Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 45
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 45
  3. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. 100
    For the vast majority of the gaming world, this is quite easily the best 3D beat 'em up ever made.
  2. Hyper-intuitive gameplay, well-produced audios and visuals, and an extreme sense of style make for the greatest traditional fighting game of all time.
  3. I say this without hyperbole: Soul Calibur II is the best fighting game ever created. The game's beautiful graphics and fantastic control are exceeded only by its incredible character balance. [Oct 2003, p.136]
  4. The absolute best fighting game available on the GameCube.
  5. 100
    Of the three console-exclusive characters, Link requires the most finesse to stay competitive but not so much that younger players will get frustrated.
  6. A noticeable step forward in the evolution of the genre. "Virtua Fighter 4" might hold the top spot among hand-to-hand fighters, but when it comes to weapons-based combat, Soul Calibur II is the undisputed champion.
  7. 100
    There isn't a better 3-D, weapons-based fighting game on the market.
  8. 100
    SCII is a rare thing. It has expertly designed fighting mechanics, a gorgeous graphical presentation, and a magnitude of features and play modes... The fighting still feels perfect. [Grade = A+ ; Sept 2003, p.48]
  9. With seemingly countless missions, weapons, and strategies, Soul Calibur II is the latest and greatest contender in the arena of thumb-numbing fighting. [5 Sept 2003, p.L2T 22]
  10. The game looks great, sounds better, and has more depth than 3 fighting games put together.
  11. 100
    Given the game’s top notch presentation, tight and accessible gameplay with considerable depth and veritable endless buffet of modes and secrets to unlock, Soul Calibur 2 is a no-brainer purchase for fighting fans. [Import]
  12. A hardcore gamer's fantasy game come true. With Eight-Way Run, Air Control, Guard Impacts, and all these other techniques in your holster, you can spend weeks training with just one character. [Sept 2003, p.103]
  13. 95
    Essentially more of the same great stuff that made its predecessor the genre-defining game that it was, but in the context of the present day and the corresponding competition, the impact of such a game has been greatly reduced.
  14. Surprising the controller was really easily to use in this game, and not a hamper like in other fighting games. I am not big on using the analog control stick for fighting games, but Namco did a great job because every move performed worked flawlessly!
  15. The amount of impeccable polish applied to Soul Calibur II is nothing short of astonishing. It rivals every fighting game in the history of gaming, and has raised the bar for every game yet to come.
  16. There's a certain point in gaming where you just stop thinking about semantics of criticism and let a moment take you. It's probably after Nightmare scrapes his hulking sword across a castle wall with sparks nipping at Talim's feet as she runs up the wall ready to slice back at her aggressor. No two-digit number can validate the pure exhilaration of that moment.
  17. 95
    Though the controls are a bit goofy at first, the graphics and sound make the game highly palatable. The addition of Link, while wholly out of place, was a good choice, as he is an excellent character to practice, learn with and master.
  18. There is no word to express how fantastic this game is. It combines outstanding graphics with loads of modes and characters, a good soundtrack, and brilliant, brilliant gameplay. Not only that, but the amount of stuff to unlock is unbelievably huge, and the game is also extremely addictive.
  19. Perfection in a fighting game. It does exactly what it says on the tin and about 200% more.
  20. 94
    Bigger and prettier than its predecessor, but it really doesn’t do much to move the series forward. Everything that made the original great is still here and improved, but there is very little that is new to the series, and even the things that are new seem more toned down than perhaps they should be.
  21. 94
    The addition of weapons to the fighting game mix has put the Soul Calibur series in its own arena; the intensity of clashing blades and the strategies afforded by their behaviors makes the game feel more visceral than any of the other fighters on the market.
  22. One of the best 3D fighters out there. Weapon Master mode creates a worthwhile single player experience, and the numerous other modes will keep players busy for months. [Import]
  23. Fluid controls, good graphics and sound, and gameplay that rocks the gaming world proclaim this one a winner. The Weapon Master and other modes will keep you busy for a while, and the multiplayer fights seem to never get old.
  24. There is no doubt in our minds that this is the finest 3D beat-'em-up we have ever played on any system, but as massive fans of both Soul Edge and Soul Calibur, we can't help but be a little disappointed. [Import]
  25. It's one of the best looking games you'll ever have seen, it's fast, punchy, boasts simple, accessible controls - the Gamecube pad's never seemed quite so complementary to a beat-'em-up - and offers rich depths for those who go looking. [NGC]
  26. Admittedly, it’s not as huge a leap in technology or innovative gameplay over the original that I would have liked to seen, but then again, the original game was already quite close to perfection, even in 1999.
  27. A pretty good game, but it could be way better. Some of the matches are very easy, I beat the final level just by kicking him to death, never used a weapon.
  28. A great game. It's got all the goods you'd expect, from solid gameplay to smooth presentation. But where the game comes up short is giving you things you don't expect, and considering that the series is in many ways unchanged since it first hit the PSX back in 1997, that’s a shame.
  29. With the grace, speed and precision of a great 2D fighter placed exactly in a 3D mold, Soul Calibur 2 is the only fighter I'll need for a very long time. [Oct 2003, p.72]
  30. No other beat 'em up developer is quite as willing to experiment with the form in a bid to stave off the moribundity that's gradually subsuming the genre. [Import - June 2003, p.88]
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 103 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 62
  2. Negative: 2 out of 62
  1. Jun 22, 2011
    10
    One of the best DC games ever get one of the best fighting game sequels to date. Pros: Excellent graphics, sound, and control; likable characters; lots of easy-to-learn combos; lots of single-player and multiplayer modes; Link is the best of the trio's exclusive characters. Cons: No online play. Full Review »
  2. Oct 10, 2013
    8
    I have played a lot of fighting games, the best one is Super Smash Bros. Melee. This one is a very close second but I still feel that this game is really great. Graphics are good for the time, characters are great, and the music makes chills go down my spine. This game makes me feel like I'm going straight into battle and might actually might die. Soulcalibur as a series is somewhat of a forgotten Gem, the fist game of the series is a good game but I rarely hear about people who played it. For some reason all the other games in the series have some sort of cameo in there games. Link was in the gamecube and Spawn was in the Xbox release. I liked that there were different characters in both copies of the game, small differences that make a the experiences different for the players of the game. Regardless of the lack of story line and lack of interaction in regards of other types of fighting, I really do like this game but I only like this game out of the series. The third game is cool I guess but the fourth is not good and only really has some customization in it and some online play. The series needs to take a page out of MK's book and stay to there roots. Yes I know that MK has made some games but they were only because of the story they were trying to tell. In the end Soulcalibur II is awesome and if you like Link trust me this is the best cameo ever. Never played the Xbox version but I probably would feel the same, I highly recommend on people playing this gem. Full Review »
  3. Jun 26, 2013
    9
    As far as 3D fighting games go, this is as good as it gets. Soul Calibur 2 is an amazing fighting game, full of challenges to conquer, characters and weapons to unlock, and stages to try out. The mechanics are solid, the music is great, and the characters are well designed. The best part of this game is the inclusion of Link as a playable character.

    If you're a fan of fighting games, don't miss this one. It's one of the best.
    Full Review »