Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 82 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.5

Universal acclaim- based on 586 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Resident Evil 4 marks a new chapter in the Resident Evil series. You'll rejoin Leon S. Kennedy six years after his first mission as a rookie cop from Resident Evil 2. Now a US agent, Leon is on a top secret mission to investigate the disappearance of the president's daughter. As Leon, you must make your way to a mysterious location in Europe, where new enemies await. Take them down by using enhanced aim-and-shoot features and a new action button. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 82
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 82
  3. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. Be afraid. The intelligent, fast-moving fiends who stalk special agent Leon Kennedy will almost make you yearn for the embrace of old-fashioned brain-hungry cadavers.
  2. The best looking console game of all time. It is its franchise's redeemer. It is a masterpiece of video game storytelling. It is genuinely tense and occasionally even scary. It is one of the best action games ever released.
  3. Simply put, Resident Evil 4 is the tightest, most accessible game in the series and one of the best games out there.
  4. 97
    This game has officially spoiled me. Literally everything about Resident Evil 4 is oozing with style and meticulous attention to detail.
  5. The atmosphere still feels tense, but you no longer feel like a helpless victim that has no hope of survival; rather, you feel like an action hero with all the right moves for a Hollywood summer blockbuster, big guns and all.
  6. Few words can explain the sheer joy of playing it, because it's constantly throwing up new things to marvel at. And it just feels so affirming to play a game this confident, this well-crafted, this, well, fun.
  7. As good as it is though, it isn't perfect, which shows that the whole concept of a wholly linear 3rd person "horror" shooter wasn't all that great to begin with. I put horror in quotes because the game never actually scared me once, but if you're a squeamish pre-teen who can't watch Jurassic Park without wetting the bed this might not be an experience you'll enjoy.

See all 82 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 335
  1. SolidSnake
    Feb 8, 2005
    10
    This is the best resident evil game in the whole f....in world!!!!!
  2. AndyS.
    Jan 19, 2005
    10
    Best game I have ever Played!
  3. Jan 4, 2011
    10
    Here's my Top 50 games of all time: The Legend of Zelda a Link to the Past Super Metroid The Legend of Zelda Metroid Prime (Trilogy)
    Banjo-Kazooie
    Resident Evil 4
    Tetris DS
    Words with Friends (Scrabble)
    Super Mario Galaxy
    Mike Tysonâ
    Expand
  4. EricS.
    Mar 25, 2005
    10
    This is what happens when Link and Joanna Dark make whoopie! Nothing is sweeter than droping a fool by cuttin him off at the knees, and then while standing over him, obliterating his skull with your riot gun. Sure some might say killing zombiesque people isn't as fun as goldeneye or other FPS's but the number of enemies you face is much greater and they don't stop comming. one more thing... when you die in this game, have your phone near by... you might need an ambulance when your heart pops out of your chest! Expand
  5. WillL.
    Dec 14, 2005
    10
    The best game of this generation. It immerses you in a world like no game has since Ocarina of Time.
  6. DaveC.
    Nov 12, 2007
    10
    Resident Evil 4 is THE best game i have played for any system yet. Although i dont have an xbox 360, PS3 or Wii yet. I am sure Resident Evil 4 will always be regarded as the game that gave life back to the series. If you played a Resident Evil in the past and didnt like it try out this game. It WILL change your views on the series. I can't stop playing it! From the amazing graphics and sounds to the story. Play the greatest survival horror game of all time and the one that re-invented them forever. Expand
  7. Jul 28, 2013
    0
    This is a really fun game.......... ..............................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

    NOT
    Expand

See all 335 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.
  2. Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames

    Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames Image
    Published: October 25, 2010
    Our Horror Week continues with a look at some of the best and worst horror videogames ever released, from "BioShock" to "Left 4 Dead." Plus, vote on your all-time favorite horror game series.