Sonic Adventure 2 Battle GameCube

  • Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Feb 11, 2002
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 187 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 187
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RyanK.
    Jul 12, 2005
    6
    Uh, well the good things about "SONIC ADVENTURE 2 BATTLE" is that it has fun levels and some good effects. But it's poorly done when the camera angles are messy, the levels are somewhat very easy and the characters switch off and on for levels. A very average game, but it's probably better for a rental.
  2. Dec 2, 2012
    7
    Sonic Adventure 2: Battle was the first Sonic game to be released on a Nintendo console, and with it comes added and improved multiplayer features which needed to be unlocked first on the original Dreamcast version (hence the "Battle" subtitle). The game itself is a 3D platformer, much like its predecessor, Sonic Adventure. Unlike Adventure 1, however, are the gameplay styles. SA2 focusesSonic Adventure 2: Battle was the first Sonic game to be released on a Nintendo console, and with it comes added and improved multiplayer features which needed to be unlocked first on the original Dreamcast version (hence the "Battle" subtitle). The game itself is a 3D platformer, much like its predecessor, Sonic Adventure. Unlike Adventure 1, however, are the gameplay styles. SA2 focuses on three, rather than SA1's six. These three are: the high-speed platforming of Sonic and Shadow, the shooter sections of Tails and Eggman, and treasure hunting levels, handled by Knuckles and Rouge. The shooting levels in this game are, in my opinion, greatly improved over E-102 Gamma's shooting-based levels in Adventure 1, which are what these new stages owe their existence to. The treasure hunting stages are the opposite. This time around, they're HUGE, and with a neutered radar, what should be a 2-3 minute level can sometimes be 6-8 minutes long if you're unfamiliar with the level. They're my least favorite part of the game; I don't groan nearly as much when playing SA1's Knuckles stages. The fast platforming stages are, well, fast platforming. Sonic Adventure was more like the classic Genesis games but in 3D: multiple pathways that rewarded you for your outside-the-box thinking, basically. SA2's levels really only have one way to go, which either makes or breaks the game for most people. I'm in between. I can see how they wanted to add more thrill, rather than actual platforming, but until it ended with Sonic Colors, this trend was in every 3D Sonic game afterwards. As for the story, I think it does a great job of balancing serious and cartoon. It bigger, better and badder than Sonic Adventure's, which is what they were going for in the first place. There are inconsistencies and illogical actions, but the overall tone of the plot is great. The soundtrack has a lot of electric guitar in it, but the songs themselves are great. The electric guitar alienates a lot of people, but if you give the soundtrack a fair listen, you should see that it's really not bad. I think this game as a whole is a good game, with this version being the best. The new Xbox Live/PSN/Steam versions have terrible audio mixing. Actually, I have a confession to make: this was my first Sonic game, and because of that, I get huge nostalgia bursts when playing any version of this game. I could reenact any cutscene, if you wanted me to. This is my favorite game of all time. When it comes to being fair, however, I play fair. I could easily give this game a 10, no problem, but I want to be fair. This game deserves a 6-7. It's overrated. It's not the best game ever, it's a great Dreamcast game that has lost its charm due to age. No matter what anyone says, this will always have a special place in my heart, and that's all that matters to me. This is a finished game, and I'm glad I can play what the developers intended me to play, unlike unfinished Sonic 06. Expand
  3. Enthasius
    Jul 9, 2002
    6
    Ahhhh, hmmmmm, errrrr. This is sonic at his latest, and its good....its just that everything that made the first sonic adventure game great has either been taken away, or changed in some way that it doesn't feel right. I don't care if people found every character to similar on the first one, its the way Sonic has been from the beginning, and so it should have stayed.
  4. May 5, 2011
    7
