Pikmin 2 GameCube
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 118 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 118

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 23, 2011
    10
    A Masterpiece. The Graphics are beautiful, the humor brilliant, the concept original, the boss battles epic. The Multiplayer and Challenge Modes will give you a whole lot of additional content after the initial quest is over. The cuteness of the Pikmin themselves will draw you in to the point where it truly pains you to let one of the little buggers die. The addition of caves and berries,A Masterpiece. The Graphics are beautiful, the humor brilliant, the concept original, the boss battles epic. The Multiplayer and Challenge Modes will give you a whole lot of additional content after the initial quest is over. The cuteness of the Pikmin themselves will draw you in to the point where it truly pains you to let one of the little buggers die. The addition of caves and berries, the new types of Pikmin, and more really add to the strategy. If Miyamoto could continue to make new IPs as great as this, Nintendo will be set for a very long time, not that they aren't already. This is the greatest game I have ever played. Expand
  2. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    Strategy games may be plentiful on PCs but when it comes to quality RTS experiences on consoles, they are few and far between. Even when they do come along, they're often watered down or inferior ports. Thankfully, Pikmin 2 is the gleaming exception. Its not often that a reviewer uses the word "perfect" but this just happens to be one of those cases. First off, the game improves on theStrategy games may be plentiful on PCs but when it comes to quality RTS experiences on consoles, they are few and far between. Even when they do come along, they're often watered down or inferior ports. Thankfully, Pikmin 2 is the gleaming exception. Its not often that a reviewer uses the word "perfect" but this just happens to be one of those cases. First off, the game improves on the original in just about every way. The controls have been tweaked, more Pikmin have been added to increase your strategy options and new randomized dungeons have been added to vastly increase the games replayability. The game is also charming, with characters and enemies that are bursting with personality. The entire experience feels light hearted yet RTS junkies can expect a decent challenge, especially in the latter half of the game when the difficulty ramps up. A pure joy to play and a must buy for anyone who needs proof that not only can an RTS work on consoles, it can be one of the most memorable gaming experiences you've ever had. Expand
  3. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    I Haven't played the first Pikmin game, but if it is anything like this incredible masterpiece, than i'd buy it. This is one of the greatest games ever made to me. A fun story, great music, good graphics, great gameplay, and awesome concept
  4. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    This game is just brilliant! this game is my favourite game of all time and so much better then the first!
    The Pikmin differ from each other but a lot you also need a plan before entering a cave or your Pikmin will die very easily.

    The music is fantastic but maybe not as good as the first one.
    Now if you will excuse me I'm going to play some Pikmin 2
  5. ShaneS.
    May 12, 2006
    5
    This game is just a dumbed down clone of PC strategy games, wrapped up in a cute little package. It's lengthy, and original, but compared to a lego strategy game on PC (that is a few years pikmins senior) it seems dumbed down and lacking. Perhaps I'm just being picky, but I want a full fledged strategy game, not a cutsey treasure hunt nintendo spinnoff. oh well.
  6. Jan 7, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's a fast paced strategy game, not like games where it takes three hours to fight a battle or something like that. It has a good storyline. Funny, cute animals. and gameplay that might be addicting, but not as much as minecraft. It is a good 20 hours too, and there is a little extra you can do when you finish it. Expand
  7. Jun 8, 2013
    8
    The first Pikmin was an original title that mixed elements of a real time strategy game with Nintendo's unique playful charm. Simple intuitive controls and an overall sense of fun made what at first may have seemed a slightly overwhelming experience into something that could be enjoyed by gamers of all backgrounds.

    This sequel retains that charm by playing in fundamentally the same way.
    The first Pikmin was an original title that mixed elements of a real time strategy game with Nintendo's unique playful charm. Simple intuitive controls and an overall sense of fun made what at first may have seemed a slightly overwhelming experience into something that could be enjoyed by gamers of all backgrounds.

    This sequel retains that charm by playing in fundamentally the same way. Players take charge of captain Olimar and his friend Louie and command up to 100 Pikmin at a time in order to complete tasks and collect valuable items located within each 'level'. This being a Nintendo title it of course improves upon almost every aspect of the original. Most importantly the '30 day system' that required players to rush to complete their goals has been completely removed. This means that the game can be played at your own pace and exploring the environment is now truly encouraged.

