User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 204 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 204

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 30, 2015
    10
    Hardcore RPG who expected an experience like Final Fantasy or Chrono Trigger might not enjoy this game all that much, but overall it's an outstanding game and is personally my favorite Mario game ever. Not only does it have a surprisingly good story for a Mario game, but also has a combat system that flows extremely well. The system of leveling up is a little simple, but it works well, andHardcore RPG who expected an experience like Final Fantasy or Chrono Trigger might not enjoy this game all that much, but overall it's an outstanding game and is personally my favorite Mario game ever. Not only does it have a surprisingly good story for a Mario game, but also has a combat system that flows extremely well. The system of leveling up is a little simple, but it works well, and the badge system adds a nice touch. The only real issue is that it's a bit too similar to the first Paper Mario game, but it still is different enough that it feels like a unique and fantastic experience. Expand
  2. May 13, 2015
    9
    This game is absolutely amazing. The gameplay is fun, the story is interesting, it is humourous. The only issue that I have with this game is the sheer amount of backtracking there is to do. Running from one end to another of the same area multiple times gets tedious. Still, it is definitely one of the best titles on the Game Cube.
  3. May 7, 2015
    10
    This game is really amazing! The turn battles, plot, story, badges, items, partners, sidequests, placesm, enemies and boss, all of this in this game is awesome! It's a true a evolution of the first Paper Mario for Nintendo 64, too bad that its sequels for Wii and 3DS (i prefer calling then as spin-offs of the Paper Mario series) doesn't reached the level of quality that this title have...
  4. Apr 8, 2015
    6
    O jogo possui um mundo grande, mas não é o suficiente para expandir a imaginação do jogador, algumas características são divertidas e até mesmo animam, mas há uma ausência de criatividade em algumas partes do jogo, porém a aventura é muito divertida e talvez podem oferecer ao jogador o desejo de explorar .
  5. Mar 15, 2015
    10
    Paper Mario TTYD is one my fav Paper Mario Games on Gamecube,
    tje game rpg element was best and close to Paper Mario 64 if fans ever want the feel of classic paper mario is get these two, while more recent's take the series to a new level.
  6. Nov 23, 2014
    10
    The best paper Mario game ever !! The story is great the characters are awesome and the gameplay is much better than the first game. The bosses are harder ,much more challenge on the pit of 100 trials .
  7. Nov 19, 2014
    10
    The game is so awesome! There is no way I can put any GameCube or Wii or Steam game bellow this. My favourite game ever, and the only problem is the backtracking in some sidequests
  8. Oct 16, 2014
    10
    I was curious to see the reviews for this game and they are positive like I expected. I actually want to play this game again.
    Usually I have to pick on some flaw in a game, but in this one I don't think I can find one.
    The game looked stunning. Every bit of progression made me feel apart of this game. The concept was so smart and really fits well for a Mario title. Another thing I
    I was curious to see the reviews for this game and they are positive like I expected. I actually want to play this game again.
    Usually I have to pick on some flaw in a game, but in this one I don't think I can find one.
    The game looked stunning. Every bit of progression made me feel apart of this game. The concept was so smart and really fits well for a Mario title.
    Another thing I found about this game, is that it was quite dark in a way which is hard to explain which was certainly unexpected.
    There were also so many witty characters that made me laugh a lot.
    One of my favourite areas in the game is during the wrestling chapter where you fight that hawk.
    I may seem a bit strange when I point the reasons why I liked it
    1 - I was a huge wrestling fan
    2 - When you had to wait for your time to fight, it somehow felt good to be waiting in the locker room.
    3 - You didn't really know what was going to happen

    I also found the game very challenging aswell. You had to have great timing for dodging attacks and you had to be properly equipped and leveled to succeed.

    The wrap this up. The game looked beautiful (not a word that I usually say) but its true.
    Game play was perfectly balanced and a pleasure to explore the world and find out what it had to offer.
    Music was quirky and very Mario-Like. Music is a big check box for me in gaming.
    It had some strange humor which was quite subtle and mature. I really had to thing twice on what was said!

    10/10 masterpiece
    Expand
  9. Sep 9, 2014
    10
    In my opinion this is the greatest video game ever made. I got an account on this website just because I wanted to write a review for this game. I have spent many hours of my life enjoying this game and have beat it about 15 times.
