P.N. 03

GameCube
  • Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Sep 9, 2003
User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 15
  2. Negative: 4 out of 15
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 28, 2012
    5
    This game coulda been good but it felt incomplete. Combat was fun but repetitive.
  2. ThomasK.
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    Its pretty damn good, nice moves nice controls good looking too.
  3. BlueFalcon
    Apr 28, 2007
    3
    1st thing I would say about this game is the character is awesome. She's stylish, deadly, graceful, unique, and even hot. The HUGE thing that ruins the game is the repetitiveness. Both the levels and enemies are all the same - it's ridiculous. Imagine playing Super Mario Bros level 1-1 with only koopas as enemies. As you advance you're still playing level 1-1 but with more 1st thing I would say about this game is the character is awesome. She's stylish, deadly, graceful, unique, and even hot. The HUGE thing that ruins the game is the repetitiveness. Both the levels and enemies are all the same - it's ridiculous. Imagine playing Super Mario Bros level 1-1 with only koopas as enemies. As you advance you're still playing level 1-1 but with more koopas. That's what it's like. Collapse
  4. PaulR.
    Oct 29, 2003
    10
    You either get it or you don't. If you're expecting something that handles and feels like all those generic 3rd person ps2 games out there, you'll feel v constricted and agree with the 40 ratings. If you're up for timing & sequences of moves and totally unique handing, you'll love it like I did.
  5. JimiR.
    Oct 10, 2003
    9
    This game rocks, for hardcore shooter fans.
  6. TimH.
    Sep 22, 2003
    6
    I was ready to give this game a fair shake and forgive some of its serious gameplay flaws. I was waiting to see what happened once I upgraded to better suits and such but you know what happened? The game was over and credits were rolling!!! Glad I just rented it! So here are my gripes: - Why can't the dumbass chick move and shoot at the same time? - Why does she do a stupid little I was ready to give this game a fair shake and forgive some of its serious gameplay flaws. I was waiting to see what happened once I upgraded to better suits and such but you know what happened? The game was over and credits were rolling!!! Glad I just rented it! So here are my gripes: - Why can't the dumbass chick move and shoot at the same time? - Why does she do a stupid little piroette when you press back on the stick instead of hauling her ass outta trouble? - Why the music/dance theme when it has no gameplay elements at all? Shooting to the beat for extra points would at least have been novel. Expand
  7. FutureAlien
    Sep 10, 2003
    8
    I was really looking forward to this game and I am quite satisfied now that it's here. The action is quite like old-skool shooters but instead of a spaceship you get to control a dancing one-girl-army named Vanessa, who has to progress through 10 or so levels, blasting various mechanical foes and dodging their fire. The gameplay is simple yet challenging enough, rewarding skill with I was really looking forward to this game and I am quite satisfied now that it's here. The action is quite like old-skool shooters but instead of a spaceship you get to control a dancing one-girl-army named Vanessa, who has to progress through 10 or so levels, blasting various mechanical foes and dodging their fire. The gameplay is simple yet challenging enough, rewarding skill with extra points, which can be used to buy Vanessa new clothes... sorry, suits, each with its own characteristics and special moves. The graphics are very good - everything is clear despite the continuous blasting. The only gripe I have is the 30fps screen refresh - it would have been great to have the game run at 60fps, but alas! BTW the PAL version should only be played on the 60Hz setting, since on 50Hz things are a lot jerkier. The sound effects are mediocre but the music is great, if a bit repetitive. The gameplay is great for people who can appreciate it - get this game if you're an old-skool shoot 'em up fan, or if you're bored with all the by-the-book games and looking for something different, but don't expect to be playing it for months on end. Expand
  8. BlancoA.
    May 14, 2003
    10
    I had a great time with this game at E3 this morning. The control is excellent and the graphics really jump out at you. This will be a must-buy game, I'm sure.

Awards & Rankings

80
49
#49 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2003
31
#31 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2003
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 35
  2. Negative: 6 out of 35
  1. 80
    Striking perhaps for all the wrong reasons. It surprises due to the simplicity and appears original because it bucks the current trend of excess. Yet this originality is indeed false, because it has been so heavily based upon the games of old. [JPN Import]
  2. Edge Magazine
    70
    You'll soon learn the groove: shoot, dodge, shoot, dodge. It should get tedious, but it doesn't. P.N.03 rewards skill above all else and mastery brings huge satisfaction. Grace under fire has rarely been done better. [June 2003, p.96]
  3. Although P.N.03 is plainly flawed, with a little perseverance the gameplay still shines through as something relatively new and engaging.