Metroid Prime GameCube

User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 710 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 710
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 12, 2011
    10
    Positives
    - Graphics: The graphics in metroid prime are not only top notch for the gamecube, but top notch for any 6th generation home console.
    - Gameplay: Metroid Prime immerses you into a large 3D environment for exploration and puzzle solving. The game is played at a first person perspective, but it isn't a first person shooter, it is more in the vein of first person adventure game.
    Positives
    - Graphics: The graphics in metroid prime are not only top notch for the gamecube, but top notch for any 6th generation home console.
    - Gameplay: Metroid Prime immerses you into a large 3D environment for exploration and puzzle solving. The game is played at a first person perspective, but it isn't a first person shooter, it is more in the vein of first person adventure game. The boss battles are excellently executed, and there is a ton of information to collect throughout the game, via scan logs and upgrades.
    - Sound: Metroid prime presents an alienlike sound track that perfectly fits the mood of the game.

    - Controls: The controls in Metroid Prime work over all very well throughout the game. The lack of manual aiming without the R buttons is solved via the use of the lock on feature. Negatives
    -Replay Value: One might not be compelled to play this prolonged adventure again, although if they do they will realize just how excellent the game was when they'd played it the first time. There is also alot of backtracking in the game, but this is usually for the access of new areas and upgrades.

