User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 160 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 3 out of 160

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 9, 2014
    10
    In my opinion this is the greatest video game ever made. I got an account on this website just because I wanted to write a review for this game. I have spent many hours of my life enjoying this game and have beat it about 15 times.
  2. Apr 30, 2014
    10
    This was my favorite game in the Paper Mario series, and my favorite game of all time. It had crisp graphics and an AMAZING soundtrack. For me, nearly everything about it was great. The Chapters had very creative sub-plots and bosses and they had creative designs. Chapters 3 and 6 were so much different from the others and thats what was great about them. The overall plot of the game was just as great and the Shadow Queen made a great Final boss. The game had some great NPCs that had personality with their dialogue, speaking of, this game always had funny dialogue, making the characters seem more real. This overall is a great game, i suggest you play it if you haven't yet. Expand
  3. Apr 16, 2014
    10
    Even 10 years later, Paper Mario: The Thousand-Year Door has to be one of the finest RPGs Mario has ever experimented with and it's certainly not paper thin -- okay, that's a poor shot of a pun. Pros? The originality in its visuals are its selling point; excellent use of 2.5D RPG and platforming elements; cartoonish humor; charming characters; lots of secrets. Cons? Annoying amount of reading -- anyone who button mashes through dialogue might miss something some characters only say once -- and requires the player's patience; annoying backtracking; occassional lack of hints, which is more frustrating than challenging. Expand
  4. Mar 29, 2014
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing! This is probably one of the best games on the Nintendo GameCube besides The Wind Waker. It has a good story that contains some great captivating themes along with some pretty good humor. I also love how different each chapter can feel, for in one chapter you are fighting in an arena to another chapter where you are on a tropical island to another where you are taking a train ride and solving mysteries. I also love the atmosphere of this game with the blend of 2d and 3d graphics, it really makes the game stand out. I also like the rpg system in this game, it was good in the first Paper Mario but even better in this game. Sure it's simple when compared to other rpg games, but it really suits the game. I love this game, I surprised this game wasn't "universally acclaimed" with the critics. I just hope that Nintendo will make another game with this Paper Mario formula again someday which was something special that the next games on Wii and 3ds lacked. Expand
  5. Feb 6, 2014
    9
    A stunning game. This game has one of the best combat mechanics I have ever played with simply because of the options you have: jump, hammer, a variety of items, attacks your buddies can learn, and having the ability to use the power of the Crystal Stars makes this system never go stale, though a tad easy. Each world is fun to explore and their are several sidequests, but I personally felt that alot of them, particularly the cooking and problem center quests, were rather tedious. Still, it is hard to get bored with this game.

    Story-wise, the narrative isn't anything amazing, but praise must go to the clever writing. Personality brims from every character and nearly every word is fun to read.

    Who can possibly forget the presentation? The paper style is nothing short of ingenious and fun, and the music is surprising epic and memorable.

    A gem of an RPG.
    Expand
  6. Dec 1, 2013
    10
    One of my favorite games of all time I loved all the story's included with it and it is one of the best games on the GameCube if you are going to start with the paper Mario series this game is a must play.
  7. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    By far the best game i ever played in my whole entire life. Not only is it the best RPG game nintendo ever made, (heck it's the best RPG ANYONE"S ever made) it has the best and most interesting story i've ever heard. Without a doubt deserves 10/10
  8. Aug 15, 2013
    10
    Truly one of my favorite RPG's of all time and in my top 3 if not number 1 top nostalgic game. It has the best partners, storyline, gameplay, graphics (it's so beautiful), characters, locations, and fun factor of any Mario RPG (in my opinion) if you like untraditional RPG's look no further.
  9. Jun 22, 2013
    10
    One of the best games of all time if not the best. I like everything about this game. Everything. Ok there is only one thing that is not that good. It's the beginning. First level or whatever castle is not that good but after that it's all so phenomenal
  10. May 2, 2013
    10
    Basically one of the best RPG, (If not games) ever created...Ever. Let's back this fact up now. Solid funny characters, a story that is darker than you might think, and turn based glory. There is also advanced badge set up, incredibly amazing cooking recipes(Giving you better items), and extreme puzzles with glorious satisfaction upon beating them. There are no faults in this game. The long scrolls are text are regular in an RPG, and they make lots of sense.

