Metroid Prime GameCube

User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 731 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 731
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TheLoneGamer
    May 18, 2003
    10
    Firstly i'd like to say that this is the absolute best adventure game I have ever played. maybe you think I am just following the critics but really this is amazing. And to all the people who can't find a storyline, that is what the scanner is for. this game isn't about going in guns blazing and just shooting - it is about adventure, exploration and truth, that is why you Firstly i'd like to say that this is the absolute best adventure game I have ever played. maybe you think I am just following the critics but really this is amazing. And to all the people who can't find a storyline, that is what the scanner is for. this game isn't about going in guns blazing and just shooting - it is about adventure, exploration and truth, that is why you scan things. And who ever said that the controls are bad i can only pity those people, the controls elevate this game above first person shooters, the controls make it a first person adventure as Nintendo tried to explain. Just give Nintendo the respect the deserve. this game is a masterpiece. sure not everyone will enjoy it but I am sure for 75% of the people who play it will enjoy it. Wot about the hype? This game hasn't actually been hyped much by Nintendo but instead by magazines and reviewers and rightly so. I haven't played any other metroid games before so i was totally following reviews when i decided to buy it and hell it was more than i eexpected. it is the best ame on the gamecube and quite possibly the best on any next generation console so far. Nintendo i am forever in your debt for this amazing game. Expand
  2. MarcP.
    Jun 18, 2003
    10
    This game is simply perfect, from gameplay to graphics. The most fun I've ever had playing a game, and one of the greatest game challenges ever.
  3. AaronC.
    Jul 7, 2003
    10
    This is an awesome game. Great graphics, awesome music with ingenious remixes from previous Metroid games. Certain small elements could have been improved by use of more standard FPS controls but this does not hurt the game. If you're looking for a strait shooter or a true FPS you're going to be disapointed with this game however. The object is not to run and gun or to have an This is an awesome game. Great graphics, awesome music with ingenious remixes from previous Metroid games. Certain small elements could have been improved by use of more standard FPS controls but this does not hurt the game. If you're looking for a strait shooter or a true FPS you're going to be disapointed with this game however. The object is not to run and gun or to have an FPS frag fest. Gameplay is focused on exploration and thought. The addition of a Hard mode once the game is completed adds to replay value and the fun of the game. Although a lack of save points in a few areas can make thing frustrateing this problem does not occur often. Fan of the first three Metroids will quite enjoy this game although there isn't much in the game that uses the tradition Metroid "sixth sense" that fans of the series have come to aquire it does have it's own flare. Over all an excellent game. Expand
  4. ChrisM.
    Jan 1, 2004
    10
    The game that no GC owner should be without. An epic masterpiece that will have you enthralled right to the very end. The lovely graphics, the effective music and the deep gameplay all add up to a great game.
  5. GeorgeY.
    Oct 5, 2004
    10
    I bet $50 that Greg K: a) doesn't own a gamecube b) doesn't know how to push buttons c) is some rejected halo fan who can't take any competition.
  6. Japple
    Jun 7, 2004
    10
    An absolutely stunning adventure game that sucks you for the first time fully into the character of samus and the metroid universe. an intensely addictive game with absolutely amazing level design in a complete world for your to explore and conquer. Added upon is the incredible graphical feats in the game including the complete rendering of the world for multiple visors and stunning detailAn absolutely stunning adventure game that sucks you for the first time fully into the character of samus and the metroid universe. an intensely addictive game with absolutely amazing level design in a complete world for your to explore and conquer. Added upon is the incredible graphical feats in the game including the complete rendering of the world for multiple visors and stunning detail in every corner of the game. It completely reinvents the first person genre prizing exploration and gaming tension above just your standard hack and slash shooters. It includes an incredible new first person gameplay system with unbelievable jumping control that adds a true 3rd dimension into a first person game. Expand
  7. RobertA.
    Jul 15, 2004
    10
    Great. play on. and this delight will astound you.
  8. SamusAran
    Jul 29, 2004
    10
    Prime. Metroid Prime. Prime gaming. The name of the game explains my feelings.
  9. DanielT.
    Aug 6, 2004
    10
    It's long, it's challenging, and it has beautifull graphics. The game has had the same impact on the Gamecube like that of The Ocarina of Time had on the N64. If OoT was N64's best game. Then Metroid Prime is GCN's best game.
  10. KymP.
    Feb 6, 2005
    9
    Wow. just completed it...one of the most atmospheric, engrossing and endearing games i''ve ever had to honour to play. Not a perfect score due to some niggles with aiming jumps, and save stations can be frustrating to track down.. but overall, brilliant.
  11. Chuck
    Mar 4, 2005
    10
    Metroid prime by far is one of the best first-person shooters game ever. In the beginning this game kind of sucked but you had to keep playing. But in the midlle and in the end of this game was the best part in the whole game. If your looking for a good game for the gamecube definitely buy Metroid Prime.
  12. Kyle
    Apr 10, 2005
    7
    Great game but became repetitive after a while.
