SoulCalibur II GameCube

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 122 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 3 out of 122

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ArturG.
    Apr 4, 2005
    10
    This IS the best fighting game ever!
  2. Jun 22, 2011
    10
    One of the best DC games ever get one of the best fighting game sequels to date. Pros: Excellent graphics, sound, and control; likable characters; lots of easy-to-learn combos; lots of single-player and multiplayer modes; Link is the best of the trio's exclusive characters. Cons: No online play.
  3. ChristopherP.
    Nov 22, 2003
    6
    It obviously looks great and plays smoothly but i just don't think it's a significant step up from soul calibur. the toning down of guard impacting and parrying i think was a mistake because defense is extremely difficult now. button mashers can very easily win against all but the most expert of players, and the whole atmosphere, from the visuals to the music and sounds justIt obviously looks great and plays smoothly but i just don't think it's a significant step up from soul calibur. the toning down of guard impacting and parrying i think was a mistake because defense is extremely difficult now. button mashers can very easily win against all but the most expert of players, and the whole atmosphere, from the visuals to the music and sounds just lacks the esthetic qualities of the original. it's unnecessarily frustrating as well due to the underpoweredness of some of the most impressive moves and the overpowering of quick, tap-tap-tap moves. it just loses its appeal too fast. Expand
  4. GlenR.
    Sep 27, 2003
    0
    Too easy and i love Link but i completed the game in 1 day.
  5. AlvaroC.
    Dec 5, 2004
    2
    This is a button masher highly over-rated game.
  6. NikN.
    Jul 2, 2004
    10
    Rarely do fighting games work for me. This, however, was quite the exeption. As opposed to many fighting games, this game is more than merely a bunch of grown men and women punching the crap out of each other. There is plenty of tactics and preferences, arsenals, costume designs, and countless unlockables things that could keep me playing this game until the cows come home. And I really Rarely do fighting games work for me. This, however, was quite the exeption. As opposed to many fighting games, this game is more than merely a bunch of grown men and women punching the crap out of each other. There is plenty of tactics and preferences, arsenals, costume designs, and countless unlockables things that could keep me playing this game until the cows come home. And I really like the character Kilik.....Go bhuddists! Expand
  7. AzizK.
    Sep 22, 2003
    10
    ANOTHER EXCELLENT GAMECUBE GAME!!
  8. Afro
    Sep 30, 2003
    10
    This is one cool game, I could not belive that you could finish this game in a day(weapons master mode!
  9. Cantbbeat
    Oct 28, 2003
    10
    This game is gangsta better than the other soulcalibur. yall think the game is easy because yall put the diff. level on easy haha loserz...
  10. Hal9000
    May 28, 2003
    10
    I bought the Jap version of this game a month or so ago with a freeloader disc and i can tell you almost all the game is in english so god knows why its not guna be in the uk till autumn? Anyway this is the best beatemup I've played. it moves beautifully and plays superbly (mainly played as a multiplayer) and I liked it so much I would happily recomend paying £55 for it annnd I bought the Jap version of this game a month or so ago with a freeloader disc and i can tell you almost all the game is in english so god knows why its not guna be in the uk till autumn? Anyway this is the best beatemup I've played. it moves beautifully and plays superbly (mainly played as a multiplayer) and I liked it so much I would happily recomend paying £55 for it annnd I'm guna buy it for the Xbox as well... get it cos you wont be disappointed. Expand
  11. AndreS.
    Jul 22, 2003
    10
    Soul Calibur ll looks tight and with Link it kicks ass! The gamecube version of sc2 beats the ps2 and xbox by a long shot!!
  12. CarlosA.
    Jul 31, 2003
    10
    It's an awesome videogame! excellent fighting and great characters.link is also great and the control on the characters is outstanding.
  13. MikeS.
    Aug 26, 2003
    10
    This is is one of the best games ever made.
  14. ZeroG.
    Sep 13, 2003
    10
    Link is the BEST!!
  15. TiksonY.
    Sep 30, 2003
    10
    This game is the worlds best fight game i seen. and Link is the best.
  16. RyanM.
    Sep 6, 2003
    10
    Fun as hell. Excellent graphics..GREAT!! control. BEST VERSION!!!! LINK
  17. A.S
    Jan 27, 2004
    10
    Man you wrote a lot...but this game is cool. Link is better than Spawn and Heihachi.