    10/10
    Collapse
  2. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    One of the best games on Gamecube. Metroid Prime is not really a FPS, since you can lock enemies, but it doesn't matter. There is a full world to explore, with a good mix shooting, plaforming and puzzle solving. Every equipement you find will make you more powerful, giving a great feeling. Story is delivered through reading computers which can be boring at times though.
  3. TukeS.
    Mar 30, 2003
    10
    Good game.
  4. ShadowMasterson
    Mar 4, 2003
    10
    A long awaited game in the Metroid saga! Excellent graphics, sound, music, and appeal. I ecspecially love how you have to investigate EVERYTHING it understand the rich and in depth story that spans through the whole Metroid universe. The world is as rich as the story, and every inch of it is teeming with deadly life forms. A must have for all Game Cube owners.
  5. NicholasT.
    Sep 1, 2006
    10
    Simply put, Metroid Prime is nothing less than the best game of all time. There is no other game like it as the immersion alone makes this title. One of the few games (aside from MGS, OoT, and RE4) that I can say is flawless. Metroid Prime is THE reason I play(ed) video games and it is a testament to the sheer beauty and power of video games in general. Too bad that there are so few Simply put, Metroid Prime is nothing less than the best game of all time. There is no other game like it as the immersion alone makes this title. One of the few games (aside from MGS, OoT, and RE4) that I can say is flawless. Metroid Prime is THE reason I play(ed) video games and it is a testament to the sheer beauty and power of video games in general. Too bad that there are so few titles out there that come even remotely close. Expand
  6. JonathanP.
    Nov 20, 2002
    10
    What an amazing game, I have not been this hooked since Zelda 64. This is the best GameCube game yet -- hell, this is the best game of the last 4 or so years. NOT TO BE MISSED.
  7. May 28, 2011
    10
    Let me start by saying that Super Metroid is my favourite game ever, Metroid Prime not only does an amazing job of transferring the Super Metroid experience - shooting, exploration, puzzle-solving, isolation, atmosphere, and even platforming (!) - to 3D and to a first-person perspective, it also expands wonderfully on Super Metroid series and the action-adventure genre as a whole. TheLet me start by saying that Super Metroid is my favourite game ever, Metroid Prime not only does an amazing job of transferring the Super Metroid experience - shooting, exploration, puzzle-solving, isolation, atmosphere, and even platforming (!) - to 3D and to a first-person perspective, it also expands wonderfully on Super Metroid series and the action-adventure genre as a whole. The first-person perspective and amazing graphical detail only enhances that famous Metroid atmosphere and, arguably, the fun of exploring an alien world reached a new peak here. Expand
  8. Nov 5, 2011
    10
    Metroid Prime is definitely an experience. It took the Metroid formula, perfected it and took a bold new approach in making it an FPA (First-Person Adventure). To say that it's an amazing game it's an understatement; it might as well be the most perfect game ever made for the Cube, and one of the finest games ever. Lots of stuff to collect and do, good storyline, very deep and engagingMetroid Prime is definitely an experience. It took the Metroid formula, perfected it and took a bold new approach in making it an FPA (First-Person Adventure). To say that it's an amazing game it's an understatement; it might as well be the most perfect game ever made for the Cube, and one of the finest games ever. Lots of stuff to collect and do, good storyline, very deep and engaging lore, top-notch graphics, very, VERY good atmosphere, complete with a beautiful soundtrack. Mix this with a difficulty level that is actually challenging even in Normal, tight, really tight controls, and you get no less than perfection. Definitely Retro Studios's masterpiece. Expand
  9. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    Metroid Prime is a truly stunning experience for anyone. Pros: Innovative and overall, nicely polished; excellent graphics and sound; beautifully detailed design; epic soundtrack; challenging gameplay. Cons: No multiplayer; no widescreen mode; the save system could've been better.
  10. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    10 isn't for perfect games. 10 is for phenomenal games that despite all it's flaws shines above the vast majority of games. Graphically it is some of the best GameCube has to offer and the ambient music creates a great atmosphere fitting of the Metroid series. The controls are unconventional, and would be terrible for an FPS. Fortunately, Metroid Prime is a much grander experience than10 isn't for perfect games. 10 is for phenomenal games that despite all it's flaws shines above the vast majority of games. Graphically it is some of the best GameCube has to offer and the ambient music creates a great atmosphere fitting of the Metroid series. The controls are unconventional, and would be terrible for an FPS. Fortunately, Metroid Prime is a much grander experience than your average FPS, with vast levels to explore and secret items scattered around. Less focus on shooting and more on exploring the landscape makes it unique. Overall, Metroid Prime is a game I'm not ashamed to call my favorite game of all time. Easily a must-buy for GameCube/Wii owners. Expand
  11. Nov 7, 2011
    9
    I like this game. It has great graphics and unique gameplay, although I found the game confusing at times because there is a lot going on within the game.
  12. Jun 25, 2012
    10
    Metroid Prime: What can I say that already hasn't been said. This game is truly how an adventure game and an FPS should be, free exploration in a beautiful world that captures you with its stunning visuals, catchy and breathtaking music, little intricacies in the level design that impress the players, and complex and thought-provoking puzzles. It's just you and the huge planet that youMetroid Prime: What can I say that already hasn't been said. This game is truly how an adventure game and an FPS should be, free exploration in a beautiful world that captures you with its stunning visuals, catchy and breathtaking music, little intricacies in the level design that impress the players, and complex and thought-provoking puzzles. It's just you and the huge planet that you explore, with the frequent enemies and boss fights. It's easily understood as to why the Metroid series is truly one of Nintendo's, no, video games in general, finest work. Gameplay: You're Samus Aran, and the game is in her perspective. You see through Samus's helmet, and have a gun with unlimited ammo ready to shoot at everything in sight. Shoot with A, jump with B for some clever platforming, lock on with L, move the gun up and down with R, etc. The gameplay controls very well. On your quest, you will come across items such as Missles, Grapple Beams, etc, which all add to your arsenal of weapons you can carry, making enemies you had trouble earlier with, easier to beat. The boss fights in this game are truly fantastic. From the vicious Flaaghra to the sadistic Ridley, these bosses will pose a huge amount of challenge and fun. Throughout your adventure, you will shoot down indigenous life, space pirates, well designed bosses as you course through the depths of Tallon IV. Going through the magma filled Magmoor Cavern, the cold, sub-zero climate of Phendrana Drifts, to even the Space Pirate's mines (and many more), this game will take hours to complete. After you finish all of that, you will defeat the final boss, Metroid Prime, and save Tallon IV from the corruption of Phazon. The morph ball feature is also well transferred from the game's 2D counterpart, even something that shocked me, the grappling beam, was very well implemented. With perfect controls, perfect level design, and perfect boss battles, gameplay gets a 10/10. Music/Sounds: Metroid Prime features some of the best soundtracks I have heard in a video game. The music in the game contain atmospheric pieces, and catchy ones as well. I cannot begin to tell how many times I've listened to the peaceful Phendrana Drifts music just on its own with headphones. It's music from the heavens. The sounds are also great and realistic (firing your gun, small explosions, enemy grunts, etc) 10/10. Story. The story is marvelously told through the use of optional lore and Pirate data that can be scanned throughout the game. Read up the wiki on the story if you want to know what it is. It's actually quite interesting. The lore and Pirate data also give a very large chunk of the story through the Space Pirates' perspectives and even mention some things in the past that transpired in the planet. Truly a genius way of telling a story. 10/10 Overall Metroid Prime is quite possibly one of the best games you'll come across. What Super Mario 64 did for the Mario series, and what Ocarina of Time did for the Zelda series, Metroid Prime did for the Metroid series. It's a 3D FPS adventure at is finest, and it's my personal favorite game of all time. If you haven't played this game, I highly recommend you pick it up and give it a go. This game receives a perfect 10/10 score. Expand
  13. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Simply the most absorbing game I've ever played. It has the refinement of zelda with an amazing graphics engine and an unquestionable amount of atmosphere. I play to this day, it's better than 90% of what's on wii.
  14. Nov 29, 2011
    10
    Metroid prime is the best game of it's console generation while also fulfilling all necessary gameplay aspects that Metroid fans have come to know and love.
  15. Apr 23, 2012
    10
    I really love this game. There's an intense atmosphere, the graphics is one of the best in Gamecube, the gameplay is awesome and the soundtrack... is amazing. The all planet Tallon IV is huge, with good designs and the boss are the biggest i ever seen in a metroid game.
  16. May 18, 2012
    10
    Graphics: AMAZING, at the time this was the best looking game around and it still looks detailed and slick.
    Music: I can't describe how awesome and fantastic the music is.
    Gameplay: really sweet action-adventure. Lot's of tough puzzles and powerful enemies. The difficulty is just right. So far this, together with Ocarina of Time, is the best game I've played. It's a true master piece and
    Graphics: AMAZING, at the time this was the best looking game around and it still looks detailed and slick.
    Music: I can't describe how awesome and fantastic the music is.
    Gameplay: really sweet action-adventure. Lot's of tough puzzles and powerful enemies. The difficulty is just right.
    So far this, together with Ocarina of Time, is the best game I've played. It's a true master piece and deserves a 10/10.
    Expand
  17. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    I absolutely LOVE this game. I picked it up after watching by big brother play it when I was young. I played it, beat it, and to this day I still come back to play more. This is by far my favorite metroid game and is in my opinion one of the best games of all time. Do not pass up a chance to play this incredible game.