    The enemies in the game are varied from classic mario game enemies all the way to new and old paper mario exclusives. Bosses are extremely fun and tough to fight, and require a whole lot of strategy to beat out. The music is absolutely pleasant, as I listen to the music all the time on and off the game. The game length is also very long, at around 35 hours on your first go, and that doesn't even include post-game things. After all you can do, it can all end one save file in around 50 or more hours, which is pretty solid for a mario game. I highly recommend this game to every single person that I have met

    Gameplay: 10/10
    Story: 9.5/10
    Music: 10/10
    Presentation: 10/10
    Length: 9.5/10
    Overall: 10/10
    Expand
  11. Jan 19, 2013
    10
    A truly wonderful game for the Gamecube, Paper Mario: The Thousand-Year Door not only offers a great experience through easy to learn but difficult to master gameplay and quirky but lovable characters, but may even be considered one of the greatest RPG's of all time.
  12. Jan 15, 2013
    10
    This game is absolutely phenomenal in all aspect throughout game play, and somehow is able to make turning into a pig one of the scariest/creepiest things ever. RPG at its finest, with almost no flaws whatsoever, except trying the game a second time is slightly easier than the first. Overall, 9.8/10, a commendable effort in the making
  13. Dec 30, 2012
    9
    Almost as good as the first. It fixed my two major problems which were level caps and not being able to do much after you beat the final boss. However, the chapters and partners aren't as good. Chapter 1 and 3 are great, 4 is decent, 6 has a lot of backtracking, 7 and 8 are a little dull, 5 is a little annoying, and 2 is ridiculous. For the partners, Koops is likable, Yoshi is cool, the rest are somewhat decent, just not as good as the previous partners. Plus Rogueport is no where near as good as Toad Town was. But this game is still good, also giving us the audience thing and giving you partners HP, but it's annoying that you have to pay for HP now, the blocks cost money and so do the inns. This game is still really good though, it just doesn't have that classic feel to it like the original did. Expand
  14. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    This game uses the same formula as the first paper mario game but perfects it. The battle system has even more depth with the addition of the audience and stylish commands.The gameplay itself is pretty much as perfect as the gameplay of the original. Although the game is structured similarly to the first paper mario game, as both use the storybook-like chapter system, each chapter is original. Chapter three and six especially change up the gameplay formula in an amazingly original way. The puzzles are better in this game than in the first, the bosses just as epic, and the characters and party members are just as characterized as in the first game bringing a sense of connection to the game. The main new gameplay element this game introduces is mario's ability to transform into various paper structures, allowing him to solve new and original puzzles. This game not set in the mushroom kingdom, but rather in an oceanside town called rougeport. This, along with the original chapter design keeps the game fresh. The game's story also improves upon the first paper mario. Bowser is no longer the villain, and you watch as he comedically tries to be one. This is all you need to know about the story, as the rest is revealed in the game. The end of chapter peach gameplay is back, but is accompanied by bowser gameplay too. The peach gameplay is once again the worst part of the game, but the bowser gameplay is very fun as you get to play several of the original super mario bros. levels as him. The graphics are very good and the soundtrack is very good as well, but is not quite as good as the original paper mario soundtrack. All in all, paper mario 2 is one of, if not, my favorite games of all time. The depth of the gameplay, wonderful characterization and level design from paper mario 1 is back, this time with improvements. The game also improves upon its storyline, poking fun at the traditional mario storyline of bowser always being the villain. If you can, get a copy of this game to play on your wii or gamecube, or get a copy of it for the wii u when it gets released. This may be the most polished mario rpg out there. Expand
  15. Nov 26, 2012
    10
    EPIC GAME THIS GAME IS THE BEST GAME EVER ON THE GAMECUBE! i think so,super mario sunshine was a excellent gamecube game,the spongebob squarepants movie game too....but Paper Mario...is a Legend.
  16. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    The sequel to the ever popular Paper Mario will not disappoint. With all new environments, characters, badges, side quests, enemies, and more! It has it all! Including our favorite Italian plumber in his second mission in paper form. Indeed, the game has beautiful graphics and fresh looking environments. Exploring the world can be so much fun when you finish the game. And the game is long enough to keep the storyline interesting and smart. It is one of the best GC games in my opinion, and it receives a very well earned 10 from me. Collapse
  17. Oct 17, 2012
    9
    STEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVEe
  18. Jul 11, 2012
    10
    One of the best Mario games of all time. The story is fun and surprisingly interesting and I found myself addicted to the game. A very fun adventure and a great game over all.
  19. May 30, 2012
