Shadow the Hedgehog Image
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 75 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The world is in peril as forces, both good and evil, make a play for the powerful Chaos Emeralds. In Shadow the Hedgehog, you can control Shadow and choose which side to fight for. This 3D platformer lets you use weapons, vehicles, environmental objects, and time and space manipulation to combat your foes. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 22
  2. Negative: 10 out of 22
  1. An enjoyable, high-octane adventure. Naysayers be damned. [Jan 2006, p.111]
  2. At its worst, Shadow is a solid platformer with enough fun to keep hardcore Sonic fans in one place for a few days. At its best, it's an engaging gameplay experience that isn't jaded by its otherwise glaring storyline-related setbacks.
  3. The choice of speed and rehashed gameplay are what drag the game down. Shadow the Hedgehog is still a fun game for Sonic fans, but is too average to be really interesting to casual gamers.
  4. The action is also largely mindless, with a poor targeting system and a game camera that never quite follows the action the way you want it to.
  5. Shadow the Hedgehog fails to live up to its pedigree due to terrible controls, an uncooperative camera, and an overall lack of effort.
  6. The poor controls, tricky camera and an irritation-filled gaming experience is unfortunately what Shadow the Hedgehog is presented as, and this doesn't deserve to be found under too many Christmas tree's this year.
  7. Combine the relatively poor visuals with monotonous level designs, and you'll find yourself in the middle of a level with no real visual cues of where you are within the level.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 34
  2. Negative: 9 out of 34
  1. Jun 1, 2014
    10
    Ok let me say this. Shadow the hedgehog is the most underrated game i ever played. People think its bad because its... different! People are sayin that this game is slipperier than sonic heroes. That is bulls*it. Sonic heroes was slippery as s*it and shadow is much easier to play. Graphics are nothin special but graphics dont mind if game plays well. And shadow the hedgehog plays great. I had so much fun playing it. Story is hard to understeand unless you are hardcore shadow fan like me. Only thing i hate about this game are levels with Maria. I didnt know where the fu*k was i goin. But thats only problem i had with this game. Overall its must buy for shadow fans and cobanermani456 if you are reading this.... Dont be an **** and stop saying this game is sh*t. If you defended sonic lost world then dont **** about shadow. There are alot of people who loves this game you know... Expand
  2. Dec 31, 2011
    10
    I played this game when it first came and, and I was astounded by the stunning gameplay, and overall feel of the game. It allowed you to feel the power that Shadow the Hedgehog had under his control, and it shifted the camera from Sonic, to the darker Shadow. As you can see, this is a very new review, and I just played it again for Nostalgia. It has held up to everything I remembered. Giving you a choice for each level, along with so many endings, and final levels. Shadow the Hedgehog, back when it first came out, left me longing for another game centered on Shadow, and when I replayed it, it gave me the same feeling. Why wasn't a sequel made for this game? Expand
  3. Aug 7, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. the king of underratted games. in this game you control shadow with the analog stick A is jump and B allows you to punch. pushing A in midair allows you to do the air dash.do the air dash near enimies to do the homing attack. you can take weapons from enimies when they have been killed. this gameplay is not perfect however. for one the analog movement feels more like an 8 directional d-pad and 2 the missions can be bland. some are good but other leave you bored. the graphics are **** it bugs me on how shiny shadow is and the rest of the characters are using toned down versions of the models from sonic heroes. the levels are also constantly reusing textures. in conclusion this is a pretty good game Expand
  4. Feb 18, 2014
    6
    Why...WHY DO I LOVE THIS GAME! I remember geting this game for christmas and loved it and i love it still, i even liked the guns, shadow moves and controles like butter and the level design is great. Shadow the Hedgehog gets a 6/10 Expand
  5. Jul 14, 2014
    5
    So Shadow the Hedgehog was released for the Nintendo Gamecube about 4 1/2 months after Resident Evil 4 was released for the same system. SO I must ask why did Shadow the Hedgehog look so bleak, barren, and uninteresting. The controls are so Freaking slippery I died like 8 times because Shadow would go careening of the damn cliff because of the freaking controls. Multiple pathways sounds interesting and multiple endings would help that BUT none of the normal endings matter because theres a lasting freaking story segment that has Shadow save the day anyway. I also must ask why the hell do they make us unlock every none cannon ending before we get to see the last freaking story that is Cannon to the sonic universe. That means that you have to have to play through the game more then once. Now that doesn't sound to bad but each path has two endings and you think you could pick the last stage and then choose the other mission to get the other ending BUT NO you have to play the same goddamn path again till you get to the final level then chose the other mission to get the other ending you have to do that 12 GODDAMN TIMES TO SEE THE TRUE ENDING meaning youll see the first level Westopolis 12 FREAKING TIMES. It's annoying as hell and it gets boring after the third or fourth playthrough.. In this game your primary game of getting around is "walking around in a 3-D enivorment" shooting alines with guns. YES YOU USE A FREKAING GUN IN A SONIC GAME. The models are ripped straight from Sonic Hereos so they don't look to bad but they look awful in cutscenes. The gunplay works fine but its a bit weird. The bosses are boring and repetitive and the muysic is even worse except for "I AM" and "Never Turn Back".

