Metroid Prime GameCube

User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 755 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 755
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 12, 2011
    10
    Positives
    - Graphics: The graphics in metroid prime are not only top notch for the gamecube, but top notch for any 6th generation home console.
    - Gameplay: Metroid Prime immerses you into a large 3D environment for exploration and puzzle solving. The game is played at a first person perspective, but it isn't a first person shooter, it is more in the vein of first person adventure game.
    Positives
    - Graphics: The graphics in metroid prime are not only top notch for the gamecube, but top notch for any 6th generation home console.
    - Gameplay: Metroid Prime immerses you into a large 3D environment for exploration and puzzle solving. The game is played at a first person perspective, but it isn't a first person shooter, it is more in the vein of first person adventure game. The boss battles are excellently executed, and there is a ton of information to collect throughout the game, via scan logs and upgrades.
    - Sound: Metroid prime presents an alienlike sound track that perfectly fits the mood of the game.

    - Controls: The controls in Metroid Prime work over all very well throughout the game. The lack of manual aiming without the R buttons is solved via the use of the lock on feature. Negatives
    -Replay Value: One might not be compelled to play this prolonged adventure again, although if they do they will realize just how excellent the game was when they'd played it the first time. There is also alot of backtracking in the game, but this is usually for the access of new areas and upgrades.

    10/10
    Expand
  2. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    One of the best games on Gamecube. Metroid Prime is not really a FPS, since you can lock enemies, but it doesn't matter. There is a full world to explore, with a good mix shooting, plaforming and puzzle solving. Every equipement you find will make you more powerful, giving a great feeling. Story is delivered through reading computers which can be boring at times though.
  3. TukeS.
    Mar 30, 2003
    10
    Good game.
  4. ShadowMasterson
    Mar 4, 2003
    10
    A long awaited game in the Metroid saga! Excellent graphics, sound, music, and appeal. I ecspecially love how you have to investigate EVERYTHING it understand the rich and in depth story that spans through the whole Metroid universe. The world is as rich as the story, and every inch of it is teeming with deadly life forms. A must have for all Game Cube owners.
  5. NicholasT.
    Sep 1, 2006
    10
    Simply put, Metroid Prime is nothing less than the best game of all time. There is no other game like it as the immersion alone makes this title. One of the few games (aside from MGS, OoT, and RE4) that I can say is flawless. Metroid Prime is THE reason I play(ed) video games and it is a testament to the sheer beauty and power of video games in general. Too bad that there are so few Simply put, Metroid Prime is nothing less than the best game of all time. There is no other game like it as the immersion alone makes this title. One of the few games (aside from MGS, OoT, and RE4) that I can say is flawless. Metroid Prime is THE reason I play(ed) video games and it is a testament to the sheer beauty and power of video games in general. Too bad that there are so few titles out there that come even remotely close. Expand
  6. JonathanP.
    Nov 20, 2002
    10
    What an amazing game, I have not been this hooked since Zelda 64. This is the best GameCube game yet -- hell, this is the best game of the last 4 or so years. NOT TO BE MISSED.
  7. May 28, 2011
    10
    Let me start by saying that Super Metroid is my favourite game ever, Metroid Prime not only does an amazing job of transferring the Super Metroid experience - shooting, exploration, puzzle-solving, isolation, atmosphere, and even platforming (!) - to 3D and to a first-person perspective, it also expands wonderfully on Super Metroid series and the action-adventure genre as a whole. TheLet me start by saying that Super Metroid is my favourite game ever, Metroid Prime not only does an amazing job of transferring the Super Metroid experience - shooting, exploration, puzzle-solving, isolation, atmosphere, and even platforming (!) - to 3D and to a first-person perspective, it also expands wonderfully on Super Metroid series and the action-adventure genre as a whole. The first-person perspective and amazing graphical detail only enhances that famous Metroid atmosphere and, arguably, the fun of exploring an alien world reached a new peak here. Expand
  8. Nov 5, 2011
    10
    Metroid Prime is definitely an experience. It took the Metroid formula, perfected it and took a bold new approach in making it an FPA (First-Person Adventure). To say that it's an amazing game it's an understatement; it might as well be the most perfect game ever made for the Cube, and one of the finest games ever. Lots of stuff to collect and do, good storyline, very deep and engagingMetroid Prime is definitely an experience. It took the Metroid formula, perfected it and took a bold new approach in making it an FPA (First-Person Adventure). To say that it's an amazing game it's an understatement; it might as well be the most perfect game ever made for the Cube, and one of the finest games ever. Lots of stuff to collect and do, good storyline, very deep and engaging lore, top-notch graphics, very, VERY good atmosphere, complete with a beautiful soundtrack. Mix this with a difficulty level that is actually challenging even in Normal, tight, really tight controls, and you get no less than perfection. Definitely Retro Studios's masterpiece. Expand
  9. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    Metroid Prime is a truly stunning experience for anyone. Pros: Innovative and overall, nicely polished; excellent graphics and sound; beautifully detailed design; epic soundtrack; challenging gameplay. Cons: No multiplayer; no widescreen mode; the save system could've been better.