  10. Apr 30, 2014
    10
    This was my favorite game in the Paper Mario series, and my favorite game of all time. It had crisp graphics and an AMAZING soundtrack. For me, nearly everything about it was great. The Chapters had very creative sub-plots and bosses and they had creative designs. Chapters 3 and 6 were so much different from the others and thats what was great about them. The overall plot of the game wasThis was my favorite game in the Paper Mario series, and my favorite game of all time. It had crisp graphics and an AMAZING soundtrack. For me, nearly everything about it was great. The Chapters had very creative sub-plots and bosses and they had creative designs. Chapters 3 and 6 were so much different from the others and thats what was great about them. The overall plot of the game was just as great and the Shadow Queen made a great Final boss. The game had some great NPCs that had personality with their dialogue, speaking of, this game always had funny dialogue, making the characters seem more real. This overall is a great game, i suggest you play it if you haven't yet. Expand
  11. Apr 16, 2014
    10
    Even 10 years later, Paper Mario: The Thousand-Year Door has to be one of the finest RPGs Mario has ever experimented with and it's certainly not paper thin -- okay, that's a poor shot of a pun. Pros? The originality in its visuals are its selling point; excellent use of 2.5D RPG and platforming elements; cartoonish humor; charming characters; lots of secrets. Cons? Annoying amount ofEven 10 years later, Paper Mario: The Thousand-Year Door has to be one of the finest RPGs Mario has ever experimented with and it's certainly not paper thin -- okay, that's a poor shot of a pun. Pros? The originality in its visuals are its selling point; excellent use of 2.5D RPG and platforming elements; cartoonish humor; charming characters; lots of secrets. Cons? Annoying amount of reading -- anyone who button mashes through dialogue might miss something some characters only say once -- and requires the player's patience; annoying backtracking; occassional lack of hints, which is more frustrating than challenging. Expand
  12. Mar 29, 2014
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing! This is probably one of the best games on the Nintendo GameCube besides The Wind Waker. It has a good story that contains some great captivating themes along with some pretty good humor. I also love how different each chapter can feel, for in one chapter you are fighting in an arena to another chapter where you are on a tropical island to another where youThis game is absolutely amazing! This is probably one of the best games on the Nintendo GameCube besides The Wind Waker. It has a good story that contains some great captivating themes along with some pretty good humor. I also love how different each chapter can feel, for in one chapter you are fighting in an arena to another chapter where you are on a tropical island to another where you are taking a train ride and solving mysteries. I also love the atmosphere of this game with the blend of 2d and 3d graphics, it really makes the game stand out. I also like the rpg system in this game, it was good in the first Paper Mario but even better in this game. Sure it's simple when compared to other rpg games, but it really suits the game. I love this game, I surprised this game wasn't "universally acclaimed" with the critics. I just hope that Nintendo will make another game with this Paper Mario formula again someday which was something special that the next games on Wii and 3ds lacked. Expand
  13. Feb 6, 2014
    9
    A stunning game. This game has one of the best combat mechanics I have ever played with simply because of the options you have: jump, hammer, a variety of items, attacks your buddies can learn, and having the ability to use the power of the Crystal Stars makes this system never go stale, though a tad easy. Each world is fun to explore and their are several sidequests, but I personally feltA stunning game. This game has one of the best combat mechanics I have ever played with simply because of the options you have: jump, hammer, a variety of items, attacks your buddies can learn, and having the ability to use the power of the Crystal Stars makes this system never go stale, though a tad easy. Each world is fun to explore and their are several sidequests, but I personally felt that alot of them, particularly the cooking and problem center quests, were rather tedious. Still, it is hard to get bored with this game.

    Story-wise, the narrative isn't anything amazing, but praise must go to the clever writing. Personality brims from every character and nearly every word is fun to read.

    Who can possibly forget the presentation? The paper style is nothing short of ingenious and fun, and the music is surprising epic and memorable.

    A gem of an RPG.
    Expand
  14. Dec 1, 2013
    10
    One of my favorite games of all time I loved all the story's included with it and it is one of the best games on the GameCube if you are going to start with the paper Mario series this game is a must play.
  15. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    By far the best game i ever played in my whole entire life. Not only is it the best RPG game nintendo ever made, (heck it's the best RPG ANYONE"S ever made) it has the best and most interesting story i've ever heard. Without a doubt deserves 10/10
  16. Aug 15, 2013
    10
    Truly one of my favorite RPG's of all time and in my top 3 if not number 1 top nostalgic game. It has the best partners, storyline, gameplay, graphics (it's so beautiful), characters, locations, and fun factor of any Mario RPG (in my opinion) if you like untraditional RPG's look no further.
