Paper Mario: The Thousand-Year Door GameCube

Paper Mario: The Thousand-Year Door Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 210 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Get ready for a new role-playing adventure as Mario returns to paper form to stop a dangerous threat. In Paper Mario 2, Mario can dodge, inflict damage, and impress the crowd to strengthen his attacks. Also, Mario and his friends have more paper abilities. They can now turn sideways to slipGet ready for a new role-playing adventure as Mario returns to paper form to stop a dangerous threat. In Paper Mario 2, Mario can dodge, inflict damage, and impress the crowd to strengthen his attacks. Also, Mario and his friends have more paper abilities. They can now turn sideways to slip through cracks, fold into a paper airplane to fly, roll into a tube, and more. They can also use a variety of items like hammers and thunderbolts to defeat their enemies. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. A RPG that captures the excitement and fun of the Super Mario Bros series and combines it with depth found only in top-shelf RPGs. It all adds up to what is sure to be consider another Mario classic.
  2. Now that it has arrived however, we can safely say that it's firmly up there as one of the best games released this year.
  3. Hardcore RPG fans, wait for "Baten Kaitos;" everyone else, plan on following the most hee-haw-larious yarn spun in years. [Dec 2004, p.140]
  4. 90
    It mixes together some very well-designed elements, such as its battle system, level design, puzzle design and its funny, charming storyline.
  5. Retains so much of the original that anyone who loved the first one will still love this one, and anyone who hated the first one will likewise hate this one.
  6. Some of the story is a bit contrived and the game may give players a bit of "been there, done that", but it's a very fun game to play through. There are enough twists in the story and surprises to be seen to keep Mario fans playing until the very end.
  7. The art and combat are killed in their tracks by the game's downright shameful dialogue. [Nov 2004, p.158]

See all 55 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 64
  2. Negative: 1 out of 64
  1. Mar 15, 2015
    10
    Paper Mario TTYD is one my fav Paper Mario Games on Gamecube,
    tje game rpg element was best and close to Paper Mario 64 if fans ever want the
    Paper Mario TTYD is one my fav Paper Mario Games on Gamecube,
    tje game rpg element was best and close to Paper Mario 64 if fans ever want the feel of classic paper mario is get these two, while more recent's take the series to a new level.
    Expand
  2. Dec 11, 2011
    10
    The story is silly, yet captivating, and the controller inputs utilized during the battle segments keep the turn-based battles engaging. TheThe story is silly, yet captivating, and the controller inputs utilized during the battle segments keep the turn-based battles engaging. The characters are charming, and I actually found myself looking forward to encountering new enemies, even the ones that were just recolored sprites (the Tattle bestiary system and the item library were also nice features, providing impetuses for scouring the nooks and crannies of the world for hidden goodies and ingredients for recipes). The platforming features in the out-of-battle world were also satisfying, and the abilities Mario gains and those that his partners grant him have imaginative uses. The areas of the game are accessible with very little backtracking, too, as new shortcuts are opened up to the player. My one gripe about the game is a trivial matter. At one point in the game, I became stuck in the Palace of Shadow with one HP. Unfortunately, I reflexively hit the first save block that I saw, not realizing that it would make getting out of there very difficult (I was pretty much in the middle of the chapter, and had no healing items). As such, a "Teleport to Rogueport" option would have been nice. Collapse
  3. Oct 16, 2014
    10
    I was curious to see the reviews for this game and they are positive like I expected. I actually want to play this game again.
    Usually I have
    I was curious to see the reviews for this game and they are positive like I expected. I actually want to play this game again.
    Usually I have to pick on some flaw in a game, but in this one I don't think I can find one.
    The game looked stunning. Every bit of progression made me feel apart of this game. The concept was so smart and really fits well for a Mario title.
    Another thing I found about this game, is that it was quite dark in a way which is hard to explain which was certainly unexpected.
    There were also so many witty characters that made me laugh a lot.
    One of my favourite areas in the game is during the wrestling chapter where you fight that hawk.
    I may seem a bit strange when I point the reasons why I liked it
    1 - I was a huge wrestling fan
    2 - When you had to wait for your time to fight, it somehow felt good to be waiting in the locker room.
    3 - You didn't really know what was going to happen

    I also found the game very challenging aswell. You had to have great timing for dodging attacks and you had to be properly equipped and leveled to succeed.

    The wrap this up. The game looked beautiful (not a word that I usually say) but its true.
    Game play was perfectly balanced and a pleasure to explore the world and find out what it had to offer.
    Music was quirky and very Mario-Like. Music is a big check box for me in gaming.
    It had some strange humor which was quite subtle and mature. I really had to thing twice on what was said!

    10/10 masterpiece
    Expand
  4. ViniciusF.
    Jul 26, 2005
    10
    It's Mario made of paper. Needs more?
  5. Jan 15, 2013
    10
    This game is absolutely phenomenal in all aspect throughout game play, and somehow is able to make turning into a pig one of theThis game is absolutely phenomenal in all aspect throughout game play, and somehow is able to make turning into a pig one of the scariest/creepiest things ever. RPG at its finest, with almost no flaws whatsoever, except trying the game a second time is slightly easier than the first. Overall, 9.8/10, a commendable effort in the making Expand
  6. JohnE.
    Jan 27, 2008
    9
    The combination of an outstanding level design, (the train and the arena were awesome) great dialogue, a great atmosphere, and the innovative The combination of an outstanding level design, (the train and the arena were awesome) great dialogue, a great atmosphere, and the innovative battle system produce a game that's definetely worth playing. If you own a Gamecube or a Wii, you owe it to yourself to pick this up and see what a casual, yet surprisingly deep game this can be. Expand
  7. Aug 20, 2015
    1
    There is something about this game that didn't seem right. Maybe its just me, but I feel like the game had so much more potential. In theThere is something about this game that didn't seem right. Maybe its just me, but I feel like the game had so much more potential. In the game, you walking around and getting secrets in LEVELS / CHAPTERS. I had a feeling were the game would be so much better if the developers had ideas to trigger missions on command, and getting out of a mission with a click of a button. Then walking around the same area freely without an objective. That would be more interesting. Expand

See all 64 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.