Mystic Heroes Image
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Mystic Heroes, it's up to you to find hidden Runes that will help you defeat an enemy army. As one of four main characters, you'll battle through Mt. Hoshin, Mt. Senkai, and The City of the Ancients. In each stage, you must equip your Runes strategically in order to defeat powerful enemies and bosses. The more Runes you gather, the more spells you unlock and levels you advance. There are 70 total Runes hidden throughout the single-player missions and multiplayer modes. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. A game with gorgeous models, intense combos, magic-driven action, and a cast of characters that make character selection a really tough decision. [Oct 2002, p.84]
  2. The frantic fighting and creative spell-casting are highly addictive, and the difficulty is where I'd want it to be. [Oct 2002, p.86]
  3. An action game with appealing and simple gameplay but with flat characters and no connective tissue.
  4. The frustrating camera and repetitive gameplay will ward off most older players after a few hours.
  5. It’s just that it isn’t all that fun, nor a worthy purchase for any serious gamer.
  6. 63
    Becomes pretty dull after a short time. It's too much of doing the same thing over and over.
  7. 50
    This game adds a lot of great stuff to KOEI's long-in-the-tooth Dynasty Warriors formula, but the sum experience is still way too repetitive to be enjoyable. [Oct 2002, p.42]

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. ThunderStar
    Dec 2, 2002
    10
    This game is very good. Think its a must have game for action type people. My favorite charater is Tai. For begginers choose shiga. thanks.
  2. JoshuaA.
    Nov 20, 2002
    10
    This game is extremely sweet! Smooth gameplay as well as smooth quality graphics and effects. Not just a typical 'kill all' game, though it is teh basic idea, it makes you think more strategically and some of the secrets are supurbly awesome! (the S2 rune makes youincredibly fast and formidable). Expand
  3. Tom
    Jul 9, 2005
    10
    This is games great. i loved it. it's graphics arent that great but it blows if your looking for a game with a lot of action u have to try mystic heroes. Expand
  4. MickeyL.
    Dec 3, 2002
    10
    This game is awsome you get to fight big masses of armies use magic and play with your friends. if your not an action guy than rent it before you buy it and don't get it at Horton Plaza Electronic Boutique. trust me I know. Expand
  5. StephanieB.
    Feb 12, 2003
    10
    THIS GAME ROCKS!! I LOVE IT!! I rented it sooo many times and I beaten it 3 times!!!! I love it so much I want to buy it but , I have no money.. :'( But I love it still!!!! :) Expand
  6. MysticMichael
    Mar 4, 2003
    10
    This game is DOPE.
  7. Rei
    Jan 10, 2003
    4
    It is such a rip off, you cant even get the secret characters! The story is ok and the attacks are fine but its only worth buying for the PS2! That way you get more runes, secret characters, and even more modes. DONT GET IT ON THE GAMECUBE! Collapse

See all 17 User Reviews