  17. Jun 22, 2013
    10
    One of the best games of all time if not the best. I like everything about this game. Everything. Ok there is only one thing that is not that good. It's the beginning. First level or whatever castle is not that good but after that it's all so phenomenal
  18. May 2, 2013
    10
    Basically one of the best RPG, (If not games) ever created...Ever. Let's back this fact up now. Solid funny characters, a story that is darker than you might think, and turn based glory. There is also advanced badge set up, incredibly amazing cooking recipes(Giving you better items), and extreme puzzles with glorious satisfaction upon beating them. There are no faults in this game. TheBasically one of the best RPG, (If not games) ever created...Ever. Let's back this fact up now. Solid funny characters, a story that is darker than you might think, and turn based glory. There is also advanced badge set up, incredibly amazing cooking recipes(Giving you better items), and extreme puzzles with glorious satisfaction upon beating them. There are no faults in this game. The long scrolls are text are regular in an RPG, and they make lots of sense.

    The enemies in the game are varied from classic mario game enemies all the way to new and old paper mario exclusives. Bosses are extremely fun and tough to fight, and require a whole lot of strategy to beat out. The music is absolutely pleasant, as I listen to the music all the time on and off the game. The game length is also very long, at around 35 hours on your first go, and that doesn't even include post-game things. After all you can do, it can all end one save file in around 50 or more hours, which is pretty solid for a mario game. I highly recommend this game to every single person that I have met

    Gameplay: 10/10
    Story: 9.5/10
    Music: 10/10
    Presentation: 10/10
    Length: 9.5/10
    Overall: 10/10
    Expand
  19. Jan 19, 2013
    10
    A truly wonderful game for the Gamecube, Paper Mario: The Thousand-Year Door not only offers a great experience through easy to learn but difficult to master gameplay and quirky but lovable characters, but may even be considered one of the greatest RPG's of all time.
  20. Jan 15, 2013
    10
    This game is absolutely phenomenal in all aspect throughout game play, and somehow is able to make turning into a pig one of the scariest/creepiest things ever. RPG at its finest, with almost no flaws whatsoever, except trying the game a second time is slightly easier than the first. Overall, 9.8/10, a commendable effort in the making
  21. Dec 30, 2012
    9
    Almost as good as the first. It fixed my two major problems which were level caps and not being able to do much after you beat the final boss. However, the chapters and partners aren't as good. Chapter 1 and 3 are great, 4 is decent, 6 has a lot of backtracking, 7 and 8 are a little dull, 5 is a little annoying, and 2 is ridiculous. For the partners, Koops is likable, Yoshi is cool, theAlmost as good as the first. It fixed my two major problems which were level caps and not being able to do much after you beat the final boss. However, the chapters and partners aren't as good. Chapter 1 and 3 are great, 4 is decent, 6 has a lot of backtracking, 7 and 8 are a little dull, 5 is a little annoying, and 2 is ridiculous. For the partners, Koops is likable, Yoshi is cool, the rest are somewhat decent, just not as good as the previous partners. Plus Rogueport is no where near as good as Toad Town was. But this game is still good, also giving us the audience thing and giving you partners HP, but it's annoying that you have to pay for HP now, the blocks cost money and so do the inns. This game is still really good though, it just doesn't have that classic feel to it like the original did. Expand
  22. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    This game uses the same formula as the first paper mario game but perfects it. The battle system has even more depth with the addition of the audience and stylish commands.The gameplay itself is pretty much as perfect as the gameplay of the original. Although the game is structured similarly to the first paper mario game, as both use the storybook-like chapter system, each chapter isThis game uses the same formula as the first paper mario game but perfects it. The battle system has even more depth with the addition of the audience and stylish commands.The gameplay itself is pretty much as perfect as the gameplay of the original. Although the game is structured similarly to the first paper mario game, as both use the storybook-like chapter system, each chapter is original. Chapter three and six especially change up the gameplay formula in an amazingly original way. The puzzles are better in this game than in the first, the bosses just as epic, and the characters and party members are just as characterized as in the first game bringing a sense