  13. Geckat
    Jun 3, 2005
    10
    Beautiful. Absolutely breathtaking. As I mentioned in Echoes, this is another game that will make you feel as if you had done it all on your own. I have fantisized over and over about the Chozo Ruins, wondering what I could make of them, actually finding myself wondering what they were like before the Worm came before remembering that it was a video game. My friend won't let me have Beautiful. Absolutely breathtaking. As I mentioned in Echoes, this is another game that will make you feel as if you had done it all on your own. I have fantisized over and over about the Chozo Ruins, wondering what I could make of them, actually finding myself wondering what they were like before the Worm came before remembering that it was a video game. My friend won't let me have it back :-( . Expand
  14. BryanS
    Aug 1, 2006
    10
    I heartily agree with the critics. This game deserves a 9.7. It is not perfect (no game is...well, maybe Ocarina of Time), however, it is bloody close. Awesome story, atmospheric sound track, fluid controls, incredibly immersive. One of the best games I have ever played.
  15. BenjaminB.
    Mar 22, 2007
    9
    Great game, but why isn't there some kind teleport-system. although the design of the world is great, it can really annoy you when you have to go through the same area for the 10th time. i can really understand some bad reviews, because the game demands you to think and the normal casual gamer does not like to do so. he wants to sit in front of the tv-screen, to shut down the brain Great game, but why isn't there some kind teleport-system. although the design of the world is great, it can really annoy you when you have to go through the same area for the 10th time. i can really understand some bad reviews, because the game demands you to think and the normal casual gamer does not like to do so. he wants to sit in front of the tv-screen, to shut down the brain and having fun. when you are looking for a game where you do not have to think, it is definetly the wrong game for you. Although it is just a (maybe too artistic) masterpiece with great sounds, graphics and gameplay. Expand
  16. MarkE
    Feb 2, 2009
    10
    So many children on this website, thinking Halo is the be all and end all of gaming. Metroid Prime is perfection, it brought the 2D formula to the next level with astounding results. I can play this game again and again.
  17. jean-philippel
    Mar 1, 2009
    10
    It's a perfect game! Graphics are so great, boss are beautiful, hard and tall! I like this game
  18. AaronRoiz
    Jun 10, 2009
    10
    Ok, quite simply one of the greatest games of all time. People need to stop calling this an FPS because it's not, it's an FPA (First Person Adventure). deserves a 15.
  19. andrép
    Jul 6, 2009
    10
    nice game!!! i like the controll and graphics and best of all the sound its amazing keep it up nintendo
  20. ProGamer
    Nov 16, 2002
    10
    This isn't a FPS game. Anyone who says that is stupid. This is a whole new genre, a First Person Adventure. And it has the best atmosphere of any game I've played.
  21. MattR.
    Nov 19, 2002
    7
    To Gary M. and other fanboys who can't stand different opinions: grow up (and if you actually played the XBox instead of dissing it, you'd see why Metroid's graphics are not the best). This is a pretty good game, but still doesn't compare to any FPS on the PC. The control scheme is contrived, and the graphics are good to very good. Again, a solid effort, but by no To Gary M. and other fanboys who can't stand different opinions: grow up (and if you actually played the XBox instead of dissing it, you'd see why Metroid's graphics are not the best). This is a pretty good game, but still doesn't compare to any FPS on the PC. The control scheme is contrived, and the graphics are good to very good. Again, a solid effort, but by no means does it live up to my expectations. Expand
  22. BOboP.
    Nov 20, 2002
    10
    AMzing AMzing
  23. JohnB.
    Nov 21, 2002
    10
    Unbelievably KICK-ASS! Metroid Prime is a superbly crafted adventure game that just happens to be in first-person with some pretty fierce monsters to shoot at along the way. So is it an adventure game or an FPS? It's the best of both. Add the jaw-dropping, immense environments with incredibly detailed effects, cool alien sounds, and a fascinating story, and you've got one truly Unbelievably KICK-ASS! Metroid Prime is a superbly crafted adventure game that just happens to be in first-person with some pretty fierce monsters to shoot at along the way. So is it an adventure game or an FPS? It's the best of both. Add the jaw-dropping, immense environments with incredibly detailed effects, cool alien sounds, and a fascinating story, and you've got one truly unforgettable and entertaining game - an instant classic. Expand
  24. KevinS.
    Nov 20, 2002
    10
    Metroid Prime is an outstanding acheivement. First you must understand one thing: it is NOT an FPS. It is an adventure game played from a first person perspective. The controls are a little weird at first, but become second nature after an hour. Graphics are outstanding. There are some low-res textures and low polygon counts, but it makes up for it with its amazing artistic vision and Metroid Prime is an outstanding acheivement. First you must understand one thing: it is NOT an FPS. It is an adventure game played from a first person perspective. The controls are a little weird at first, but become second nature after an hour. Graphics are outstanding. There are some low-res textures and low polygon counts, but it makes up for it with its amazing artistic vision and pain staking attention to detail. MUST BUY! Expand
  25. BernieT.
    Nov 20, 2002
    10
    It's amazing how many people rate the game a 7, then say "I've played better FPSs" 0_o. You know the game's called METROID, right?