    10
    The BEST nintendo RPG on the market, rivalled only by its predecessor on the n64. You'd have to be seriously cynical not to enjoy this game. Where the game design choices are not always the best and the dialogue could probably be toned down, the game puts together everything imaginable for a thoroughly satisfying experience.
  20. May 27, 2012
    10
    Amazing game. One of nintendos best.
  21. Dec 11, 2011
    10
    The story is silly, yet captivating, and the controller inputs utilized during the battle segments keep the turn-based battles engaging. The characters are charming, and I actually found myself looking forward to encountering new enemies, even the ones that were just recolored sprites (the Tattle bestiary system and the item library were also nice features, providing impetuses for scouring the nooks and crannies of the world for hidden goodies and ingredients for recipes). The platforming features in the out-of-battle world were also satisfying, and the abilities Mario gains and those that his partners grant him have imaginative uses. The areas of the game are accessible with very little backtracking, too, as new shortcuts are opened up to the player. My one gripe about the game is a trivial matter. At one point in the game, I became stuck in the Palace of Shadow with one HP. Unfortunately, I reflexively hit the first save block that I saw, not realizing that it would make getting out of there very difficult (I was pretty much in the middle of the chapter, and had no healing items). As such, a "Teleport to Rogueport" option would have been nice. Expand
  22. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    If i could give this game a 20/10 I would. This game is so damn awesome. After playing every cod game, every battlefiled game, gta4, coh, ect. I can still say this is by far the best game i have ever played. This game has a great story, Lovable characters, great level design. Great everything. This game hasa everything. You explore sewers, rundown towns, castles, trains, haunted towns, factorys, the moon, floating islands, tropical islands, pirate grottos, vast forests, big trees, the moon, temples, pirate ships, caves, citys, towns, old haunted churches, catacombs, temples, fortresses. And mario joines a fighting leage (like ufc). Every location has it's own side story. It's awsome. And you fight all kinds of crazy bosses. If you have a wii or gamecube look for this game. I'm sure it's pretty cheap. But it's one of the best games of all time. Expand
  23. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Paper Mario: The Thousand-Year Door is the single most enjoyable game i have ever played, it's turn based fighting system feels awesome, and whenever you die, it's never because of a cheap lucky hit. The whole "Paper" aspect of the game works in genius ways, as the puzzles are downright devious. The music will be eased into your mind for all eternity, and i wouldn't have it any other way. One of the best games ever made, if you have a Gamecube you owe it to yourself to get this game. Expand
  24. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Best game ive played. my favorite game. i suggest this to anyone who loves a great plot, RPG's, comedy, some platforming, and puzzles this is the game for you. But, it doesn't have A LOT of platforming, so dont expect a lot. but to sum it up its a great game for anybody!
  25. Oct 20, 2011
    8
    Its audio, visuals, and gameplay aren't a big step from its N64 predecessor, however, that doesn't disqualify The Thousand-Year Door as fun. In fact, it's one of the most unique RPG titles to hit the NGC.
  26. Jul 3, 2011
    9
    Great transition from the N64, Thousand Year Door continues to bring out the RPG, paper madness that is Paper Mario. With well done visuals and improved combat system, this is a great RPG game for the GC.
  27. Apr 11, 2011
    8
    The Thousand-Year Door is a fun, thoroughly charming RPG for all ages. Pros: Unique graphics and colorful visuals, crafty level design, instantly likable characters, and lots of secrets to unlock. Cons: It's a bit difficult at times because of its reliance on backtracking.
  28. Jan 8, 2011
    10
    When I was young, I couldn't wait to play the sequel of one of my favorite games so I counted down the days till its release. When it came out, I bought it and played it, took me a month to beat it, and loved it. I loved how different this was than the original.
  29. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    The sequel to the ever popular Paper Mario will not disappoint. With all new environments, characters, badges, side quests, enemies, and more! It has it all! Including our favorite Italian plumber in his second mission in paper form. Indeed, the game has beautiful graphics and fresh looking environments. Exploring the world can be so much fun when you finish the game. And the game is long enough to keep the storyline interesting and smart. It is one of the best GC games in my opinion, and it receives a very well earned 10 from me. Collapse
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. 9 / 8 / 8 / 8 - 33 gold [Vol 815; 30 July 2004]
  2. The mix of 2D characters on a 3D plane not only looks appealing, the gameplay that's designed around the concept (Mario's transformation skills in particular) is a creative fusion of art and design. [Nov 2004, p.105]
  3. And it'll soak up far more of YOU than "Mario & Luigi" or the other Mario RPGs ever did, too. It's easy to believe you could spend as long with this as you could a decent-length Final Fantasy title.