  10. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    10 isn't for perfect games. 10 is for phenomenal games that despite all it's flaws shines above the vast majority of games. Graphically it is some of the best GameCube has to offer and the ambient music creates a great atmosphere fitting of the Metroid series. The controls are unconventional, and would be terrible for an FPS. Fortunately, Metroid Prime is a much grander experience than10 isn't for perfect games. 10 is for phenomenal games that despite all it's flaws shines above the vast majority of games. Graphically it is some of the best GameCube has to offer and the ambient music creates a great atmosphere fitting of the Metroid series. The controls are unconventional, and would be terrible for an FPS. Fortunately, Metroid Prime is a much grander experience than your average FPS, with vast levels to explore and secret items scattered around. Less focus on shooting and more on exploring the landscape makes it unique. Overall, Metroid Prime is a game I'm not ashamed to call my favorite game of all time. Easily a must-buy for GameCube/Wii owners. Expand
  11. Nov 7, 2011
    9
    I like this game. It has great graphics and unique gameplay, although I found the game confusing at times because there is a lot going on within the game.
  12. Jun 25, 2012
    10
    Metroid Prime: What can I say that already hasn't been said. This game is truly how an adventure game and an FPS should be, free exploration in a beautiful world that captures you with its stunning visuals, catchy and breathtaking music, little intricacies in the level design that impress the players, and complex and thought-provoking puzzles. It's just you and the huge planet that youMetroid Prime: What can I say that already hasn't been said. This game is truly how an adventure game and an FPS should be, free exploration in a beautiful world that captures you with its stunning visuals, catchy and breathtaking music, little intricacies in the level design that impress the players, and complex and thought-provoking puzzles. It's just you and the huge planet that you explore, with the frequent enemies and boss fights. It's easily understood as to why the Metroid series is truly one of Nintendo's, no, video games in general, finest work. Gameplay: You're Samus Aran, and the game is in her perspective. You see through Samus's helmet, and have a gun with unlimited ammo ready to shoot at everything in sight. Shoot with A, jump with B for some clever platforming, lock on with L, move the gun up and down with R, etc. The gameplay controls very well. On your quest, you will come across items such as Missles, Grapple Beams, etc, which all add to your arsenal of weapons you can carry, making enemies you had trouble earlier with, easier to beat. The boss fights in this game are truly fantastic. From the vicious Flaaghra to the sadistic Ridley, these bosses will pose a huge amount of challenge and fun. Throughout your adventure, you will shoot down indigenous life, space pirates, well designed bosses as you course through the depths of Tallon IV. Going through the magma filled Magmoor Cavern, the cold, sub-zero climate of Phendrana Drifts, to even the Space Pirate's mines (and many more), this game will take hours to complete. After you finish all of that, you will defeat the final boss, Metroid Prime, and save Tallon IV from the corruption of Phazon. The morph ball feature is also well transferred from the game's 2D counterpart, even something that shocked me, the grappling beam, was very well implemented. With perfect controls, perfect level design, and perfect boss battles, gameplay gets a 10/10. Music/Sounds: Metroid Prime features some of the best soundtracks I have heard in a video game. The music in the game contain atmospheric pieces, and catchy ones as well. I cannot begin to tell how many times I've listened to the peaceful Phendrana Drifts music just on its own with headphones. It's music from the heavens. The sounds are also great and realistic (firing your gun, small explosions, enemy grunts, etc) 10/10. Story. The story is marvelously told through the use of optional lore and Pirate data that can be scanned throughout the game. Read up the wiki on the story if you want to know what it is. It's actually quite interesting. The lore and Pirate data also give a very large chunk of the story through the Space Pirates' perspectives and even mention some things in the past that transpired in the planet. Truly a genius way of telling a story. 10/10 Overall Metroid Prime is quite possibly one of the best games you'll come across. What Super Mario 64 did for the Mario series, and what Ocarina of Time did for the Zelda series, Metroid Prime did for the Metroid series. It's a 3D FPS adventure at is finest, and it's my personal favorite game of all time. If you haven't played this game, I highly recommend you pick it up and give it a go. This game receives a perfect 10/10 score. Expand
  13. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Simply the most absorbing game I've ever played. It has the refinement of zelda with an amazing graphics engine and an unquestionable amount of atmosphere. I play to this day, it's better than 90% of what's on wii.