  26. JesseS.
    Nov 22, 2002
    10
    A perfect 3d realization of the metroid universe. An absolute masterpiece. You all should thank god for developers this talented.
  27. YoreM.
    Nov 27, 2002
    10
    That's a spicy tamale!!!
  28. Guitarsnowlife
    Nov 29, 2002
    10
    Some people rate it 1 for the one reason they haven't played the original Metroid games. They were truly captivating, Metroid Prime LIVES UP TO THE HYPE!
  29. JerradH.
    Dec 14, 2002
    10
    Nicolas B. is a sad, sad example of today's modern gaming audience. Metroid and multiplayer simply don't mix. It would totally screw up the formula. If you had played any of the previous Metroids, or even Fusion, you'd realize that. Pure gaming bliss. Period.
  30. RyanC.
    Dec 15, 2002
    10
    This game is pure awesomeness. I don't think that's even a word. That shows you how great this game is: I had to make up a word to describe it. Where to start? Graphics: sweet. Controls: tight. Story: creative and immersive. Overall game: addictive in a good way. If you have a Gamecube, this is the must own title for it. If you have a Gamecube but don't have enough money to This game is pure awesomeness. I don't think that's even a word. That shows you how great this game is: I had to make up a word to describe it. Where to start? Graphics: sweet. Controls: tight. Story: creative and immersive. Overall game: addictive in a good way. If you have a Gamecube, this is the must own title for it. If you have a Gamecube but don't have enough money to get this game, trade in all your other games and get this one. If you don't have a Gamecube, go buy one then buy this game. If you don't have enough money to buy a whole other system, sell your current one. If you don't have any money and you have absolutely no income and/or you're a bum living on the street, then I feel sorry for you because you won't get to play this game. Trust me, it's worth it. Expand
  31. KyleD.
    Dec 2, 2002
    10
    Metriod Prime is one of the best games ever, and is as imersive as Medal of Honor, Resident Evil (remake), or Metal Gear Solid 2. Great graphics, slick controls, the best jumping in a FP game, and inovative games ellements. It is so good that it rightfuly deserves the title of "Best First Person Adventure Game."
  32. JeffM.
    Jan 14, 2003
    7
    Very overated for a wanna-be 1st person game. Oh wait...the fact that you see yourself in 3rd person for less than a 1/4 of the game makes it something better. The controls are crud. I would only praise this game if it was my only system, because compared to the games on other systems it falls VERY SHORT! NIce job Nintendo, another lackluster title over hyped as usual.
  33. WesleyE.
    Jan 17, 2003
    10
    The only game that could quite possibly rival the beauty and complexity of "Metroid Prime" is "Halo: Combat Evolved".
  34. The_Exorcist
    Jan 2, 2003
    10
    I can honestly say i have never played a better game. I was completely immersed by all the zelda games, then half-life got me into first person shooters. But after an hour of playing prime i got to see what perfection really means. No game compares. The graphics are perfect, apart from the polish on the suit, if you look at samus on the elevator, the grooves in her suit arent too great, I can honestly say i have never played a better game. I was completely immersed by all the zelda games, then half-life got me into first person shooters. But after an hour of playing prime i got to see what perfection really means. No game compares. The graphics are perfect, apart from the polish on the suit, if you look at samus on the elevator, the grooves in her suit arent too great, but this is all hardly a basis to take off marks. I'd easily give this game a 20 were it an option. They implemented so many graphical effects that could have easily been left out, but made all the difference. The visor effects, the convex view you get, the many various reflections, the different scanners, the perfectly modeled environments. It was all too perfect. Something just had to be wrong. But as of yet, at 40% through the game, i cannot find anything wrong with the game. Some will say there is no story. BULL. This game merely makes you uncover the story for yourself. Slowly as you progress you uncover more and more of exactly whats going on on Talon IV. The scanning and reading gives you a breather, time to relax and relish in how complete the story actually is. Sure, it involves no gigantic creature who's raining havoc on the world, or an ancient tome telling of mysteries of the past, but instead it has a story that i can almost see as being real. When i reached the Phendrana rifts and started reading about the space pirates role in the whole situation i began to think of them more as a power hungry race searching to gain more control over the univers, much like humans, always wanting to kill off the opposition through force. They were conducting genetic research on the organisms of the planet with this new found energy source, phazon. As i read more and more terminals I saw all the mistakes they had made and how they changed their tactics to provide better results. It got even more interesting when the terminals started to speak of the hunter who was causing too many casualties. Much of what happens within the phazon mines has to do with you and your constant meddling in their plans. The Pirates are no super powerful race, nor are the chozo who were infected by the phazon along with all the other creatures. I was amazed by how realistic they made the game in that sense. The controls were not bad despite what anyone says. You cant put a game down because it doesnt live up to your fps expectations. The controls fit the adventure scheme. Id go more into detail on this aswell but i think ive said alot already. If you haven't tried this game get out there and buy it damnit. It is absolutely amazing. Expand
  35. Nova
    Jan 5, 2003
    10
    Best title I've played (and beaten) this year, besting Neverwinter Nights and Battlefield 1942 by a sizable margin. I'm about 10% through hard difficulty now, proving it has longevity as well. This comment is non-sequitur: I suspect Star Wars Galaxies will surpass any game in recent years.
