This game is Perfection.
    Super Metroid is one of the best 2-d Adventure games out there. This game perfectly translates everything that was Brilliant of that game into 3d and even adds more. With the Bar set sky high of Super Metroid this game had a lot to beat. Retro Studios completely succeeded.
    Graphics in this game are Incredible and shows clearly what the Gamecube was possible of, and
    This game is Perfection.
    Super Metroid is one of the best 2-d Adventure games out there. This game perfectly translates everything that was Brilliant of that game into 3d and even adds more. With the Bar set sky high of Super Metroid this game had a lot to beat. Retro Studios completely succeeded.
    Graphics in this game are Incredible and shows clearly what the Gamecube was possible of, and for 2011 still look really good. Gameplay is satisfying with the best weapon having an amazing amount of kick to it which when blasting a Space Pirate in the face. The environment is incredible, with each area looking nothing alike. Each nook-and cranny of this game is extremely well made. There is extreme reward for exploring each and Every area to get every last little Power-up.
    The music is really awesome and has been remixed to death but never sounds as good as the original.
    Each boss fight is different, challenging and fun. The controls, which are confusing at first. Do let you do what you want.
    The story, Is incredible. The Lore you acquire from scanning is well written. This game is perfection.
    It is what I believe to be the 2nd greatest game of all time.
    Expand
  91. Oct 15, 2011
    10
    theyve carefully pulled every pixel off s. metroid, put them into a sphre, for 3d enviros, and packaged it to make the best gcn game ever. getting a 98%, and best metroid bar s.metroid
  92. Sep 28, 2011
    10
    This is probably Nintendo's best games ever released and one of the best franchises they've ever had (Other M be damned). I wish I could say I lacked the ability to find criticism for this game, but I'm sure I can think of a few things. It still gets a perfect score because I can't think of another Nintendo game worth of 10/10 except for StarFox64, Kirby 64, or maybe even SSBB (with theThis is probably Nintendo's best games ever released and one of the best franchises they've ever had (Other M be damned). I wish I could say I lacked the ability to find criticism for this game, but I'm sure I can think of a few things. It still gets a perfect score because I can't think of another Nintendo game worth of 10/10 except for StarFox64, Kirby 64, or maybe even SSBB (with the minus mod, of course). The game looks great and plays better than any other console FPS game I've been forced to endure, so it already is miles above Halo and CoD. It also is a truly immerse game with well constructed environments. The story is, much like a Valve game, in the background and never in your face with obnoxious cutscenes. You can gather more information with your Scan Visor if you want to know more about what's going on, you can speculate it and just shoot a bunch of dudes, or you can use a walkthrough and ruin the experience for yourself entirely. But the story all "do, don't show" and it works incredibly well. But, as I said, I have to criticize it somewhere. I think the lack of a hard mode from the beginning is an annoyance. you have to beat the game first before you can use it and that isn't cool. Why should I have to replay a game for difficulty changes? Shouldn't I just be allowed to pick the setting I want whether it be the one that holds my hand or kicks me in the balls? Also, some scans are a 1-shot-deal in that you can only scan a dude at ONE point in the game and if you miss it, that's it. I get that for Boss Monsters because you'll scan them anyway to figure out a weakness. But I think it was Ice Shriek bats are in only one place for the first time you pass through it and then they are gone forever. That seems like a rather dick move on Retro Studio's part. But the good HORRENDOUSLY outweighs the bad. If you are, for some reason, just now getting a gamecube and you don't have this in your collection, I have one of two things for you to do. First, get your head examined. If you are mentally healthy, you have no excuse to not get this game. If you are, for some reason, not mentally healthy, then go back to wasting hours of your time playing Halo Reach and enjoy your generic shooter **** Expand
  93. Dec 31, 2011
    10
    When I first started playing the Metroid Prime series it was on the Wii... and then I laid my eyes on the GameCube version of this game... At first i didn't like it because I kept dying, but I learned were to go and what to do... and now I can't play this game without completing it 100%... If you get the chance to pick up this game or even the Wii version, Metroid Prime Trilogy, do it...When I first started playing the Metroid Prime series it was on the Wii... and then I laid my eyes on the GameCube version of this game... At first i didn't like it because I kept dying, but I learned were to go and what to do... and now I can't play this game without completing it 100%... If you get the chance to pick up this game or even the Wii version, Metroid Prime Trilogy, do it... you wont regret doing so. Expand
  94. Aug 7, 2012
    9
    This game is amazing for people who are metroid fans and even some non metroid fans. Its not suppose to be a regular FPS were you shoot and try to kill everything, IT ACTUALLY HAS A STORY. The only thing that gets to me about this game is when you have to back track from one place to another and they are far apart. The controls are great but are tricky sometimes,the story is pretty wellThis game is amazing for people who are metroid fans and even some non metroid fans. Its not suppose to be a regular FPS were you shoot and try to kill everything, IT ACTUALLY HAS A STORY. The only thing that gets to me about this game is when you have to back track from one place to another and they are far apart. The controls are great but are tricky sometimes,the story is pretty well made,the gameplay is great since you have different beams you can use and different visors that are needed to fight some enemies, even the graphics are stunning. Expand
  95. Mar 15, 2012
    9
    Sublime, simply an amazing game. You feel entrenched within a planet, and can learn about all aspects of it including life and flora. The music is amazing, and the atmosphere is fantastic.
