Paper Mario: The Thousand-Year Door GameCube

Paper Mario: The Thousand-Year Door Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 281 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Get ready for a new role-playing adventure as Mario returns to paper form to stop a dangerous threat. In Paper Mario 2, Mario can dodge, inflict damage, and impress the crowd to strengthen his attacks. Also, Mario and his friends have more paper abilities. They can now turn sideways to slipGet ready for a new role-playing adventure as Mario returns to paper form to stop a dangerous threat. In Paper Mario 2, Mario can dodge, inflict damage, and impress the crowd to strengthen his attacks. Also, Mario and his friends have more paper abilities. They can now turn sideways to slip through cracks, fold into a paper airplane to fly, roll into a tube, and more. They can also use a variety of items like hammers and thunderbolts to defeat their enemies. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Cheat Code Central
    100
    A RPG that captures the excitement and fun of the Super Mario Bros series and combines it with depth found only in top-shelf RPGs. It all adds up to what is sure to be consider another Mario classic.
  2. Now that it has arrived however, we can safely say that it's firmly up there as one of the best games released this year.
  3. Nintendo Power
    92
    Hardcore RPG fans, wait for "Baten Kaitos;" everyone else, plan on following the most hee-haw-larious yarn spun in years. [Dec 2004, p.140]
  4. 90
    It mixes together some very well-designed elements, such as its battle system, level design, puzzle design and its funny, charming storyline.
  5. Retains so much of the original that anyone who loved the first one will still love this one, and anyone who hated the first one will likewise hate this one.
  6. Some of the story is a bit contrived and the game may give players a bit of "been there, done that", but it's a very fun game to play through. There are enough twists in the story and surprises to be seen to keep Mario fans playing until the very end.
  7. Game Informer
    68
    The art and combat are killed in their tracks by the game's downright shameful dialogue. [Nov 2004, p.158]

See all 55 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 85
  2. Negative: 1 out of 85
  1. Dec 8, 2015
    10
    This was a truly amazing game. I remember how great paper mario ttyd door was when I was a kid, and i kept on looking for a copy. I gotThis was a truly amazing game. I remember how great paper mario ttyd door was when I was a kid, and i kept on looking for a copy. I got scammed for 40 bucks by a fat guy who sold me a broken copy, but I eventually found a working copy.
    It was great playing this game again, but I found it much more easier then what I remembered when I was little. I remember it being way more harder. Overall great game, but not much more to do after you beat the game.
    Expand
  2. Dec 11, 2011
    10
    The story is silly, yet captivating, and the controller inputs utilized during the battle segments keep the turn-based battles engaging. TheThe story is silly, yet captivating, and the controller inputs utilized during the battle segments keep the turn-based battles engaging. The characters are charming, and I actually found myself looking forward to encountering new enemies, even the ones that were just recolored sprites (the Tattle bestiary system and the item library were also nice features, providing impetuses for scouring the nooks and crannies of the world for hidden goodies and ingredients for recipes). The platforming features in the out-of-battle world were also satisfying, and the abilities Mario gains and those that his partners grant him have imaginative uses. The areas of the game are accessible with very little backtracking, too, as new shortcuts are opened up to the player. My one gripe about the game is a trivial matter. At one point in the game, I became stuck in the Palace of Shadow with one HP. Unfortunately, I reflexively hit the first save block that I saw, not realizing that it would make getting out of there very difficult (I was pretty much in the middle of the chapter, and had no healing items). As such, a "Teleport to Rogueport" option would have been nice. Expand
  3. Aug 15, 2013
    10
    Truly one of my favorite RPG's of all time and in my top 3 if not number 1 top nostalgic game. It has the best partners, storyline, gameplay,Truly one of my favorite RPG's of all time and in my top 3 if not number 1 top nostalgic game. It has the best partners, storyline, gameplay, graphics (it's so beautiful), characters, locations, and fun factor of any Mario RPG (in my opinion) if you like untraditional RPG's look no further. Expand
  4. Yzarc
    Jan 6, 2005
    10
    It's a great game.
  5. Nov 26, 2012
    10
    EPIC GAME THIS GAME IS THE BEST GAME EVER ON THE GAMECUBE! i think so,super mario sunshine was a excellent gamecube game,the spongebobEPIC GAME THIS GAME IS THE BEST GAME EVER ON THE GAMECUBE! i think so,super mario sunshine was a excellent gamecube game,the spongebob squarepants movie game too....but Paper Mario...is a Legend. Expand
  6. Oct 17, 2012
    9
    STEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTSTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVESTEVEe Expand
  7. Aug 20, 2015
    1
    There is something about this game that didn't seem right. Maybe its just me, but I feel like the game had so much more potential. In theThere is something about this game that didn't seem right. Maybe its just me, but I feel like the game had so much more potential. In the game, you walking around and getting secrets in LEVELS / CHAPTERS. I had a feeling were the game would be so much better if the developers had ideas to trigger missions on command, and getting out of a mission with a click of a button. Then walking around the same area freely without an objective. That would be more interesting. Expand

See all 85 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.

Awards & Rankings

#3 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2004
#3 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2004