Paper Mario: The Thousand-Year Door GameCube

User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 291 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 291
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 11, 2011
    10
    The story is silly, yet captivating, and the controller inputs utilized during the battle segments keep the turn-based battles engaging. The characters are charming, and I actually found myself looking forward to encountering new enemies, even the ones that were just recolored sprites (the Tattle bestiary system and the item library were also nice features, providing impetuses for scouringThe story is silly, yet captivating, and the controller inputs utilized during the battle segments keep the turn-based battles engaging. The characters are charming, and I actually found myself looking forward to encountering new enemies, even the ones that were just recolored sprites (the Tattle bestiary system and the item library were also nice features, providing impetuses for scouring the nooks and crannies of the world for hidden goodies and ingredients for recipes). The platforming features in the out-of-battle world were also satisfying, and the abilities Mario gains and those that his partners grant him have imaginative uses. The areas of the game are accessible with very little backtracking, too, as new shortcuts are opened up to the player. My one gripe about the game is a trivial matter. At one point in the game, I became stuck in the Palace of Shadow with one HP. Unfortunately, I reflexively hit the first save block that I saw, not realizing that it would make getting out of there very difficult (I was pretty much in the middle of the chapter, and had no healing items). As such, a "Teleport to Rogueport" option would have been nice. Expand
  2. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    This game uses the same formula as the first paper mario game but perfects it. The battle system has even more depth with the addition of the audience and stylish commands.The gameplay itself is pretty much as perfect as the gameplay of the original. Although the game is structured similarly to the first paper mario game, as both use the storybook-like chapter system, each chapter isThis game uses the same formula as the first paper mario game but perfects it. The battle system has even more depth with the addition of the audience and stylish commands.The gameplay itself is pretty much as perfect as the gameplay of the original. Although the game is structured similarly to the first paper mario game, as both use the storybook-like chapter system, each chapter is original. Chapter three and six especially change up the gameplay formula in an amazingly original way. The puzzles are better in this game than in the first, the bosses just as epic, and the characters and party members are just as characterized as in the first game bringing a sense of connection to the game. The main new gameplay element this game introduces is mario's ability to transform into various paper structures, allowing him to solve new and original puzzles. This game not set in the mushroom kingdom, but rather in an oceanside town called rougeport. This, along with the original chapter design keeps the game fresh. The game's story also improves upon the first paper mario. Bowser is no longer the villain, and you watch as he comedically tries to be one. This is all you need to know about the story, as the rest is revealed in the game. The end of chapter peach gameplay is back, but is accompanied by bowser gameplay too. The peach gameplay is once again the worst part of the game, but the bowser gameplay is very fun as you get to play several of the original super mario bros. levels as him. The graphics are very good and the soundtrack is very good as well, but is not quite as good as the original paper mario soundtrack. All in all, paper mario 2 is one of, if not, my favorite games of all time. The depth of the gameplay, wonderful characterization and level design from paper mario 1 is back, this time with improvements. The game also improves upon its storyline, poking fun at the traditional mario storyline of bowser always being the villain. If you can, get a copy of this game to play on your wii or gamecube, or get a copy of it for the wii u when it gets released. This may be the most polished mario rpg out there. Expand
  3. B-Dog
    Nov 3, 2004
    10
    Great game. Make more like this one nintendo.
  4. JosefW.
    May 18, 2005
    10
    Hilarious! A joy to play.
  5. DonVito
    May 3, 2004
    10
    Definitely worth buying! I'm Rick James.
  6. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Paper Mario: The Thousand-Year Door is the single most enjoyable game i have ever played, it's turn based fighting system feels awesome, and whenever you die, it's never because of a cheap lucky hit. The whole "Paper" aspect of the game works in genius ways, as the puzzles are downright devious. The music will be eased into your mind for all eternity, and i wouldn't have it any other way.Paper Mario: The Thousand-Year Door is the single most enjoyable game i have ever played, it's turn based fighting system feels awesome, and whenever you die, it's never because of a cheap lucky hit. The whole "Paper" aspect of the game works in genius ways, as the puzzles are downright devious. The music will be eased into your mind for all eternity, and i wouldn't have it any other way. One of the best games ever made, if you have a Gamecube you owe it to yourself to get this game. Collapse
  7. Jan 15, 2013
    10
    This game is absolutely phenomenal in all aspect throughout game play, and somehow is able to make turning into a pig one of the scariest/creepiest things ever. RPG at its finest, with almost no flaws whatsoever, except trying the game a second time is slightly easier than the first. Overall, 9.8/10, a commendable effort in the making
  8. Jan 19, 2013
    10
    A truly wonderful game for the Gamecube, Paper Mario: The Thousand-Year Door not only offers a great experience through easy to learn but difficult to master gameplay and quirky but lovable characters, but may even be considered one of the greatest RPG's of all time.