of connection to the game. The main new gameplay element this game introduces is mario's ability to transform into various paper structures, allowing him to solve new and original puzzles. This game not set in the mushroom kingdom, but rather in an oceanside town called rougeport. This, along with the original chapter design keeps the game fresh. The game's story also improves upon the first paper mario. Bowser is no longer the villain, and you watch as he comedically tries to be one. This is all you need to know about the story, as the rest is revealed in the game. The end of chapter peach gameplay is back, but is accompanied by bowser gameplay too. The peach gameplay is once again the worst part of the game, but the bowser gameplay is very fun as you get to play several of the original super mario bros. levels as him. The graphics are very good and the soundtrack is very good as well, but is not quite as good as the original paper mario soundtrack. All in all, paper mario 2 is one of, if not, my favorite games of all time. The depth of the gameplay, wonderful characterization and level design from paper mario 1 is back, this time with improvements. The game also improves upon its storyline, poking fun at the traditional mario storyline of bowser always being the villain. If you can, get a copy of this game to play on your wii or gamecube, or get a copy of it for the wii u when it gets released. This may be the most polished mario rpg out there. Expand
  23. Nov 26, 2012
    10
    EPIC GAME THIS GAME IS THE BEST GAME EVER ON THE GAMECUBE! i think so,super mario sunshine was a excellent gamecube game,the spongebob squarepants movie game too....but Paper Mario...is a Legend.
  24. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    The sequel to the ever popular Paper Mario will not disappoint. With all new environments, characters, badges, side quests, enemies, and more! It has it all! Including our favorite Italian plumber in his second mission in paper form. Indeed, the game has beautiful graphics and fresh looking environments. Exploring the world can be so much fun when you finish the game. And the game is longThe sequel to the ever popular Paper Mario will not disappoint. With all new environments, characters, badges, side quests, enemies, and more! It has it all! Including our favorite Italian plumber in his second mission in paper form. Indeed, the game has beautiful graphics and fresh looking environments. Exploring the world can be so much fun when you finish the game. And the game is long enough to keep the storyline interesting and smart. It is one of the best GC games in my opinion, and it receives a very well earned 10 from me. Collapse
  25. Oct 17, 2012
    9
    STEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVEe
  26. Jul 11, 2012
    10
    One of the best Mario games of all time. The story is fun and surprisingly interesting and I found myself addicted to the game. A very fun adventure and a great game over all.
  27. May 30, 2012
    10
    The BEST nintendo RPG on the market, rivalled only by its predecessor on the n64. You'd have to be seriously cynical not to enjoy this game. Where the game design choices are not always the best and the dialogue could probably be toned down, the game puts together everything imaginable for a thoroughly satisfying experience.
  28. May 27, 2012
    10
    Amazing game. One of nintendos best.
  29. Dec 11, 2011
    10
    The story is silly, yet captivating, and the controller inputs utilized during the battle segments keep the turn-based battles engaging. The characters are charming, and I actually found myself looking forward to encountering new enemies, even the ones that were just recolored sprites (the Tattle bestiary system and the item library were also nice features, providing impetuses for scouringThe story is silly, yet captivating, and the controller inputs utilized during the battle segments keep the turn-based battles engaging. The characters are charming, and I actually found myself looking forward to encountering new enemies, even the ones that were just recolored sprites (the Tattle bestiary system and the item library were also nice features, providing impetuses for scouring the nooks and crannies of the world for hidden goodies and ingredients for recipes). The platforming features in the out-of-battle world were also satisfying, and the abilities Mario gains and those that his partners grant him have imaginative uses. The areas of the game are accessible with very little backtracking, too, as new shortcuts are opened up to the player. My one gripe about the game is a trivial matter. At one point in the game, I became stuck in the Palace of Shadow with one HP. Unfortunately, I reflexively hit the first save block that I saw, not realizing that it would make getting out of there very difficult (I was pretty much in the middle of the chapter, and had no healing items). As such, a "Teleport to Rogueport" option would have been nice. Expand