  18. EduardoR.
    Oct 21, 2005
    10
    I used to think Mortal Kombat Deception was the best fighting game for GC. I was wrong. Besides, you can play as LINK. It makes all the diference.
  19. JustinB.
    Oct 3, 2005
    10
    While its essentially a port from the DC, there isn't really anything that they could have done better. With great controls and a focus on timing on attack choice instead of Mortal Kombat's tedious and boring combo memorization, this highly intuitive fighter should set the bar as to what fighting games should be.
  20. BenjaminB.
    Jan 10, 2007
    8
    Soul Calibur II is a well-made fighter that has wonderful multiplayer and deep combat. The character models are breathtaking, and there's loads of unlockable weapons and other stuff. The only problem is that the computer players tend to be rather stupid, and the Weapon Master mode (SCII's story mode) is too long-winded and repetitive. But as far as two player duels go, it Soul Calibur II is a well-made fighter that has wonderful multiplayer and deep combat. The character models are breathtaking, and there's loads of unlockable weapons and other stuff. The only problem is that the computer players tend to be rather stupid, and the Weapon Master mode (SCII's story mode) is too long-winded and repetitive. But as far as two player duels go, it doesn't get better than this. Expand
  21. JesseM.
    Nov 23, 2003
    10
    I LOVE this game! I mean after you beat Weapon Master it get's super hard to get more experiance points but the game still rules and is a blast!
  22. Wario
    Dec 30, 2003
    10
    This game is one of the best fighting titles ever. However I do think they could have put a bit more effort into the voice acting, especially Links.
  23. RobertC.
    Oct 31, 2003
    9
    This is a great game it is very similar to the original thuogh biggest problem is you'll beat it in 2 days.
  24. AnthonyC.
    Oct 31, 2003
    10
    Although i did like the first one i think SC2 has to be at least 20X better.
  25. BlancoA.
    May 14, 2003
    10
    Link looks incredibly cool in this game. I played it for about 20 minutes at E3 this morning, and I was far from disappointed. It certainly picks up from where the Dreamcast game left off in terms of quality gameplay.
  26. MIkeM.
    Jul 22, 2003
    10
    Its great, the best fighting game since Super Smash Bros.
  27. ShawnT.
    Jul 23, 2003
    10
    Greatest game since Super Smash Bros.? Try greatest game since Mortal Kombat: Deadly Alliance.
  28. Dandle
    Aug 28, 2003
    9
    Excellent but admittedly not a quantum leap beyond the Dreamcast classic.
  29. Riposte101
    Sep 4, 2003
    8
    Namco?s Soul Calibur for the Sega Dreamcast was a landmark video game and a defining moment in my long video game history. It is what I consider to still be the best 3-D fighter ever made and well worth buying a Dreamcast just to play. KenshiroKing and I used to play until our thumbs bled and even today we still throw it in occasionally and end up playing for hours on end, all the while Namco?s Soul Calibur for the Sega Dreamcast was a landmark video game and a defining moment in my long video game history. It is what I consider to still be the best 3-D fighter ever made and well worth buying a Dreamcast just to play. KenshiroKing and I used to play until our thumbs bled and even today we still throw it in occasionally and end up playing for hours on end, all the while marveling at the spectacular combinations and guard impact strings we are able to assemble against each other. Enough reminiscing about Soul Calibur and let?s move onto its sequel. The story begins by me having to spend two hours standing in line waiting on the truck to deliver the game to the GameStop that I had pre-ordered it from. When it finally arrived, I promptly picked up all three versions of the game because each comes with an exclusive character, those damn marketing geniuses. Link of classic Nintendo fame is sick and tired of saving Zelda and decides to check out what the whole fuss is about a Soul Edge for the Gamecube. He comes wielding swords, shields, bombs, boomerangs, bows and sharp sticks. Where?s his hook shot? His tactics are almost as dirty as that Michael Jackson-looking, cheating pirate himself, Cervantes and that pistol-hiding off-hand sword of his. For a good laugh check out Link?s throw from behind the opponent. The Gamecube suffers from a directional pad that is so small that it forces the player to use the analog stick, which as an old skool fighting game player makes me cringe. The button placement is radically different from the Dreamcast, Xbox and PS2 controllers, thus making it a frustrating transition if you?ve learned to play the game on those formats. The buttons have different tensions, which makes it more difficult to pull off the slide button moves (where you slide your thumb from A to B). To make up for this design flaw the controller does provide the right analog stick that performs some of the more difficult to execute button