Paper Mario: The Thousand-Year Door Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.5

Universal acclaim- based on 146 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Get ready for a new role-playing adventure as Mario returns to paper form to stop a dangerous threat. In Paper Mario 2, Mario can dodge, inflict damage, and impress the crowd to strengthen his attacks. Also, Mario and his friends have more paper abilities. They can now turn sideways to slip through cracks, fold into a paper airplane to fly, roll into a tube, and more. They can also use a variety of items like hammers and thunderbolts to defeat their enemies. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. A RPG that captures the excitement and fun of the Super Mario Bros series and combines it with depth found only in top-shelf RPGs. It all adds up to what is sure to be consider another Mario classic.
  2. Now that it has arrived however, we can safely say that it's firmly up there as one of the best games released this year.
  3. Hardcore RPG fans, wait for "Baten Kaitos;" everyone else, plan on following the most hee-haw-larious yarn spun in years. [Dec 2004, p.140]
  4. 90
    It mixes together some very well-designed elements, such as its battle system, level design, puzzle design and its funny, charming storyline.
  5. Retains so much of the original that anyone who loved the first one will still love this one, and anyone who hated the first one will likewise hate this one.
  6. Some of the story is a bit contrived and the game may give players a bit of "been there, done that", but it's a very fun game to play through. There are enough twists in the story and surprises to be seen to keep Mario fans playing until the very end.
  7. The art and combat are killed in their tracks by the game's downright shameful dialogue. [Nov 2004, p.158]

See all 55 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. Mar 29, 2014
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing! This is probably one of the best games on the Nintendo GameCube besides The Wind Waker. It has a good story that contains some great captivating themes along with some pretty good humor. I also love how different each chapter can feel, for in one chapter you are fighting in an arena to another chapter where you are on a tropical island to another where you are taking a train ride and solving mysteries. I also love the atmosphere of this game with the blend of 2d and 3d graphics, it really makes the game stand out. I also like the rpg system in this game, it was good in the first Paper Mario but even better in this game. Sure it's simple when compared to other rpg games, but it really suits the game. I love this game, I surprised this game wasn't "universally acclaimed" with the critics. I just hope that Nintendo will make another game with this Paper Mario formula again someday which was something special that the next games on Wii and 3ds lacked. Expand
  2. May 27, 2012
    10
    Amazing game. One of nintendos best.
  3. Dec 11, 2011
    10
    The story is silly, yet captivating, and the controller inputs utilized during the battle segments keep the turn-based battles engaging. The characters are charming, and I actually found myself looking forward to encountering new enemies, even the ones that were just recolored sprites (the Tattle bestiary system and the item library were also nice features, providing impetuses for scouring the nooks and crannies of the world for hidden goodies and ingredients for recipes). The platforming features in the out-of-battle world were also satisfying, and the abilities Mario gains and those that his partners grant him have imaginative uses. The areas of the game are accessible with very little backtracking, too, as new shortcuts are opened up to the player. My one gripe about the game is a trivial matter. At one point in the game, I became stuck in the Palace of Shadow with one HP. Unfortunately, I reflexively hit the first save block that I saw, not realizing that it would make getting out of there very difficult (I was pretty much in the middle of the chapter, and had no healing items). As such, a "Teleport to Rogueport" option would have been nice. Expand
  4. Jun 22, 2013
    10
    One of the best games of all time if not the best. I like everything about this game. Everything. Ok there is only one thing that is not that good. It's the beginning. First level or whatever castle is not that good but after that it's all so phenomenal Expand
  5. Jul 11, 2012
    10
    One of the best Mario games of all time. The story is fun and surprisingly interesting and I found myself addicted to the game. A very fun adventure and a great game over all. Expand
  6. Jan 15, 2013
    10
    This game is absolutely phenomenal in all aspect throughout game play, and somehow is able to make turning into a pig one of the scariest/creepiest things ever. RPG at its finest, with almost no flaws whatsoever, except trying the game a second time is slightly easier than the first. Overall, 9.8/10, a commendable effort in the making Expand
  7. Apr 11, 2011
    8
    The Thousand-Year Door is a fun, thoroughly charming RPG for all ages. Pros: Unique graphics and colorful visuals, crafty level design, instantly likable characters, and lots of secrets to unlock. Cons: It's a bit difficult at times because of its reliance on backtracking. Expand

See all 53 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.