  30. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    If i could give this game a 20/10 I would. This game is so damn awesome. After playing every cod game, every battlefiled game, gta4, coh, ect. I can still say this is by far the best game i have ever played. This game has a great story, Lovable characters, great level design. Great everything. This game hasa everything. You explore sewers, rundown towns, castles, trains, hauntedIf i could give this game a 20/10 I would. This game is so damn awesome. After playing every cod game, every battlefiled game, gta4, coh, ect. I can still say this is by far the best game i have ever played. This game has a great story, Lovable characters, great level design. Great everything. This game hasa everything. You explore sewers, rundown towns, castles, trains, haunted towns, factorys, the moon, floating islands, tropical islands, pirate grottos, vast forests, big trees, the moon, temples, pirate ships, caves, citys, towns, old haunted churches, catacombs, temples, fortresses. And mario joines a fighting leage (like ufc). Every location has it's own side story. It's awsome. And you fight all kinds of crazy bosses. If you have a wii or gamecube look for this game. I'm sure it's pretty cheap. But it's one of the best games of all time. Expand
  31. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Paper Mario: The Thousand-Year Door is the single most enjoyable game i have ever played, it's turn based fighting system feels awesome, and whenever you die, it's never because of a cheap lucky hit. The whole "Paper" aspect of the game works in genius ways, as the puzzles are downright devious. The music will be eased into your mind for all eternity, and i wouldn't have it any other way.Paper Mario: The Thousand-Year Door is the single most enjoyable game i have ever played, it's turn based fighting system feels awesome, and whenever you die, it's never because of a cheap lucky hit. The whole "Paper" aspect of the game works in genius ways, as the puzzles are downright devious. The music will be eased into your mind for all eternity, and i wouldn't have it any other way. One of the best games ever made, if you have a Gamecube you owe it to yourself to get this game. Expand
  32. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Best game ive played. my favorite game. i suggest this to anyone who loves a great plot, RPG's, comedy, some platforming, and puzzles this is the game for you. But, it doesn't have A LOT of platforming, so dont expect a lot. but to sum it up its a great game for anybody!
  33. Oct 20, 2011
    8
    Its audio, visuals, and gameplay aren't a big step from its N64 predecessor, however, that doesn't disqualify The Thousand-Year Door as fun. In fact, it's one of the most unique RPG titles to hit the NGC.
  34. Jul 3, 2011
    9
    Great transition from the N64, Thousand Year Door continues to bring out the RPG, paper madness that is Paper Mario. With well done visuals and improved combat system, this is a great RPG game for the GC.
  35. Apr 11, 2011
    8
    The Thousand-Year Door is a fun, thoroughly charming RPG for all ages. Pros: Unique graphics and colorful visuals, crafty level design, instantly likable characters, and lots of secrets to unlock. Cons: It's a bit difficult at times because of its reliance on backtracking.
  36. Jan 8, 2011
    10
    When I was young, I couldn't wait to play the sequel of one of my favorite games so I counted down the days till its release. When it came out, I bought it and played it, took me a month to beat it, and loved it. I loved how different this was than the original.
  37. Chris
    Jun 23, 2008
    10
    This is probably my favorite game of all time. It is interesting, has excellent gameplay, and some very funny parts are in the story, which is great by the way. I loved everything about the battle system, and it never got boring. All of your partners in the game were interesting too, and not just some random people that just join with you. Pick up this game and see how great it is.
  38. JohnE.
    Jan 27, 2008
    9
    The combination of an outstanding level design, (the train and the arena were awesome) great dialogue, a great atmosphere, and the innovative battle system produce a game that's definetely worth playing. If you own a Gamecube or a Wii, you owe it to yourself to pick this up and see what a casual, yet surprisingly deep game this can be.
  39. AlexB.
    Jul 11, 2006
    9
    Paper Mario 2 is a rare game: charming, witty and entertaining. Given the varied selection of tasks you're given, you'd expect the core of the game to be slightly shallow or rough. But no, throughout the game the presentation is top-notch and secrets abound. The core combat mechanic is still fun 40 hours in, and there's plenty to savour in a 2nd replaying.
