Shadow the Hedgehog Image
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 70 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The world is in peril as forces, both good and evil, make a play for the powerful Chaos Emeralds. In Shadow the Hedgehog, you can control Shadow and choose which side to fight for. This 3D platformer lets you use weapons, vehicles, environmental objects, and time and space manipulation to combat your foes. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 22
  2. Negative: 10 out of 22
  1. An enjoyable, high-octane adventure. Naysayers be damned. [Jan 2006, p.111]
  2. At its worst, Shadow is a solid platformer with enough fun to keep hardcore Sonic fans in one place for a few days. At its best, it's an engaging gameplay experience that isn't jaded by its otherwise glaring storyline-related setbacks.
  3. The choice of speed and rehashed gameplay are what drag the game down. Shadow the Hedgehog is still a fun game for Sonic fans, but is too average to be really interesting to casual gamers.
  4. The action is also largely mindless, with a poor targeting system and a game camera that never quite follows the action the way you want it to.
  5. Shadow the Hedgehog fails to live up to its pedigree due to terrible controls, an uncooperative camera, and an overall lack of effort.
  6. The poor controls, tricky camera and an irritation-filled gaming experience is unfortunately what Shadow the Hedgehog is presented as, and this doesn't deserve to be found under too many Christmas tree's this year.
  7. Combine the relatively poor visuals with monotonous level designs, and you'll find yourself in the middle of a level with no real visual cues of where you are within the level.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 31
  2. Negative: 8 out of 31
  1. Nov 24, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is not supposed to be a SONIC GAME! its a 3dplatformer with great gameplay and ok graphics.Story is good and Shadow as a character is way better then Sonic. So...ALL HAIL SHADOW!!!!! Expand
  2. Sep 16, 2013
    9
    Why is this such a bad game????? The gameplay is fine the graphics are fine and the story is fine and your gonna rant on it just because shadow has a gun in the game wow people. Sega dont listen to them this game is awesome! Expand
  3. Oct 7, 2013
    8
    Hey guys! Guess WHAT!

    I'm a Sonic fan...and this happens to be one of my favorite Sonic games of all time! (AHHHHH!!!! THE HORROR! BURN THE
    HERETIC! BURN IT!!!!!)

    But really, in all honesty, I freaking ADORE this game, and one of the only reasons why I even MADE this account is just to write a review on this game, even though it's obviously not new, (released in 2005-feeling a little old, anyone?) and this is October, 2013. Seeing some of the reviews here, though, I just really have to say something.

    Now, there are a few things that, I'll admit, are wrong with this game:

    -The vehicle controls are terrible. Slamming into walls is expected. Flawless driving is not. Yeah, and that part of the trailer where Shadow's riding that motorcycle? Yeah. If you actually wanna try and DO that, you're gonna have a bad time.

    -The game, in some parts, takes itself far more seriously than it should. I do laugh whenever I hear Shadow, Knuckles, or especially Sonic say "Damn!" in the game, when it's really trying to portray a dark/serious tone, when in reality, some parts of the game are like that one kid down the block who tries to be emo/punk-ish, but is really just another idiot to laugh at.

    -I can't tell you how many times I died because I fell off the level without even trying. Maybe it's just because I suck or the screwy Homing Attack that rears its ugly head every now and again...eh. Moving on.

    Finally...

    -Repeating levels can, and will, get annoying. You know how in the game Star Fox 64 where you can choose your route that you want to take? Well...you can't do that here. If you want a certain ending and do a mission you didn't mean to do...well, that just sucks. You have to go back and start over.

    Yeah. There are a numerable amount of problems in this game, yes?

    ...BUT!

    At the same time, there are so many redeeming factors:

    -The storyline is actually pretty dang good for Sonic standards. "Black Doom", the main villain of the game, plays a very interesting role in the game and could even give the player something to think about in a very twisted way...(i.e. You see that wounded researcher on the ground? Would you rather help him, or take revenge on the soldiers who shot him?) Oh sure, Shadow fighting/teaming up with alien brethren is very silly, but really, this is Sonic the Flipping HEDGEHOG we're talking about here. The concept of Sonic ITSELF is silly. Why go off about how dumb a storyline is when the series itself isn't taken all that seriously anyway?

