Star Fox: Assault Image
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 78 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Team Star Fox is back for more intense combat as they engage a new threat by air and by land. A few years after disaster was barely averted on Dinosaur Planet, Lylat Central Command gets wind of a new threat spreading throughout the solar system. The Star Fox team--composed of classic teamTeam Star Fox is back for more intense combat as they engage a new threat by air and by land. A few years after disaster was barely averted on Dinosaur Planet, Lylat Central Command gets wind of a new threat spreading throughout the solar system. The Star Fox team--composed of classic team members Fox McCloud, Slippy Toad, Peppy Hare, and Falco Lombardi, along with some new faces--is sent in to engage this new enemy. Now, as part of the Star Fox team, you can participate in solo or co-op missions or plug in with up to three other players. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 59
  2. Negative: 3 out of 59
  1. While certainly not perfect – the game is short and could have benefited greatly from LAN or online multiplayer support – there really isn't a more versatile arcade-style shooter for the GameCube system.
  2. I miss Fox's awesome fur mapping, but I guess getting Krystal as a permanent team member makes us even. [March 2005, p.59]
  3. 8 / 8 / 7 / 8 - silver [Vol. 846]
  4. It's easily one of the most unique and entertaining multiplayer choices for the GameCube. [Apr 2005, p.131]
  5. Everything that is good about the game (the flight missions, the refurbished musical score) stems from the original Star Fox. What Namco tried to do with the on-foot missions makes me wonder why purists are arguing that the series hasn't evolved enough.
  6. Far from being the next generation of Star Fox game.
  7. From a value perspective, you're dealing with a feature-film's worth of content for fifty bucks. Independently wealthy, rabid fanboys might want to check it out, otherwise we'd leave this fox to the dogs.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 33
  2. Negative: 4 out of 33
  1. EdgarB.
    May 13, 2005
    10
    Great Game. People complain that it is short, but yet again think about it people. Every StarFox was short but good! Good story thats Great Game. People complain that it is short, but yet again think about it people. Every StarFox was short but good! Good story thats different from Andross usual. AWESOME AND ADDICTIVE MULTIPLAYER. You can use Arwings, LandMasters, and walk on foot with an array of weapons and switch between them all. A pretty good bit of unlockables playing VS mode matches. ALl in all a great game. Collapse
  2. Mar 12, 2014
    10
    Everything about this game is amazing. It shows heart breaking moments, like with General Pepper, and Peppy, and it is very good, and I loveEverything about this game is amazing. It shows heart breaking moments, like with General Pepper, and Peppy, and it is very good, and I love this game, my opinion, its the second best one. Best one is Star Fox Adventures, but this one was just AMAZING! Expand
  3. DerekH.
    Feb 18, 2005
    9
    I really enjoyed star fox for snes and i loved star fox for 64. so i expected a bad ass star fox for game cube. i was wrong, star fox I really enjoyed star fox for snes and i loved star fox for 64. so i expected a bad ass star fox for game cube. i was wrong, star fox adventures blew chunks. it was like playing a sorry zelda. i hated it!!! but it seemed like they finally got it back together with star fox assault. the running around part wasn't too hot, but it was still fun. the arwing and landmaster kick ass!! i Expand
  4. Mar 27, 2012
    9
    i don't see how people can hate on this game. this game is the most advanced star fox game yet. it had a great story, some slight humor thei don't see how people can hate on this game. this game is the most advanced star fox game yet. it had a great story, some slight humor the boss battles were great, if only the game was longer. also, i liked the on land levels. they make good multiplayer. Expand
  5. NintendoPSBox
    Feb 6, 2005
    7
    It's a decent game, but not as impressive or good as Metroid Prime 2 or Ratchet and Clank 3.
  6. Aug 10, 2013
    7
    I do not understand why people complain so much about this game.
    This is a great Star Fox game, I have only played the 64 remake on 3DS along
    I do not understand why people complain so much about this game.
    This is a great Star Fox game, I have only played the 64 remake on 3DS along with the SNES one.
    It is by far better than the 64 one. The combat on foot is a lot of fun, and multiplayer is GREAT!

    7 out of 10, since it could be longer.
    Expand
  7. BReilly
    Feb 4, 2005
    0
    Worst Star Fox game ever. Huge disappointment.

See all 33 User Reviews