  36. BillyF.
    Jan 7, 2003
    10
    Best game ever. i love it. A+. i highly recommend it!
  37. MetroidOmegaRidley
    Jan 7, 2003
    10
    This game is simply brilliant in every aspect you could give it. From details to rain drops on visor to intense Boss battles. Good storyline essepcally the mindbending third ending with the arm out of the Phason, do you smell "Metriod Prime Reborn". Anyways just great game good controlls, great sound, great graphics,and superb plot. Lets see if it will compete with Zelda The Wind Wakers.^_^
  38. Unknown
    Mar 24, 2003
    10
    It is amazing.
  39. Theimminent26
    Mar 4, 2003
    9
    Am I late? I guess not. This game is almost definitely the best gamecube game out. While people complain about bad controls, I never take things like that into affect because like every other game with weird controls everything is learnable with time. The graphics are pretty nice I didn't like the popup steam but whatever. Alot of people dismiss this game for its disobeying its third Am I late? I guess not. This game is almost definitely the best gamecube game out. While people complain about bad controls, I never take things like that into affect because like every other game with weird controls everything is learnable with time. The graphics are pretty nice I didn't like the popup steam but whatever. Alot of people dismiss this game for its disobeying its third person roots, All I can say is don't judge the game after playing it for 10 minutes, I know It's all been said before but this game is very true to the classic Super metroid. In closing I will say the main thing that bugged me is the lack of new power-ups (other than visors)other than that I can only recomend this game to everyone don't miss out....THe masive 26 is the best... Expand
  40. DizantheMan
    Apr 2, 2003
    10
    Metroid prime is the greatest game i have ever played. anyone who says it has no story didnt scan enough, fools.
  41. DougM.
    Apr 27, 2003
    9
    Awesome game with some of the best graphics in an game on any console. The visor effects kick some serious ass!
  42. Uter
    Apr 5, 2003
    9
    Excellent game, but I do think it's a touch overrated. The graphics are it's strongest point. The sound I don't think is very good; it's adequate though. The world is huge and there aren't real load times between areas, so it's revolutionary in some ways. 1 thing I don't like is how enemies respawn. Although with so much backtracking I'm not sure Excellent game, but I do think it's a touch overrated. The graphics are it's strongest point. The sound I don't think is very good; it's adequate though. The world is huge and there aren't real load times between areas, so it's revolutionary in some ways. 1 thing I don't like is how enemies respawn. Although with so much backtracking I'm not sure what they could have done instead to make that part exciting. Expand
  43. Jesus2bizkit
    May 1, 2003
    9
    Best game for the gamecube, but too much backtracking.
  44. CarlosA.
    Jul 31, 2003
    10
    Its a great come-back for SAMUS ARAN!The graphics are fantastic,the story is very well planed out.Samus arsenal is very creative and unique.The controls are a bit complicated and not that orthodox. Its a good first person shooter.The enemis are very cool.And for Cody S.(who loves the word "mediocre",and probably mis uses it),he doesnt really know what he's saying and hes comparing Its a great come-back for SAMUS ARAN!The graphics are fantastic,the story is very well planed out.Samus arsenal is very creative and unique.The controls are a bit complicated and not that orthodox. Its a good first person shooter.The enemis are very cool.And for Cody S.(who loves the word "mediocre",and probably mis uses it),he doesnt really know what he's saying and hes comparing Metroid Prime with Splinter Cell which is not possible because they are both diferent game types, i mean you cant compare a car with an airplane, its car with car and plane with plane, sorry Cody just stick to playing instead of writing :) Expand
  45. SoulCalibur2
    Sep 9, 2003
    9
    Beautiful graphics. This game has perfect enviroments, and Samus looks really cool in this game. Even though it doesn't really follow the Metroid series, it would be a lot more fun if there was a multiplayer, something like Halo's (great game). This is a great game and the excellent graphics and gameplay make up for the difficulty.
  46. BonehoC.
    Nov 14, 2004
    8
    The only Gamecube game I ever really got into.
  47. ToryS.
    Dec 21, 2004
    10
    Couldn't put it down.Great graphics for Gamecube.
  48. AkhilM.
    Oct 24, 2004
    10
    It's awesome.
  49. JacobK.
    Mar 2, 2004
    10
    Zelda was a very good game I spent years trying to beat, and i succeeded. And Metroid Is same exact thing exept its in the future instead of the past. And I wanna give an 11!!!
  50. L.S.
    Apr 27, 2004
    10
    aWESOME... nEeD i SaY MoRe?
  51. MattP.
    Jul 14, 2004
    10
    Damn near perfect in every aspect. Metriod Prime isn't a game that you just pick up and hope to beat in 3 or 4 hours: it requires a good chunk of you life and you will be more than willing to give it. My only gripe though is the fixed camera, it makes it kind of hard to target a specific enemy without cicling though the targeting visor.
