Shadow the Hedgehog Image
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 94 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The world is in peril as forces, both good and evil, make a play for the powerful Chaos Emeralds. In Shadow the Hedgehog, you can control Shadow and choose which side to fight for. This 3D platformer lets you use weapons, vehicles, environmental objects, and time and space manipulation toThe world is in peril as forces, both good and evil, make a play for the powerful Chaos Emeralds. In Shadow the Hedgehog, you can control Shadow and choose which side to fight for. This 3D platformer lets you use weapons, vehicles, environmental objects, and time and space manipulation to combat your foes. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 22
  2. Negative: 10 out of 22
  1. An enjoyable, high-octane adventure. Naysayers be damned. [Jan 2006, p.111]
  2. At its worst, Shadow is a solid platformer with enough fun to keep hardcore Sonic fans in one place for a few days. At its best, it's an engaging gameplay experience that isn't jaded by its otherwise glaring storyline-related setbacks.
  3. The choice of speed and rehashed gameplay are what drag the game down. Shadow the Hedgehog is still a fun game for Sonic fans, but is too average to be really interesting to casual gamers.
  4. The action is also largely mindless, with a poor targeting system and a game camera that never quite follows the action the way you want it to.
  5. Shadow the Hedgehog fails to live up to its pedigree due to terrible controls, an uncooperative camera, and an overall lack of effort.
  6. The poor controls, tricky camera and an irritation-filled gaming experience is unfortunately what Shadow the Hedgehog is presented as, and this doesn't deserve to be found under too many Christmas tree's this year.
  7. Combine the relatively poor visuals with monotonous level designs, and you'll find yourself in the middle of a level with no real visual cues of where you are within the level.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 45
  2. Negative: 12 out of 45
  1. [Anonymous]
    Jul 14, 2006
    10
    One of the best sonic games ever, Shadow the hedgehog gives a new meaning to the word "fun", which anybody who gave it about 70% or below may One of the best sonic games ever, Shadow the hedgehog gives a new meaning to the word "fun", which anybody who gave it about 70% or below may have lost their sense of. This is to all those who scraped or otherwise brutaliated this game. Get a life. Expand
  2. Nov 24, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is not supposed to be a SONIC GAME! its a 3dplatformer with great gameplay and ok graphics.Story is good and Shadow as a character is way better then Sonic. So...ALL HAIL SHADOW!!!!! Expand
  3. Sep 10, 2011
    9
    Shadow is the most badass animal in gaming to me and though this plot has been nitpicked to death but i find it an interesting plot and thisShadow is the most badass animal in gaming to me and though this plot has been nitpicked to death but i find it an interesting plot and this game also introduces one of the most awesome villains in the sonic franchise, Black Doom, which take a guess at who voiced him, you will never get it. The voice of Goku in Dragonball Z Expand
  4. Sep 19, 2013
    7
    Shadow The Hedgehog has guns in it, that's probably the worse part of the game. The other parts of the game are fun, which is a good thing.Shadow The Hedgehog has guns in it, that's probably the worse part of the game. The other parts of the game are fun, which is a good thing. Some of the levels could be boring, but some of them were good. I would say It's a good game, and not something like "OMG TIS IS TEH BESTEST SANIC GAME EVAR LIKE RALLY!" Expand
  5. May 6, 2011
    5
    Like the Sonic series itself in the mid 2000's, Shadow the Hedgehog flails under its amount of flaws. Pros: Fantastic visuals; excellent levelLike the Sonic series itself in the mid 2000's, Shadow the Hedgehog flails under its amount of flaws. Pros: Fantastic visuals; excellent level design; great FMVs; lots of extras/secrets to unlock. Cons: Terrible control and camera; disappointing graphics; lacks any kind of speed; horrendous multiplayer. Expand
  6. Jun 18, 2013
    5
    It's okay I guess. But I had two major problems with it and no one of them is not the controls even though they were pretty bad. My main twoIt's okay I guess. But I had two major problems with it and no one of them is not the controls even though they were pretty bad. My main two problems with this game are Shadow and guns. The two really don't work out together right? My problem with Shadow is he swears frequently, but isn't this game rated E10+. Well apparently it shouldn't, because Shadow swears nearly every single time he gets hit and trust me you will get hit a lot. Now problem with the guns is basically self explanatory. Their guns what the heck are they doing in a Sonic/Shadow game I mean the ultimate life form needs guns to fight.
    Overall it's okay, but don't let kids play this
    Expand
  7. sdc
    Apr 3, 2015
    0
    The worst story of all time, forgettable music (In a Sonic game? Oh no...), terrible graphics that shame the 8-Bit systems, mission basedThe worst story of all time, forgettable music (In a Sonic game? Oh no...), terrible graphics that shame the 8-Bit systems, mission based structures that bore me, and the worst controls in a Sonic game, this game doesn't deserve the number of defenders it gets. Expand

See all 45 User Reviews