Pokemon Colosseum GameCube

Pokemon Colosseum Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 103 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pokémon fans can now battle their favorite Pokémon on the grand stage. Starring a brand new leading character, Pokémon, Colosseum offers a story mode that pits you against tough trainers who routinely catch damaged Pokémon. In Battle mode, you can use the GamePokémon fans can now battle their favorite Pokémon on the grand stage. Starring a brand new leading character, Pokémon, Colosseum offers a story mode that pits you against tough trainers who routinely catch damaged Pokémon. In Battle mode, you can use the Game Boy Advance cable to send your team from your Pokémon Ruby or Pokémon Sapphire Game Pak to your Gamecube, then witness the true potential of your team. Rescue Pokémon and watch them come to life in spectacular Colosseum battles. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Nintendo Power
    94
    The Story mode, variety of Battle mode options and amazing level of detail give the game an immeasurable amount of fun and replay value. [May 2004, p.119]
  2. netjak
    86
    While it is a little rough in the sound department, a few of the visuals are off, and it has slight limitations on how you can obtain your Pokemon, Colosseum is a worthy of a Pokemon fan’s time. This is the full-on console RPG many Pokemon fans have been clamoring for.
  3. Battling is only a fraction of what makes the Game Boy games special, and although Colosseum expands on this, it doesn’t do the Game Boy games justice.
  4. 75
    Merely good - hopefully Nintendo will take heed and give us the game we've REALLY been wanting next time around.
  5. Game Informer
    70
    Even though none of these elements are so astounding as to bring outsiders into the fold, the franchise's debut on the GameCube ("Pokemon Channel" doesn't count) is a trainer's dream come true. [Mar 2004, p.110]
  6. 70
    Most fair-weather Pokemon fans will find the Story mode not interesting enough and the Colosseum mode a little too hardcore. [Apr 204, p.98]
  7. Cheat Code Central
    50
    Pokemon Colosseum doesn't go overboard with these new features however. It's probably the least amount of innovations and updates that a game can get away with and still call itself a new game.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 34
  2. Negative: 5 out of 34
  1. gcgamer
    Jun 20, 2007
    10
    Pokemon colliseum: good game great gameplay nice battles good graphics! now thats a game and a half.
  2. Jun 3, 2016
    10
    great game, one of the best of pokemon, now a days its still enjoyable for me and the soundtrack is amazing, genius sonority did a insanegreat game, one of the best of pokemon, now a days its still enjoyable for me and the soundtrack is amazing, genius sonority did a insane work, much better than game freak, that only copy paste game after game, if you didnt play it and u kinda like pokemon try it, really, and after that one pokemon XD Gale of Darkness, 2 best pokemon games ever Expand
  3. Aug 8, 2012
    10
    I absolutely loved this game when I was younger, I liked having a story different to the usual scenario of starting your Pokemon journey at aI absolutely loved this game when I was younger, I liked having a story different to the usual scenario of starting your Pokemon journey at a young age and finding a rare level 5 pokemon and going through the cities, especially through the fact that you start with an Espeon and Umbreon, the story was fullfilling and memorable. Collapse
  4. Jan 8, 2011
    8
    Whilst nothing new is bought to the pokemon world, there is nothing relatively bad about the game. The gameplay on the gamecube is better thanWhilst nothing new is bought to the pokemon world, there is nothing relatively bad about the game. The gameplay on the gamecube is better than that of the Gameboy, but there are no original villians to fight, and you are unable to catch any pokemon but shadow pokemon. On the upside, at least you get to see the great hairstyles of characters like Mirror B. Worth buying, but not worth playing to the end more than once. Expand
  5. JacobP.
    Apr 4, 2004
    7
    This game was very disapointing, that the fact that ity wasnt like the previos games. Its missing registering any pokemon, mini games beter This game was very disapointing, that the fact that ity wasnt like the previos games. Its missing registering any pokemon, mini games beter interaction with the gameboy game, it was still a desent game, but it seems more of a 1 player game. Expand
  6. Apr 27, 2014
    6
    I'm being generous when I give it a 6 out of pure pity. It doesn't bring anything new, except for the 3D graphics. You can catch really fewI'm being generous when I give it a 6 out of pure pity. It doesn't bring anything new, except for the 3D graphics. You can catch really few Pokemon, you can't get a starter, the story is boring... God. It's mediocre. Expand
  7. B.
    Mar 24, 2004
    0
    Wanted an actual rpg.

See all 34 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Pokemon Games of the 21st Century

    The Best Pokemon Games of the 21st Century Image
    Published: August 4, 2016
    Find out where Pokemon Go fits into our ranking of the best Pokemon games released since the turn of the century.

Awards & Rankings

#8 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2004
#11 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2004