    Two new Pikmin varieties have also been added to the mix to compliment the three from the first game. White Pikmin are poisonous and as a result can traverse toxic areas (they can also be sacrificed by feeding them to an enemy) whilst the large purple Pikmin can lift heavier objects and do far more damage in battles. The intelligent level design compliments these new Pikmin brilliantly creating some fiendish puzzles to solve. With the introduction of Louie players are now also able to switch between two groups of Pikmin in order to complete some of these puzzles or to gang up on more difficult enemies. Just be aware that leaving a group unattended and out in the open can end in disaster.

    All this being said a couple of minor grips from the original still remain. It is still easy to grab the wrong type of Pikmin from your group which can result in their untimely demise and on rare occasions Pikmin will get trapped on scenery without you noticing and therefore get left behind. These niggles are in no way enough to spoil the game however and I would highly recommend adding both Pikmin titles to your collection.
    Expand
  8. Jun 17, 2012
    10
    This game is a perfect fusion of exploration and strategy. The pikmin are adorable, and I love the little touches like them humming the pikmin main theme sometimes, or lying down and sleeping when you don't have tasks assigned to them.
    Improvements over the original include a much more alive environment, which is also a bit more diverse now (you start out in a snowy field, and the caves
    This game is a perfect fusion of exploration and strategy. The pikmin are adorable, and I love the little touches like them humming the pikmin main theme sometimes, or lying down and sleeping when you don't have tasks assigned to them.
    Improvements over the original include a much more alive environment, which is also a bit more diverse now (you start out in a snowy field, and the caves are very creative, like sewage pipes, children's toys etc).
    The removal of the 30-day limit seems a tad bit unnecessary here, since time doesn't pass in the caves, and most of the game is spent in the caves. Therefore, the difficulty of the 30-day limit would already be a bit lowered.