  9. GaryM.
    Oct 22, 2004
    10
    I'm really looking forward to this game, as the graphics are stunning and brings the old Mario to life! Luvely jubely.
  10. TonyG.
    Nov 10, 2004
    10
    This game rules. Paper Mario 2 boils down to this: an innovative RPG simple enough for a child to play but deep enough for a hardcore RPG addict to love. The battle system is very fun, with lots of entertaining quirks and a surprising number of in-depth abilities to learn. For example, all basic moves need relatively simple button combinations learned to maxmize effectiveness. However, This game rules. Paper Mario 2 boils down to this: an innovative RPG simple enough for a child to play but deep enough for a hardcore RPG addict to love. The battle system is very fun, with lots of entertaining quirks and a surprising number of in-depth abilities to learn. For example, all basic moves need relatively simple button combinations learned to maxmize effectiveness. However, these same moves can be further refined by making them "Stylish." Learning sytlish moves entails excellent timing, and it adds amusing animations and impressive benefits to your attacks. Let's not forget the countless clever goofs that we find throughout the game. Two-dimensional Paper Mario can turn sideways to fit through cracks, stage lights arbitrarily fall on you in combat and give your character a defensive electrical field, and Luigi even makes his own strange appearances. Try this game. You'll love it. Expand
  11. TonyT.
    Nov 20, 2004
    10
    Cool.
  12. ChristopherS.
    Oct 20, 2004
    10
    The most beautiful and amazing worlds you'll ever see,sound is good also!!!! Great gameplay and mario greatness, what more can you ask for?? Go buy now!!!
  13. Jeff
    Oct 29, 2004
    10
    Great game, a well needed sequel cuz the first one got credited for my favorite 64 game of all time. Great Graphics, great sounded and bg music. Tons of New Badges and partners, what more could you ask for. The one thing i would like more is the level gaining experience ways. They should just use experience points like they did in superstar saga. And it could be a little harder. But its Great game, a well needed sequel cuz the first one got credited for my favorite 64 game of all time. Great Graphics, great sounded and bg music. Tons of New Badges and partners, what more could you ask for. The one thing i would like more is the level gaining experience ways. They should just use experience points like they did in superstar saga. And it could be a little harder. But its easiness makes it less frustrating and more fun to play. Definitely one of the best rpgs on the cube! Lets hope they make a third one! Expand
  14. JussiE.
    Aug 5, 2004
    10
    The best rpg yet on cube!
  15. DanielM.
    Jan 11, 2005
    10
    Puts all of the normal rpg's to shame with it's unique battle system.
  16. Yzarc
    Jan 6, 2005
    10
    It's a great game.
  17. WilliamF.
    Feb 6, 2005
    10
    Best game ever.
  18. ViniciusF.
    Jul 26, 2005
    10
    It's Mario made of paper. Needs more?
  19. TheoG.
    Nov 12, 2004
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played. Gets better and better the further you go, incredibly stylish, different levels and smart dialogue - tons of content and many kinds of gameplay. Beating a chapter is awesome, esp. the Bowser levels.
  20. ZachL.
    Nov 15, 2004
    10
    This game is the bomb. I am having a little trouble but it is very challenging and I agree that it is the best rpg ever.
  21. ArjunH.
    Oct 16, 2004
    10
    It's challenging and fun.
  22. MicallM.
    Feb 16, 2005
    10
    This game is AWESOME!!! I mean it allows you to play as mario and have other party members to help you out. You also see other realy old folks that you saw in the ariginal game, and goombas and coopas you can talk to (one coopa is your party member). over all I'd rate it a 10.