    -The missions are fun, (albeit repetitive at points), and over time, you'll easily get really good at them. Westopolis is a really good first level to learn the game mechanics, and speaking of which...

    -I actually like the guns in this game. They immediately home in on targets, and really every weapon usable is a bunch of fun to try out. And if you don't feel like using them, you don't have to. It's actually the same with the vehicles in the game. The levels are linear, yes, but you can complete the levels in many different ways. (Someone hasn't killed me yet? Oh, good. Moving on.

    -The graphics are awesome, considering it's 2005 on the GameCube. And let's also point out that the levels are just so "Damn." cool, filled with a bunch of interesting mechanics such as ziplines, travelling through cyberspace, and jumping across falling rubble or meeting certain death. You can tell that the developers had a bunch of fun designing this game.

    -HOLY EVERYTHING THE MUSIC IS AMAZING. (But...well, it's a Sonic game. Is it not expected at this point?)

    All in all, it's a shame how beaten down this game is. It's a truly underrated gem, and frankly, it's best to keep expectations low when you play it. Yes, the idea is weird, taking itself a bit too seriously and having kinks of its own to work out, but honestly, Shadow the Hedgehog is just a truly awesome game. I thought I would hate it, but once I played it, I realized that it's possibly one of my favorite video games ever.

    Honestly, yo. If you see this game at a good price, (I got it for $11 at a game shop just recently), just at least try it before going off about how dumb Shadow looks with a sniper rifle.
    Expand
  4. FRG
    Jul 24, 2013
    7
    Good game,but not the best of sonic's games,give a decent experience and a good fun,that may be the only good game of sonic in the console of mid 00s.
  5. May 6, 2011
    5
    Like the Sonic series itself in the mid 2000's, Shadow the Hedgehog flails under its amount of flaws. Pros: Fantastic visuals; excellent level design; great FMVs; lots of extras/secrets to unlock. Cons: Terrible control and camera; disappointing graphics; lacks any kind of speed; horrendous multiplayer. Expand
  6. Mar 18, 2012
    4
    While the gameplay is near-solid and the branching storyline is impressive, there are so many things wrong with this game I can't imagine how any self-respecting Sonic fan would like this. If you don't do the missions, the levels and game itself is short and forgettable. Not even the level with the Shadow androids is that remarkable. Like Heroes, the enemies have health, but they made it worse by giving the enemies more health and Shadow a god-awful homing attack. This is to try to urge you to use the guns and vehicles, but they're still hard to control. The control itself is more slippery than Heroes, and the music is mediocre at best, save for the theme "All Hail Shadow" which is arguably one of the best character themes I've heard. And the dark theme has "I'm trying to hard" all over it. The overuse of damn, the unnecessary guns, and the extremely dark levels are just screaming that it's trying to attract the preteen who thinks guns = cool. There are few games that I dislike in Sonic, and this is one of them. Expand
  7. Jan 29, 2014
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the worst game I have ever played.
    The amount of **** that you have to deal with in this game is more than I have experienced in every other game I have played. COMBINED.
    First, the controls; What the actual **** Sega? SA1 and SA2 (minus the mech stages) control perfectly! These controls are the WORST. They are the slipperiest controls I have seen in a game thus far. The momentum of jumping is Belmont Syndrome times 1000. 2000, even! If you play this game, which you shouldn't, you will fall off of cliffs an innumerable amount of times due to Shadow's slippery shoes. And if you
    thought Luigi was bad... Have fun playing!
    Next, the level design; AAAAAAGGGGHHH
