Star Fox: Assault Image
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 66 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Team Star Fox is back for more intense combat as they engage a new threat by air and by land. A few years after disaster was barely averted on Dinosaur Planet, Lylat Central Command gets wind of a new threat spreading throughout the solar system. The Star Fox team--composed of classic teamTeam Star Fox is back for more intense combat as they engage a new threat by air and by land. A few years after disaster was barely averted on Dinosaur Planet, Lylat Central Command gets wind of a new threat spreading throughout the solar system. The Star Fox team--composed of classic team members Fox McCloud, Slippy Toad, Peppy Hare, and Falco Lombardi, along with some new faces--is sent in to engage this new enemy. Now, as part of the Star Fox team, you can participate in solo or co-op missions or plug in with up to three other players. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 59
  2. Negative: 3 out of 59
  1. While certainly not perfect – the game is short and could have benefited greatly from LAN or online multiplayer support – there really isn't a more versatile arcade-style shooter for the GameCube system.
  2. I miss Fox's awesome fur mapping, but I guess getting Krystal as a permanent team member makes us even. [March 2005, p.59]
  3. 8 / 8 / 7 / 8 - silver [Vol. 846]
  4. It's easily one of the most unique and entertaining multiplayer choices for the GameCube. [Apr 2005, p.131]
  5. Everything that is good about the game (the flight missions, the refurbished musical score) stems from the original Star Fox. What Namco tried to do with the on-foot missions makes me wonder why purists are arguing that the series hasn't evolved enough.
  6. Far from being the next generation of Star Fox game.
  7. From a value perspective, you're dealing with a feature-film's worth of content for fifty bucks. Independently wealthy, rabid fanboys might want to check it out, otherwise we'd leave this fox to the dogs.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 32
  2. Negative: 4 out of 32
  1. EdgarB.
    May 13, 2005
    10
    Great Game. People complain that it is short, but yet again think about it people. Every StarFox was short but good! Good story thats Great Game. People complain that it is short, but yet again think about it people. Every StarFox was short but good! Good story thats different from Andross usual. AWESOME AND ADDICTIVE MULTIPLAYER. You can use Arwings, LandMasters, and walk on foot with an array of weapons and switch between them all. A pretty good bit of unlockables playing VS mode matches. ALl in all a great game. Expand
  2. Mar 12, 2014
    10
    Everything about this game is amazing. It shows heart breaking moments, like with General Pepper, and Peppy, and it is very good, and I loveEverything about this game is amazing. It shows heart breaking moments, like with General Pepper, and Peppy, and it is very good, and I love this game, my opinion, its the second best one. Best one is Star Fox Adventures, but this one was just AMAZING! Expand
  3. DerekH.
    Feb 18, 2005
    9
    I really enjoyed star fox for snes and i loved star fox for 64. so i expected a bad ass star fox for game cube. i was wrong, star fox I really enjoyed star fox for snes and i loved star fox for 64. so i expected a bad ass star fox for game cube. i was wrong, star fox adventures blew chunks. it was like playing a sorry zelda. i hated it!!! but it seemed like they finally got it back together with star fox assault. the running around part wasn't too hot, but it was still fun. the arwing and landmaster kick ass!! i Expand
  4. Mar 27, 2012
    9
    i don't see how people can hate on this game. this game is the most advanced star fox game yet. it had a great story, some slight humor thei don't see how people can hate on this game. this game is the most advanced star fox game yet. it had a great story, some slight humor the boss battles were great, if only the game was longer. also, i liked the on land levels. they make good multiplayer. Expand
  5. Dec 11, 2011
    7
    The on-rail shooter levels gave me everything I hoped for. Beautiful graphics, smooth controls, plenty of enemies to shoot at (and SlippyThe on-rail shooter levels gave me everything I hoped for. Beautiful graphics, smooth controls, plenty of enemies to shoot at (and Slippy getting shot at, like always), and challenging bosses. Unfortunately, if I remember correctly, there were only 3 of them. Wing riding was was a creative new addition, but there were only 2 levels with that, too. The rest are ground levels, for which the controls I found to be, frankly, lacking. It was a good idea, but they simply didn't execute it properly. One thing that helped the game overall was it's epic soundtrack. So to wrap it up, they needed a greater emphasis on traditional rail shooter levels, less ground levels, AND better controls for them. Expand
  6. Puffy
    Nov 22, 2005
    6
    star fox assut is more like the n64 n super nintendo versions of the game .. its ok .... but really not as good as star fox adventure...the star fox assut is more like the n64 n super nintendo versions of the game .. its ok .... but really not as good as star fox adventure...the mutlyplyer aspect is pretty fun... but it is easy to get lost... the missons are ok... lot of the ground missons remind me of star wars... the sounds n all.....u can tell it even the look of star fox reminds u of star wars on the ground ....i like star fox adventrue better...but if ur lookin for a flyin game like the n64 n super nintendo one this one has it ......but ito me i really didnt like it .... i rent this first if i were u ......i boarrowed from a friend for few days ....its just a average game.. nothin speaial. Expand
  7. BReilly
    Feb 4, 2005
    0
    Worst Star Fox game ever. Huge disappointment.

See all 32 User Reviews