  52. SteveB.
    Sep 28, 2004
    10
    Here's something entertaining: do a search on this page for the word "ever," and see how many of these hardened critics call Metroid Prime one of the best games EVER.
  53. RobC.
    Jan 27, 2005
    9
    Initially difficult but ultimately BRILLIANT!
  54. JustinB.
    Oct 3, 2005
    10
    With a simple premise, the game thrusts you into a deep world full of danger, and you lose yourself in the experience. The controller melts away in your hands, and the intuitive controls give way to one of the most compelling gaming experiences ever.
  55. DanielF.
    Jun 21, 2005
    10
    Amazing! Best game I,ve ever played in my life!
  56. BossGamer
    Jun 29, 2005
    10
    Ignore the PS2 freaks who haven't played this and look at the 10's. This game rules ALL!!!
  57. MarkG.
    Jul 22, 2005
    9
    Some of the negative comments on here are so trifling and inconsequential that it's hard to believe. Different doors are opened by different beams? Yes, what exactly is so bad about that? In Super Metroid you used different concussive weapons as opposed to beams, but it's the same principle. Also, and similarly, the enemies susceptibility to different weapons is a feature that Some of the negative comments on here are so trifling and inconsequential that it's hard to believe. Different doors are opened by different beams? Yes, what exactly is so bad about that? In Super Metroid you used different concussive weapons as opposed to beams, but it's the same principle. Also, and similarly, the enemies susceptibility to different weapons is a feature that has run throughout the series. The game is an excellent example of how to take a series and transplant everything that makes it great in to, quite literally, a different dimension. The transition from 2D to 3D has been fraught with failure and dispute in the instance of many classic series, but Metroid is one Franchise that is almost undisputed in its success at making the jump. Retains the atmosphere and depth of the previous games whilst managing to feel even more vast and spacious with the added dimension. A well crafted and enjoyable challenge. Expand
  58. AndyE.
    Jul 4, 2005
    10
    Buy this game! These guys just say it is bad but it rules! They just don't want to say is one of the coolest games. Just go and ask a Samus/Metroid fan and you'll see!
  59. Marshmallow
    Aug 17, 2005
    9
    The guy who gave this a 5 obviously has never played a metroid and wants the series to become your average fps. The reason there are puzzles and different beam strategies in the game is to stop from becoming repetitive.
  60. AdamT.
    Sep 11, 2005
    10
    This game, basically had my life for a month. I had never before played a Metroid game before, so I had somewhat low expectations, being that my favorite game ever was the Immaculate Masterpiece "The Legend Of Zelda; Ocarina Of Time", and Metroid never really called my attention, but right at the start, this video game amazed me, the grapics first of all, were astounding, on par with any This game, basically had my life for a month. I had never before played a Metroid game before, so I had somewhat low expectations, being that my favorite game ever was the Immaculate Masterpiece "The Legend Of Zelda; Ocarina Of Time", and Metroid never really called my attention, but right at the start, this video game amazed me, the grapics first of all, were astounding, on par with any X-Box game, if not better. The story line at first seemed a little far-fetched, but then again it's a "Video GAME", but this intergalactic bounty hunter had my absolute attention, and I could not put this game down, the bosses weren't the perfect challenge at first but as the game progressed they greatly improved, and Samus's constant power-ups kept the otherwise overdrawn game alive and spontaneous. The sheer amount of variety in bosses, enemies, and especially the diverse levels makes the game even more perfect.This is my favorite game ever, it's better than "Echoes" and "Ocarina Of Time".Go Retro Studios =] Expand
  61. DanH.
    Jan 12, 2006
    10
    This is what videogames are all about. The graphics are stunning, the controls are flawless, the play mechanics just perfectly tuned. I can't really understand how anyone could dislike this game...short of simply not liking first-person games in general I suppose. Complaints about the targetting lock-on are ridiculous. It works perfectly in the context of the game (why wouldn't This is what videogames are all about. The graphics are stunning, the controls are flawless, the play mechanics just perfectly tuned. I can't really understand how anyone could dislike this game...short of simply not liking first-person games in general I suppose. Complaints about the targetting lock-on are ridiculous. It works perfectly in the context of the game (why wouldn't a futuristic soldier with a visor containing all manner of cool features not have a weapon lock on?) The game is designed with the lock on feature in mind and the difficulty expertly tuned. Superlative in every regard... Expand
  62. JonathanG.
    Mar 14, 2006
    9
    The graphics are great, and the game play is sweet. This game is more figuring things out than it is a combat game. The only thing that I didn' think was perfect was the back tracking. I guess they had to back track because of the small disc.