  18. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    Amazing game that seamlessly blends exploration, action, and puzzle solving. I would recommend this title to anyone. Even if you aren't a fan of FPS, I would still have no qualms telling you to play it because it's so radically different than nearly any other game out there. The atmosphere in this game is one of the greatest of all time, the music is engrossing, and the graphics still holdAmazing game that seamlessly blends exploration, action, and puzzle solving. I would recommend this title to anyone. Even if you aren't a fan of FPS, I would still have no qualms telling you to play it because it's so radically different than nearly any other game out there. The atmosphere in this game is one of the greatest of all time, the music is engrossing, and the graphics still hold up wonderfully 10 years later. Expand
  19. Apr 6, 2013
    10
    Eu nunca tinha jogado Metroid na minha vida só ouvia falar que ele era bom demais mas nunca procurei jogar até que meu primo trouxe seu Game Cube com Mario Sunshine, Resident Evil o remake, Mario Kart Double dash, FIFA 2004 e um tal de Metroid, vi cada um dos jogos mas quando peguei o jogo da retrô studios, fui fisgado pelo seu game play matador, um first person shooter que trouxe tudoEu nunca tinha jogado Metroid na minha vida só ouvia falar que ele era bom demais mas nunca procurei jogar até que meu primo trouxe seu Game Cube com Mario Sunshine, Resident Evil o remake, Mario Kart Double dash, FIFA 2004 e um tal de Metroid, vi cada um dos jogos mas quando peguei o jogo da retrô studios, fui fisgado pelo seu game play matador, um first person shooter que trouxe tudo que me falavam nas versões anteriores em 2D, desde o tatu bola(demais), a nave, a atmosfera de outro planeta, os gráficos e cenários, ás músicas e sons de patamar acima dos outros jogos e quanto o fato do seu personagem ser mulher isso eu já sabia mas vendo ela em movimento muito melhor pois o capacete dela reflete tudo o que se passa com ela durante o jogo e Samus você gata heim e aí que percebi o quanto tempo havia perdido não pelo fato de ter jogados os outros títulos do Cubo da Nintendo primeiro, mas não poder ter jogado Metroid desde a geração Nes. Expand
  20. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    A minimalist, yet enthralling backstory is spread about surprisingly slick graphics, intense action sequences, and excellent boss battles. Metroid Prime takes the best out of the Metroid series, and puts a whole new dimensional spin on it.
  21. Feb 2, 2014
    10
    One of the most brilliant games for the Game Cube.
    I myself have played it on the Wii and thought it was awesome.
    Compared with today's games clearly outdated but with the games damliger time simply unmatched.
  22. May 27, 2014
    10
    In 1994 Nintendo released Super Metroid, one of the best games ever. An entire generation of games went by without Nintendo releasing a sequel. Then this game was announced with an incredible amount of hype around it. Metroid Prime not only lived up to the hype, it surpassed it. It transferred everything that made Super Metroid so amazing to 3D flawlessly. There was more lore, betterIn 1994 Nintendo released Super Metroid, one of the best games ever. An entire generation of games went by without Nintendo releasing a sequel. Then this game was announced with an incredible amount of hype around it. Metroid Prime not only lived up to the hype, it surpassed it. It transferred everything that made Super Metroid so amazing to 3D flawlessly. There was more lore, better combat, better boss fights, more exploration, better locations and a higher level of immersion. The graphics at the time were unprecedented and the soundtrack was excellent. It gave my favourite franchise new life and that is why it is my favourite game. Expand
  23. May 3, 2015
    10
    Metroid Prime es un grandisimo juego que recomiendo a todo el mundo. Variedad, graficos muy buenos, controles, mecanicas, es perfecto. 60 fps solidos y una experiencia inolvidable.
  24. HunterE
    Jul 10, 2008
    10
    Best game for the Gamecube, one of the best games of all time. No kidding, go get it right now. Similar to games you know, but very unique and very well-crafted. Play it alone for the mood and in a dim room so you can see all the pretty details packed onto the screen.
  25. MikeW.
    Dec 7, 2002
    10
    Metroid Prime is a great FP game. At first the controls seem weird but once you get into a couple hours of gameplay the controls become natural and easy. The graphics are great comparing to those of Halo. The music in the game is neat because some of it is from the original Metroid Prime. This is one of the best FP games iv'e ever played.
  26. Anonymousguy
    Jan 5, 2003
    10
    Quite possibly the best game of the year, it is almost flawless. The controls are very confusing at first but after a solid hour of gameplay you get used to them. This game has some of the best graphics to hit the Gamecube yet. In every corner of every room you enter you are bombarded with endless amounts of flawless detail. The gameplay offers more fun than any first person shooter game Quite possibly the best game of the year, it is almost flawless. The controls are very confusing at first but after a solid hour of gameplay you get used to them. This game has some of the best graphics to hit the Gamecube yet. In every corner of every room you enter you are bombarded with endless amounts of flawless detail. The gameplay offers more fun than any first person shooter game I have ever played. Even though it gets a little hard to follow, the Metroid Prime story line it is good nonetheless. The only flaw in this game is that it doesn't have any dialogue. Expand
  27. DavidL.
    Oct 3, 2004
    10
    This game is nothing short of spectacular...if you own a Gamecube you MUST buy this game...If you don't, well...you don't know what your missing =).
  28. JeffBighead
    Jun 10, 2004
    10
    Metroid Prime when I first picked it up I didn't think it was that good, but later once you learn what to do it got a lot better. The plot is deep if you like to read the scannings and the gameplay is far more better than any other first person shooter I have ever played, this game changes the elements of a basic first person shooter and turned it into a masterpiece. Just like Turok Metroid Prime when I first picked it up I didn't think it was that good, but later once you learn what to do it got a lot better. The plot is deep if you like to read the scannings and the gameplay is far more better than any other first person shooter I have ever played, this game changes the elements of a basic first person shooter and turned it into a masterpiece. Just like Turok from the 64 and Halo, this one of the few first person shooters where the enemies range from giant killing worm things to space pirates the size of godzilla. The graphics by far pass any game on the gamecube and the percentage track is sooo long and hard its almost so hard to beat this game 100 percent. The whole ball things is really cool because it adds a puzzle like element to the game. This is definitely the best game on the game cube so far, whoever mog is he better not come to PA or I will gun him down on sight because you never rate a game badly because you suck at it, thank you. If you never have played a metroid game or are a big time fan then you will love this game no matter what, and it will turn you into a fan just like me. Expand
  29. Jimto
    Mar 9, 2003
    10
    Anyone who didn't give this game 10 should be ashamed of themselves. Jelaous fools.
  30. AndreB.
    Mar 31, 2004
    10
    This is the best Metroid game of all time.
  31. KikB
    Oct 29, 2008
    9
    Metroid Prime is indeed a masterpiece. The idea of a 3D Metroid game may have seemed like a bad idea at first but thankfully it wasn't. The story seemed somewhat complext to me at first until I played more of the other Metroid games. The controls are very good with a lock on system which most First-person games do not have because those are proper First-person-shooters where as Metroid Prime is indeed a masterpiece. The idea of a 3D Metroid game may have seemed like a bad idea at first but thankfully it wasn't. The story seemed somewhat complext to me at first until I played more of the other Metroid games. The controls are very good with a lock on system which most First-person games do not have because those are proper First-person-shooters where as Metroid Prime and it's two sequels are first-person-adventures. The boss battles are also very enjoyable, and the landscapes and level designs in Metroid Prime are breathtaking. Those are what I thought made Metroid Prime so excellent besides the way it was revoulotionary for a 2D side scrolling series to become a FPA. The landscapes were just beautiful. I would give Metroid Prime a perfect score, however it was very very close to being perfect. There were at least two flaws which are minior and basically just me nit picking. I know it's not worth mentioning but I see reviewing as pointing out the good and bad even if it's just nit picking. The one flaw I had with Metroid Prime was some of the load times. The loading screen when you enter an elevator to go to a different location. I think they could've done better work on that. Then there was these doors that wouldn't open for a few seconds even after you shot them. Of course those doors are a lot worse in Metroid Prime 3. So I do not give perfect scores away, but Metroid Prime was very very close to being perfect in my opinion. Those load times are all that held it back. But I still see it as an incredible game. 98/100 Expand
  32. AlexA.
    Feb 26, 2008
    9
    Well, as a long time FPS fan (and not a Nintendo fanboy...) I have been interested to play the Prime series and all I have to say is that this game is great, great graphics, great gameplay, everything is great. What I really liked about this game is that even if it is a First Person Shooter (Well for me it's a First person Adventure) it is still faithful to the Metroid formula, I Well, as a long time FPS fan (and not a Nintendo fanboy...) I have been interested to play the Prime series and all I have to say is that this game is great, great graphics, great gameplay, everything is great. What I really liked about this game is that even if it is a First Person Shooter (Well for me it's a First person Adventure) it is still faithful to the Metroid formula, I liked the puzzles, the enjoyable boss battles and the easy fights. I have been tired of the mindless shooting for a little bit and I decided to give this game another try. Sure, no game is perfect and every game shares and has its flaws. The game's story is somewhat non-existent, the controls feel a little bit awkward for a gamecube controller (But Retro studios and Nintendo still did the effort and I congratulate them) and the fact that you get to explore the same areas for the 3th or 4th time can be a little frustrating and boring. What I still like about this game is the graphics (for a gamecube game), I liked the immersive atmosphere and the sound is top-notch. I don't know why are people attacking this game and it's great in almost every aspect. Look, if you're a hardcore FPS fan that loves shooting and action every second then this game is not for you guys, before you buy a game you must research it before you do something wrong and buy it. And if you're an FPS player or gamer that likes exploring and immerse yourselves then this game is for you guys. I consider this as one of the greatest and most respected games on the gamecube of all time (And it's on my personal Top 10). Expand
