User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 840 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 840
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. LaurenceH.
    Jul 26, 2004
    7
    Good game, a little too hard and slow.
  2. Kyle
    Apr 10, 2005
    7
    Great game but became repetitive after a while.
  3. MattR.
    Nov 19, 2002
    7
    To Gary M. and other fanboys who can't stand different opinions: grow up (and if you actually played the XBox instead of dissing it, you'd see why Metroid's graphics are not the best). This is a pretty good game, but still doesn't compare to any FPS on the PC. The control scheme is contrived, and the graphics are good to very good. Again, a solid effort, but by no To Gary M. and other fanboys who can't stand different opinions: grow up (and if you actually played the XBox instead of dissing it, you'd see why Metroid's graphics are not the best). This is a pretty good game, but still doesn't compare to any FPS on the PC. The control scheme is contrived, and the graphics are good to very good. Again, a solid effort, but by no means does it live up to my expectations. Expand
  4. JeffM.
    Jan 14, 2003
    7
    Very overated for a wanna-be 1st person game. Oh wait...the fact that you see yourself in 3rd person for less than a 1/4 of the game makes it something better. The controls are crud. I would only praise this game if it was my only system, because compared to the games on other systems it falls VERY SHORT! NIce job Nintendo, another lackluster title over hyped as usual.
  5. ANintendofan
    Mar 16, 2003
    7
    I just don't understand what the big deal is. This game's story is basically nonexistant, the main (and only) character has no depth, and there are no cutscenes where there is actual communication. Think of Myst, but think of it with much more backtracking, and an annoyingly huge world. I just don't see what the big deal about this game is. Only Metroid Prime fans will I just don't understand what the big deal is. This game's story is basically nonexistant, the main (and only) character has no depth, and there are no cutscenes where there is actual communication. Think of Myst, but think of it with much more backtracking, and an annoyingly huge world. I just don't see what the big deal about this game is. Only Metroid Prime fans will think this game is great, and there are a lot of them, so their reviews may be misleading, but IF YOU ARE NOT A METROID FAN, don't make the mistake I made. Rent it first. Overall, good, but really lacked a good story, lacked any cutscenes (except close-ups of bosses, or doors opening) and basically lacked anything besides rapidly pushing the A button. At times, the gameplay is truely addicting. At other times, it's so dull it borders on torture. Expand
  6. HarryQ.
    Nov 17, 2002
    7
    Not really an average first-person-shooter, but not much more. Try Outcast for PC.
  7. DancingLavoisier
    Dec 28, 2002
    7
    As a guy who started with "Metroid" and "Metroid II" on the NES, (Metroid was the third game I ever bought, after Mario and the original Zelda), then played the Gameboy version (yeah folks, back when it was a huge grey box), and LOVED the SNES incarnation, I think I'm fit to review this game. And it was good. But not great. The transfer to 1st person was not perfect. It LOOKS great As a guy who started with "Metroid" and "Metroid II" on the NES, (Metroid was the third game I ever bought, after Mario and the original Zelda), then played the Gameboy version (yeah folks, back when it was a huge grey box), and LOVED the SNES incarnation, I think I'm fit to review this game. And it was good. But not great. The transfer to 1st person was not perfect. It LOOKS great because of the attention to detail (rain on the mask, your facial reflection when light hits just right) but it just didn't feel right. To me, a first person viewpoint needs true freelook capability (ala Half-Life) and the controls on the gamecube just weren't up to the task of providing that. I don't know how it could have been done better given the limits of the gamepad, but that's how it is. If this game were released on my computer, I'd give it an instant 10; there could have been a few more improvements though. More weapons would have been nice; the earlier games had you finding stuff ALL the time. The backtracking also got to be a bit too much towards the end; something could have been done. Transports might have worked, though it'd be equally nice to ensure there is a new item to get or a shift in landscape (the rooms change somehow) each time through. The enemies are pretty well balanced, the bosses were well-matched. All in all, I suggest the game for anyone who enjoys shooting or puzzle games, and certainly for fans of the genre. Expand
  8. ScottP.
    Nov 19, 2002
    7
    For a game that's supposed to be great, it's not. I've looked forward to thing game for over a year now, and it was a let-down. It's got unimpressive graphics and stupid controls. Just not what it should have been..
