Sonic Adventure 2 Battle GameCube

  • Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Feb 11, 2002
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28
Buy On
  1. 69
    I'm more annoyed by the gameplay mechanics and head-spinning level design than I am satisfied.
  2. While it has its moments, its lack of refinement makes playing it a disjointed and frustrating experience.
  3. Game Informer
    75
    The Sonic levels are explosive as ever, although the control isn't nearly as refined as it should be. The rest of the stages in the game are poorly concocted and void of fun. [Mar 2002, p.81]
  4. Sonic Team tried to include something for everyone in Sonic Adventure 2 Battle, but in the end all that variety ends up altering what made Sonic games so special to begin with.
  5. 84
    Blazes across your screen with incredible graphics, addictive gameplay, and deep play options. Sure, it's not flawless, but it's definitely worth playing.
  6. Even on a system where you'd never expect to see the blue streak, there are plenty of classic wide-eyed moments of joy following the heels of the world's fastest, most arrogant hedgehog.
  7. 80
    Aside from the camera-angle blemish, Sonic 2 for the Gamecube is still loads of fun.
  8. 80
    A fairly solid title, but it falls short of the mark for a big "Sonic" release.
  9. The graphics are flawless. Super-smooth, fast, seamless environments stretch on as far as the eye can see. While the GameCube should easily be able to do this, it's the frenetic pace that makes it most impressive.
  10. Play Magazine
    60
    I can't help wondering how it would have turned out had it been developed originally for GC. [Mar 2002, p.51]
  11. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    67
    Though the new multiplayer levels are nice, fixing the horrible camera should have been the priority. [Mar 2002, p.139]
  12. 40
    Although the two-player mode is entertaining, there's not enough variety to keep you going for long, and the quibbles with the camera and the music are the icing on an unsatisfying cake. Avoid.
  13. Nintendo Power
    84
    A sprawling, complicated adventure. [Mar 2002, p.132]
  14. A particularly good example of why SEGA and Sonic Team are so revered within the games industry.
  15. A far cry from the Sonic of the early 90’s.
  16. Games Radar
    87
    Despite the messy structure, Sonic Adventure 2 Battle is still up there with the best of them, knocking most of the competition for six. And that's what counts. [GamesMaster Magazine]
  17. The fact that most gamers have seen all of this before makes it a bit more difficult to see this game's strengths, while making its weaknesses that much more apparent.
  18. The title offers wonderful graphics and some fun levels, the majority of which involve the title character, but the disjointed story line, uneven action, and problematic camera take away from the enjoyment most will have while playing.
  19. Anyone who paid for a Sonic title will be racing hedgehogs only 33 percent of the time, and that just isn’t enough.
  20. The way the Advance interacts with the Cube is flawless, and if you have Sonic Advance (and we recommend you pick it up), it's a nice touch, with lots of promise for future games.
  21. If you can keep yourself from blinking, you might be able to help the little furry freak collect his golden rings, like some sort of crank-addicted Hobbit.
  22. 87
    If you’ve played or owned the Dreamcast version though, there isn’t much new to do.
  23. Unfortunately Knuckles/Rogue gameplay, camera problems, some sound problems and limited replay value hurt the game in the long run.
  24. I love Sonic. The problem is that Sonic Adventure 2 Battle is only about 33% Sonic. The rest is lost in mindless Tails and Knuckles levels that pull the rest of the game down.
  25. Entertainment Weekly
    67
    Offers a glimpse of brilliance...but lacks the magic that made the original Genesis classic a Mario-worthy masterpiece. [15 March 2002, p.79]
  26. Sonic's biggest challenge is the in-game camera, which is often placed so poorly that you have a hard time seeing your environment.
  27. 60
    This is one of those games that perhaps should have stayed on the Dreamcast. The main problem is that the game wasn’t all that fun to begin with.
  28. Sonic and Shadow's levels are great, but every one else's levels are, unfortunately, dull. In the end, 1/3rd of the main game is great but hampered by camera and some control issues.

Awards & Rankings

#6 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2002
#43 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2002
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 185 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 62
  2. Negative: 4 out of 62
  1. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    I found this game in a box in the attic and thought that I would try it out as the last time I played it way about 6 years ago. This game isI found this game in a box in the attic and thought that I would try it out as the last time I played it way about 6 years ago. This game is the best sonic I have ever played and I have played my fair share. Its a really fun game for the younger the older generations so I would buy it if you can with a 2nd hand gamecube because it is worth it at the end of the day. Full Review »
  2. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Sonic Adventure 2 Battle is a great, awesome game. This RULES! I love my chao, the stages are awesome (and sometimes hard), the bosses areSonic Adventure 2 Battle is a great, awesome game. This RULES! I love my chao, the stages are awesome (and sometimes hard), the bosses are GREAT! Usually for a game, I'd hate the stages and love the bosses, but this game has good bosses AND stages. Full Review »
  3. RyanK.
    Jul 12, 2005
    6
    Uh, well the good things about "SONIC ADVENTURE 2 BATTLE" is that it has fun levels and some good effects. But it's poorly done when the Uh, well the good things about "SONIC ADVENTURE 2 BATTLE" is that it has fun levels and some good effects. But it's poorly done when the camera angles are messy, the levels are somewhat very easy and the characters switch off and on for levels. A very average game, but it's probably better for a rental. Full Review »