    It's port to the NGC is certainly not flawless, but it's worth picking up if you don't have a DC. Pros: Multiplayer is as stellar is ever, having a variety of characters, stages, and power-ups to last all night; Chao Garden is addictive and has a lot of new features. Cons: The camera is worse on the NGC's controller; frequent framerate issues; some of the additional features feel worthless.
  5. May 19, 2011
    7
    It fails at fixing a lot of the existing problems in the original DC version, but regardless, Sonic Adventure 2: Battle is still a moderately successful port with tons of multiplayer value. Pros: The variety in multiplayer mode is as fun as ever; additional Chao Garden features; lots of extras/secrets. Cons: The camera doesn't control well on the GCN's controller; frequent framerateIt fails at fixing a lot of the existing problems in the original DC version, but regardless, Sonic Adventure 2: Battle is still a moderately successful port with tons of multiplayer value. Pros: The variety in multiplayer mode is as fun as ever; additional Chao Garden features; lots of extras/secrets. Cons: The camera doesn't control well on the GCN's controller; frequent framerate issues; dated graphics. Expand
  6. Mar 17, 2012
    7
    Let's start with the good: The story is one of the most detailed yet, and it's the one to top in a Sonic game. The Chao Garden's Chao stats are a LOT better than the Dreamcast's "clever" use of the VMU. The Sonic gameplay is nowhere near as slippery as in the original Adventure. If you like the Sonic gameplay, you'll love this, and with the hub world removed, you can get right to theLet's start with the good: The story is one of the most detailed yet, and it's the one to top in a Sonic game. The Chao Garden's Chao stats are a LOT better than the Dreamcast's "clever" use of the VMU. The Sonic gameplay is nowhere near as slippery as in the original Adventure. If you like the Sonic gameplay, you'll love this, and with the hub world removed, you can get right to the level. Now, this isn't what the fans would call "The Greatest Sonic game Ever". The Mech and treasure hunting stages are absolute crap compared to the original Adventure (or at least DX, but DX is supposedly worse than the original so I'm pretty sure it still goes). Aside from glitches that carried over from Adventure, this is the only problem, but it's so bad it ruined the fun for me. The emerald radar was nerfed, and is inconvenient when you're on a timed level, like the one Rouge Level. The clues were absolutely useless, and in Mad Space, they would even flat out lie to you. The worst part? Without the Character select, you're forced to play these levels to get to the next Mech or Sonic stage. The mech stages aren't as bad, but they're definitely a step down from Gamma. It's nowhere near as engaging. Overall, it's an above average 3D platformer, but it certainly isn't the best. Collapse
  7. JiS
    Jul 9, 2004
    7
    Jared, how can you compare Star Fox to Sonic? The only thing I see in comparison is that they're both heroes. Star Fox sucked, because it was not about shooting. Sonic is above-average, however.
  8. Aug 25, 2012
    6
    It's one of the more enjoyable 3-D Sonic experiences. Pros: Enhanced multiplayer and Chao garden; the Sonic/Shadow stages remain the funnest aspect of the game; soundtrack; GBA capabilities. Cons: Its camera and controls are still at their quirkiest; trial-and-error gameplay verses easy boss battles; the Knuckles/Rogue and Tails/Eggman stages are more frustrating than fun; lots of glitches.
  9. Jul 15, 2014
    7
    Sonic Adventure 2 is a step up in the presentation and step down in the gameplay department. Sonic Adventure 2 looks fantastic with much more detailed and realistic looking enviorments, smoother models, and better animations and lip syncing in game and in cutscenes. The soundtrack is also really really good despite the over use of the electric gutair. The soundtrack is not quite as aSonic Adventure 2 is a step up in the presentation and step down in the gameplay department. Sonic Adventure 2 looks fantastic with much more detailed and realistic looking enviorments, smoother models, and better animations and lip syncing in game and in cutscenes. The soundtrack is also really really good despite the over use of the electric gutair. The soundtrack is not quite as a varied as Sonic Adventure 1 and I prefer the soundtrack to Sonic Adventure 1 but Sonic Adventure 2's soundtrack is still pretty freaking good.