press combinations for the controller with a simple thumb movement, something I would feel dirty using. Having the worst controller ever devised for a fighting game hampers the Gamecube, but the novelty of Link and graphics that are almost on par with the X-box make this version a decent pick. Heihachi Mishima is pissed somebody stole his diaper from Tekken 4 and he journeys to the past to wear Japanese sandals and kick ass on the PS2 version. I have always been a fan of the Sony Playstation Directional pad. They are perfectly suited to a fighting game. The buttons are also less raised when compared to the X-Box?s S-Controller. All this adds up to the PS2 taking the crown as the best controller of the three consoles. The exclusive character is a matter of opinion, but mine is that Heihachi is the worst of the three. The most glaring problem with the PS2 is the occasional slow down that occurs. This is unforgivable in any game let alone a reflex-based fighter. The PS2 graphics processor having preceded its competition by a full year has not aged well. This is shown clearly when comparing the three side-by-side against the X-box and Gamecube iterations. Even with all these problems, the controller is a big factor in the decision to go with this console. Possibly because he shares the same colors (black and green) as the console, the X-box version has Spawn as the exclusive character. He comes sans cape, but with a shit-eating grin as he subtly plugs his upcoming Spawn game made by guess who, Namco. Although Spawn is a positive addition to the game, how many of us would have preferred the Master Chief swinging around a Covenant sword or two and Cortana jumping out and doing some shit talking for him? All of us? Thought so. Nonetheless Spawn, who is agile and high-kicking enough to be given the moniker Ninja Spawn. Although, his range is limited with his axe, he makes up for it with his furious feet and being able to fly about and rain hell fire down on unsuspecting foes. The X-box version comes out swinging with the best graphics and sound (720p HDTV support and Dolby Digital 5.1). It also boasts the second best character and controller of the three. Get this version if you have an HDTV or home audio system. Everybody from Soul Calibur is back in one form or another. Besides the console exclusives, new to the game are also Raphael, a rapier twirling fencer, Talim, a slight tonfa wielding girl, Cassandra, a short-sword and shield specialist and Necrid a Todd McFarlane inspired stealer of other character?s moves. If you played the original Soul Calibur not much will be new to you here and that is the biggest problem with the game. The only real change is in the aesthetics. The enhancements of an overhauled graphics engine, some combat tweaks, a few new characters and new stages do not a sequel make. This game should have been called Soul Calibur 1.5 rather than 2. I mean seriously, could we have at least gotten new weapon demonstrations for fuck?s sake. Speaking of combat tweaks, the characters have an annoying momentary pause right after they get up that was not there before in Soul Calibur. The weapon master mode is the largest means by which to unlock stages, characters, weapons and outfits and that is almost incentive enough to go through it. The process of doing so was as close to torture as I want to ever get. The dungeon crawling fights for some of the missions almost had me turning off the game and forgetting about the unlockables. As a veteran of Soul Calibur, the difficulty was marginal and the computer A.I. is as pathetic as it was in the original. Rather than enjoying my time with the game it just became a matter of sitting there and pounding out the missions. The game really shines in the one on one mode. Soul Calibur 2 should be praised on its great versus game that still conjures up the same feelings as the original. My complaints about the game are silenced once I sit down against a human opponent. With skilled players, the fights become something more and live on in memory as elaborate dances. No other game can do that. That is why this game still kicks the ass of every other fighter out there. Expand
  30. MrNibbles
    Sep 8, 2003
    9
    Just short of absolutely unbelievable, and a little better than Grrrrrrrreat!
  31. JOESUMO?
    Nov 9, 2004
    10
    The sweetest fighting game ever. Fairly repetitive but as far as fighting games go, it doesnt get much better. Its got over 200 weapons 20+ characters, hundreds of sweet moves, and a long interesting story mode with enough twists, turns, and challenges to keep u interested til the end. A BEST BUY!
  32. Cubeoid
    Jan 21, 2004
    10
    This is the best fighter ever. Amazing graphics, atmospheric music and wonderfully deep gameplay.
  33. AB
    Oct 29, 2004
    10
    This game is amazing in all aspects. The graphics are gorgeous, the music is beautiful, and (most importantly) you can play as Link! Yes, the Link from Zelda! And, oh yeah, the gameplay is great, too. And you can play as Link!
