• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Skies of Arcadia Legends Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 105 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Grasp the wheel of your air-ship and prepare to embark on a legendary adventure. You are Vyse, a young member of the Blue Rogue pirates. Together with your childhood friend Aika and Fina, a mysterious girl, you are locked in an epic struggle with a powerful enemy nation for the fate of theGrasp the wheel of your air-ship and prepare to embark on a legendary adventure. You are Vyse, a young member of the Blue Rogue pirates. Together with your childhood friend Aika and Fina, a mysterious girl, you are locked in an epic struggle with a powerful enemy nation for the fate of the world. You must gather your own crew of air pirates and journey through uncharted skies to vanquish the empire from every corner of the map. Along the way, you'll wage battles against savage monsters and evil pirates as you make a name for yourself on land and in the sky. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. GameNow
    100
    The Skies experience is bright, poppy, and exciting. [Feb 2003, p.50]
  2. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    92
    An absolutely phenomenal experience... GameCube desperately needed a title like this. [Feb 2003, p.151]
  3. For all of its failings though, Skies Of Arcadia Legends is a worthy game. The atmosphere draws you in completely, and the wonderful characters make your journey through this massive game a total joy.
  4. If you are looking for an adventure of epic proportions with a sci-fi twist on pirates and that sports a classic, yet polished, RPG battle interface with some interesting innovations such as ship battles, then Skies of Arcadia Legends is definitely the game for you!
  5. 85
    RPGs fans must buy and play this game -- no questions asked. Get over the graphics and technical shortcomings; it's still a great game.
  6. If you're looking for an enjoyable but fairly traditional RPG with a cracking storyline and likeable characters, Skies of Arcadia Legends comes about as highly recommended as any game can.
  7. The story is only average for a RPG (make that above average if you love the air pirates setting), the combat system is mildly interesting but lacks much in the way of depth and the presentation is a bit dated.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 40
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 40
  3. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. Michael
    Feb 25, 2003
    10
    The ultimate turn based battle RPG ever "I love this game". "it's really cool" (in the words of my friends)
  2. Jan 30, 2011
    10
    Skies of Arcadia is nothing short of a masterpiece. I'm not even sure where to start. Everything from the bright colorful visuals with in aSkies of Arcadia is nothing short of a masterpiece. I'm not even sure where to start. Everything from the bright colorful visuals with in a charming world with distinct towns and cities. The soundtrack while slightly gimped on the GC version (DC version is superior in this aspect), is the best I have ever heard in a video game. For example the boss battle music will actually shift depending on how well (or bad) the fight is going for you. I sometimes found my self just hanging around town so I could listen to the music. The characters are lovable and interesting and I found my self so into their stories and the story at large that I sometimes had to just put the controller down so I didn't rush through the game.

    Phew, I haven't even talked about game play yet. It is a standard old school JRPG and if I could get one complaint out of the way is that the random battles can sometimes get excessive. Other than that the gameplay uses a unique system where all the characters share a single action bar with different moves and attacks subtracting from that bar. Special attacks have some great visuals and it's satisfying finishing off a boss with them. I really could go on and on about this game. Go on Ebay and buy either the GC or DC version and play it, if you are even a remote fan of RPG/JRPGS you will not be disappointed
    Expand
  3. RyanT.
    Apr 30, 2003
    10
    Amazing all i can say.
  4. May 17, 2012
    10
    This is a great game. The huge, open world gives a very non-linear feel to a genre drenched in linearity. The battle system is turn based,This is a great game. The huge, open world gives a very non-linear feel to a genre drenched in linearity. The battle system is turn based, although the tactics and planning it gives room to make the system very exciting. The game is massive, the gameplay is addictive, the writing is fun and interesting. It's a shame it stay to so many tropes of the genre, but for newcomers it is a revelation. I may have a pair of nostalgia goggles on, since this is one of the first JRPGs I played, but give this game a chance. It's a keeper. Expand
  5. Mar 23, 2017
    10
    If you wonder to yourself what the epitome of SEGA can do when given the time and money look no further. This turn based RPG will go down asIf you wonder to yourself what the epitome of SEGA can do when given the time and money look no further. This turn based RPG will go down as my number 1 for years to come. Not just due to all the nostalgia it holds years later, but because it was challenging, rewarding, and down right impressively emotional at times. The holy trinity for those of us who will grind, and sink many hours into fantastic digital worlds. When you finish a lengthy RPG sometimes you want to conclusion to mean the story is over. Sometimes you wish for a chance to continue exploring that place you quested in for so long. This game seems to satisfy all of these answers. As someone who has run through it 3x's I can say it feels like opening up a well aged bottle of your favorite loqua. There is a reason copies are around 80-100 dollars these days. Get a chance to play it while you still can! Expand
  6. RaineyS.
    Nov 24, 2004
    9
    Despite the ridiculous amount of random battles and the horribly long, I mean hours long, ship battles...This game kicks ass! The characters Despite the ridiculous amount of random battles and the horribly long, I mean hours long, ship battles...This game kicks ass! The characters are fun and so is the plot. Plus there are lots of things to keep you occupied other than damn ship battles, and once you get far enough you can avoid random battles! For the most part. Expand
  7. Aug 5, 2016
    2
    It seemed every time I started midly enjoying the game, I then ended up running around an area forever because the game never gives you anyIt seemed every time I started midly enjoying the game, I then ended up running around an area forever because the game never gives you any indication of where to go next, it treats the player like a kid yet it's just as stupid. The elemental weapon system is frankly annoying, especially when it's tied to learning magic. The camera is a pile of **** and your characters position in battle isn't controlled by you yet it affects the battles... This game is a trainwreck. Areas are designed to be annoying. Very little is obvious, nothing is compelling and everything feels pointless. Expand

See all 40 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

21
9
#9 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2003
15
#15 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2003