  33. BrodieP.
    Nov 22, 2002
    9
    Certainly not your average fps... its more of an adventure game where seeing what you can unlock next as apposed to blasting aliens is the majority of the fun. And while theres not hordes of enemies to kill as in Halo, it seems balanced for this adventure and you'll never get bored. It is beautifully accomplished in almost every aspect. A must have for Gamecube owners.
  34. Saiyuki
    Dec 2, 2002
    10
    Can you say "Good bye, Halo"?
  35. C.Snowdon
    Dec 23, 2002
    9
    Incredibly well thought out controls, gorgeous graphics, a frame rate that never slows down, and a sountrack that's a joy to listen to even on it's own. My only gripes are a few really low resolution textures, though this may have been intentional to keep the framerate as smooth as it is. The atmospheric effects more than make up for this shortcoming, though I wish the water Incredibly well thought out controls, gorgeous graphics, a frame rate that never slows down, and a sountrack that's a joy to listen to even on it's own. My only gripes are a few really low resolution textures, though this may have been intentional to keep the framerate as smooth as it is. The atmospheric effects more than make up for this shortcoming, though I wish the water effects were better. I've been spoiled by Mario Sunshine. The game is huge, it almost never seems to end. I've clocked in a ton of hours and I'm still not finished with the game. Also, I've seen complaints on the lack of multiplayer and people saying it wasn't made for multiplayer. Well, it's true, the controls for this game make Multiplayer worthless for the same reasons that they make single player work so well. The auto targeting and autolock functions make any sort of deathmatch a bad joke. But this also keeps the game firmly in the realm of first person 'adventure' as opposed to a shooter. Anyone who expects a shooter or tries to play this game like a shooter will be sorely dissapointed. This game is all about exploration and puzzle solving. The game plays more like Super Metroid in 3D than any shooter. Expand
  36. NateB.
    Dec 15, 2003
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing. From the atmosphere, level design, graphical touches that actually improve the gameplay experience, its all here. Yes, the controls seem weird at first, but after maybe 30 minutes you realize they are perfect for how the game is designed. The story presentation is also awesome, if you just want to play the game you can, but if you want a great story you This game is absolutely amazing. From the atmosphere, level design, graphical touches that actually improve the gameplay experience, its all here. Yes, the controls seem weird at first, but after maybe 30 minutes you realize they are perfect for how the game is designed. The story presentation is also awesome, if you just want to play the game you can, but if you want a great story you can take the time to read it, awesome for replaying the game. Super Metroid is still the best, and probably always will be, but this game comes close. Real close. Even better, if you wanted a 2D shooter, you got Fusion, in addition to this fantastic game. Expand
  37. Saintpuhn
    May 12, 2003
    9
    Very good game. why 9? easy until the last few bosses and lots of backtracking (as others have already pointed out)
  38. MichaelJ.
    Mar 24, 2005
    10
    This is without a doubt one the greatest games I have ever played, the graphics rule the gameplay is awesome the music reminds me of the original metroid games and the weapons look amazing (especially the plasma beam). The effects life steam condensing on your visor or Samus's face reflecting off the visor when a flash of light goes off nearby show how much Retro payed attention to This is without a doubt one the greatest games I have ever played, the graphics rule the gameplay is awesome the music reminds me of the original metroid games and the weapons look amazing (especially the plasma beam). The effects life steam condensing on your visor or Samus's face reflecting off the visor when a flash of light goes off nearby show how much Retro payed attention to detail. The controls are a little confusing at first but like any other game they are easy to adapt to. The only real "problem" I think there is is that there is no multiplayer although I'm not so sure if that would work too well considering the controls.... PS: A lot of Halo fans are saying that this game was overhyped......so you're saying that Halo wasn't overhyped? I own Halo and it is an above average fps game but it's nothing earth shattering. Expand
  39. AlexzanderD.
    Aug 24, 2005
    9
    I just like main part of the game like the boss parasite queen before the part where you have 7 minutes to get out.
  40. CarlosL.
    Apr 23, 2007
    9
    This game is good. I like the controls since I;m not use to first person. Also the gameplay is fun with the enemies smart and you have to plan out how to kill them and the only drawback are the far save stations and sometimes you need to sit and think.
  41. PaulW
    Nov 16, 2008
    9
    Although Resident Evil 4 (which I have just now added a comment for) and Metroid Prime share some similarities in fierce encounters with enemies, Metroid Prime is much the better game (in fact I rate the Resient Evil remake above RE4). Like the superb Uncharted: Drake's Fortune, Metroid Prime starts you off in the thick of it and then gradually builds back up into action, both games Although Resident Evil 4 (which I have just now added a comment for) and Metroid Prime share some similarities in fierce encounters with enemies, Metroid Prime is much the better game (in fact I rate the Resient Evil remake above RE4). Like the superb Uncharted: Drake's Fortune, Metroid Prime starts you off in the thick of it and then gradually builds back up into action, both games allowing a great sense of a capacity for exploration, something generally lacking from Resident Evil 4's more cheap and gory thrills. With its lock on shooting style, Metroid Prime satisfies those looking for an arcade-style experience in a deep adventure. One particular highlight is entering the beautiful snow covered Phenandra Drifts which, like very other level, hides a labyrinth-like Alice in Wonderland series of tunnels and pathways. The music in this game is perfect- alternatively beautiful and subtle or strident and scary. The backtracking is understandable though sometimes results in a huge journey back to a previous point however the control system, which I found otherwise brilliant, makes one the later bosses too tough. Still, this is a lot better than Metroid Prime: Echoes. Expand
  42. FilazaferX
    Nov 21, 2002
    10
    I was a fan of the original and skeptical of the FPS style, but they pulled it off amazingly well. I will say that if I didn't have the strategy guide for the game I would have thrown it out the window within a couple days. I don't normally use them, but there is just too many places to explore here and even if you have been somewhere you may need to go back. If you beat it I was a fan of the original and skeptical of the FPS style, but they pulled it off amazingly well. I will say that if I didn't have the strategy guide for the game I would have thrown it out the window within a couple days. I don't normally use them, but there is just too many places to explore here and even if you have been somewhere you may need to go back. If you beat it without the guide then you are a better gamer than I. I agree that the controls are hard to learn, but they are neccessary. All in all this game is revolutionary. It is like no other FPS. It is more a game of exploration and it is one-of-a-kind. All I want to know is when does the movie come out. It is begging to be made. Just buy this game and the guide now. It is incredible. Expand
  43. KrisK.
    Nov 27, 2002
    9
    Would have scored a perfect 10 if not for the random lockups. A truly engrossing game. The visuals are great and the puzzles provide enough challenge without getting annoying. The controls take a minute to adjust to, but once you get them it becomes natural, and I think any problem people are having with the controls really stems from the GC controller rather than the game itself. All in Would have scored a perfect 10 if not for the random lockups. A truly engrossing game. The visuals are great and the puzzles provide enough challenge without getting annoying. The controls take a minute to adjust to, but once you get them it becomes natural, and I think any problem people are having with the controls really stems from the GC controller rather than the game itself. All in all, a great game that lives up to the legacy of the original. Expand
  44. Ppuffy
    Nov 23, 2005
    8
    i finally got my hands on metroid prime .... im not a very good player is what i found out hehe but that doest hurt me ratin this game at all.... its nice, very creative, thougth i still dont understand it fully.... from what i played i can see why plyars liked it....its a good gamecube game for game cube onwers..it still amazes me with great games like this how game cube is not numeber i finally got my hands on metroid prime .... im not a very good player is what i found out hehe but that doest hurt me ratin this game at all.... its nice, very creative, thougth i still dont understand it fully.... from what i played i can see why plyars liked it....its a good gamecube game for game cube onwers..it still amazes me with great games like this how game cube is not numeber one or up in the top sellers of the world ...its worth rentin n evenin buyin if ur up for a challage... Expand
  45. Jun 25, 2013
    10
    On the Nintendo 64, many franchises attempted to jump into the 3rd dimension. Super Mario 64 successfully brought Mario to 3D. Ocarina of Time did the same for the Zelda franchise. Both of these games were hailed as masterpieces and are still considered some of the greatest games of all time. However, a question remained: can Metroid successfully make the leap into 3D? No new Metroid gamesOn the Nintendo 64, many franchises attempted to jump into the 3rd dimension. Super Mario 64 successfully brought Mario to 3D. Ocarina of Time did the same for the Zelda franchise. Both of these games were hailed as masterpieces and are still considered some of the greatest games of all time. However, a question remained: can Metroid successfully make the leap into 3D? No new Metroid games were released for the N64, and the question remained unanswered. That is, of course, until the Gamecube came out, and with it came Metroid Prime.

