• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Jan 27, 2003
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. 85
    RPGs fans must buy and play this game -- no questions asked. Get over the graphics and technical shortcomings; it's still a great game.
  2. Those who fondly remember the original should beware though: One particular idiosyncrasy of the original--the overabundance of random battles--may overpower both the nostalgia factor and the relative dearth of new content.
  3. The main problem with this game is that it feels a little dated, especially when you compare it to "FFX" or other games coming out shortly. Other than that it is a great game.
  4. Skies may be ordinary in the sound department but it's extraordinary in all other aspects.
  5. The fact that the gameplay and graphics are still impressive by today's standards shows just how under-appreciated this game was. [Feb 2003, p.100]
  6. 88
    Deserves praise for the innovative manner in which it presents its 3D locales.
  7. If you're looking for an enjoyable but fairly traditional RPG with a cracking storyline and likeable characters, Skies of Arcadia Legends comes about as highly recommended as any game can.
  8. 90
    The story, though, is the best part—Vyse and crew are the most extroverted RPG heroes ever, and there's none of that Final Fantasy–style self-abhorrence present.
  9. Almost a directors cut, there has been many cut scenes and even some characters added to tighten up the storyline, making the GC version of Skies a different, and even deeper game than its predecessor.
  10. Considering it's a port, I would have been much happier if more attention was given to the audio and video.
  11. 80
    Though visually lacking, Skies of Arcadia proves that gameplay is still king. It may be a port, but it's superior to most other role-playing games out there.
  12. The mark of any truly legendary RPG lies in its characters and story, and in both of these areas Skies' shines as brightly as its most blue-blue skies. [Mar 2003, p.42]
  13. An absolutely phenomenal experience... GameCube desperately needed a title like this. [Feb 2003, p.151]
  14. Sappy, sure, but the enthusiasm is infectious and ultimately effective.
  15. The monstrous length of the game is an RPG fanatic's dream. [Feb 2003, p.154]
  16. The sense of exploration and freedom is one thing that makes Skies of Arcadia such a wonderful game.
  17. For all of its failings though, Skies Of Arcadia Legends is a worthy game. The atmosphere draws you in completely, and the wonderful characters make your journey through this massive game a total joy.
  18. [Vyse's] simple and fun-loving personality is a welcome trait compared to the angst-ridden heroes of today's more popular RPG titles.
  19. A definitive RPG. This is the killer RPG app for GameCube. No, it isn't "Final Fantasy" (nor does it try to be), but in this writer's opinion, it's something even better.
  20. I didn't find myself level grinding at all, because the amount of random battles is more than enough to raise your characters to the point where the bosses are only moderate challenges.
  21. One of the biggest stumbling blocks to this fun throw-back is the over-abundance of these random fights.
  22. 88
    While Skies of Arcadia is not a paramount of technical achievement, the substance is worth buying. Great story and great gameplay elements are the very meat of this title.
  23. A one-time sleeper hit [has] evolved into a bona fide classic. Quite possibly the finest next-gen RPG thus far. [Feb 2003, p.70]
  24. Story and characters are excellent. Their personalities and motivations come through easily without a lot of overdone angst.
  25. Every RPG fans' dream of a game. It has some of the best gameplay, an engaging story, great music (although the quality detracts from this), and hours of gameplay to keep you playing into the long nights.
  26. 100
    The Skies experience is bright, poppy, and exciting. [Feb 2003, p.50]
  27. This is one of the better RPGs to come in a few years, and a revamped version for the GameCube is just what the Doctor ordered.
  28. While some elements of the game aren't perfect, the underlying adventure is more than worth the time.
  29. A great RPG, one of the best for any system. If you've never played the original on the Dreamcast, buy Legends immediately.
  30. If you are looking for an adventure of epic proportions with a sci-fi twist on pirates and that sports a classic, yet polished, RPG battle interface with some interesting innovations such as ship battles, then Skies of Arcadia Legends is definitely the game for you!
  31. The story is only average for a RPG (make that above average if you love the air pirates setting), the combat system is mildly interesting but lacks much in the way of depth and the presentation is a bit dated.
User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 76 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 37
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 37
  3. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Jan 30, 2011
    10
    Skies of Arcadia is nothing short of a masterpiece. I'm not even sure where to start. Everything from the bright colorful visuals with in aSkies of Arcadia is nothing short of a masterpiece. I'm not even sure where to start. Everything from the bright colorful visuals with in a charming world with distinct towns and cities. The soundtrack while slightly gimped on the GC version (DC version is superior in this aspect), is the best I have ever heard in a video game. For example the boss battle music will actually shift depending on how well (or bad) the fight is going for you. I sometimes found my self just hanging around town so I could listen to the music. The characters are lovable and interesting and I found my self so into their stories and the story at large that I sometimes had to just put the controller down so I didn't rush through the game.

    Phew, I haven't even talked about game play yet. It is a standard old school JRPG and if I could get one complaint out of the way is that the random battles can sometimes get excessive. Other than that the gameplay uses a unique system where all the characters share a single action bar with different moves and attacks subtracting from that bar. Special attacks have some great visuals and it's satisfying finishing off a boss with them. I really could go on and on about this game. Go on Ebay and buy either the GC or DC version and play it, if you are even a remote fan of RPG/JRPGS you will not be disappointed
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 6, 2011
    10
    Can you name a more exciting JRPG with twists and turns at every corner? Skies of Arcadia is a game that pulls off everything flawlessly: theCan you name a more exciting JRPG with twists and turns at every corner? Skies of Arcadia is a game that pulls off everything flawlessly: the writing, gameplay, visual style, music, and last but not least, the controls. And as a port of the underrated Dreamcast version, Skies of Arcadia: Legends improves upon the story by adding a new side-quest. So do yourself a favor and pick up this rare gem today! Full Review »
  3. RaddyG.
    Dec 4, 2009
    10
    The measure of a game is taken twofold, first, in how well one becomes immersed in the setting, and second, the amount that it makes you want The measure of a game is taken twofold, first, in how well one becomes immersed in the setting, and second, the amount that it makes you want to keep playing. On both fronts, this is the best game I have ever played. Full Review »