User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 82 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 82
  2. Negative: 16 out of 82

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 1, 2011
    6
    i love the star fox games and wasnt overly thrilled about this one being a platformer and not s shooter. but still wanted to give it a try. its ok but its abit buggy had a few times of my game freezing up. i got about half way through it and frooze up 3 times during the boss fight and just abandoned the game and no my disk was not scratched i looked . mayhbe a bad a copy though. over all i say pass on it unless you really like platforming games. Expand
  2. Jul 3, 2011
    6
    I find this game to be a complete and weak copy of Zelda. And I find the romance bits between two furries to be awkward at times (i'm not a hater on furries in general, this is purely the game). The arwing, which was a pinnacle for the previous Star Fox games, is left in the shelf for only the necessary uses, which leaves this game something to be desired. And by that, I mean, I feel this game to be very weak for an adventure game. Expand
  3. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    Brilliant design, great gameplay and awesome graphics. This game is so underrated. The only flaw with this game was the ending which was rushed and random, but if you look into the history surrounding Rare during the development of this game, it's kind of explained why. The biggest complaint I hear about this game is that it isn't a true starfox game, but that is because it wasn't meant to be a starfox game originally! All that aside, this is a great adventure game! Expand
  4. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    I like this Star Fox better than others because you have the freedom to play as Star Fox out of an Arwing. The gameplay is kinda like Zelda games in a way that you go into a dungeon-like area and return to a field.
  5. Aug 27, 2012
    10
    Great game. I go back to it often thanks to its mesmerizing visuals and addictive gameplay. The music is incredible. You have to hear it to know what I'm talking about. Overall, an amazing game. If you own a GameCube, this is the game to buy.
  6. Jan 12, 2013
    6
    they say Star Fox Adventures was a letdown because of the odd story, uninteresting, annoying, pointless, or just stupid characters, lack of relevance to the other Star Fox games, and being a Zelda clone. Well in my opinion, they'd be right. Star Fox fan since have wanted a true Star Fox 64 sequel, but instead get Star Fox Assault, Star Fox Command, and Star Fox 64 3D. And fans of the game even have the guts to compare to Legend of Zelda, some even going as far as to say it's better. This game wouldn't be that bad if 1. It wasn't a Star Fox game 2. Trippy didn't follow you like this game was Nintendogs Expand
  7. Jun 26, 2013
    8
    As a kid, I played this game through at lead 20 times. It really is a great game, full of puzzles, actions, and awesome bosses. The issue is that it's not a good Star Fox game. Imagine giving Mario a FPS game. Even if it was the best FPS around, it still would be a terrible Mario game. That same logic applies to this game. Even though it is awesome and definitely worth your attention, just don't expect Star Fox like you remember it. Expand
  8. May 20, 2013
    8
    Star Fox Adventures is a good game. The graphics, controls, story, and music are excellent. The puzzle solving of Star Fox Adventures is the best part of the game. The mini-games are easy to complete with an exception of a few that are tough.
  9. Jun 13, 2013
    0
    THIS IS A 2ND RATE LoZ CLONE!!! PLUS STAR FOX ALREADY HAD A FORMULA AND THEY DECIDED TO JUST PUT FOX IN A LoZ CLONE, DINOSAUR PLANET!!! AND ONE LAST THING THE THINGS YOU DO MAKES ME WANT TO JUST PLAY LoZ OCARINA OF TIME!!!
  10. Nov 25, 2013
    10
    This game, is amazing! There is adventure and excitement around very turn! Amazing twists and turns will be sure to hook you! It's not your typical star-ship fighter Star-fox, but it is a really enjoyable game! I can see some relation to the Zelda games but all in all, the plot is totally different and the games really shouldn't be compared. The gameplay is smooth and enjoyable(if a bit challenging) the graphics are gorgeous, and the story is full of both humor and action;in all the right places. The level design is unique and playable, giving the player a sense of immersion. The characters are all realistic, and are fun to talk to! You'll enjoy exploring Dinosaur Planet even without the galactic starship battles.
    I'm devoted to the space battle form of Star-Fox but I can defintely make an exception for this awesome game! I totally recommend it for anyone who wants a fun exploring/questing/battling game!
    Expand
  11. Dec 19, 2013
    9
    It's a shame that most people don't know the development of this game. It was never meant to be a Star Fox game so it gets bad reviews by players. I for one think this game is amazing. I would have really liked for it to be Dinosaur Planet for the N64 instead of Star Fox Adventures but we may never know how the game was like. This is my favorite game on the Gamecube and for good reason. I think when people play the game they should at least do some research on what the game was originally like. Expand
  12. Apr 21, 2014
    0
    WTF this games just suck chicken balls and is one of the lamest games made in the USA along with some sonic games this games sucks so bad my little brother didn't wanna play this sh!t and he only 4 i tried letting him play and the little basterd cried SHAME ON THE PEOPLE WHO MADE IT
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. The main downfall comes with the closing areas of the game; they seem rushed and are indicative of the sale of Rare to Microsoft, but don't let that prevent you from thoroughly enjoying one of the best videogames of this year.
  2. Takes its inspiration from "The Legend of Zelda" - and that ain't bad. [Feb 2003, p.96]
  3. It lacks tension (combat is totally one-sided), set pieces (there are two whole bosses in the entire game), a gripping story (Krystal's kidnapped, you rescue Spirits, you fight General Scales), and any of the myriad different things that the game it principally tries to emulate (Zelda) was so famous for.