  63. KyleM.
    Mar 9, 2006
    10
    Simply beautiful single-player gameplay. To those who dislike the controls, they are perfect for this type of game. Sure, a mouse and a keyboard would have been better: but for a first-person adventure, absolute aiming accuracy is not required. This game is more like Myst than Counter-Strike or Halo: exploration, puzzles, pure fun rather than blasting the poo out of everything you see. Simply beautiful single-player gameplay. To those who dislike the controls, they are perfect for this type of game. Sure, a mouse and a keyboard would have been better: but for a first-person adventure, absolute aiming accuracy is not required. This game is more like Myst than Counter-Strike or Halo: exploration, puzzles, pure fun rather than blasting the poo out of everything you see. And that was a welcome change of pace! I just beat it, took me about 15 hours and it was one of the best console single-player experiences ever, behind maybe Zelda:OOT. Expand
  64. OisinD.
    Apr 18, 2006
    10
    A simply stunning game, no game so far this generation can stand near MP its so good Halo comes close but not close enough to this fantastic adventure story, the attention to detail is unbelivable and the way in which Retro managed to make this game work is unbelivable, the scanning, the level design, the creatures, all unique and you will be forced to finish this game, just to see the A simply stunning game, no game so far this generation can stand near MP its so good Halo comes close but not close enough to this fantastic adventure story, the attention to detail is unbelivable and the way in which Retro managed to make this game work is unbelivable, the scanning, the level design, the creatures, all unique and you will be forced to finish this game, just to see the brilliant final boss, be prepared for GAMECUBES FINEST 20 HOURS. Expand
  65. ChoochMcSpankens
    Apr 5, 2006
    9
    Fantastic game!...but no game in the universe on ANY grading scale deserves a perfect score. Now I am a huge Nintendo fan and this game is great but NO game has NO flaws. My only complaint is that this game is somewhat repetitive. For all the people who said the controls are too different or "they suck", I actually quite enjoyed them and thought that they did a good job of branching away Fantastic game!...but no game in the universe on ANY grading scale deserves a perfect score. Now I am a huge Nintendo fan and this game is great but NO game has NO flaws. My only complaint is that this game is somewhat repetitive. For all the people who said the controls are too different or "they suck", I actually quite enjoyed them and thought that they did a good job of branching away from the normal stereo-typical shoot-em-up fps games. I love this game because is has puzzles and makes you think. Also, I can't say this game is better than or even compare it to halo because they are too different in many ways. Also, the music really emerses you into the game and really gets you lost into a world that a LOT of games can not achieve. FANTASTIC!!! Expand
  66. JimW.
    May 20, 2006
    10
    Fantastic atmosphere, I felt like I visited Samus's world.
  67. JoshK.
    Jul 24, 2006
    10
    The GameCube's first killer app revitalises the acclaimed Metroid series with a stunning 3D makeover. Massive worlds, beautiful visuals and top level design lend this game real scope and atmosphere. A must for your Cube collection.
  68. DeanK.
    Aug 1, 2006
    10
    Metroid prime is one of the best games for gamecube. the story, graphics, weapons, being in morph balll all rock, this is a must buy for any Gamecube owner.
  69. JasonC.
    Jun 14, 2007
    10
    They turned a classic platformer into a 1st person shooter and lost none of what made Metroid a great series, while adding a distinctive graphic style.
  70. SeanK.
    Aug 10, 2007
    10
    Immersive environments, absolutely stunning to look at. The music is great too. Overall, a very artistic game, but that doesn't mean blowing the crap out of space pirates isn't as fun as ever! Best gamecube game out there.
  71. LiamT.
    Aug 15, 2007
    10
    In my opinion Metroid Prime is a pure masterpiece of gaming. I rate Metroid Prime with a perfect score. Along with Ocarina of time its one of the best games ever made. The boss fights were such an intense experiance and are some of the best boss fights i have ever played. If they were any easier it would not have been the same for me. The graphics, the moody atmosphere, the music. I feel In my opinion Metroid Prime is a pure masterpiece of gaming. I rate Metroid Prime with a perfect score. Along with Ocarina of time its one of the best games ever made. The boss fights were such an intense experiance and are some of the best boss fights i have ever played. If they were any easier it would not have been the same for me. The graphics, the moody atmosphere, the music. I feel lost for words of compliment the game. Its bloody awsome. Expand
  72. DivineStorm
    Jul 11, 2008
    10
    Truly a masterpiece!! I am a metroid fan and this game is besides super metroid my favourite metroid game!! The graphics, sound and gameplay are INCREDIBLE!!!!!! Its like you are samus in the game!! and this game is definitily the best of the prime trilogy!! There are lots of secret areas that you can explore and you collect chozo artifacts to gain access to impact crater where you fight Truly a masterpiece!! I am a metroid fan and this game is besides super metroid my favourite metroid game!! The graphics, sound and gameplay are INCREDIBLE!!!!!! Its like you are samus in the game!! and this game is definitily the best of the prime trilogy!! There are lots of secret areas that you can explore and you collect chozo artifacts to gain access to impact crater where you fight against the final boss: Metroid prime. Also Kraid was originally going to be in the game as a boss, but is replaced by Omega pirate because of time restraints. Still THE best game ever on the gamecube and will keep you entertaining for months or even years to come! Expand
  73. JamesBond007
    Nov 13, 2002
    10
    This is everything a Metroid game should be...and more. One of the best game I have ever played!!!!