  9. LScottM.
    Nov 22, 2002
    7
    This is a nice game, but in its foolhardy effort to avoid being labeled an "FPS" (as if it were a bad thing) Nintendo has on its hands a game with the quirkiest and most inefficient controls. Instead of opting for a set of 1994-era FPS controls with a lock-on button, Nintendo should have gone with the TimeSplitters/RedFaction/Halo route. Apparently Nintendo didn't trust MP's This is a nice game, but in its foolhardy effort to avoid being labeled an "FPS" (as if it were a bad thing) Nintendo has on its hands a game with the quirkiest and most inefficient controls. Instead of opting for a set of 1994-era FPS controls with a lock-on button, Nintendo should have gone with the TimeSplitters/RedFaction/Halo route. Apparently Nintendo didn't trust MP's gameplay to convey the focus on exploration over battling. Instead, we get to learn weird controls. I have no problems learning unusual controls, such as Gun Valkyrie's, but they better be intuitive and efficient in the long-run, again, such as Gun Valkyrie's. MP's controls aren't. They are a mess and really distract from the game experience. But what tops it off was that it all is so useless and could have been avoided if Nintendo wasn't trying so hard to avoid the FPS stigma of mindless shooting. And that's the only thing I find bad about the game, which is why I only ranted about that one subject. Metroid Prime is a first-person shooter focused on finding your way through areas by, literally, overcoming the areas instead of slaughtering enemies, but messy controls, enacted for such a stupid reason, ruin part of the fun. Shame on you, Nintendo. Expand
  10. Sep 30, 2014
    7
    This game is a dissapointment, i love the old Metroid games, but this one is far from perfect, who the hell came up with a silly idea to change the genre of the game, from 2d platform to fps. What a shame. The controls are pretty bad, you never see what's surrounding you, the map design is awful, samus moves very slow and the jump mehanism sucks, it's not a dinamic game like metroid fusionThis game is a dissapointment, i love the old Metroid games, but this one is far from perfect, who the hell came up with a silly idea to change the genre of the game, from 2d platform to fps. What a shame. The controls are pretty bad, you never see what's surrounding you, the map design is awful, samus moves very slow and the jump mehanism sucks, it's not a dinamic game like metroid fusion or super metroid, in this one, samus is very weak and moves like an old woman, my score is 6.5/10 but i give it the 7 because i am a nice person, the bosses are very uninspired, but the worst thing of this game is the auto aim, it **** SUCKS, you can't change objectives while aiming, but a shiity gameplay this game has. I rather play a thousand time the previous metroid games, this one means the begining of the end for the series. Expand
  11. MC
    Jun 24, 2006
    6
    I can see how people can really fall in love with this game - amazing graphics, a captivating atmosphere, one of the all-time best Nintendo characters and thoroughly challenging levels. The bottom line though, is this - you'll only fall in love with this game if you are willing to put some SERIOUS time into it. This game is not for everyone - especially those who were introduced to I can see how people can really fall in love with this game - amazing graphics, a captivating atmosphere, one of the all-time best Nintendo characters and thoroughly challenging levels. The bottom line though, is this - you'll only fall in love with this game if you are willing to put some SERIOUS time into it. This game is not for everyone - especially those who were introduced to first-person shooters with Halo. It's not an out-of-the-box slam dunk...the gameplay is cumbersome, mastering the controls can be frustrating and learning the ins-and-outs of the game takes time. Hardcore gamers will love it, but for those of you who want to play video games for the sake of them being escapest entertainment, look elsewhere. Expand
  12. Mar 24, 2011
    6
    ive never played a metroid game until this one . the first thing that turned me off about it was the auto lock shooting no FPS game should have that when you have duel analog controls... EVER! it just takes alot of the skill away . the games diffuculty comes from its puzzle solving which was done ok i guess and its not that i dont like doing that kinda thing i just didnt really expect itive never played a metroid game until this one . the first thing that turned me off about it was the auto lock shooting no FPS game should have that when you have duel analog controls... EVER! it just takes alot of the skill away . the games diffuculty comes from its puzzle solving which was done ok i guess and its not that i dont like doing that kinda thing i just didnt really expect it and that it was more of the focus in this game . i would say if thats what you are looking for you will enjoy this game . it does look very nice and has great level desighns but it just wasnt for me. maybe if they add duel analog shooting in future installments i will get into it abit more. Expand
  13. May 28, 2012
    6
    Great atmosphere but not my cup of tea.