    Metroid Prime is, simply put, one of the best games on the Gamecube. Every aspect of it is refined to near perfection.

    The graphics are outstanding by any standard. You can tell a game looked good back when it came out if it still looks amazing in 2013.
    The sound design was amazing as well. The music perfectly fits every zone you enter, providing an excellent background to the exploration that you undertake. Every shot you fire makes a crisp and punctual noise that echos with your surroundings.

    Perhaps the greatest aspect of Metroid Prime is its gameplay. The reason the gameplay is so good is because it's a perfect translation of the old school 2D Metroid games. You still find power-ups, new suits and new beams as you further explore the world of Tallon IV. Every now and again, you come across a large boss that takes a lot of skill to defeat. It's classic Metroid from beginning to end, and it's all awesome.

    The only issue with the game is regarding a later section of the game that can be quite boring, as it involves a lot of unnecessary backtracking. It's not a huge deal, but it can be a little annoying.

    Bottom line is that this game is phenomenal. A must play for all people.

    9.9/10
    Expand
  46. Apr 25, 2013
    10
    I felt I had to write a review jst to state something other than how much I like this game; a LOT of people, including one or two reviewers here, have made comments saying that they were disappointed with 'Metroid Prime' because it's not like games like 'Halo' or 'Quake'; but the point is that it really isn't trying to be.

    'Metroid Prime' is NOT a normal first-person shooter; 'Metroid'
    I felt I had to write a review jst to state something other than how much I like this game; a LOT of people, including one or two reviewers here, have made comments saying that they were disappointed with 'Metroid Prime' because it's not like games like 'Halo' or 'Quake'; but the point is that it really isn't trying to be.

    'Metroid Prime' is NOT a normal first-person shooter; 'Metroid' games have been around since the 1980s, and have never been about just shooting and surviving, there's a lot more to it. Power-ups, new abilities, upgrades and such are vital to success in this game, and it requires much more thought than the everyday shooter. This isn't to say that 'Metriod Prime' doesn't deliver when it comes to the shooting action; to put it bluntly, it's cool, and the action gets pretty frantic. What annoys me is when people go on about how this game isn't like other shoot 'em ups; surely it's nice to have games being produced that do something DIFFERENT to every other shoot 'em up? I highly recommend this game; it delivers in every conceivable way a game should, and, with it being a 'Player's Choice' title now, you're picking up a great game for a good price.
    Expand
  47. May 15, 2013
    10
    I really like Metroid Prime. The graphics are pretty good, the controls are awesome, the boss battles and sub-boss battles are classic. Even though Metroid Prime is a first-person shooter, it still have the adventure elements that is associated with the Metroid series
  48. Jan 4, 2011
    10
    Here's my Top 50 games of all time:

    The Legend of Zelda a Link to the Past
    Super Metroid
    The Legend of Zelda
    Metroid Prime (Trilogy)
    Banjo-Kazooie
    Resident Evil 4
    Tetris DS
    Words with Friends (Scrabble)
    Super Mario Galaxy
    Mike Tysonâ
  49. Jun 1, 2011
    8
    Metroid Prime is not to be compared to games like Halo. While both feature armor clad heroes in space, the game play of both are completely different. MP is a single player First Person Adventure game. You investigate a distress call and soon find yourself alone on a hostile planet trying to unravel the mysterious of the planet while exploring every nook and cranny for secrets, and boy areMetroid Prime is not to be compared to games like Halo. While both feature armor clad heroes in space, the game play of both are completely different. MP is a single player First Person Adventure game. You investigate a distress call and soon find yourself alone on a hostile planet trying to unravel the mysterious of the planet while exploring every nook and cranny for secrets, and boy are there lots. There might be only half a dozen short cinematics, the rest is told through journal entries from Space Pirates (tuuubes!), Chozo artifacts and your computer scanner. You can nearly scan everything in the game finding out facts about nearly every speck of life on the planet while the beautiful effects and music add to the ambiance of the world. It is one of my favorite games for the GameCube and one of the best games of the decade. 10/10. Expand
  50. SeanM.
    Mar 7, 2003
    10
    I don't have a Gamecube yet but i thinking of buying one and when i do i get the free game with it. It either comes with Resident Evil 0, Mario Party 4, Star Fox, or Prime. I wanna get Prime but im not sure. What should I get??????
  51. May 25, 2012
    10
    Absolutely my favourite game of all time. Not only was this game immersive, exciting and all together major fun! It had an amazing back story and amazing game play. The progression in the game is what I like most, you unlock new pieces of armour and new weapons to be able to travel to the places you had passed and wondered "How the hell do I get past this purple door?" for example. TheAbsolutely my favourite game of all time. Not only was this game immersive, exciting and all together major fun! It had an amazing back story and amazing game play. The progression in the game is what I like most, you unlock new pieces of armour and new weapons to be able to travel to the places you had passed and wondered "How the hell do I get past this purple door?" for example. The game also looks fantastic for its age, and to be honest rivaled many of the latest games on its rival consoles, such as 'Halo: Combat Evolved'. All in all I just wanted to make this amateur review to show my appreciation to Retro Studios, for truly making a master piece! Expand
  52. May 27, 2013
    10
    Arguably, the best gamecube game ever. The graphics were ahead of their time and could compete with todays standards. The landscapes are stunning and the adventurous gameplay keeps you coming back for more. The bosses are challenging yet not impossible. The worst part of the game is when its over
  53. MichaelB.
    Feb 24, 2003
    9
    This game is good but on of the most over-rated titles of the year. I own a Game-Cube and realize that this is probably one of the best that you can get on the cube, but there are other games out there that eat this alive. The graphics though are stunning for the Cube. However they cannot measure up to graphics like MGS2, Splinter Cell, or even Silent Hill 2. There is no story, that This game is good but on of the most over-rated titles of the year. I own a Game-Cube and realize that this is probably one of the best that you can get on the cube, but there are other games out there that eat this alive. The graphics though are stunning for the Cube. However they cannot measure up to graphics like MGS2, Splinter Cell, or even Silent Hill 2. There is no story, that really bothers me. However, this game is a solid effort by Nintendo and deserves the some of the credit that it gets. Expand
  54. ShawnT.
    Feb 27, 2003
    10
    Amazing. Simply amazing. Pick up a copy now. it's really fun and u get to shoot stuff ^_^
  55. Jan 8, 2011
    10
    There is so much but so little to say about this game. Best graphics of a gamecube game. Best gameplay of a gamecube game. Flawless in every way. Compelling. Entertaining. Jaw dropping action. If you have not bought this, then do so. This is why the gamecube is worth buying!
  56. Jun 11, 2013
    10
    Amazing, absolutely amazing. for anyone that ever knocked the gamecube with or without trying it, this game will set you straight. It is an experience unlike anything else that was available at the time. The depth of this game was outstanding, was always entertained even when literally breaking my controller after multiple deaths to the final boss.
  57. Jul 21, 2014
    8
    El juego tiene algo que atrapa desde un principio. Quizás sea el escenario, quizás la música... no lo sé. En todo caso, Metroid Prime es un shooter notable, algo lejos de ser perfecto en mi opinión (tenia diversas cosas negativas como la repetición de enemigos en algunas zonas) pero un buen juego en mi opinión. Era un gusto explorar las zonas con las habilidades de Samus en primeraEl juego tiene algo que atrapa desde un principio. Quizás sea el escenario, quizás la música... no lo sé. En todo caso, Metroid Prime es un shooter notable, algo lejos de ser perfecto en mi opinión (tenia diversas cosas negativas como la repetición de enemigos en algunas zonas) pero un buen juego en mi opinión. Era un gusto explorar las zonas con las habilidades de Samus en primera persona. Gráficamente es realmente bueno para ser de 2002. Expand
  58. Anonymous
    Sep 21, 2007
    10
    You can't say that this game is bad because another game is better. It's as simple as that. It may or may not have lived up to it's hype - that's personal opinion really - it's not a reason to give this game anything below what it deserves. I have never owned a gamecube, I chose the xbox over it at the time (So you can expect a unbiased rating). Now I have a Wii, You can't say that this game is bad because another game is better. It's as simple as that. It may or may not have lived up to it's hype - that's personal opinion really - it's not a reason to give this game anything below what it deserves. I have never owned a gamecube, I chose the xbox over it at the time (So you can expect a unbiased rating). Now I have a Wii, and replaying all the games I missed out on. Metroid Prime 1 is a brilliant game, very worth while for anyone with some free time, and defenately worth all 10 of my votes. Expand
  59. ShayneV
    Mar 30, 2008
    9
    People need to stop comparing this game to others games like Splinter Cell, Grand Theft Auto, and Halo. WHAT IS WRONG WITH YOU PEOPLE. This game is completely different then those types of games. Stop comparing it to other games. Its a great game so give it a try. Yes its true that some people wont like it but at least give it a try. Or you could go back to playing your crappy Halo.
  60. Shane95
    Jan 2, 2010
    10
    Halo pales in comparison, Metroid Prime is awesome. Story is interesting, Gameplay is AW3SOM3. Graphics are the same as gameplay. Controls are good. Overall the game deserves a 100000000000000000 out of 10, but since gaming sites are jerks i have to give it a 10, In my opinon Halo ripped off metroid, now calm down now think about it, the gameplay is similar the story is similar, Even in Halo pales in comparison, Metroid Prime is awesome. Story is interesting, Gameplay is AW3SOM3. Graphics are the same as gameplay. Controls are good. Overall the game deserves a 100000000000000000 out of 10, but since gaming sites are jerks i have to give it a 10, In my opinon Halo ripped off metroid, now calm down now think about it, the gameplay is similar the story is similar, Even in ODST The shock trooper had a visor similar to Samus Visor. Yeah that's so not a ripoff. Expand
  61. SteveM.
    Nov 19, 2002
    10
    Holy crap!! This game rocks!!
  62. IanT.
    Nov 20, 2002
    10
    This game is awesome, f*ck renting it, just buy it! It is definitely a console seller.
  63. JasonM.
    Dec 10, 2002
    10
    Considering that this game dosen't have a multiplayer it is the best game for game cube yet. Halo has got to be the best multi player yet but the actual game on campaign isn't that good. Metroid prime blows halo out of the water and can't wait for the next game featuring Samus.
  64. JohnA.
    Dec 1, 2002
    10