  23. Chris
    Jun 23, 2008
    10
    This is probably my favorite game of all time. It is interesting, has excellent gameplay, and some very funny parts are in the story, which is great by the way. I loved everything about the battle system, and it never got boring. All of your partners in the game were interesting too, and not just some random people that just join with you. Pick up this game and see how great it is.
  24. Oct 20, 2011
    8
    Its audio, visuals, and gameplay aren't a big step from its N64 predecessor, however, that doesn't disqualify The Thousand-Year Door as fun. In fact, it's one of the most unique RPG titles to hit the NGC.
  25. Jul 11, 2012
    10
    One of the best Mario games of all time. The story is fun and surprisingly interesting and I found myself addicted to the game. A very fun adventure and a great game over all.
  26. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    If i could give this game a 20/10 I would. This game is so damn awesome. After playing every cod game, every battlefiled game, gta4, coh, ect. I can still say this is by far the best game i have ever played. This game has a great story, Lovable characters, great level design. Great everything. This game hasa everything. You explore sewers, rundown towns, castles, trains, hauntedIf i could give this game a 20/10 I would. This game is so damn awesome. After playing every cod game, every battlefiled game, gta4, coh, ect. I can still say this is by far the best game i have ever played. This game has a great story, Lovable characters, great level design. Great everything. This game hasa everything. You explore sewers, rundown towns, castles, trains, haunted towns, factorys, the moon, floating islands, tropical islands, pirate grottos, vast forests, big trees, the moon, temples, pirate ships, caves, citys, towns, old haunted churches, catacombs, temples, fortresses. And mario joines a fighting leage (like ufc). Every location has it's own side story. It's awsome. And you fight all kinds of crazy bosses. If you have a wii or gamecube look for this game. I'm sure it's pretty cheap. But it's one of the best games of all time. Expand
  27. May 27, 2012
    10
    Amazing game. One of nintendos best.
  28. May 30, 2012
    10
    The BEST nintendo RPG on the market, rivalled only by its predecessor on the n64. You'd have to be seriously cynical not to enjoy this game. Where the game design choices are not always the best and the dialogue could probably be toned down, the game puts together everything imaginable for a thoroughly satisfying experience.
  29. Nov 26, 2012
    10
    EPIC GAME THIS GAME IS THE BEST GAME EVER ON THE GAMECUBE! i think so,super mario sunshine was a excellent gamecube game,the spongebob squarepants movie game too....but Paper Mario...is a Legend.
  30. JohnE.
    Jan 27, 2008
    9
    The combination of an outstanding level design, (the train and the arena were awesome) great dialogue, a great atmosphere, and the innovative battle system produce a game that's definetely worth playing. If you own a Gamecube or a Wii, you owe it to yourself to pick this up and see what a casual, yet surprisingly deep game this can be.
  31. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    Paper Mario: The Thousand-Year Door is the single most enjoyable game i have ever played, it's turn based fighting system feels awesome, and whenever you die, it's never because of a cheap lucky hit. The whole "Paper" aspect of the game works in genius ways, as the puzzles are downright devious. The music will be eased into your mind for all eternity, and i wouldn't have it any other way.Paper Mario: The Thousand-Year Door is the single most enjoyable game i have ever played, it's turn based fighting system feels awesome, and whenever you die, it's never because of a cheap lucky hit. The whole "Paper" aspect of the game works in genius ways, as the puzzles are downright devious. The music will be eased into your mind for all eternity, and i wouldn't have it any other way. One of the best games ever made, if you have a Gamecube you owe it to yourself to get this game. Collapse

Awards & Rankings

#3 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2004
#2 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2004
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Weekly Famitsu
    83
    9 / 8 / 8 / 8 - 33 gold [Vol 815; 30 July 2004]
  2. GMR Magazine
    90
    The mix of 2D characters on a 3D plane not only looks appealing, the gameplay that's designed around the concept (Mario's transformation skills in particular) is a creative fusion of art and design. [Nov 2004, p.105]
  3. And it'll soak up far more of YOU than "Mario & Luigi" or the other Mario RPGs ever did, too. It's easy to believe you could spend as long with this as you could a decent-length Final Fantasy title.