  14. Dec 16, 2013
    6
    I'm totally neutral towards this game. It has a nice story line and good gameplay. I just can't stand the constant backtracking. Some may not be bothered by it, but I personally hated it. I recommend trying it out, but will not guarantee satisfaction.
  15. LaramieM.
    Jul 3, 2005
    5
    The lock-on targeting is broken, the controls are needlessly frustrating, the puzzles (which have little place in a Metroid title to begin with) are simple, and difficulty is grounded in the player not so much fighting the enemy as fighting the unintuitive controls and broken lock-on. It could've been great, but the addition of such arbitrary "puzzle" and "strategy" elements like The lock-on targeting is broken, the controls are needlessly frustrating, the puzzles (which have little place in a Metroid title to begin with) are simple, and difficulty is grounded in the player not so much fighting the enemy as fighting the unintuitive controls and broken lock-on. It could've been great, but the addition of such arbitrary "puzzle" and "strategy" elements like enemies with specific immunities and doors with beam type bias is the main factor in Prime falling apart and achieving in being only a slightly above-average game. Miyamoto needs to leave Gunpei's (RIP) baby alone. Sometimes we don't want or need arbitrary "fresh" gameplay mechanics. We just want to have a good time, and if it's with the same old stuff and style, then so be it. Expand
  16. CodyS.
    Jul 26, 2003
    5
    Okay, Im going to be fair to the wonderful saga of metroid, but this game lacked 100% fun, but kicking entertainment. I will admitt, the graphics are some of the best I,ve seen on the Game Cube, from the frost on your visor to the beads of water dripping down. As a first person shooter, it is mediocre, as a metroid game, it is mediocre, it is a mediocre game all around. The scan feature Okay, Im going to be fair to the wonderful saga of metroid, but this game lacked 100% fun, but kicking entertainment. I will admitt, the graphics are some of the best I,ve seen on the Game Cube, from the frost on your visor to the beads of water dripping down. As a first person shooter, it is mediocre, as a metroid game, it is mediocre, it is a mediocre game all around. The scan feature gets old after a while, but the different visor's are alot of fun, but I would sidetrack this game and go for splinter cell, all the way! Expand
  17. EdH.
    Dec 27, 2005
    5
    You Nintendo fanboys, quit giving this game a 10. The graphics are great and rolling around as a ball is fun, but that's about the only thing good. The gameplay is the worst. They should have used the c-stick as a joystick, instead, you can't even aim your weapon unless you are standing still, and holding the trigger. You can't save when you want to, you are forced to You Nintendo fanboys, quit giving this game a 10. The graphics are great and rolling around as a ball is fun, but that's about the only thing good. The gameplay is the worst. They should have used the c-stick as a joystick, instead, you can't even aim your weapon unless you are standing still, and holding the trigger. You can't save when you want to, you are forced to continue to play untill you find a save point. Not many enemies, mostly just bugs. With the lack of dialouge and stroy, it feels very boring. The only story in the game has already happened and you just read about it through pages and pages of logs that you scan. This game is just junk in a pretty package. Expand
  18. BillD.
    Mar 28, 2006
    5
    This game is among the ten games that Metacritic shows to have over a 96. Definately overrated. It's just not very fun... gets boring quick. Not much else I can say really.
  19. May 26, 2011
    5
    I never got past the first part because it was too dang difficult! Listen to this, it is ridiculous: Samus, an armor-wearing, alien-bashing, base-destructing, tough-as-nails bounty hunter loses ALL her powers from HITTING A WALL. What the hell?

Awards & Rankings

1
1
#1 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2002
1
#1 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2002
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 70
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 70
  3. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. It looks fantastic, it plays fantastic (the best usage of the GameCube controller to date), it sounds fantastic, and darn it, it is just fun to play.
  2. GameNow
    100
    It doesn't matter if you've never played a Metroid game before - Prime will kick your ass and unrelentingly own you. [A+; Jan 2003, p.62]
  3. It oozes with so much addictiveness that the storyline plays second fiddle and reminds you of a time when gameplay was an integral part of gaming. Put simply, this is one of the best games I have played in a long, long time. [Grade = A+]