  34. Finaljudgement
    Feb 5, 2004
    9
    This game was excellent. The characters were great and I like the attacks that Link does. And the fact that different characters appear for different systems is a great idea. Namco ROCKS!!!
  35. ProfessorFrink
    Jun 14, 2004
    10
    This. Is. The. Best. Fighting. Game. Ever. Made. Right down to the detailed storyline, the many, many, MANY weapons, and the good graphics. Don't miss out on buying this, it's only about 20$ now.
  36. RobertA.
    Jul 15, 2004
    9
    Link baby. this is the version you buy. the 1 point off is because after hours of play i got a sick stomach. and didn't play for weeks. but i played it again and was just as pleased as i was when i had started.
  37. MikH.
    Jan 19, 2005
    10
    I used to be a huge fan of this game on the Dreamcast and it has only gotten better on the GameCube! Loads of characters and weapons, superb graphics and amazing game play make this 3-D weapon wielder suitable for either novice pick-up-and-play button bashers like your Dad, or experienced 24:7 gaming masters. With a plethora of different game modes and characters you will be playing this I used to be a huge fan of this game on the Dreamcast and it has only gotten better on the GameCube! Loads of characters and weapons, superb graphics and amazing game play make this 3-D weapon wielder suitable for either novice pick-up-and-play button bashers like your Dad, or experienced 24:7 gaming masters. With a plethora of different game modes and characters you will be playing this game for years to come. Soul Calibur 2 is THE complete 3-D beat em' up, and is an essential game for GameCube/PS2/Xbox owners alike. Expand
  38. EddieH.
    Sep 2, 2005
    7
    Very over rated game. There are no cut scenes and the story is horrible. The graphics are very good. Most of the weapons are not needed because there is 1 or 2 that is clearly the best choice no matter what. The gamecube version had Link which was really cool though.
  39. M.S.
    May 4, 2006
    9
    This is a positively incredible gaming experience. To be honest I could care less about the first SC because from what I've heard it's pretty much the same as this. So on that note...Let's begin shall we? The graphics. Yes these graphics are wonderfully detailed and brilliently rendered, only Tekken 5 has looked better than this. The character models are splendidly This is a positively incredible gaming experience. To be honest I could care less about the first SC because from what I've heard it's pretty much the same as this. So on that note...Let's begin shall we? The graphics. Yes these graphics are wonderfully detailed and brilliently rendered, only Tekken 5 has looked better than this. The character models are splendidly detailed, the animations run smooth as hell, and to top it off the environments look fantastic. The sound. Yes well I felt some of the voice actors and actresses were really execllent...but some of them were either overly zealous or irritating beyond belief. The best of the lot were those of Raphael, Cervantes, Ivy, Kilik, Taki, Yoshimitsu (Hilarious), and Mitsurugi. The music is terrific and suits the epic feel of the game's combat quite well. The gameplay. The gameplay is perfect...enough said. The value. There is simply a ton to do in this game and even after you unlock everything you get rewarded with more modes and characters to extend the play time double. So unlcoking is not the only reason to keep playing. It's what happens WHEN you unlock stuff. If I have one reason to score this lower than the xbox version it's this. Link was terribly executed and a joke to look at and to hear. Not at all fun to play as. But everything else is near flawless. Expand
  40. AaronP.
    Aug 3, 2008
    10
    I love what namco did by having Link in the game it makes the experience better by playing as a great long loved Nintendo character in a awesome fighting game. This game is awesome every one should get a taste of the game!
  41. JohnS
    Sep 10, 2009
    8
    Everything about this game is cool. The characters each had their own stand out style personality. A whole slew of modes keeps the fun going. but i found a bit wrong also. Berserker, Assassian, and Lizardman featured limited play and only one weapon each. they should have had their own characters along with charade. over all, i found the level design to be dull as well. it's still a Everything about this game is cool. The characters each had their own stand out style personality. A whole slew of modes keeps the fun going. but i found a bit wrong also. Berserker, Assassian, and Lizardman featured limited play and only one weapon each. they should have had their own characters along with charade. over all, i found the level design to be dull as well. it's still a great game underneath. Expand
  42. LinkRules
    Nov 1, 2003
    10
    Yep.... It's awesome.
  43. Justin
    Nov 15, 2003
    8
    Great variety of moves and great picture. But some of the characters tend to be similar to others (cassandr, sophitia, lizardman; astaroth, berserker; yunsung, assassin) and the voices and taunts are more annoying than entertaining or even creative.