  14. Nov 29, 2011
    10
    Metroid prime is the best game of it's console generation while also fulfilling all necessary gameplay aspects that Metroid fans have come to know and love.
  15. Apr 23, 2012
    10
    I really love this game. There's an intense atmosphere, the graphics is one of the best in Gamecube, the gameplay is awesome and the soundtrack... is amazing. The all planet Tallon IV is huge, with good designs and the boss are the biggest i ever seen in a metroid game.
  16. May 18, 2012
    10
    Graphics: AMAZING, at the time this was the best looking game around and it still looks detailed and slick.
    Music: I can't describe how awesome and fantastic the music is.
    Gameplay: really sweet action-adventure. Lot's of tough puzzles and powerful enemies. The difficulty is just right. So far this, together with Ocarina of Time, is the best game I've played. It's a true master piece and
    Graphics: AMAZING, at the time this was the best looking game around and it still looks detailed and slick.
    Music: I can't describe how awesome and fantastic the music is.
    Gameplay: really sweet action-adventure. Lot's of tough puzzles and powerful enemies. The difficulty is just right.
    So far this, together with Ocarina of Time, is the best game I've played. It's a true master piece and deserves a 10/10.
    Expand
  17. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    I absolutely LOVE this game. I picked it up after watching by big brother play it when I was young. I played it, beat it, and to this day I still come back to play more. This is by far my favorite metroid game and is in my opinion one of the best games of all time. Do not pass up a chance to play this incredible game.
  18. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    Amazing game that seamlessly blends exploration, action, and puzzle solving. I would recommend this title to anyone. Even if you aren't a fan of FPS, I would still have no qualms telling you to play it because it's so radically different than nearly any other game out there. The atmosphere in this game is one of the greatest of all time, the music is engrossing, and the graphics still holdAmazing game that seamlessly blends exploration, action, and puzzle solving. I would recommend this title to anyone. Even if you aren't a fan of FPS, I would still have no qualms telling you to play it because it's so radically different than nearly any other game out there. The atmosphere in this game is one of the greatest of all time, the music is engrossing, and the graphics still hold up wonderfully 10 years later. Expand
  19. Apr 6, 2013
    10
    Eu nunca tinha jogado Metroid na minha vida só ouvia falar que ele era bom demais mas nunca procurei jogar até que meu primo trouxe seu Game Cube com Mario Sunshine, Resident Evil o remake, Mario Kart Double dash, FIFA 2004 e um tal de Metroid, vi cada um dos jogos mas quando peguei o jogo da retrô studios, fui fisgado pelo seu game play matador, um first person shooter que trouxe tudoEu nunca tinha jogado Metroid na minha vida só ouvia falar que ele era bom demais mas nunca procurei jogar até que meu primo trouxe seu Game Cube com Mario Sunshine, Resident Evil o remake, Mario Kart Double dash, FIFA 2004 e um tal de Metroid, vi cada um dos jogos mas quando peguei o jogo da retrô studios, fui fisgado pelo seu game play matador, um first person shooter que trouxe tudo que me falavam nas versões anteriores em 2D, desde o tatu bola(demais), a nave, a atmosfera de outro planeta, os gráficos e cenários, ás músicas e sons de patamar acima dos outros jogos e quanto o fato do seu personagem ser mulher isso eu já sabia mas vendo ela em movimento muito melhor pois o capacete dela reflete tudo o que se passa com ela durante o jogo e Samus você gata heim e aí que percebi o quanto tempo havia perdido não pelo fato de ter jogados os outros títulos do Cubo da Nintendo primeiro, mas não poder ter jogado Metroid desde a geração Nes. Expand
  20. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    A minimalist, yet enthralling backstory is spread about surprisingly slick graphics, intense action sequences, and excellent boss battles. Metroid Prime takes the best out of the Metroid series, and puts a whole new dimensional spin on it.
  21. Feb 2, 2014
    10
    One of the most brilliant games for the Game Cube.
    I myself have played it on the Wii and thought it was awesome.
    Compared with today's games clearly outdated but with the games damliger time simply unmatched.