    WORST. LEVEL DESIGN. IN HISTORY. IF YOU'LL EXCUSE ME I THINK YELL FOR THE REST OF THIS PARAGRAPH. IT'S SO. *SO*. ********SO******** BAD.
    Sorry. Anyway, the game is based around a split-path system. The next stage you go to is based on your actions in the current stage. There are 29 different stages (Though some of them are the same), 10 endings, and a whole ****in' lot of paths. In a single play-through, you complete five stages. To complete the game fully and get the final ending, you must get all of the endings. The problem? THE ALTERNATE OBJECTIVES ARE ****. They, more often then not, require you to seek and kill each and every one of a certain enemy in a stage. In a SONIC game. A SONIC game! Not only is this boring and monotonous, it goes against the principles of the series. AND NO. IT'S NOT A ****IN' ONE-OFF. IT IS A *DIRECT SEQUEL* TO HEROES. It also goes against your slippery control, which is designed for speed, not offense. Can you imagine going back to SA2, making the controls absolute **** and killing EVERY ENEMY in the stage? NO.
    NOBODY DID CAUSE THAT'S A ****TY ****IN' IDEA. The levels are so slow and boring, despite being portrayed as an action game. The levels are so huge sometimes, that in some certain search-destroy missions, you will be on stages for forty ****in' five minutes, if you don't know what you're doing. There are some stages that make you touch certain objects, or kill enemies with a certain weapon, collect rings, etc. But whatever you're doing, you can bet that it's terrible. But the best part is, if you want the full ending, you HAVE to do the stages that you don't like. Scratch that! The best part is that you have to play the first stage 10 times to beat the game fully. TEN. ****ING. TIMES.
    The graphics and music? Muddy, with bad human character models, and voice syncing... And boring, terribly one note (ha-ha) idiotic drivel.
    Enemies are a joke, especially with the guns.If you don't have guns, prepare to mash A.
    Oh, and the guns? They are, ironically, the only thing I can say that works in this game. There's a reason why my score isn't zero. If I had to kill everything with my homing attack... Ugh. I'd give it a negative 10. The guns kill things. End of story.
    Speaking of story...
    This story is terrible. Shadow's sitting somewhere, contemplating his life, because... And then, aliens, because... And then their leader, Generic Antagonist, reveals that he knows Shadow's past, and sends him off to collect the Emeralds so that he may...
    ...Get ready...
    ...Get ready...
    DESTROY THE WORLD!
    OF COURSE! HOW BOUT THAT **** Etc.
    After you finish the first stage, there is a cutscene that shows off two human characters, the President, and a G.U.N. general who lived on the Ark. He was friends with Maria until she died, and blames Shadow for the WAIT. He's a G.U.N. GENERAL. G.U.N. KILLED MARIA, YOU STUPID **** *Clears Throat*. 'Scuse me. He blamed Shadow for her death, because... And sends out troops to kill him. Problem? IN HALF OF THE STORY OPTIONS, THESE CHARACTERS NEVER APPEAR AGAIN. EVER. THEY'RE JUST GONE. WHY?
    BECAUSE! I'm not gonna bother with the rest of the story options. Wanna know why? ... Well, I'll tell you anyway! The Secret/Final/True/Whatever-The-**** ending ret-cons every single one of them! You want an evil Shadow? TOO BAD! You want a neutral Shadow? NOPE! You want an and(not really)roid Shadow? I don't know why you'd want that, but NOPES. SHADOW IS ALWAYS GOOD AND SAVES THE CONTINUITY I mean WORLD!
    Ugh. That's it, pretty much. Worst game I've ever played, and YEAH! I've played Sonic '06. I can at least laugh at that game whenever something glitches. And I find MORE enjoyment instead of less each time I play it.
    So...
    If you ever have money for a GameCube game, GO BUY SOMETHING ELSE. Like Fire Emblem: Path of Radiance, or Pokemon XD/Colosseum, or Mario Sunshine, or goddamned Kirby's Air Ride. Just something BETTER. Sigh...
    Expand

See all 31 User Reviews