  74. J.C.
    Nov 16, 2002
    10
    This game is amazing from what I played and it seems to be the Game of The Year.
  75. PasiK.
    Nov 17, 2002
    10
    Grat, this ih one the best games i played, why because this is metroid IN gamecume:)
  76. DylanM.
    Nov 19, 2002
    10
    An outstanding achievement!
  77. MikaelKääriäinen
    Nov 21, 2002
    10
    It's sad that some people think that this game is FPS. Actually it is more like an FPA (First Person Adventure). Despite the fact that game's graphical power is outstanding the main thin is that this game is The Game. Ten points.
  78. ChrisS.
    Nov 20, 2002
    10
    To those who said that this doesn't compare to any FPS on the PC -- it's not an FPS. It's not just another game based on running around and aiming. It has story, style, gameplay that involves more than just spinning around and shooting, and the best sense of adventure I've felt in a long time. I would never apply the title of the tired, repetitive genre to Metroid To those who said that this doesn't compare to any FPS on the PC -- it's not an FPS. It's not just another game based on running around and aiming. It has story, style, gameplay that involves more than just spinning around and shooting, and the best sense of adventure I've felt in a long time. I would never apply the title of the tired, repetitive genre to Metroid Prime. As for the graphics, Metroid Prime is perhaps the most visually impressive game I've seen. It lacks some of the high-res textures and bump mapping effects effects of Halo, but makes up for this with fantastic lighting, models, architecture, and twice the framerate! Expand
  79. EduardoP.
    Nov 24, 2002
    10
    This game is good. But it does'nt mean you have to write so god*** much about it!
  80. TerryP.
    Nov 25, 2002
    10
    I've been playing games for the last 20 years. I was a bit apprehensive about the first person prespective. Controls are actually quite accurate with a bit of getting use to. Nevertheless, a quite gargantuan achievement. You feel as if you are the afforementioned character (SAMUS) and immerses you in 100% Sci-Fi Fantasy realism. Superb visuals, Stunning Soundset and most of all, I've been playing games for the last 20 years. I was a bit apprehensive about the first person prespective. Controls are actually quite accurate with a bit of getting use to. Nevertheless, a quite gargantuan achievement. You feel as if you are the afforementioned character (SAMUS) and immerses you in 100% Sci-Fi Fantasy realism. Superb visuals, Stunning Soundset and most of all, AMAZING GAMEPLAY. RETRO STUDIOS-TAKE NOTE. If you have this kind of talent, By the grace of god, surely you should be thinking of coding METROID 4. No game could ever be perfect but this one comes in pretty close. achievement. Expand
  81. HansV.
    Nov 25, 2002
    10
    Awesome! The first night I played it I stayed up all night. I just couldn't put it down. I haven't had this much fun with a game in five years.
  82. JakeC.
    Dec 15, 2002
    10
    Great game....enough said....
  83. ChrisG.
    Dec 22, 2002
    10
    I don't know what some of you expect, but this is a sequel to a SIDESCROLLER ACTION GAME, and not an FPS. It stays true to it, and easily parallels the gameplay of Metroid Fusion. The story is deep with lore and is only exposed if you want it to be. Ever try using your scanvisor on the tablets on the wall? Read it. The game never tried to be anything beyond a Metroid game and it I don't know what some of you expect, but this is a sequel to a SIDESCROLLER ACTION GAME, and not an FPS. It stays true to it, and easily parallels the gameplay of Metroid Fusion. The story is deep with lore and is only exposed if you want it to be. Ever try using your scanvisor on the tablets on the wall? Read it. The game never tried to be anything beyond a Metroid game and it succeeded in every way possible. Expand
  84. JuanA.
    Dec 23, 2002
    10
    This is an outstanding game you must buy it now or you will be missing out.
  85. PeteP.
    Dec 24, 2002
    10
    Excellent!!! This game sets a new standard on FPS/Exploration games. This game takes you and doesn't let you go. It captures all the elements of the Metroid series and put them in a 3D world. All the classic Metroid elements are there such as Morph Ball, Missiles, Wave Beams, and Graple Beams. There are new tricks as well such as the space jump and gravity suit. The controls are a Excellent!!! This game sets a new standard on FPS/Exploration games. This game takes you and doesn't let you go. It captures all the elements of the Metroid series and put them in a 3D world. All the classic Metroid elements are there such as Morph Ball, Missiles, Wave Beams, and Graple Beams. There are new tricks as well such as the space jump and gravity suit. The controls are a bit tricky to learn at first. They're not your typical FPS controls and you'll see why. Much detail was taken into the graphics such as rain drops and condensation hitting the visor. Effects such as Samus' face reflecting off the shield is totally awesome. I sometimes find myself looking for places to blast so I could witness the reflection of her face. The music is excellent. It totally sets the tone and theme of this game which is Sci-Fi. It fits the game just as the music did for Blade Runner. Sound effects are also totally awesome. I haven't heard such great sound effects since the likes of a Star Wars movie. The Space Pirates growl with a creepy, monster like voice. The sound effects from the different blasters is amazing. Loadtimes? What loadtimes? Loadtimes are minimal and will easily go unnoticed. There is no sitting around, waiting while the load bar moves accross the screen. This isn't PS2. Overall, this game has all the elements of a great game. Everything that your looking for in a Sci-Fi game is here. Hands down, if you don't have this game, there's something wrong with you. Expand
  86. Dr.L.
    Dec 6, 2002
    10
    This is to cancel out the idiot who rated it "0" cause someone said something bad about halo. XD
  87. JohnF.
    Dec 6, 2002
    10
    Truly incredible, amazing. This game holds true to the originals but the, biaised loosers who base their decisions on which their favorite systems are should really just shut the f... up.
