Paper Mario: The Thousand-Year Door Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 207 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Get ready for a new role-playing adventure as Mario returns to paper form to stop a dangerous threat. In Paper Mario 2, Mario can dodge, inflict damage, and impress the crowd to strengthen his attacks. Also, Mario and his friends have more paper abilities. They can now turn sideways to slipGet ready for a new role-playing adventure as Mario returns to paper form to stop a dangerous threat. In Paper Mario 2, Mario can dodge, inflict damage, and impress the crowd to strengthen his attacks. Also, Mario and his friends have more paper abilities. They can now turn sideways to slip through cracks, fold into a paper airplane to fly, roll into a tube, and more. They can also use a variety of items like hammers and thunderbolts to defeat their enemies. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. A RPG that captures the excitement and fun of the Super Mario Bros series and combines it with depth found only in top-shelf RPGs. It all adds up to what is sure to be consider another Mario classic.
  2. Now that it has arrived however, we can safely say that it's firmly up there as one of the best games released this year.
  3. Hardcore RPG fans, wait for "Baten Kaitos;" everyone else, plan on following the most hee-haw-larious yarn spun in years. [Dec 2004, p.140]
  4. 90
    It mixes together some very well-designed elements, such as its battle system, level design, puzzle design and its funny, charming storyline.
  5. Retains so much of the original that anyone who loved the first one will still love this one, and anyone who hated the first one will likewise hate this one.
  6. Some of the story is a bit contrived and the game may give players a bit of "been there, done that", but it's a very fun game to play through. There are enough twists in the story and surprises to be seen to keep Mario fans playing until the very end.
  7. The art and combat are killed in their tracks by the game's downright shameful dialogue. [Nov 2004, p.158]

See all 55 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. Jun 30, 2015
    10
    Hardcore RPG who expected an experience like Final Fantasy or Chrono Trigger might not enjoy this game all that much, but overall it's anHardcore RPG who expected an experience like Final Fantasy or Chrono Trigger might not enjoy this game all that much, but overall it's an outstanding game and is personally my favorite Mario game ever. Not only does it have a surprisingly good story for a Mario game, but also has a combat system that flows extremely well. The system of leveling up is a little simple, but it works well, and the badge system adds a nice touch. The only real issue is that it's a bit too similar to the first Paper Mario game, but it still is different enough that it feels like a unique and fantastic experience. Expand
  2. Mar 29, 2014
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing! This is probably one of the best games on the Nintendo GameCube besides The Wind Waker. It has a good storyThis game is absolutely amazing! This is probably one of the best games on the Nintendo GameCube besides The Wind Waker. It has a good story that contains some great captivating themes along with some pretty good humor. I also love how different each chapter can feel, for in one chapter you are fighting in an arena to another chapter where you are on a tropical island to another where you are taking a train ride and solving mysteries. I also love the atmosphere of this game with the blend of 2d and 3d graphics, it really makes the game stand out. I also like the rpg system in this game, it was good in the first Paper Mario but even better in this game. Sure it's simple when compared to other rpg games, but it really suits the game. I love this game, I surprised this game wasn't "universally acclaimed" with the critics. I just hope that Nintendo will make another game with this Paper Mario formula again someday which was something special that the next games on Wii and 3ds lacked. Expand
  3. Dec 11, 2011
    10
    The story is silly, yet captivating, and the controller inputs utilized during the battle segments keep the turn-based battles engaging. TheThe story is silly, yet captivating, and the controller inputs utilized during the battle segments keep the turn-based battles engaging. The characters are charming, and I actually found myself looking forward to encountering new enemies, even the ones that were just recolored sprites (the Tattle bestiary system and the item library were also nice features, providing impetuses for scouring the nooks and crannies of the world for hidden goodies and ingredients for recipes). The platforming features in the out-of-battle world were also satisfying, and the abilities Mario gains and those that his partners grant him have imaginative uses. The areas of the game are accessible with very little backtracking, too, as new shortcuts are opened up to the player. My one gripe about the game is a trivial matter. At one point in the game, I became stuck in the Palace of Shadow with one HP. Unfortunately, I reflexively hit the first save block that I saw, not realizing that it would make getting out of there very difficult (I was pretty much in the middle of the chapter, and had no healing items). As such, a "Teleport to Rogueport" option would have been nice. Expand
  4. Nov 23, 2014
    10
    The best paper Mario game ever !! The story is great the characters are awesome and the gameplay is much better than the first game. TheThe best paper Mario game ever !! The story is great the characters are awesome and the gameplay is much better than the first game. The bosses are harder ,much more challenge on the pit of 100 trials . Expand
  5. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Best game ive played. my favorite game. i suggest this to anyone who loves a great plot, RPG's, comedy, some platforming, and puzzles this isBest game ive played. my favorite game. i suggest this to anyone who loves a great plot, RPG's, comedy, some platforming, and puzzles this is the game for you. But, it doesn't have A LOT of platforming, so dont expect a lot. but to sum it up its a great game for anybody! Expand
  6. DonVito
    May 3, 2004
    10
    Definitely worth buying! I'm Rick James.
  7. SteveS.
    Dec 17, 2004
    6
    It is ok, but once you have been playing for a while you begin to notice that it seems like a gba game. I have alot of gripes. The dialogue It is ok, but once you have been playing for a while you begin to notice that it seems like a gba game. I have alot of gripes. The dialogue isn't funny Poor inventory system battle system isnt all that fun Also, don't be fooled by the fact that this is a mario game. It isn't terrible but its not good. Not all games with mario are good! If you like mario and luigi, you wont like this because its worse than that gba game. Play that instead. Even if its for a little kid who doesnt notice flaws, it will be too hard for them. Buy something good. Don't be fooled by Mario. Those reviewers just slap a high score on all things mario. Expand

See all 63 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.