• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Nov 10, 2002
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. If you're fiending for Sonic the Hedgehog and either don't have or are unwilling to drag out a dusty Genesis from the closet, don't hesitate to give it a shot.
  2. This title is a vastly preferable alternative to a myriad Sonic Advances in the style of Nintendo's Mario rehashes.
  3. Lost however is some of the speed and flow of the previous games; a little too much in the way of exploration involved for a Sonic game (if you want to find all the bonus level entrances anyway).
  4. For $40, this is one of the greatest compilation games ever released.
  5. If you have a girlfriend, boyfriend, or spouse who doesn’t get into games that much, plug in this title and go right to "Mean Bean Machine." You’ll have so much fun you won’t hardly believe it.
  6. The controls are top-notch -- even the thumbstick is usable, and it works flawlessly.
  7. 75
    A wonderful little collection that, while not perfect, is a great value.
  8. 50
    Sega, however, has seen fit to present the games in such an unflattering collection as to present players with a difficult choice: Do I support the half-assed porting of some of gaming's most treasured titles to current systems, thus ensuring that future retro releases for the company will be as dismal? Or do I withhold my money and wait for Sega to release an unfettered, improved version of the games -- a release that may not come due to supposedly lackluster performance and a dearth of interest?
  9. 80
    Pastel graphics comprise the visuals, and the audio ranges from passable (Sonic 2) to outright atrocious (Spinball).
  10. A solid value well worth a spin. Just don't expect much more than the original titles.
  11. If I thought the first SONIC was good, I was completely blown away by the second game.
  12. If you already have some of these games, I'd advise just blowing the dust off the old Genesis, because there isn't enough good extra stuff here.
  13. While a great collectible, the Sonic Mega Collection is still full of games that most of us fans still probably own in one form or another and it is also a bit too similar to "Sonic Jam."
  14. Perhaps the best compilation ever. [Dec 2002, p.128]
  15. It features five great sonic games, and Sega can be excused for including two mediocre titles.
  16. It’s the perfect melding of classic old-school gaming on the newest generation of video gaming consoles.
  17. Those who don’t own the Genesis originals or Sonic Jam will find SMC well worth $40; those already possessing most of the included games have little reason purchase this GameCube disc.
  18. Good, but could have been so much more. [Dec 2002, p.240]
  19. If you own a Sega Genesis and only Sonic games, it may be time to trade them all in and buy this single disc; you will save space and come back with even more then what you left with.
  20. The extras included in Mega Collection could have been spiffier, but they're interesting enough and round out the package well.
  21. The ultimate compilation of Sonic adventures. [Dec 2002, p.218]
  22. The problem? I thought you'd never ask. No "Sonic CD." If you've ever played "Sonic CD" on the Sega CD you'll know why it NEEDS to be in this collection of great Sonic Genesis titles.
  23. Some easy fixes would have made Sonic Mega Collection a celebration rather than a somwhat missed opportunity. [Nov 2002, p.90]
  24. 91
    Sonic fans owe it to themselves to pick this up. [Dec 2002, p.72]
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Someonewholikessonic
    Apr 26, 2003
    10
    It's a great game, people think it is rubbish because of no Sonic CD, but you can only fit so many great Mega Drive titles on such aIt's a great game, people think it is rubbish because of no Sonic CD, but you can only fit so many great Mega Drive titles on such a small disk, i have all these on my Mega Drive but i thought, whattever and bought it for my GameCube. The Archie comics are good, but i can't buy them because they are not for sale where i live. So it's a good opportunity for me to see them. The non sonic games are good too. I can't wait for Sonic Adventure DX to come out, even tough i have Sonic Adventure for my Dreamcast, i will probably still get i, and Sonic Advance 2, cause i have every Sonic game there ever has been. I can't wait, i'm glad Sonic went on Nintendo! That's what i think, and i'm sure a lot of people think the same, sonic rulz, ok. Full Review »
  2. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    With 12 outstanding games and many extras hidden within the small disk, this game deserves a place on your video game shelf. The game isWith 12 outstanding games and many extras hidden within the small disk, this game deserves a place on your video game shelf. The game is cheaper than buying their Genesis/Mega Drive versions together, and that's great! You'll want this game's Sonic the Hedgehog over the cruddy GBA version. Full Review »
  3. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    The best collection of games I have and frankly if you have no other way to play the original Sonic games I would highly suggest thisThe best collection of games I have and frankly if you have no other way to play the original Sonic games I would highly suggest this collection and the Gems Collection as well. I still have yet to unlock all the secrets, but the extra content is pretty impressive. Definately a great collction. Heck even the music is great! Full Review »