Pikmin GameCube


Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
Buy On
  1. Another dollop of glorious GameCube genius.
  2. 100
    A wild and weird game that will captivate you with its innocence and innovation.
  3. 100
    Every minute that you play, you constantly feel as if you’re discovering something new and different, and the game’s puzzles feel very organic, intelligent, and open-ended, forcing you to think and rethink your strategy as you make new realizations about your place in the world.
  4. Play Magazine
    Brilliant...Indeed, it's the kind of game that you find yourself playing in your head as you fall asleep at night, counting Pikmin, as it were. [Feb 2002, p.56]
  5. From the moment you turn the game on you’ll be instantly captivated.
  6. 100
    What makes Pikmin so fun is that you are seeing the world from new eyes, and exploring large beautiful environments.
  7. Nintendo Power
    A riot of stressful action and multitasking that's fun every time you play it. [Dec 2001, p.164]
  8. Game Informer
    The controller itself is a work of ergonomic art. Although this is essentially a detailed puzzle game, the detail is truly a sight to behold. [Jan 2002, p.84]
  9. Pikmin's simple, elegant design and compact structure redeem its brevity.
  10. 92
    Though the Pikmin really don't have the individuality that Pokemon developed, you really do start to care for your little guys as the game progresses.
  11. Its length is a slightly worrying factor but it’s not that bad, after all its quality not quantity and this game is quality in leaps and bounds.
  12. The only other problem I found with the game was the challenge that the in-game camera presents. Often, you will find yourself using the camera buttons a lot to move the camera so you can see everything in the environment.
  13. 91
    One of the most refreshing games to come out of Nintendo in a while...It's a great adventure indeed, but when the 30 days are over and the last level is complete you find yourself feeling somewhat slighted.
  14. The only real complaint to be found is the game’s length, as it must be completed in a specified period of time, thirty of Olimar’s days.
  15. Cheat Code Central
    One of the most addictive games I have ever played.
  16. The implementation of the control system is masterful, with the emphasis being on ease of use and fluid issuing of commands.
  17. Despite the fact that the gameplay is quite deep and requires a fair amount of thought to do well at, the actual game itself is incredibly easy to pick up.
  18. The most amazing thing about this game is that the controls are incredibly simple while the gameplay is quite detailed.
  19. You feel like the most clever person on the planet when you're able to bring in three parts a day, slaughter a few frogs, and birth seventy Pikmin without breaking a sweat...what is there is enormously fun.
  20. netjak
    I was pleased to find that my six-year-old daughter had as much fun as I did playing the game. Although she became a bit frustrated at points (as I did) she still was able to manage to manipulate the pikmin the way she intended.
  21. One part dark struggle for survival and one part cute fairy tale, Pikmin is an engaging game with the twisted charm found in a good Tim Burton movie.
  22. It has the obsessive quality. This one goes beyond simple addiction. If you get into it, you will probably REALLY get into it, and want to want to redo the game until you’ve completely dominated it.
  23. Simply an addictive and adorable game that does a wonderful job evoking the same sense of wonder many of us first experienced on our childhood trips to Oz, Narnia, or Middle Earth.
  24. If you give it a chance, however, it is likely that your dreams for the near future are going to be red, yellow and blue as you imagine ways of organizing a better day.
  25. The only real problem I had with the game is one you have to push "A" 71 consecutive times to pull that many Pikmin out of the ground, and with only 30 days this gets time consuming.
  26. Pikmin's main strength is its sense of freedom and discovery. There is a strong balance between this sense of freedom and having set goals.
  27. Not everyone may take to the strategic undercurrent, but as it stands, this Pikmin has already fixed its roots deep in my jaded gamer's heart.
  28. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    As unique as it is captivating with great controls (outside of a small problem with bomb-carrying Pikmin) making it all possible. [Jan 2002, p.200]
  29. For the first time, real-time strategy concepts like resource building and army management feel at home on a console.
  30. 80
    It's one of the few singularly unique titles to find its way to shelves this year and is truly great fun.
  31. Next Generation Magazine
    A fun and quirky experience that may not be on as grand a scale as Nintendo’s flagship titles, but will still be fondly remembered for a long time. [Jan 2002, p.76]
  32. The short length is the only serious flaw in an otherwise original and gratifying gaming experience.
  33. GMR Magazine
    Miyamoto got the idea for this quirky strategy game from observing his personal garden. What kind of garden? [Feb 2003, p.96]
  34. You can’t help but want more once you've rushed through it all. I wanted to take it all in at my own pace without sacrificing the life of little Olimar.
  35. A well crafted title that would have benefited from being longer and having a bit more depth.
  36. Replay value of the main story mode is limited at best...[but it's] a fresh and fun gaming experience that you shouldn’t pass up.

Awards & Rankings

#3 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2001
#2 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2001
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 120 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 35
  2. Negative: 2 out of 35
  1. GeorgeS.
    Dec 18, 2006
    This is the best game I have ever played, other than pikmin 2. And heads up because pikmin 3 is coming out for the nintendo wii.
  2. JayB.
    Mar 17, 2003
    I think Miyamoto could have gone very far on this game and made it into a classic nintendo game. He came up with an incredibly creative I think Miyamoto could have gone very far on this game and made it into a classic nintendo game. He came up with an incredibly creative concept of cultivating little plant-like aliens and using them to battle other creatures and help retrieve ship parts. But other than that, it seems that he fell asleep on the job. It is fun in the beginning with the planting, fighting, and retrieving of the ship parts. But then you realize that this is all the game is: planting, fighting, and retrieving. Not only does it become repetitive and boring, and game only lasts for two days!! I will give him credit for good innovation, but hopefully, if there is a sequel, it will be hundreds of times better than this one. Full Review »
  3. MeleeMaster
    Dec 18, 2002
    This game is boring. At least in my opinion. The story is uninspired and the game lacks that Miyamoto feel.