    This game's overall user rating needs to be higher. This is probably the best game for the gamecube so far, but it's definitely geared more towards the "cereberal" gamer; this game is not all about white-knuckle action and shooting. In fact, much of the combat is easy and secondary to exploration and puzzle solving, all of which is naturally integrated into the game. However the This game's overall user rating needs to be higher. This is probably the best game for the gamecube so far, but it's definitely geared more towards the "cereberal" gamer; this game is not all about white-knuckle action and shooting. In fact, much of the combat is easy and secondary to exploration and puzzle solving, all of which is naturally integrated into the game. However the game has it's tense moments, especially during the boss battles. For gamers who enjoy the finer things in games (ie immersiveness, attention to detail, innovative gameplay) and are willing to deal with a slightly slower-paced game, this is probably the best game of the year, especially if you are a fan of the old metroid games. If not, you still ought to put your preconceptions about "first person shooters" aside, and give the game a shot: you may suprise yourself. Something to consider about the first person perspective: after playing the game it's safe to say that they used that perspective for aesthetic purposes: for one, it's more immersive that way, and many of the environments are so small that a third person camera wouldn't work. Furthermore, the visor system (which is integral to the gameplay) would not work from a third person perspective. But the game was never designed as a "first person shooter", so it would behoove the gamer to not approach it as such. Comparing this game to a game like Halo would be like comparing WarCraft III to Final Fantasy X; they are both great games with some surface similiarities in presentation, but are drastically different in gameplay and purpose. The graphics, though not the best I have ever seen, are still incredible. What's most incredible about them is not the technical abilities they show off: the models aren't especially high polygon, there are no fancy special effects like bump mapping or real time lighting, and some of the textures are lo-res. What makes the graphics great is the details. There are all sorts of effects that happen on samus' visor, which, though they aren't technically impressive (they are actually quite simple), go a long way towards increasing the immersiveness of the game. The environments themselves are all quite well-varied and detailed as well, and you never get the sense that you've been somewhere before because of reused textures or anything like that. If you are a REAL gamer, that is, you are interested only in the qualities of the actual games and the entertainment and experience that you will get from them, then you shouldn't let something silly like what system this game is on or its unconventional control system stop you from enjoying this game. If you choose to let trivial issues like that interfere with your decision, then it's your loss. Expand
  65. EricC.
    Dec 4, 2002
    10
    This is the single player mode that I wish Halo had had, but when you look at level design, graphics, enemy A.I., strategy, story, and detail, Metroid Prime wins in all categories. Retro Studios held on to the close attention to detail that made the last Metroid great. It's like someone mixed Super Metroid with all the good parts of Resident Evil, Half-Life, and Halo, and yet is This is the single player mode that I wish Halo had had, but when you look at level design, graphics, enemy A.I., strategy, story, and detail, Metroid Prime wins in all categories. Retro Studios held on to the close attention to detail that made the last Metroid great. It's like someone mixed Super Metroid with all the good parts of Resident Evil, Half-Life, and Halo, and yet is still just as original as it was when the first game was released. While control does take a little getting used to, it works great when the player gets used to it. I'm not sure what Gamepro meant by a "lack of polish", but for the game's graphics to be better, the pictures would have to pop out of your screen. What's really sad though is that many anti-Gamecube people (mainly Xbox owners) have degraded themselves to the point of stupid insults and saying negative quotes like "over-hyped" and "copying Halo". Get the facts straight: One, hype is not a negative, but merely what people think the game will be like when it is released, and two, Metroid was released WAY before the exisistence of Halo, let alone first-person games. If anything, Halo 2 will have to take some tips from Metroid Prime when it's released. Nintendo more than deserves the award for Game of the Year for Metroid Prime. It's fantastic work. Expand
  66. MarceloC.
    Jan 2, 2003
    10
    Metroid Prime is easily the best game in the metroid series but is also one of the most atmospheric game on the gamecube to date, and simply one of the best in years.
  67. Samson
    Oct 8, 2003
    10
    The most fun I've ever had playing a video game besides maybe the original Mario for NES. This is an epic game.
  68. BrianF.
    Jan 8, 2003
    10
    The only flaws I found were: Some doors took awhile to open and it doesn't tell you where to go for about 15 minutes after you complete a mission (By then, you're on the other side of the planet).
  69. JimL.
    Mar 7, 2003
    10
    One of the best games of all time continues the metroid story. Excellent!!!
  70. NeilW.
    Apr 23, 2003
    10
    One of the best games i've ever played. And plz stop bitchin about the controls. If you find them wierd, you should after about 15-30 mins of playin discover that they work flawlessly. And if they dont? well, I think you're the one that has a problem.
  71. ShadowW.
    Apr 7, 2003
    10
    One of the best games ever made! Graphics were inredible and game controls are easyily accessible, simply amazing!
  72. TheLoneGamer
    May 18, 2003
    10
    Firstly i'd like to say that this is the absolute best adventure game I have ever played. maybe you think I am just following the critics but really this is amazing. And to all the people who can't find a storyline, that is what the scanner is for. this game isn't about going in guns blazing and just shooting - it is about adventure, exploration and truth, that is why you Firstly i'd like to say that this is the absolute best adventure game I have ever played. maybe you think I am just following the critics but really this is amazing. And to all the people who can't find a storyline, that is what the scanner is for. this game isn't about going in guns blazing and just shooting - it is about adventure, exploration and truth, that is why you scan things. And who ever said that the controls are bad i can only pity those people, the controls elevate this game above first person shooters, the controls make it a first person adventure as Nintendo tried to explain. Just give Nintendo the respect the deserve. this game is a masterpiece. sure not everyone will enjoy it but I am sure for 75% of the people who play it will enjoy it. Wot about the hype? This game hasn't actually been hyped much by Nintendo but instead by magazines and reviewers and rightly so. I haven't played any other metroid games before so i was totally following reviews when i decided to buy it and hell it was more than i eexpected. it is the best ame on the gamecube and quite possibly the best on any next generation console so far. Nintendo i am forever in your debt for this amazing game. Expand
  73. MarcP.
    Jun 18, 2003
    10
    This game is simply perfect, from gameplay to graphics. The most fun I've ever had playing a game, and one of the greatest game challenges ever.
  74. AaronC.
    Jul 7, 2003
    10
    This is an awesome game. Great graphics, awesome music with ingenious remixes from previous Metroid games. Certain small elements could have been improved by use of more standard FPS controls but this does not hurt the game. If you're looking for a strait shooter or a true FPS you're going to be disapointed with this game however. The object is not to run and gun or to have an This is an awesome game. Great graphics, awesome music with ingenious remixes from previous Metroid games. Certain small elements could have been improved by use of more standard FPS controls but this does not hurt the game. If you're looking for a strait shooter or a true FPS you're going to be disapointed with this game however. The object is not to run and gun or to have an FPS frag fest. Gameplay is focused on exploration and thought. The addition of a Hard mode once the game is completed adds to replay value and the fun of the game. Although a lack of save points in a few areas can make thing frustrateing this problem does not occur often. Fan of the first three Metroids will quite enjoy this game although there isn't much in the game that uses the tradition Metroid "sixth sense" that fans of the series have come to aquire it does have it's own flare. Over all an excellent game. Expand
  75. ChrisM.
    Jan 1, 2004
    10
    The game that no GC owner should be without. An epic masterpiece that will have you enthralled right to the very end. The lovely graphics, the effective music and the deep gameplay all add up to a great game.
  76. GeorgeY.
    Oct 5, 2004
    10
    I bet $50 that Greg K: a) doesn't own a gamecube b) doesn't know how to push buttons c) is some rejected halo fan who can't take any competition.
  77. Japple
    Jun 7, 2004
    10
    An absolutely stunning adventure game that sucks you for the first time fully into the character of samus and the metroid universe. an intensely addictive game with absolutely amazing level design in a complete world for your to explore and conquer. Added upon is the incredible graphical feats in the game including the complete rendering of the world for multiple visors and stunning detailAn absolutely stunning adventure game that sucks you for the first time fully into the character of samus and the metroid universe. an intensely addictive game with absolutely amazing level design in a complete world for your to explore and conquer. Added upon is the incredible graphical feats in the game including the complete rendering of the world for multiple visors and stunning detail in every corner of the game. It completely reinvents the first person genre prizing exploration and gaming tension above just your standard hack and slash shooters. It includes an incredible new first person gameplay system with unbelievable jumping control that adds a true 3rd dimension into a first person game. Expand
  78. RobertA.
    Jul 15, 2004
    10
    Great. play on. and this delight will astound you.
  79. SamusAran
    Jul 29, 2004
    10
    Prime. Metroid Prime. Prime gaming. The name of the game explains my feelings.
  80. DanielT.
    Aug 6, 2004
    10
    It's long, it's challenging, and it has beautifull graphics. The game has had the same impact on the Gamecube like that of The Ocarina of Time had on the N64. If OoT was N64's best game. Then Metroid Prime is GCN's best game.
  81. KymP.
    Feb 6, 2005
    9
    Wow. just completed it...one of the most atmospheric, engrossing and endearing games i''ve ever had to honour to play. Not a perfect score due to some niggles with aiming jumps, and save stations can be frustrating to track down.. but overall, brilliant.
  82. Chuck
    Mar 4, 2005
    10