    Overall though, a must-have game, be it for Gamecube or the New Control Play Wii. I can't wait for the sequel.
    Expand
  9. Paul
    Aug 25, 2004
    10
    One of the best single player games I've played, I thought Pikmin was great, Pikmin 2 was much better. It's also replayable. Oh yeah it's cute too.
  10. ChrisS.
    Aug 6, 2004
    10
    Utterly magnificent. Absolutely chock-full of surprises, collectibles, and hidden extras, Pikmin 2 is superior to the original in almost every conceivable way. Perhaps the most "complete" Nintendo game on Gamecube, in that there's no padding, or repetition like in (still wonderful) Mario Sunshine or Wind Waker. No way any fans of the original could be disappointed with this game. Utterly magnificent. Absolutely chock-full of surprises, collectibles, and hidden extras, Pikmin 2 is superior to the original in almost every conceivable way. Perhaps the most "complete" Nintendo game on Gamecube, in that there's no padding, or repetition like in (still wonderful) Mario Sunshine or Wind Waker. No way any fans of the original could be disappointed with this game. Miyamoto does it again! Expand
  11. ZackronG.
    Jan 2, 2005
    10
    This is a fantastic game. I owned the original and my one complaint was that it was short and nintendo have improved on that and so much more. The new pikmin, enemies, berries, cave sections and lead characters add a whole new side to the gameplay and the multiplayer is dead fun too. A classic.
  12. PeteP.
    Mar 19, 2005
    9
    I gave this game a 9 because I never give a game a 10 unless it it perfect and this game is near perfection. If you liked the first Pikmin game your going to like this game even more. They've taken everything that was great about Pikmin and made it better! This time there is a 2 player mode that is totally enjoyable. Face head to head in a Pikmin battle or work together in a I gave this game a 9 because I never give a game a 10 unless it it perfect and this game is near perfection. If you liked the first Pikmin game your going to like this game even more. They've taken everything that was great about Pikmin and made it better! This time there is a 2 player mode that is totally enjoyable. Face head to head in a Pikmin battle or work together in a cooperative mode. Me and my son are so addicted to this game that we can't get enough of it! Expand
  13. AlbertoS.
    Sep 9, 2004
    10
    This game is a true masterpiece. i dont knnow ho i lived without playing the first one. It honestly makes me feel like a kid again.
  14. SamK.
    May 28, 2005
    10
    I bought the first Pikmin a few years ago and was blown away by it's realistic graphics, incredibly fun and absorbing gameplay and sheer brilliant original formula. Then came Pikmin 2, and now I'm even more impressed. My wife and I stayed up till 5 in the morning upon purchasing it. We couldn't stop. The new 2-player battle mode is incredible fun. I've never been so I bought the first Pikmin a few years ago and was blown away by it's realistic graphics, incredibly fun and absorbing gameplay and sheer brilliant original formula. Then came Pikmin 2, and now I'm even more impressed. My wife and I stayed up till 5 in the morning upon purchasing it. We couldn't stop. The new 2-player battle mode is incredible fun. I've never been so enthralled by a game in my life! Only Nintendo could pull this off, and we all know that. God bless Nintendo. Expand
  15. TonyG.
    Jan 14, 2006
    10
    pikmin is cool as midgets. like pikmin 2 is cool as 2 midgets. i wish pikmin were real. i would own like 200 of them. i would be king. like nintendo is to classic games. bow down to king midget nintendo because they will always be king as small as they are. this game proves it. pikmin 2 is a real winner.
  16. Lily
    Aug 20, 2004
    10
    Some people who gave it low scores obviously did not play it. This is a great game, forget the fact that it looks like a "kiddie" game because it's not. People as old as me can enjoy it as well as the young ones. Pikmin 2 is amazingly done, just as good as the first, if not better.
  17. JoeyD.
    Sep 1, 2004
    10
    Better than the first in every way possible. Even if you're not a strategy and/or puzzle fan (like me), you'll still love this game. If you missed the original Pikmin, check this one out right away.
  18. RyanM.
    Sep 23, 2004
    10
    Pikmin 2 is one of thse experiences that leave you hooked the short amount of time you play. Pikmin 2 exceeds all expectations over the the first game, with over 6 times as much treasure over the first one, and a section where you can observe all 81 enemies in the game. this one even has a challenge mode, which is really tough. the game mechanics get pretty repetitive, and the camera is Pikmin 2 is one of thse experiences that leave you hooked the short amount of time you play. Pikmin 2 exceeds all expectations over the the first game, with over 6 times as much treasure over the first one, and a section where you can observe all 81 enemies in the game. this one even has a challenge mode, which is really tough. the game mechanics get pretty repetitive, and the camera is awful, but this game has the unique shell to keep fans of the first one, and bring in new fans. This is the best gamecube game i have played all year. Pikmin 2 is a masterpiece from miyamoto, and will keep you utterly hooked for a good 20 hours or more. pick this disc up,and you'll see a truly unique game. Expand
  19. Oldmanvhs
    Sep 24, 2004
    10
    This one's great, but without a time limit it was easier than the first one. both deserve a 10 though.
  20. TheJerk
    Sep 8, 2004
    10
    This game took what the first had and made it better. Another Miyamoto masterpiece!
  21. D.Z.
    Sep 19, 2004
    10
    This is my favorite game ever! Great graphics, fantastic gameplay, strategic, too!
  22. Nathan
    Jan 28, 2005
    10
    Excellent graphics. Great gameplay. Addictive single player and extremely fun multiplayer. any complaints? nope. its easily a 20+ hour game. i might just be bad at games but im at 17 hours and 60% done so ill probably be done at 30 hours. it starts out very easy but by the 50% mark, its a lot harder. a must buy if u have a gamecube.
  23. DarrenT.
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    I gave it a 10 because it has unique enemies, great earth like graphics and it is better than the new Xbox 360 pikmin like game of fanstasy called Overlord. Pikmin 2 has more unique enemies and puzzles.
  24. MaddyS.
    Jun 14, 2008
    10