  40. Shaun
    Dec 16, 2005
    9
    A classic. Reasons? Well, you'll have to come back to it in ten years to see truly why, but this game gets its stuff from the fun factor, art design, and story. The dialogue itself is self-loathing and hilariously cynical enough to make the most serious person grin. Don't even get me started on the genius level design and wonderful presentation. All the chapters have something A classic. Reasons? Well, you'll have to come back to it in ten years to see truly why, but this game gets its stuff from the fun factor, art design, and story. The dialogue itself is self-loathing and hilariously cynical enough to make the most serious person grin. Don't even get me started on the genius level design and wonderful presentation. All the chapters have something unique and fun in them. Some stand out as classics such as Chapter 3 and the one on the train (Chapter 6? I can't remember). In any case, you have to be mature enough to understand why this is such a great game, and also you must have played it all the way through (duh). Oh, and btw don't pay any attention to dood ajsj's review. The game is not easy if you play the whole thing through (and don't level up like a crazy coward for ten hours so you can blast your way through). The pacing is perfect so don't screw it up for yourself. OH, and the dialogue is long, but worth it. I think we're seeing the rantings of stupid kids who don't like to read coming out on here. OMG gUyz like, there'ss like, ffifty bILLion wordsSss here!!! I would give him credit if the dialogue was crap, however 95% of it is good and needed. That's all. Expand
  41. JoeyK.
    Aug 6, 2005
    9
    Players of the original will find a lot familiar, yet plenty of new tricks. They've rehashed many of the characters and levels from the old game, but they all still work! The only big criticism is that there isr too much backtracking, which I'm surprised wasn't mentioned more in othe rreviews. Nevertheless, it's an utterly fantastic game, just like the first one.
  42. ViniciusF.
    Jul 26, 2005
    10
    It's Mario made of paper. Needs more?
  43. JosefW.
    May 18, 2005
    10
    Hilarious! A joy to play.
  44. MicallM.
    Feb 16, 2005
    10
    This game is AWESOME!!! I mean it allows you to play as mario and have other party members to help you out. You also see other realy old folks that you saw in the ariginal game, and goombas and coopas you can talk to (one coopa is your party member). over all I'd rate it a 10.
  45. WilliamF.
    Feb 6, 2005
    10
    Best game ever.
  46. KaleviK.
    Jan 30, 2005
    9
    Great!
  47. DanielM.
    Jan 11, 2005
    10
    Puts all of the normal rpg's to shame with it's unique battle system.
  48. Yzarc
    Jan 6, 2005
    10
    It's a great game.
  49. JustinI.
    Dec 29, 2004
    9
    I was a huge fan of paper mario, but this game WAY outshines it.
  50. SteveS.
    Dec 17, 2004
    6
    It is ok, but once you have been playing for a while you begin to notice that it seems like a gba game. I have alot of gripes. The dialogue isn't funny Poor inventory system battle system isnt all that fun Also, don't be fooled by the fact that this is a mario game. It isn't terrible but its not good. Not all games with mario are good! If you like mario and luigi, you wont It is ok, but once you have been playing for a while you begin to notice that it seems like a gba game. I have alot of gripes. The dialogue isn't funny Poor inventory system battle system isnt all that fun Also, don't be fooled by the fact that this is a mario game. It isn't terrible but its not good. Not all games with mario are good! If you like mario and luigi, you wont like this because its worse than that gba game. Play that instead. Even if its for a little kid who doesnt notice flaws, it will be too hard for them. Buy something good. Don't be fooled by Mario. Those reviewers just slap a high score on all things mario. Expand
  51. DragonKnightofFinalFantasy
    Nov 23, 2004
    9
    I love this game the battle system is fun and frantic, the game is funny, lots of characters, fun even when not in battle, why didn't I give this game a 10? Well too much reading why won't Nintendo get voice actors I mean if you aren't gonna give us online play for games like Double Dash!! at least save us the pain of the constant reading especially since I have a little I love this game the battle system is fun and frantic, the game is funny, lots of characters, fun even when not in battle, why didn't I give this game a 10? Well too much reading why won't Nintendo get voice actors I mean if you aren't gonna give us online play for games like Double Dash!! at least save us the pain of the constant reading especially since I have a little brother that makes me read it aloud to him EVERY CUTSCENE EVERY TEXT BOX! Imagine having to read all of Custom Robo out loud (oh no FLASHBACK AAHHHH!) this is pretty much just as bad but it's an RPG so this is kinda expected but the real problem is the irrating back-tracking traveling everywhere uuuhhhgghhh not too much fun but luckily instead of just being searching for that dumb item needed to advance in the plotline but there is a wealth of extras when coming back to those areas. It's a gret RPG for everyone sadly some might overlook it's cartoony graphics but Wind Waker was cartoony but it was one of the most awesome games for the GC. Pick this up as soon as possible but whatever you do DON"T overlook this RPG masterpiece. Expand
  52. TonyT.
    Nov 20, 2004
    10
    Cool.
