Sonic Riders GameCube

Sonic Riders Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Sonic series takes to the track in the combat racing game, Sonic Riders. Dr. Eggman has challenged Sonic and friends to race in his World Grand Prix, and you can enter the event and try to unravel his mysterious plot. The races happen on floating boards and include tricks, fighting, andThe Sonic series takes to the track in the combat racing game, Sonic Riders. Dr. Eggman has challenged Sonic and friends to race in his World Grand Prix, and you can enter the event and try to unravel his mysterious plot. The races happen on floating boards and include tricks, fighting, and racing. You can customize your character with upgraded equipment as you race down 13 different tracks through a handful of game modes. You can also challenge three of your friends to multiplayer races. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 32
  2. Negative: 5 out of 32
  1. Sonic Riders doesn't boast too many tracks, nor does it have an online mode, which is a shame, but a bit of unique futuristic racing with familiar faces is what I'm after these days, and Sonic Riders delivers on that front hands down.
  2. It's certainly not perfect, but it is definitely playable and enjoyable. Again, my biggest complaint is the pits...pitstop that is. At any rate it's a far site better than the recently released Shadow the Hedgehog game.
  3. Endure the few inevitable instances of frustration and your left with a solid sonic spin-off.
  4. Sonic Riders tries to do something new with racing but in the end doesn't deliver a polished package.
  5. Sonic fans may fill their need for speed here, but everyone else, please walk on.
  6. Sonic Riders tries to put some zesty racing action on the line here, but suffers due to inadequate gameplay and the kind of AI that makes you want to bash your controller into pieces with a hammer.
  7. But this isn't so much a racing game as a slapdash splash of smeared color that never quite captures the feeling of hurtling down a track. [Jun 2006, p.92]

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 3 out of 17
  1. FrankG.
    Apr 15, 2006
    10
    On the outside this may seem to be just another way to squeeze money out of Sonic's name, but once you play the game you may find, as I On the outside this may seem to be just another way to squeeze money out of Sonic's name, but once you play the game you may find, as I did, that this is one of the most refreshingly fun racers in a long time. This game is in a league of its own with its racing style that combines the best of surfing, biking, skating, and many other extreme sports. Expand
  2. Dec 16, 2012
    10
    I'm surprised to find this game has such a low score....I enjoy this game might be worth the buy for most people.....sure the game has noI'm surprised to find this game has such a low score....I enjoy this game might be worth the buy for most people.....sure the game has no online capabilities but it still is a pretty good game... Expand
  3. Nov 7, 2011
    9
    This game is better than Mario Kart Double Dash. The futuristic hover board racing does not get old. It delivers what it promises, and somehowThis game is better than Mario Kart Double Dash. The futuristic hover board racing does not get old. It delivers what it promises, and somehow more. It is a blast! Expand
  4. Liz
    Jun 5, 2006
    8
    Well, I thought it was fun, even after beating it three times over. The graphics were nice, and the CG videos were amazing, but I saw flaws Well, I thought it was fun, even after beating it three times over. The graphics were nice, and the CG videos were amazing, but I saw flaws there. For one, the mouths didn't move accordingly, but that can be overlooked. There are very few levels, but there are two worth your time to unlock, and they are very fun, with shortcuts and other things hidden everywhere. The other levels are fun too, however few, and give you a feeling of actually being in Sonic's universe, not in some random city. Basic controls, but they fit the bill nicly. The frusterating races come all too often though, and is the real reason why this is only worth a rent. Sonic Fans: Buy. Racing Fans: Rent. Hate both? Avoid. Collapse
  5. Mar 13, 2015
    8
    I'm honestly not sure how this game has such a poor score, as it's actually a very fun racing game with plenty of depth and challenge; andI'm honestly not sure how this game has such a poor score, as it's actually a very fun racing game with plenty of depth and challenge; and challenge isn't something you see too often in this genre. While the variety of unlockable gears may be a bit unnecessary and the somewhat small amount of tracks can make racing eventually repetitive for some, the game (especially for a sonic title released in '06) is very fun. There are plenty of racers to choose from, and while the track number is small, it makes up for it in that the tracks themselves are very memorable. It definitely takes a lot of getting used to however, and your first impression may poor because of that. But if you do learn the intricacies of the mechanics (which may require a look at the instruction manual), you'll find a fun racer that's definitely worth picking up, as long as you don't give up on it early on. Expand
  6. Dec 28, 2013
    7
    It's a game that at first frustrated me. After I completed the game and mastered the controls, I was able to enjoy this games great sense ofIt's a game that at first frustrated me. After I completed the game and mastered the controls, I was able to enjoy this games great sense of speed. Managing how much air (the games fuel) and doing tricks is great fun.

    Aside from the frustration in getting a grip with this game, it's very fun, but it will destroy the padding on your control pads.
    Expand
  7. BrianA.
    Apr 3, 2006
    0
    it is an embaresment to all sonic lovers everywhere.

See all 17 User Reviews