SSX 3 GameCube
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. To say that EA Sports Big outdid themselves is an understatement. I’ve been playing this game regularly for two weeks, and I’m not even close to completion.
  2. 100
    While other snowboarding games run out of steam mid-shred, the SSX series continues to gain momentum. [Dec 2003, p.44]
  3. While many courses here are modeled from past runs, most are barely recognizable, at best. They're like the ugly kid from high school who turns out to be a model ten years later.
  4. 100
    It’s the kind of game that can be played indefinitely and a player’s performance will continually improve. The tasks ahead look daunting at first, but the depth of the game quickly becomes a player’s best friend as each new play session introduces new surprises.
  5. 100
    This third game in the snowboarding series features a complete overhaul, dropping the whole race-circuit idea and taking a more open-ended, Grand Theft Auto–like approach to snowboard competition.
  6. From the huge open mountain to the convincing radio station to the numerous events, this is one cool experience.
  7. It combines superb graphics with deep gameplay to bring gamers a great gaming experience. It’s not often that a game gets every aspect of the game right.
  8. Exactly what a sequel should be about: Genuine improvement over the original, emphasising what was liked, removing what wasn’t and gaining new ideas.
  9. The controls are beautifully fluid, that is once you get used to them. The learning curve on this title is difficult, especially if you haven’t played an SSX title before.
  10. I was doing stuff that at least looked neat right away. Then, the game got harder, and I got better. This is one of the title's strongest points - a perfect ramp-up of difficulty and skill acquisition. [Nov 2003, p.154]
  11. I'm already in love with this mountain, and all I want to do is get back up to the peaks and board down that fresh powder.
  12. 95
    Possibly the finest snowboarding game ever. SSX 3 offers an insane amount number of challenges, near-limitless replay value, and tight gameplay from start to finish.
  13. The visuals in this game are simply amazing. The levels and backgrounds look sharp and are filled with shades of blue. The sun demonstrates realistic reflectivity, it can shine in your eyes and even create shadows.
  14. 93
    The best snowboarding game I ever played. It's arcade-centric, trick heavy, and on the third peak, it's brutal, but in the end, nothing comes close to SSX 3.
  15. The repertoire of tricks has been massively expanded. There are now rail Ubers and hand plants to experiment with but, most interestingly, you can now perform a board press to link combos together for big points.
  16. The snow effects are unrivaled, the framerate is consistently high and the colors are vibrant. Add to that great animations (particularly during tricks) and an intense sense of speed, and you wind up with one of those rare games that can be as much fun to watch as to play.
  17. It's a game that's just incredible fun, mixing in all sorts of gaming ideas with the thrill of the real sport, painting a final touch of extreme excess and color for scintillating effect. [Nov 2003, p.86]
  18. Whether it's speed or stunts, manic or mellow, big air or backcountry, SSX 3 does it all, and it does it all with style.
  19. While at a glance it seems that this game is just a slightly more polished SSX engine with new levels, the new single player campaign makes such an impact on how the game is presented and played that it really sets this game out from its predecessors.
  20. The game's new, open-ended structure, excellent audio, enhanced trick system, and improved graphics combine to make this a superlative sequel to a series that's always had high standards.
  21. The lack of fantastical obstacles and other Tricky-exclusive elements is admittedly missed, but the inclusion of so many other excellent improvements makes you quickly forget that this ain't "Tricky."
  22. The difficulty curve is perfect. Can't win a particular race? No problem. Take a practice run to look for shortcuts or shell out some prize money to upgrade your character, and you'll be right back on the road to snowboarding superstardom.
  23. Even though the game only supports two-player simultaneous gameplay, there are so many modes and so much to do and see that it feels much bigger in scope. It's going to take months to unlock everything - something 1080 can't brag about.
  24. A worthy sequel that takes the series in a new direction of an open-ended structure while improving upon the sheer fun of the over-the-top trick-heavy gameplay.
  25. With outstanding new elements into the gameplay, sound, visuals and other elements that are in today’s high standards, it wouldn’t be wrong to say that this is one of the most enjoyable experiences you’ll have on any platform this year.
  26. The game's 10 snowboarders are over the top, and the action is crazy fun. [Jan 2004, p.158]
  27. Given the constraints of the sport, SSX 3 does a great job of keeping the game as open as possible. If nothing else, the SSX series represents something of a benchmark for snowboarding games, a trend that continues with this instalment. No one title of this generation can claim obvious superiority. [Dec 2003, p.102]
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. JT
    Dec 5, 2009
    10
    I'm not really as huge gamer (unless you count the whole Zelda series), but I thought this game is extraordinary. It takes the whole I'm not really as huge gamer (unless you count the whole Zelda series), but I thought this game is extraordinary. It takes the whole snowboarding genre, turns it on it's head, and makes a great gaming experience. One of the best games I've ever played. The best game in the entire SSX series. Full Review »
  2. Mar 6, 2014
    10
    With great graphics for 2003, excellent controls, stunning level design, and a kicking soundtrack of fantastic artists, SSX3 proved that youWith great graphics for 2003, excellent controls, stunning level design, and a kicking soundtrack of fantastic artists, SSX3 proved that you don't need a powerful engine to have fun, and remains one of my favorite games of all time to this day. Full Review »
  3. KarlN.
    Sep 21, 2007
    8
    A nice game but not my style. I like the idea of racing snowboards but this game is more about finding shortcuts and doing stunt combinations A nice game but not my style. I like the idea of racing snowboards but this game is more about finding shortcuts and doing stunt combinations than it is about racing. Full Review »