    Metroid prime by far is one of the best first-person shooters game ever. In the beginning this game kind of sucked but you had to keep playing. But in the midlle and in the end of this game was the best part in the whole game. If your looking for a good game for the gamecube definitely buy Metroid Prime.
  83. Geckat
    Jun 3, 2005
    10
    Beautiful. Absolutely breathtaking. As I mentioned in Echoes, this is another game that will make you feel as if you had done it all on your own. I have fantisized over and over about the Chozo Ruins, wondering what I could make of them, actually finding myself wondering what they were like before the Worm came before remembering that it was a video game. My friend won't let me have Beautiful. Absolutely breathtaking. As I mentioned in Echoes, this is another game that will make you feel as if you had done it all on your own. I have fantisized over and over about the Chozo Ruins, wondering what I could make of them, actually finding myself wondering what they were like before the Worm came before remembering that it was a video game. My friend won't let me have it back :-( . Expand
  84. BryanS
    Aug 1, 2006
    10
    I heartily agree with the critics. This game deserves a 9.7. It is not perfect (no game is...well, maybe Ocarina of Time), however, it is bloody close. Awesome story, atmospheric sound track, fluid controls, incredibly immersive. One of the best games I have ever played.
  85. BenjaminB.
    Mar 22, 2007
    9
    Great game, but why isn't there some kind teleport-system. although the design of the world is great, it can really annoy you when you have to go through the same area for the 10th time. i can really understand some bad reviews, because the game demands you to think and the normal casual gamer does not like to do so. he wants to sit in front of the tv-screen, to shut down the brain Great game, but why isn't there some kind teleport-system. although the design of the world is great, it can really annoy you when you have to go through the same area for the 10th time. i can really understand some bad reviews, because the game demands you to think and the normal casual gamer does not like to do so. he wants to sit in front of the tv-screen, to shut down the brain and having fun. when you are looking for a game where you do not have to think, it is definetly the wrong game for you. Although it is just a (maybe too artistic) masterpiece with great sounds, graphics and gameplay. Expand
  86. MarkE
    Feb 2, 2009
    10
    So many children on this website, thinking Halo is the be all and end all of gaming. Metroid Prime is perfection, it brought the 2D formula to the next level with astounding results. I can play this game again and again.
  87. jean-philippel
    Mar 1, 2009
    10
    It's a perfect game! Graphics are so great, boss are beautiful, hard and tall! I like this game
  88. AaronRoiz
    Jun 10, 2009
    10
    Ok, quite simply one of the greatest games of all time. People need to stop calling this an FPS because it's not, it's an FPA (First Person Adventure). deserves a 15.
  89. andrép
    Jul 6, 2009
    10
    nice game!!! i like the controll and graphics and best of all the sound its amazing keep it up nintendo
  90. ProGamer
    Nov 16, 2002
    10
    This isn't a FPS game. Anyone who says that is stupid. This is a whole new genre, a First Person Adventure. And it has the best atmosphere of any game I've played.
  91. BOboP.
    Nov 20, 2002
    10
    AMzing AMzing
  92. JohnB.
    Nov 21, 2002
    10
    Unbelievably KICK-ASS! Metroid Prime is a superbly crafted adventure game that just happens to be in first-person with some pretty fierce monsters to shoot at along the way. So is it an adventure game or an FPS? It's the best of both. Add the jaw-dropping, immense environments with incredibly detailed effects, cool alien sounds, and a fascinating story, and you've got one truly Unbelievably KICK-ASS! Metroid Prime is a superbly crafted adventure game that just happens to be in first-person with some pretty fierce monsters to shoot at along the way. So is it an adventure game or an FPS? It's the best of both. Add the jaw-dropping, immense environments with incredibly detailed effects, cool alien sounds, and a fascinating story, and you've got one truly unforgettable and entertaining game - an instant classic. Expand
  93. KevinS.
    Nov 20, 2002
    10
    Metroid Prime is an outstanding acheivement. First you must understand one thing: it is NOT an FPS. It is an adventure game played from a first person perspective. The controls are a little weird at first, but become second nature after an hour. Graphics are outstanding. There are some low-res textures and low polygon counts, but it makes up for it with its amazing artistic vision and Metroid Prime is an outstanding acheivement. First you must understand one thing: it is NOT an FPS. It is an adventure game played from a first person perspective. The controls are a little weird at first, but become second nature after an hour. Graphics are outstanding. There are some low-res textures and low polygon counts, but it makes up for it with its amazing artistic vision and pain staking attention to detail. MUST BUY! Expand
  94. BernieT.
    Nov 20, 2002
    10
    It's amazing how many people rate the game a 7, then say "I've played better FPSs" 0_o. You know the game's called METROID, right?
  95. JesseS.
    Nov 22, 2002
    10
    A perfect 3d realization of the metroid universe. An absolute masterpiece. You all should thank god for developers this talented.
  96. YoreM.
    Nov 27, 2002
    10
    That's a spicy tamale!!!
  97. Guitarsnowlife
    Nov 29, 2002
    10
    Some people rate it 1 for the one reason they haven't played the original Metroid games. They were truly captivating, Metroid Prime LIVES UP TO THE HYPE!
  98. JerradH.
    Dec 14, 2002
    10
    Nicolas B. is a sad, sad example of today's modern gaming audience. Metroid and multiplayer simply don't mix. It would totally screw up the formula. If you had played any of the previous Metroids, or even Fusion, you'd realize that. Pure gaming bliss. Period.
  99. RyanC.
    Dec 15, 2002
    10
    This game is pure awesomeness. I don't think that's even a word. That shows you how great this game is: I had to make up a word to describe it. Where to start? Graphics: sweet. Controls: tight. Story: creative and immersive. Overall game: addictive in a good way. If you have a Gamecube, this is the must own title for it. If you have a Gamecube but don't have enough money to This game is pure awesomeness. I don't think that's even a word. That shows you how great this game is: I had to make up a word to describe it. Where to start? Graphics: sweet. Controls: tight. Story: creative and immersive. Overall game: addictive in a good way. If you have a Gamecube, this is the must own title for it. If you have a Gamecube but don't have enough money to get this game, trade in all your other games and get this one. If you don't have a Gamecube, go buy one then buy this game. If you don't have enough money to buy a whole other system, sell your current one. If you don't have any money and you have absolutely no income and/or you're a bum living on the street, then I feel sorry for you because you won't get to play this game. Trust me, it's worth it. Expand
  100. KyleD.
    Dec 2, 2002
    10
    Metriod Prime is one of the best games ever, and is as imersive as Medal of Honor, Resident Evil (remake), or Metal Gear Solid 2. Great graphics, slick controls, the best jumping in a FP game, and inovative games ellements. It is so good that it rightfuly deserves the title of "Best First Person Adventure Game."
  101. Feb 12, 2011
    0
    Positives
    - Graphics: The graphics in metroid prime are not only top notch for the gamecube, but top notch for any 6th generation home console.
    - Gameplay: Metroid Prime immerses you into a large 3D environment for exploration and puzzle solving. The game is played at a first person perspective, but it isn't a first person shooter, it is more in the vein of first person adventure game.
    Positives
    - Graphics: The graphics in metroid prime are not only top notch for the gamecube, but top notch for any 6th generation home console.
    - Gameplay: Metroid Prime immerses you into a large 3D environment for exploration and puzzle solving. The game is played at a first person perspective, but it isn't a first person shooter, it is more in the vein of first person adventure game. The boss battles are excellently executed, and there is a ton of information to collect throughout the game, via scan logs and upgrades.
    - Sound: Metroid prime presents an alienlike sound track that perfectly fits the mood of the game.

    - Controls: The controls in Metroid Prime work over all very well throughout the game. The lack of manual aiming without the R buttons is solved via the use of the lock on feature. Negatives
    -Replay Value: One might not be compelled to play this prolonged adventure again, although if they do they will realize just how excellent the game was when they'd played it the first time. There is also alot of backtracking in the game, but this is usually for the access of new areas and upgrades.

    10/10
    Collapse

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2002
#1 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2002
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 70
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 70
  3. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. It looks fantastic, it plays fantastic (the best usage of the GameCube controller to date), it sounds fantastic, and darn it, it is just fun to play.
  2. GameNow
    100
    It doesn't matter if you've never played a Metroid game before - Prime will kick your ass and unrelentingly own you. [A+; Jan 2003, p.62]
  3. It oozes with so much addictiveness that the storyline plays second fiddle and reminds you of a time when gameplay was an integral part of gaming. Put simply, this is one of the best games I have played in a long, long time. [Grade = A+]