  44. JerryS.
    Aug 12, 2003
    10
    Just one word: Cool!!!
  45. DirtySoap
    Aug 16, 2003
    10
    Greatest game since MK: Deadly Alliance? Try best game since Soul Calibur 1! MK: Deadly Alliance was a blip on the mediocre fighting game radar screen. All these years, they still can't make a good fighting engine, or spell. I played SC2 in the arcade,... fantastic!
  46. DavidF.
    Aug 25, 2003
    10
    The GameCube version is the best and it has better controls and better graphics and has a better secert ecsclusive character Link.
  47. StuartJ.
    Apr 17, 2004
    9
    Wipes the floor with other fighting games like mortal kombat and the such. weapon master mode is a challenge but can get very frustrating but then u can always go smash ya friends face ina nd every things ok. lots of things to do, fun to play with some good characters but the only thing that drags this down from 10 to a 9 is that rapheal is so gay and incredibly annoying in 2p mode. p.s.Wipes the floor with other fighting games like mortal kombat and the such. weapon master mode is a challenge but can get very frustrating but then u can always go smash ya friends face ina nd every things ok. lots of things to do, fun to play with some good characters but the only thing that drags this down from 10 to a 9 is that rapheal is so gay and incredibly annoying in 2p mode. p.s. TALIM RULES. Expand
  48. Gene
    Jul 25, 2004
    9
    This game is great. Realistic sounds and graphics, a great musical score, and fun to use characters. The only thing I dislike about it is that the computer is so cheap. This game usually cheats and I can hardly ever get past some Weapon Master levels. This is a must-have for fighting gamers everywhere.
  49. TonyG.
    Jan 14, 2006
    10
    how did they fit all that on 1 little disc??? tremendously huge. this is why i play video games. thank the video game god this is a greatest hit title ... even though i would definitly pay $50 for it. worth what ever penny you pay. truly outstanding all around. greatest fighter of all time. perfect!
  50. PatrickA.
    Oct 17, 2006
    10
    I think the game is aswome, the graphics are fine. The most astonishing part was all of the levels. I love games like this with tons of level beacuse you dont have to get board of beating it in two weeks. This game is da' bomb!
  51. HavikK
    Nov 19, 2003
    7
    This game was a little easy for me and I don't have the time or patience to learn new moves for every character like Street Fighter II. But if you have the time, then this is a really good fighting game with awesome graphics.
  52. Andre'S.
    Dec 22, 2003
    10
    I don't know what the hell is with u guys rating this game a 7 or 6. This game totally rocks!!! The gameplay and graphics are awesome, but the english voices do kinda suck, so just change it to japanese!
  53. SarahE.
    Dec 28, 2005
    10
    While playing the game, I noticed how well executed the fighting moves are. I was also amazed at how realistic the very posture and conduct of each character is. I think the storyline was good but had some errors in it. Also, I was a bit baffled that the good sword, Soul Calibur, was almost just as demonic looking and ugly as Soul Edge. Overall, the game is great and the graphics are superior.
  54. Mar 16, 2013
    10
    Amazing graphics for the gamecube, balanced fast and fun gameplay, great charisma of the characters, master of weapons mode, duration, great extra stuff like photos, artworks or videos, the addition of Link. This game doesn't need more.
  55. Jan 8, 2011
    9
    SoulCaliber 2 is new and ultimately one of the best games for the gamecube. The characters are attractive and this game boasts great graphics, with extremely fast moves. The story mode will keep you well entertained, whilst there are many different modes on the VS mode to keep you playing with friends and family for hours on end. There are no flaws with this game, the reason for failingSoulCaliber 2 is new and ultimately one of the best games for the gamecube. The characters are attractive and this game boasts great graphics, with extremely fast moves. The story mode will keep you well entertained, whilst there are many different modes on the VS mode to keep you playing with friends and family for hours on end. There are no flaws with this game, the reason for failing full marks is, when you play the game, as you will see, it just seems to be missing something that you can't quite put your finger on. Collapse
  56. Jun 4, 2011
    10
    Easily one of the best fighting games ever. Pros: Beautiful graphics; variety of characters and weapons; variety of modes; Weapon Master; Link. Cons: Lack of unlockable characters and content.
  57. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    One of the best games of all time. The gameplay, sound, and graphics are great. The characters are awesome. Link is a worthy addition to this game. There are a variety of modes.
