Shadow the Hedgehog Image
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 88 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The world is in peril as forces, both good and evil, make a play for the powerful Chaos Emeralds. In Shadow the Hedgehog, you can control Shadow and choose which side to fight for. This 3D platformer lets you use weapons, vehicles, environmental objects, and time and space manipulation toThe world is in peril as forces, both good and evil, make a play for the powerful Chaos Emeralds. In Shadow the Hedgehog, you can control Shadow and choose which side to fight for. This 3D platformer lets you use weapons, vehicles, environmental objects, and time and space manipulation to combat your foes. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 22
  2. Negative: 10 out of 22
  1. An enjoyable, high-octane adventure. Naysayers be damned. [Jan 2006, p.111]
  2. At its worst, Shadow is a solid platformer with enough fun to keep hardcore Sonic fans in one place for a few days. At its best, it's an engaging gameplay experience that isn't jaded by its otherwise glaring storyline-related setbacks.
  3. The choice of speed and rehashed gameplay are what drag the game down. Shadow the Hedgehog is still a fun game for Sonic fans, but is too average to be really interesting to casual gamers.
  4. The action is also largely mindless, with a poor targeting system and a game camera that never quite follows the action the way you want it to.
  5. Shadow the Hedgehog fails to live up to its pedigree due to terrible controls, an uncooperative camera, and an overall lack of effort.
  6. The poor controls, tricky camera and an irritation-filled gaming experience is unfortunately what Shadow the Hedgehog is presented as, and this doesn't deserve to be found under too many Christmas tree's this year.
  7. Combine the relatively poor visuals with monotonous level designs, and you'll find yourself in the middle of a level with no real visual cues of where you are within the level.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 40
  2. Negative: 11 out of 40
  1. [Anonymous]
    Jul 14, 2006
    10
    One of the best sonic games ever, Shadow the hedgehog gives a new meaning to the word "fun", which anybody who gave it about 70% or below may One of the best sonic games ever, Shadow the hedgehog gives a new meaning to the word "fun", which anybody who gave it about 70% or below may have lost their sense of. This is to all those who scraped or otherwise brutaliated this game. Get a life. Expand
  2. Dec 31, 2011
    10
    I played this game when it first came and, and I was astounded by the stunning gameplay, and overall feel of the game. It allowed you to feelI played this game when it first came and, and I was astounded by the stunning gameplay, and overall feel of the game. It allowed you to feel the power that Shadow the Hedgehog had under his control, and it shifted the camera from Sonic, to the darker Shadow. As you can see, this is a very new review, and I just played it again for Nostalgia. It has held up to everything I remembered. Giving you a choice for each level, along with so many endings, and final levels. Shadow the Hedgehog, back when it first came out, left me longing for another game centered on Shadow, and when I replayed it, it gave me the same feeling. Why wasn't a sequel made for this game? Expand
  3. JenR.
    Mar 11, 2006
    9
    I admit, the controls can be a little difficult and sometimes very frustrating, but the only reason I have this game in my collection is I admit, the controls can be a little difficult and sometimes very frustrating, but the only reason I have this game in my collection is because of Shadow's story. I had been a fan of that hedgehog since Sonic Adventure 2 and always will be. Expand
  4. FRG
    Jul 24, 2013
    7
    Good game,but not the best of sonic's games,give a decent experience and a good fun,that may be the only good game of sonic in the console of mid 00s.
  5. Dec 21, 2014
    5
    Shadow the Hedgehog is a mediocre action game with some high points and low points. First the high points. For a Gamecube game the graphicsShadow the Hedgehog is a mediocre action game with some high points and low points. First the high points. For a Gamecube game the graphics are quite nice and have a decent amount of draw distance. The story is actually pretty cool with multiple routes you can take, if you want to be a good guy you can, if you want to be a bad guy you can, if you want to be a badass rouge you can. Some of the bosses are pretty fun to fight and look pretty cool and the soundtrack is really good. Now the low points. A lot of the characters annoying and most of them unlikable with the exception of Shadow and the main villain (who's name I can't remember). The gameplay doesn't feel like a Sonic game because you get to use guns, and while you don't have to use the guns a lot of the enemies in this game can take a lot of hits so you have to use the guns almost all the time. The controls are pretty bad and the camera is horrible. The game offers multiplayer which may sound cool, but it's very boring. How boring? Metroid Prime 2's multiplayer is more fun. The game is also very hard. If I wasn't already a big Sonic fan I would've given Shadow the Hedgehog a 4. Expand
  6. Mar 18, 2012
    4
    While the gameplay is near-solid and the branching storyline is impressive, there are so many things wrong with this game I can't imagine howWhile the gameplay is near-solid and the branching storyline is impressive, there are so many things wrong with this game I can't imagine how any self-respecting Sonic fan would like this. If you don't do the missions, the levels and game itself is short and forgettable. Not even the level with the Shadow androids is that remarkable. Like Heroes, the enemies have health, but they made it worse by giving the enemies more health and Shadow a god-awful homing attack. This is to try to urge you to use the guns and vehicles, but they're still hard to control. The control itself is more slippery than Heroes, and the music is mediocre at best, save for the theme "All Hail Shadow" which is arguably one of the best character themes I've heard. And the dark theme has "I'm trying to hard" all over it. The overuse of damn, the unnecessary guns, and the extremely dark levels are just screaming that it's trying to attract the preteen who thinks guns = cool. There are few games that I dislike in Sonic, and this is one of them. Expand
  7. BenC
    Jul 26, 2009
    0
    This game is utter rubbish. Truly a new low in gaming standards. The controls suck, the graphics are a joke, level design is about as well This game is utter rubbish. Truly a new low in gaming standards. The controls suck, the graphics are a joke, level design is about as well designed as a 2 year olds lego creation. and come on, guns? what the fuck where they thinking? This game is best left forgotten as it is one of Sega's worst products of all time. Also what gives with all the 10/10 ratings? Have they played the game or are they just stupid sega fans who would bend over happily for the next terrible sonic game? Expand

See all 40 User Reviews