Sonic Riders Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Sonic series takes to the track in the combat racing game, Sonic Riders. Dr. Eggman has challenged Sonic and friends to race in his World Grand Prix, and you can enter the event and try to unravel his mysterious plot. The races happen on floating boards and include tricks, fighting, and racing. You can customize your character with upgraded equipment as you race down 13 different tracks through a handful of game modes. You can also challenge three of your friends to multiplayer races. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 32
  2. Negative: 5 out of 32
  1. Sonic Riders doesn't boast too many tracks, nor does it have an online mode, which is a shame, but a bit of unique futuristic racing with familiar faces is what I'm after these days, and Sonic Riders delivers on that front hands down.
  2. It's certainly not perfect, but it is definitely playable and enjoyable. Again, my biggest complaint is the pits...pitstop that is. At any rate it's a far site better than the recently released Shadow the Hedgehog game.
  3. Endure the few inevitable instances of frustration and your left with a solid sonic spin-off.
  4. Sonic Riders tries to do something new with racing but in the end doesn't deliver a polished package.
  5. Sonic fans may fill their need for speed here, but everyone else, please walk on.
  6. Sonic Riders tries to put some zesty racing action on the line here, but suffers due to inadequate gameplay and the kind of AI that makes you want to bash your controller into pieces with a hammer.
  7. But this isn't so much a racing game as a slapdash splash of smeared color that never quite captures the feeling of hurtling down a track. [Jun 2006, p.92]

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Negative: 3 out of 14
  1. FrankG.
    Apr 15, 2006
    10
    On the outside this may seem to be just another way to squeeze money out of Sonic's name, but once you play the game you may find, as I did, that this is one of the most refreshingly fun racers in a long time. This game is in a league of its own with its racing style that combines the best of surfing, biking, skating, and many other extreme sports. Expand
  2. TheRealSyko
    Jun 2, 2008
    10
    I am well aware that Sega's flagship franchise has been ailing of late, suffering from Video Game Leukaemia: turning out droves of unfinished titles. This is one of the few exceptions. The concept of the game is refreshing, the gameplay is addictive, yet difficult enough to keep the length reasonable (unlike its sequel). One thing it lacked was substantial cutscenes, probably for the better: all the less of Jason Griffith's sneering Sonic voice and hoarse Jet voice to hear. Shadow (fangirl idol #1) is entirely absent from the story, and inserting Jet to supplant him, even if for one game, was probably not a good PR move. HOWEVER: All things considered, the graphics are well rendered for PS2 (just don't mention GT4 and FF12), the gameplay is insanely addictive when you get into it, and the unlocks tempt you to keep going back for more. WELL worth it. I borrowed it from a friend and was impressed enough to buy it. Expand
  3. Dec 16, 2012
    10
    I'm surprised to find this game has such a low score....I enjoy this game might be worth the buy for most people.....sure the game has no online capabilities but it still is a pretty good game... Expand
  4. Liz
    Jun 5, 2006
    8
    Well, I thought it was fun, even after beating it three times over. The graphics were nice, and the CG videos were amazing, but I saw flaws there. For one, the mouths didn't move accordingly, but that can be overlooked. There are very few levels, but there are two worth your time to unlock, and they are very fun, with shortcuts and other things hidden everywhere. The other levels are fun too, however few, and give you a feeling of actually being in Sonic's universe, not in some random city. Basic controls, but they fit the bill nicly. The frusterating races come all too often though, and is the real reason why this is only worth a rent. Sonic Fans: Buy. Racing Fans: Rent. Hate both? Avoid. Expand
  5. Nov 18, 2013
    8
    Sonic Riders is not entirely a bad game. Though Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing/Transformed overshadow this one, I think it's still a good game, the controls are decent once you get used to them and the music is once again great. Hell it's much better than Zero Gravity and Free Riders by a long mile. Expand
  6. Dec 28, 2013
    7
    It's a game that at first frustrated me. After I completed the game and mastered the controls, I was able to enjoy this games great sense of speed. Managing how much air (the games fuel) and doing tricks is great fun.

    Aside from the frustration in getting a grip with this game, it's very fun, but it will destroy the padding on your control pads.
    Expand
  7. BrianA.
    Apr 3, 2006
    0
    it is an embaresment to all sonic lovers everywhere.

See all 14 User Reviews