    A pinnacle. If you own a GAmecube or Wii, you must play this.
  96. Aug 27, 2012
    10
    Perfectly captures the essence of previous Metroid games. The graphics are so amazing that at some points, the game looks even better than most Wii titles. This game is a testament to the GameCube's real power. The gameplay is equally polished. Samus controls so well that you actually feel like you're the one wearing the Power Suit. The music is incredible and is always changing. ForPerfectly captures the essence of previous Metroid games. The graphics are so amazing that at some points, the game looks even better than most Wii titles. This game is a testament to the GameCube's real power. The gameplay is equally polished. Samus controls so well that you actually feel like you're the one wearing the Power Suit. The music is incredible and is always changing. For example, the Chozo Ruins music is a quiet tune until you get the Morph Ball. From that point onwards, the music changes to a catchy tune that I loved. The replay value is great, since there are, in traditional Metroid fashion, multiple endings that you get depending on your item collection rate. The boss battles are few, but very satisfying. The difficulty is perfect...what else can I say? If I keep talking about the positives of this game, my review won't fit into the page, so I will end it by saying this: If you don't have it, buy it. Now. Expand
  97. Nov 3, 2012
    10
    Metroid prime is all about level design and gameplay. Forget the subtle story, the brilliant graphics, and the awesome soundtrack. The thing that made this game one of the finest games of all time is the level design and game structure. I usually don't like games that give you many paths to choose from, but here is an exception. Metroid prime seems like a huge game, but really it's small.Metroid prime is all about level design and gameplay. Forget the subtle story, the brilliant graphics, and the awesome soundtrack. The thing that made this game one of the finest games of all time is the level design and game structure. I usually don't like games that give you many paths to choose from, but here is an exception. Metroid prime seems like a huge game, but really it's small. What makes it feel so big is the brilliant sense of adventure and discovery. You enter an erea, find the correct path through puzzles and platforming(and of course, fighting some local life forms). When you clear an erea you usually get a new weapon or gadget that allows you to visit areas that were blocked before so. It becomes a sort of a giant puzzle, where you must fit in the right pieces to proceed. The game isn't brutally difficult, like the 2d Metroid games, but at the same time requires attention and understanding of your surrounding. It's a game made purely for gamers. It combines elements from most genres into one genius package. If you haven't played this game, you should do so as soon as you can. I never expected it to be that good. Expand
  98. May 26, 2012
    10
    This is one of my favourite games of all time because I used to play this as a kid. The gameplay is amazing and it was different to any other first person shooter game because it had the morph ball mode and the scanning option was a great part of the game too, the map was big and finding all the upgrades was fun, the graphics were great, the story was interesting and the final boss battleThis is one of my favourite games of all time because I used to play this as a kid. The gameplay is amazing and it was different to any other first person shooter game because it had the morph ball mode and the scanning option was a great part of the game too, the map was big and finding all the upgrades was fun, the graphics were great, the story was interesting and the final boss battle was really epic. The game is absolutely perfect in my opinion and still is to date. Expand
  99. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Flawless game, perfect controls, level design, pacing, concept and immersion. one of the best games ever made, sadly not so many people had a game cube to play it when released.

Awards & Rankings

1
1
#1 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2002
1
#1 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2002
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 70
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 70
  3. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. It looks fantastic, it plays fantastic (the best usage of the GameCube controller to date), it sounds fantastic, and darn it, it is just fun to play.
  2. GameNow
    100
    It doesn't matter if you've never played a Metroid game before - Prime will kick your ass and unrelentingly own you. [A+; Jan 2003, p.62]
  3. It oozes with so much addictiveness that the storyline plays second fiddle and reminds you of a time when gameplay was an integral part of gaming. Put simply, this is one of the best games I have played in a long, long time. [Grade = A+]