    But that's kinda where my overall shower of praise ends. First off the plot has too many freaking plot holes to make it an engaging and great plot. Thre are 6 chracters but only 3 gameplay styles: speed, treasure hunting, mech shooting. Speed stages are fun and the best part of this game, mech stages kinda suck but aren't too bad. BUT THE GODDAMN **** TREASURE HUNTING STAGES. Oh boy okay so the radar in the treasure hunting stages works like this: instead of it detecting any piece of the merald when your close it only detects them in order making levels like metor herd, and mad space take **** forever depending on the random emerald placement. To be honest if I ever talk about how much I love this game im most likely talking about the speed chracters.

    Before I give my final thoughts, the camera is absolute ass

    Sonic Adventure 2 Battle has not exactly aged well. The graphics are really good and the music is nice. But with too linear level design, a **** up camera, and a story with plot holes bugger then my moms ass this game is worth playing but its not the most perfect game in the world like everyone says it is

    FINAL SCORE: 7.3/10
    Expand
  10. May 27, 2015
    6
    Desculpa mais... Só as partes do Sonic e do Shadow são legais
    ou seja esse jogo é uma bosta.............................................................................Não me odeiem
  11. Apr 20, 2014
    7
    I love this game as a kid, but there are a few issues. the camera angles can be pretty awkward at times, and the voice acting is awful, but if you are a sonic fan, you'll love the story, and it introduces shadow for the first time. I didn't always enjoy doing the knuckles and rouge levels but the other stages were tons of fun. the game is a bit frustrating in the last stages of the gameI love this game as a kid, but there are a few issues. the camera angles can be pretty awkward at times, and the voice acting is awful, but if you are a sonic fan, you'll love the story, and it introduces shadow for the first time. I didn't always enjoy doing the knuckles and rouge levels but the other stages were tons of fun. the game is a bit frustrating in the last stages of the game after completing the good and bad stories, but are also epic. the Chao garden is a fun little extra thing in the game that I will always remember. the biggest flaw is the awkward camera angles though and you end up dying a lot because of them. the game is a lot of fun is probably a 10 for hardcore sonic fans. Expand
  12. Jun 8, 2016
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Sonic Adventure 2 is mediocre. Either everyone gives it unanimous praise, or everyone talks **** about it. The story in this game is one of my main flaws. It's just awful. It's incredibly complex and just makes no sense. It's something about a death egg- space station that can destroy a planet? There's another hedgehog in this plot somewhere... to be honest, I could care less about this stupid story. Anyways, the gameplay is similar to the original. Sonic plays the same, etc, Tails is in a mechanical robot??? WHAAAAT? New to this game are choosing sides. You could play as the heroes, which includes Sonic, Tails, and Knuckles. Or the Villians, which include, Shadow, Rouge and Robotnik. Sonic and Shadow have the same amazing speed gameplay we're all used to, Knuckles and Rouge have the treasure hunting levels with the emerald radar that works when you've collected the fragment before it which really makes these stages annoying, (Knuckles's stages are actually fun.) and Tails and Robotnik have the shooting stages, which have been expanded on since Adventure 1. Robotnik's stages are very fun, while Tail's stages are awful. Why I think this game is heavily mediocre is because you are required to get through all of these stages in order to beat the game! In Adventure 1, all you had to do is beat a characters story and... okay, that was a problem in Adventure 1 but you get the idea. Because of this, this game is incredibly mediocre and I do not recommend it. Expand
  13. Mar 17, 2012
    7
    Let's start with the good: The story is one of the most detailed yet, and it's the one to top in a Sonic game. The Chao Garden's Chao stats are a LOT better than the Dreamcast's "clever" use of the VMU. The Sonic gameplay is nowhere near as slippery as in the original Adventure. If you like the Sonic gameplay, you'll love this, and with the hub world removed, you can get right to theLet's start with the good: The story is one of the most detailed yet, and it's the one to top in a Sonic game. The Chao Garden's Chao stats are a LOT better than the Dreamcast's "clever" use of the VMU. The Sonic gameplay is nowhere near as slippery as in the original Adventure. If you like the Sonic gameplay, you'll love this, and with the hub world removed, you can get right to the level. Now, this isn't what the fans would call "The Greatest Sonic game Ever". The Mech and treasure hunting stages are absolute crap compared to the original Adventure (or at least DX, but DX is supposedly worse than the original so I'm pretty sure it still goes). Aside from glitches that carried over from Adventure, this is the only problem, but it's so bad it ruined the fun for me. The emerald radar was nerfed, and is inconvenient when you're on a timed level, like the one Rouge Level. The clues were absolutely useless, and in Mad Space, they would even flat out lie to you. The worst part? Without the Character select, you're forced to play these levels to get to the next Mech or Sonic stage. The mech stages aren't as bad, but they're definitely a step down from Gamma. It's nowhere near as engaging. Overall, it's an above average 3D platformer, but it certainly isn't the best. Collapse

Awards & Rankings

59
6
#6 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2002
8
#8 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2002
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. The graphics are flawless. Super-smooth, fast, seamless environments stretch on as far as the eye can see. While the GameCube should easily be able to do this, it's the frenetic pace that makes it most impressive.
  2. Games Radar
    87
    Despite the messy structure, Sonic Adventure 2 Battle is still up there with the best of them, knocking most of the competition for six. And that's what counts. [GamesMaster Magazine]
  3. 87
    If you’ve played or owned the Dreamcast version though, there isn’t much new to do.