    Overall this game is just **** Bleak graphics, uninteresting level design, and repetitive mission structure makes this a game I never want to touch ever again.
    Expand
  6. Nov 5, 2013
    4
    Not even recommended for Sonic fans (which I am one of). The gameplay somehow manages to be the least of it's problems, despite, you know, being a game where the Sonic equivalent of Poochie shoots people and rides motorcycles. It's attempts and being edgy would be cute were it not for the cringe-worthy voice acting. Half the people in the voice cast had never voice acted video games before. What does that tell you? Also, the plotline makes no sense, even less so than other Sonic games that tried to have a plot.

    It does have pretty good music though, but that's a given for Sonic games.

    4
    Expand
  7. Jan 29, 2014
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the worst game I have ever played.
    The amount of **** that you have to deal with in this game is more than I have experienced in every other game I have played. COMBINED.
    First, the controls; What the actual **** Sega? SA1 and SA2 (minus the mech stages) control perfectly! These controls are the WORST. They are the slipperiest controls I have seen in a game thus far. The momentum of jumping is Belmont Syndrome times 1000. 2000, even! If you play this game, which you shouldn't, you will fall off of cliffs an innumerable amount of times due to Shadow's slippery shoes. And if you
    thought Luigi was bad... Have fun playing!
    Next, the level design; AAAAAAGGGGHHH
    WORST. LEVEL DESIGN. IN HISTORY. IF YOU'LL EXCUSE ME I THINK YELL FOR THE REST OF THIS PARAGRAPH. IT'S SO. *SO*. ********SO******** BAD.
    Sorry. Anyway, the game is based around a split-path system. The next stage you go to is based on your actions in the current stage. There are 29 different stages (Though some of them are the same), 10 endings, and a whole ****in' lot of paths. In a single play-through, you complete five stages. To complete the game fully and get the final ending, you must get all of the endings. The problem? THE ALTERNATE OBJECTIVES ARE ****. They, more often then not, require you to seek and kill each and every one of a certain enemy in a stage. In a SONIC game. A SONIC game! Not only is this boring and monotonous, it goes against the principles of the series. AND NO. IT'S NOT A ****IN' ONE-OFF. IT IS A *DIRECT SEQUEL* TO HEROES. It also goes against your slippery control, which is designed for speed, not offense. Can you imagine going back to SA2, making the controls absolute **** and killing EVERY ENEMY in the stage? NO.
    NOBODY DID CAUSE THAT'S A ****TY ****IN' IDEA. The levels are so slow and boring, despite being portrayed as an action game. The levels are so huge sometimes, that in some certain search-destroy missions, you will be on stages for forty ****in' five minutes, if you don't know what you're doing. There are some stages that make you touch certain objects, or kill enemies with a certain weapon, collect rings, etc. But whatever you're doing, you can bet that it's terrible. But the best part is, if you want the full ending, you HAVE to do the stages that you don't like. Scratch that! The best part is that you have to play the first stage 10 times to beat the game fully. TEN. ****ING. TIMES.
    The graphics and music? Muddy, with bad human character models, and voice syncing... And boring, terribly one note (ha-ha) idiotic drivel.
    Enemies are a joke, especially with the guns.If you don't have guns, prepare to mash A.
    Oh, and the guns? They are, ironically, the only thing I can say that works in this game. There's a reason why my score isn't zero. If I had to kill everything with my homing attack... Ugh. I'd give it a negative 10. The guns kill things. End of story.
    Speaking of story...
    This story is terrible. Shadow's sitting somewhere, contemplating his life, because... And then, aliens, because... And then their leader, Generic Antagonist, reveals that he knows Shadow's past, and sends him off to collect the Emeralds so that he may...
    ...Get ready...
    ...Get ready...
    DESTROY THE WORLD!
    OF COURSE! HOW BOUT THAT **** Etc.
    After you finish the first stage, there is a cutscene that shows off two human characters, the President, and a G.U.N. general who lived on the Ark. He was friends with Maria until she died, and blames Shadow for the WAIT. He's a G.U.N. GENERAL. G.U.N. KILLED MARIA, YOU STUPID **** *Clears Throat*. 'Scuse me. He blamed Shadow for her death, because... And sends out troops to kill him. Problem? IN HALF OF THE STORY OPTIONS, THESE CHARACTERS NEVER APPEAR AGAIN. EVER. THEY'RE JUST GONE. WHY?
    BECAUSE! I'm not gonna bother with the rest of the story options. Wanna know why? ... Well, I'll tell you anyway! The Secret/Final/True/Whatever-The-**** ending ret-cons every single one of them! You want an evil Shadow? TOO BAD! You want a neutral Shadow? NOPE! You want an and(not really)roid Shadow? I don't know why you'd want that, but NOPES. SHADOW IS ALWAYS GOOD AND SAVES THE CONTINUITY I mean WORLD!
    Ugh. That's it, pretty much. Worst game I've ever played, and YEAH! I've played Sonic '06. I can at least laugh at that game whenever something glitches. And I find MORE enjoyment instead of less each time I play it.
    So...
    If you ever have money for a GameCube game, GO BUY SOMETHING ELSE. Like Fire Emblem: Path of Radiance, or Pokemon XD/Colosseum, or Mario Sunshine, or goddamned Kirby's Air Ride. Just something BETTER. Sigh...
    Expand

See all 34 User Reviews