    I totally love this game. I got it on the game cube when I was about 10. I still love it and my siblings and I play it tons. My sis has only a few treasures left until she beats the whole game! (how awesome) I also totally like the new idea of the two player game such as battle mode and challenge mode. They are loads of fun. I just restarted my game, only 10 days in and have all the kinds I totally love this game. I got it on the game cube when I was about 10. I still love it and my siblings and I play it tons. My sis has only a few treasures left until she beats the whole game! (how awesome) I also totally like the new idea of the two player game such as battle mode and challenge mode. They are loads of fun. I just restarted my game, only 10 days in and have all the kinds of pikmin, oh yeah!!! Any way I enjoy this game lots, and who knows if they will make a 3rd if so I'm ready for the challenge. Expand
  25. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    This game is amazing, and much better than the previous game. There is nothing I would change in this game, It's just that perfect. This game has amazing replay value too. Just like the first Pikmin game you want to get a better score, so you create new files.
  26. Jun 14, 2011
    9
    If you loved the first game, then you'll fall even deeper in love with Pikmin 2, one of the best sequels on the GCN. Pros: It practically improves every aspect of the first game; rich, colorful visuals; additional multiplayer; no time limit; hilariously quirky. Cons: Pikmin often get left behind; no widescreen mode; annoying camera.
  27. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    Pikmin 2 is the sequel to one of Nintendo's most original new series, and it beat the first hand-down. True, it is no strategy game, nor does it fit any category at all; but it is simply a graphical and musical masterpiece of the Gamecube-perhaps the greatest. The versus mode, I never got into, but the co-op levels are really good. And the 1-p mode is a fleshed-out, cute science fair ofPikmin 2 is the sequel to one of Nintendo's most original new series, and it beat the first hand-down. True, it is no strategy game, nor does it fit any category at all; but it is simply a graphical and musical masterpiece of the Gamecube-perhaps the greatest. The versus mode, I never got into, but the co-op levels are really good. And the 1-p mode is a fleshed-out, cute science fair of creatures. Please get it. Expand
  28. Jul 3, 2011
    9
    For my 1st playthrough, I thoroughly enjoyed the game. I like the unique concept uses of Pikmin and the various (and silly naming) of the treasures you collect in your journey. Plot is given to you straightforward (and solid at that) and leaves you more focused to the gameplay and environment that we call Pikmin. Very lovable game for me. I wish you could have campaigned with a partner inFor my 1st playthrough, I thoroughly enjoyed the game. I like the unique concept uses of Pikmin and the various (and silly naming) of the treasures you collect in your journey. Plot is given to you straightforward (and solid at that) and leaves you more focused to the gameplay and environment that we call Pikmin. Very lovable game for me. I wish you could have campaigned with a partner in this game. In broader terms, the multiplayer could have used more work. Expand
  29. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    Best game for the Gamecube EVER! This game is a must have for anyone that has every touched a gamecube or hash't, Pikmin 2 is a masterpiece, the gameplay and graphics are revolutionary, even for a game that came out nearly 10 years ago, much better than the first, (Another awesome game!) It has everything a sequal should have, and I wouldn't be surprised if it is better than the third,Best game for the Gamecube EVER! This game is a must have for anyone that has every touched a gamecube or hash't, Pikmin 2 is a masterpiece, the gameplay and graphics are revolutionary, even for a game that came out nearly 10 years ago, much better than the first, (Another awesome game!) It has everything a sequal should have, and I wouldn't be surprised if it is better than the third, which comes out very soon, FINALLY! Talking about it makes me want to drop everything and go play it! It is much easier than the first, as you had a time limit to beat the game, which I disliked and made it much harder. There's just so much to do before and after the game, it's just an amazing game that I remember getting when I was only 7, my favorite childhood game by far, the new pikmin are awesome and of coarse adorable, but some of the underground levels are brutally tough, but not impossible! GET THIS GAME NOW IF YOU DON'T HAVE IT! YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT!!!!! Expand
  30. Apr 21, 2013
    10
    (SORRY FOR BAD LANGUAGE) The best GameCube game ever. Just because it was very complete, beautiful level desing, awesome enemies, with detailed graphics, and a very strong gameplay, no many games have that characteristic, that its gameplay is the strongest part. While it hasn't an amazing story and we can't call it "memorable", the game doesn't demand it. It has the classic Mario point, if(SORRY FOR BAD LANGUAGE) The best GameCube game ever. Just because it was very complete, beautiful level desing, awesome enemies, with detailed graphics, and a very strong gameplay, no many games have that characteristic, that its gameplay is the strongest part. While it hasn't an amazing story and we can't call it "memorable", the game doesn't demand it. It has the classic Mario point, if you're looking for cool stories, this game it's not for Wii U. The game focuses on collecting treasures around the Pikmin world (perhaps the Earth) using these creatures to carry them. Pikmin 2 also has the cave system, similar to the first Zelda for NES, where you can choose the first dungeon to go with liberty. In these caves there are lot of treasures but also enemies. In caves, perhaps you're going to play around 15 hours.
    Technically, I've never noticed a bug and it always run on a decent framerate, very cool. The sound it's relaxing and memorable, you're going to have some melodies for your whole life.
    Expand
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. 9 / 9 / 9 / 9 - 36 platinum [Vol 803; 7 May 2004]
  2. It is, as we tried to tell the blonde at the bar, universally appealing - because it's easy on the eye, taxes the brain just enough, and keeps you entertained no matter who you are. Blooming brilliant.
  3. With tons of new levels, characters, and treasures, this game will have you coming back for more, even after you've paid off that debt. They've taken everything that we've held dear about the original, and expanded it throughout, making a more complete game and creating something that is a pleasure to play.