  58. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    It's been nearly a decade and this Soul Calibur is still the best by leaps and bounds. My friends and I still play it since the rest of the franchise is made of dress up games.
  59. Jun 25, 2012
    10
    This is, in my opinion, the best fighting game of all time. The ammount of modes are wonderful, the gameplay is excellent, and the game looks great. There are loads of content to unlock and I love playing it still. This is one of my all time favorite games.
  60. Jan 19, 2013
    9
    This is the second best fighting game on the Gamecube, only behind Melee. Gameplay and graphics are combined to form one of the most exalted entries in the series and rightfully so. Having tons of content surprisingly packed into the adventure and a varied cast of characters (including an awesome Link), this is a must-have for the Gamecube that will provide endless amounts of fun.
  61. Jun 26, 2013
    9
    As far as 3D fighting games go, this is as good as it gets. Soul Calibur 2 is an amazing fighting game, full of challenges to conquer, characters and weapons to unlock, and stages to try out. The mechanics are solid, the music is great, and the characters are well designed. The best part of this game is the inclusion of Link as a playable character.

    If you're a fan of fighting games,
    As far as 3D fighting games go, this is as good as it gets. Soul Calibur 2 is an amazing fighting game, full of challenges to conquer, characters and weapons to unlock, and stages to try out. The mechanics are solid, the music is great, and the characters are well designed. The best part of this game is the inclusion of Link as a playable character.

    If you're a fan of fighting games, don't miss this one. It's one of the best.
    Expand
  62. Oct 10, 2013
    8
    I have played a lot of fighting games, the best one is Super Smash Bros. Melee. This one is a very close second but I still feel that this game is really great. Graphics are good for the time, characters are great, and the music makes chills go down my spine. This game makes me feel like I'm going straight into battle and might actually might die. Soulcalibur as a series is somewhat of aI have played a lot of fighting games, the best one is Super Smash Bros. Melee. This one is a very close second but I still feel that this game is really great. Graphics are good for the time, characters are great, and the music makes chills go down my spine. This game makes me feel like I'm going straight into battle and might actually might die. Soulcalibur as a series is somewhat of a forgotten Gem, the fist game of the series is a good game but I rarely hear about people who played it. For some reason all the other games in the series have some sort of cameo in there games. Link was in the gamecube and Spawn was in the Xbox release. I liked that there were different characters in both copies of the game, small differences that make a the experiences different for the players of the game. Regardless of the lack of story line and lack of interaction in regards of other types of fighting, I really do like this game but I only like this game out of the series. The third game is cool I guess but the fourth is not good and only really has some customization in it and some online play. The series needs to take a page out of MK's book and stay to there roots. Yes I know that MK has made some games but they were only because of the story they were trying to tell. In the end Soulcalibur II is awesome and if you like Link trust me this is the best cameo ever. Never played the Xbox version but I probably would feel the same, I highly recommend on people playing this gem. Expand
  63. May 28, 2014
    9
    Graphics: 9.5 Sound: 9.0 Gameplay: 9.0 Fun/Story: 8.5

    A very good game, with nice graphics and nice gameplay. The presence of Link helps to shine even more.
    Recommended.
  64. Jan 8, 2011
    0
    SoulCaliber 2 is new and ultimately one of the best games for the gamecube. The characters are attractive and this game boasts great graphics, with extremely fast moves. The story mode will keep you well entertained, whilst there are many different modes on the VS mode to keep you playing with friends and family for hours on end. There are no flaws with this game, the reason for failingSoulCaliber 2 is new and ultimately one of the best games for the gamecube. The characters are attractive and this game boasts great graphics, with extremely fast moves. The story mode will keep you well entertained, whilst there are many different modes on the VS mode to keep you playing with friends and family for hours on end. There are no flaws with this game, the reason for failing full marks is, when you play the game, as you will see, it just seems to be missing something that you can't quite put your finger on. Collapse
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 45
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 45
  3. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. 100
    For the vast majority of the gaming world, this is quite easily the best 3D beat 'em up ever made.
  2. No other beat 'em up developer is quite as willing to experiment with the form in a bid to stave off the moribundity that's gradually subsuming the genre. [Import - June 2003, p.88]
  3. 90
    No two battles are ever the same, something new always seems to crop up each time. It is the essence of fun, dedication and competition that causes players to continue competing and hoping to get better. [JPN Import]