Paper Mario: The Thousand-Year Door Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 156 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Get ready for a new role-playing adventure as Mario returns to paper form to stop a dangerous threat. In Paper Mario 2, Mario can dodge, inflict damage, and impress the crowd to strengthen his attacks. Also, Mario and his friends have more paper abilities. They can now turn sideways to slip through cracks, fold into a paper airplane to fly, roll into a tube, and more. They can also use a variety of items like hammers and thunderbolts to defeat their enemies. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. A RPG that captures the excitement and fun of the Super Mario Bros series and combines it with depth found only in top-shelf RPGs. It all adds up to what is sure to be consider another Mario classic.
  2. Now that it has arrived however, we can safely say that it's firmly up there as one of the best games released this year.
  3. Hardcore RPG fans, wait for "Baten Kaitos;" everyone else, plan on following the most hee-haw-larious yarn spun in years. [Dec 2004, p.140]
  4. 90
    It mixes together some very well-designed elements, such as its battle system, level design, puzzle design and its funny, charming storyline.
  5. Retains so much of the original that anyone who loved the first one will still love this one, and anyone who hated the first one will likewise hate this one.
  6. Some of the story is a bit contrived and the game may give players a bit of "been there, done that", but it's a very fun game to play through. There are enough twists in the story and surprises to be seen to keep Mario fans playing until the very end.
  7. The art and combat are killed in their tracks by the game's downright shameful dialogue. [Nov 2004, p.158]

See all 55 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. May 2, 2013
    10
    Basically one of the best RPG, (If not games) ever created...Ever. Let's back this fact up now. Solid funny characters, a story that is darker than you might think, and turn based glory. There is also advanced badge set up, incredibly amazing cooking recipes(Giving you better items), and extreme puzzles with glorious satisfaction upon beating them. There are no faults in this game. The long scrolls are text are regular in an RPG, and they make lots of sense.

    The enemies in the game are varied from classic mario game enemies all the way to new and old paper mario exclusives. Bosses are extremely fun and tough to fight, and require a whole lot of strategy to beat out. The music is absolutely pleasant, as I listen to the music all the time on and off the game. The game length is also very long, at around 35 hours on your first go, and that doesn't even include post-game things. After all you can do, it can all end one save file in around 50 or more hours, which is pretty solid for a mario game. I highly recommend this game to every single person that I have met

    Gameplay: 10/10
    Story: 9.5/10
    Music: 10/10
    Presentation: 10/10
    Length: 9.5/10
    Overall: 10/10
    Expand
  2. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    By far the best game i ever played in my whole entire life. Not only is it the best RPG game nintendo ever made, (heck it's the best RPG ANYONE"S ever made) it has the best and most interesting story i've ever heard. Without a doubt deserves 10/10 Expand
  3. Dec 11, 2011
    10
    The story is silly, yet captivating, and the controller inputs utilized during the battle segments keep the turn-based battles engaging. The characters are charming, and I actually found myself looking forward to encountering new enemies, even the ones that were just recolored sprites (the Tattle bestiary system and the item library were also nice features, providing impetuses for scouring the nooks and crannies of the world for hidden goodies and ingredients for recipes). The platforming features in the out-of-battle world were also satisfying, and the abilities Mario gains and those that his partners grant him have imaginative uses. The areas of the game are accessible with very little backtracking, too, as new shortcuts are opened up to the player. My one gripe about the game is a trivial matter. At one point in the game, I became stuck in the Palace of Shadow with one HP. Unfortunately, I reflexively hit the first save block that I saw, not realizing that it would make getting out of there very difficult (I was pretty much in the middle of the chapter, and had no healing items). As such, a "Teleport to Rogueport" option would have been nice. Expand
  4. ChristopherS.
    Oct 20, 2004
    10
    The most beautiful and amazing worlds you'll ever see,sound is good also!!!! Great gameplay and mario greatness, what more can you ask for?? Go buy now!!! Expand
  5. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Paper Mario: The Thousand-Year Door is the single most enjoyable game i have ever played, it's turn based fighting system feels awesome, and whenever you die, it's never because of a cheap lucky hit. The whole "Paper" aspect of the game works in genius ways, as the puzzles are downright devious. The music will be eased into your mind for all eternity, and i wouldn't have it any other way. One of the best games ever made, if you have a Gamecube you owe it to yourself to get this game. Expand
  6. Jan 15, 2013
    10
    This game is absolutely phenomenal in all aspect throughout game play, and somehow is able to make turning into a pig one of the scariest/creepiest things ever. RPG at its finest, with almost no flaws whatsoever, except trying the game a second time is slightly easier than the first. Overall, 9.8/10, a commendable effort in the making Expand
  7. SteveS.
    Dec 17, 2004
    6
    It is ok, but once you have been playing for a while you begin to notice that it seems like a gba game. I have alot of gripes. The dialogue isn't funny Poor inventory system battle system isnt all that fun Also, don't be fooled by the fact that this is a mario game. It isn't terrible but its not good. Not all games with mario are good! If you like mario and luigi, you wont like this because its worse than that gba game. Play that instead. Even if its for a little kid who doesnt notice flaws, it will be too hard for them. Buy something good. Don't be fooled by Mario. Those reviewers just slap a high score on all things mario. Expand

See all 55 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.