  53. ZachL.
    Nov 15, 2004
    10
    This game is the bomb. I am having a little trouble but it is very challenging and I agree that it is the best rpg ever.
  54. TheoG.
    Nov 12, 2004
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played. Gets better and better the further you go, incredibly stylish, different levels and smart dialogue - tons of content and many kinds of gameplay. Beating a chapter is awesome, esp. the Bowser levels.
  55. TonyG.
    Nov 10, 2004
    10
    This game rules. Paper Mario 2 boils down to this: an innovative RPG simple enough for a child to play but deep enough for a hardcore RPG addict to love. The battle system is very fun, with lots of entertaining quirks and a surprising number of in-depth abilities to learn. For example, all basic moves need relatively simple button combinations learned to maxmize effectiveness. However, This game rules. Paper Mario 2 boils down to this: an innovative RPG simple enough for a child to play but deep enough for a hardcore RPG addict to love. The battle system is very fun, with lots of entertaining quirks and a surprising number of in-depth abilities to learn. For example, all basic moves need relatively simple button combinations learned to maxmize effectiveness. However, these same moves can be further refined by making them "Stylish." Learning sytlish moves entails excellent timing, and it adds amusing animations and impressive benefits to your attacks. Let's not forget the countless clever goofs that we find throughout the game. Two-dimensional Paper Mario can turn sideways to fit through cracks, stage lights arbitrarily fall on you in combat and give your character a defensive electrical field, and Luigi even makes his own strange appearances. Try this game. You'll love it. Expand
  56. B-Dog
    Nov 3, 2004
    10
    Great game. Make more like this one nintendo.
  57. Jeff
    Oct 29, 2004
    10
    Great game, a well needed sequel cuz the first one got credited for my favorite 64 game of all time. Great Graphics, great sounded and bg music. Tons of New Badges and partners, what more could you ask for. The one thing i would like more is the level gaining experience ways. They should just use experience points like they did in superstar saga. And it could be a little harder. But its Great game, a well needed sequel cuz the first one got credited for my favorite 64 game of all time. Great Graphics, great sounded and bg music. Tons of New Badges and partners, what more could you ask for. The one thing i would like more is the level gaining experience ways. They should just use experience points like they did in superstar saga. And it could be a little harder. But its easiness makes it less frustrating and more fun to play. Definitely one of the best rpgs on the cube! Lets hope they make a third one! Expand
  58. GaryM.
    Oct 22, 2004
    10
    I'm really looking forward to this game, as the graphics are stunning and brings the old Mario to life! Luvely jubely.
  59. ChristopherS.
    Oct 20, 2004
    10
    The most beautiful and amazing worlds you'll ever see,sound is good also!!!! Great gameplay and mario greatness, what more can you ask for?? Go buy now!!!
  60. ArjunH.
    Oct 16, 2004
    10
    It's challenging and fun.
  61. JussiE.
    Aug 5, 2004
    10
    The best rpg yet on cube!
  62. VanyaH.
    Jun 5, 2004
    10
    Best game ever i love the fact that u can explore mario lands.
  63. DonVito
    May 3, 2004
    10
    Definitely worth buying! I'm Rick James.
  64. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    The sequel to the ever popular Paper Mario will not disappoint. With all new environments, characters, badges, side quests, enemies, and more! It has it all! Including our favorite Italian plumber in his second mission in paper form. Indeed, the game has beautiful graphics and fresh looking environments. Exploring the world can be so much fun when you finish the game. And the game is longThe sequel to the ever popular Paper Mario will not disappoint. With all new environments, characters, badges, side quests, enemies, and more! It has it all! Including our favorite Italian plumber in his second mission in paper form. Indeed, the game has beautiful graphics and fresh looking environments. Exploring the world can be so much fun when you finish the game. And the game is long enough to keep the storyline interesting and smart. It is one of the best GC games in my opinion, and it receives a very well earned 10 from me. Collapse
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. 9 / 8 / 8 / 8 - 33 gold [Vol 815; 30 July 2004]
  2. The mix of 2D characters on a 3D plane not only looks appealing, the gameplay that's designed around the concept (Mario's transformation skills in particular) is a creative fusion of art and design. [Nov 2004, p.105]
  3. And it'll soak up far more of YOU than "Mario & Luigi" or the other Mario RPGs ever did, too. It's easy to believe you could spend as long with this as you could a decent-length Final Fantasy title.