  22. May 27, 2014
    10
    In 1994 Nintendo released Super Metroid, one of the best games ever. An entire generation of games went by without Nintendo releasing a sequel. Then this game was announced with an incredible amount of hype around it. Metroid Prime not only lived up to the hype, it surpassed it. It transferred everything that made Super Metroid so amazing to 3D flawlessly. There was more lore, betterIn 1994 Nintendo released Super Metroid, one of the best games ever. An entire generation of games went by without Nintendo releasing a sequel. Then this game was announced with an incredible amount of hype around it. Metroid Prime not only lived up to the hype, it surpassed it. It transferred everything that made Super Metroid so amazing to 3D flawlessly. There was more lore, better combat, better boss fights, more exploration, better locations and a higher level of immersion. The graphics at the time were unprecedented and the soundtrack was excellent. It gave my favourite franchise new life and that is why it is my favourite game. Expand
  23. May 3, 2015
    10
    Metroid Prime es un grandisimo juego que recomiendo a todo el mundo. Variedad, graficos muy buenos, controles, mecanicas, es perfecto. 60 fps solidos y una experiencia inolvidable.
  24. HunterE
    Jul 10, 2008
    10
    Best game for the Gamecube, one of the best games of all time. No kidding, go get it right now. Similar to games you know, but very unique and very well-crafted. Play it alone for the mood and in a dim room so you can see all the pretty details packed onto the screen.
  25. MikeW.
    Dec 7, 2002
    10
    Metroid Prime is a great FP game. At first the controls seem weird but once you get into a couple hours of gameplay the controls become natural and easy. The graphics are great comparing to those of Halo. The music in the game is neat because some of it is from the original Metroid Prime. This is one of the best FP games iv'e ever played.
  26. Anonymousguy
    Jan 5, 2003
    10
    Quite possibly the best game of the year, it is almost flawless. The controls are very confusing at first but after a solid hour of gameplay you get used to them. This game has some of the best graphics to hit the Gamecube yet. In every corner of every room you enter you are bombarded with endless amounts of flawless detail. The gameplay offers more fun than any first person shooter game Quite possibly the best game of the year, it is almost flawless. The controls are very confusing at first but after a solid hour of gameplay you get used to them. This game has some of the best graphics to hit the Gamecube yet. In every corner of every room you enter you are bombarded with endless amounts of flawless detail. The gameplay offers more fun than any first person shooter game I have ever played. Even though it gets a little hard to follow, the Metroid Prime story line it is good nonetheless. The only flaw in this game is that it doesn't have any dialogue. Expand
  27. DavidL.
    Oct 3, 2004
    10
    This game is nothing short of spectacular...if you own a Gamecube you MUST buy this game...If you don't, well...you don't know what your missing =).
  28. JeffBighead
    Jun 10, 2004
    10
    Metroid Prime when I first picked it up I didn't think it was that good, but later once you learn what to do it got a lot better. The plot is deep if you like to read the scannings and the gameplay is far more better than any other first person shooter I have ever played, this game changes the elements of a basic first person shooter and turned it into a masterpiece. Just like Turok Metroid Prime when I first picked it up I didn't think it was that good, but later once you learn what to do it got a lot better. The plot is deep if you like to read the scannings and the gameplay is far more better than any other first person shooter I have ever played, this game changes the elements of a basic first person shooter and turned it into a masterpiece. Just like Turok from the 64 and Halo, this one of the few first person shooters where the enemies range from giant killing worm things to space pirates the size of godzilla. The graphics by far pass any game on the gamecube and the percentage track is sooo long and hard its almost so hard to beat this game 100 percent. The whole ball things is really cool because it adds a puzzle like element to the game. This is definitely the best game on the game cube so far, whoever mog is he better not come to PA or I will gun him down on sight because you never rate a game badly because you suck at it, thank you. If you never have played a metroid game or are a big time fan then you will love this game no matter what, and it will turn you into a fan just like me. Expand
  29. Jimto
    Mar 9, 2003
    10
    Anyone who didn't give this game 10 should be ashamed of themselves. Jelaous fools.
  30. AndreB.
    Mar 31, 2004
    10
    This is the best Metroid game of all time.

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2002
#1 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2002
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 70
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 70
  3. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. It looks fantastic, it plays fantastic (the best usage of the GameCube controller to date), it sounds fantastic, and darn it, it is just fun to play.
  2. GameNow
    100
    It doesn't matter if you've never played a Metroid game before - Prime will kick your ass and unrelentingly own you. [A+; Jan 2003, p.62]
  3. It oozes with so much addictiveness that the storyline plays second fiddle and reminds you of a time when gameplay was an integral part of gaming. Put simply, this is one of the best games I have played in a long, long time. [Grade = A+]