  88. Jond.
    Dec 9, 2002
    10
    Metacritic game of the year must tell ya somin, take that nicholas b.
  89. NeillC.
    Dec 9, 2002
    10
    This game captured me from the opening cut scene. It's amazing how these people have kept this a Metroid game, but it still has all the elements of a NG game, maybe more. Definately BETTER THAN HALO!!
  90. DemonicAngel
    Nov 26, 2003
    8
    For once, a game that lives up to all the rave reviews. Metroid fans may be a little disappointed with the transition to 3D, as Samus is somewhat less versatile than in her traditional 2D outings. That said, this is an exceptional game. Controls are tricky at first, and there are times when I sincerely wished for a "180-degree-turn" button, but once you get used to them you'll wonder For once, a game that lives up to all the rave reviews. Metroid fans may be a little disappointed with the transition to 3D, as Samus is somewhat less versatile than in her traditional 2D outings. That said, this is an exceptional game. Controls are tricky at first, and there are times when I sincerely wished for a "180-degree-turn" button, but once you get used to them you'll wonder why you found them so hard. Sound and music is good and typically Metroid, and graphics are nothing short of stunning. Gameplay can be a bit frustrating sometimes, but is deep and pretty open-ended - there's a whole planet out there for you to explore, ingenious secrets to find, upgrades to collect and annoyingly tough bosses to dispatch, all of which makes up for a very satisfying package. If you have a Gamecube there's no reason why you shouldn't own this. Expand
  91. FTcharter
    Jan 14, 2003
    10
    I rent a PS2, played good games like Metal Gear Solid and didn't slept because I was too busy playing, too captivated. I rent an Xbox with a friend and played Halo 22 hours in a row because we couldn't stop. I rent a Game Cube and played Metroid Prime all the time, forgetting to eat, to drink, to pee. I am not going to buy a PS2 nor a Xbox, but I will Buy a NGC for MP. Metroid I rent a PS2, played good games like Metal Gear Solid and didn't slept because I was too busy playing, too captivated. I rent an Xbox with a friend and played Halo 22 hours in a row because we couldn't stop. I rent a Game Cube and played Metroid Prime all the time, forgetting to eat, to drink, to pee. I am not going to buy a PS2 nor a Xbox, but I will Buy a NGC for MP. Metroid Prime is the best. Expand
  92. JedT.
    Dec 12, 2003
    10
    I LOVE this game. I bought it the frist day it came out and it is the PRIME of my collection. I will tresure it forever!
  93. HansGruber
    Dec 21, 2003
    10
    Sehr Gut!
  94. SalmonE.
    Oct 23, 2003
    10
    Retro Studios showed us one of the best games ever made. This game is a masterpiece! It made gaming history!
  95. AndrewC.
    Feb 18, 2003
    10
    Very cool! As for Jeff M. :P This game has excellent graphics. Get about 75% complete and ya' get to see Samus's hot face. Can't stand first person? Get used to it!!! Pff! Has plenty of action!
  96. TomC.
    Apr 13, 2003
    10
    Super Metroid in 3D. Enough said.
  97. LordA.
    Aug 12, 2003
    8
    Initial impressions- great graphics, great music and sound, pretty good but slightly bland gameplay and far too much scanning.
  98. StephenC.
    Nov 11, 2004
    10
    This game is the best im proud to be an owner of it.
  99. DavidM.
    Dec 4, 2004
    10
    This game is highly complicated and is a chalenge for REAL game fans. i simply love this game thats all there is to it. the world made up by these people are to die for. that is why i rate this game a ten out of ten.
  100. Samus
    Jul 29, 2004
    10
    Brilliant plot, stunning graphics, amazing controls and an addictive play once again prove that metroid is the best series ever made. Long Live SAMUS!

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2002
#1 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2002
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 70
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 70
  3. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. It looks fantastic, it plays fantastic (the best usage of the GameCube controller to date), it sounds fantastic, and darn it, it is just fun to play.
  2. GameNow
    100
    It doesn't matter if you've never played a Metroid game before - Prime will kick your ass and unrelentingly own you. [A+; Jan 2003, p.62]
  3. It oozes with so much addictiveness that the storyline plays second fiddle and reminds you of a time when gameplay was an integral part of gaming. Put simply, this is one of the best games I have played in a long, long time. [Grade = A+]