Star Fox: Assault GameCube

Star Fox: Assault Image
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 109 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Team Star Fox is back for more intense combat as they engage a new threat by air and by land. A few years after disaster was barely averted on Dinosaur Planet, Lylat Central Command gets wind of a new threat spreading throughout the solar system. The Star Fox team--composed of classic teamTeam Star Fox is back for more intense combat as they engage a new threat by air and by land. A few years after disaster was barely averted on Dinosaur Planet, Lylat Central Command gets wind of a new threat spreading throughout the solar system. The Star Fox team--composed of classic team members Fox McCloud, Slippy Toad, Peppy Hare, and Falco Lombardi, along with some new faces--is sent in to engage this new enemy. Now, as part of the Star Fox team, you can participate in solo or co-op missions or plug in with up to three other players. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Monster Hunter Generations - Star Fox Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 59
  2. Negative: 3 out of 59
  1. While certainly not perfect – the game is short and could have benefited greatly from LAN or online multiplayer support – there really isn't a more versatile arcade-style shooter for the GameCube system.
  2. Play Magazine
    80
    I miss Fox's awesome fur mapping, but I guess getting Krystal as a permanent team member makes us even. [March 2005, p.59]
  3. Weekly Famitsu
    78
    8 / 8 / 7 / 8 - silver [Vol. 846]
  4. Game Informer
    70
    It's easily one of the most unique and entertaining multiplayer choices for the GameCube. [Apr 2005, p.131]
  5. Everything that is good about the game (the flight missions, the refurbished musical score) stems from the original Star Fox. What Namco tried to do with the on-foot missions makes me wonder why purists are arguing that the series hasn't evolved enough.
  6. Far from being the next generation of Star Fox game.
  7. From a value perspective, you're dealing with a feature-film's worth of content for fifty bucks. Independently wealthy, rabid fanboys might want to check it out, otherwise we'd leave this fox to the dogs.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 44
  2. Negative: 6 out of 44
  1. sdc
    Jun 24, 2015
    10
    Incredibly underrated; they do something different, fanboys will hate in every way shape or form. I don't give a damn about your nostalgiaIncredibly underrated; they do something different, fanboys will hate in every way shape or form. I don't give a damn about your nostalgia boners; it's different, unique, and still fun. I don't care if these foot sections reappear; I'm more than happy with them. Throw in a pre-apocalyptic atmosphere, amazing Arwing sections, graphics that'll knock your socks off, and an orchestral score that packs a punch; we have what I believe to be Star Fox' greatest adventure. 64 not withstanding. Expand
  2. StarfoxRoxYurSox
    Jan 31, 2006
    10
    It pwns, multiplayer is awesome, i dont no y u dissapointed ppl thught it was going to be Halo, but it works for me. Ill bet all you It pwns, multiplayer is awesome, i dont no y u dissapointed ppl thught it was going to be Halo, but it works for me. Ill bet all you "dissapointed people" play xbox anyway Expand
  3. Feb 14, 2017
    9
    This game was simply fun! Why do people hate on almost every Star Fox game? this is one of the Gamecube's hidden gems, as everyone played StarThis game was simply fun! Why do people hate on almost every Star Fox game? this is one of the Gamecube's hidden gems, as everyone played Star Fox Adventures instead of this one, I don't get why though, because Assault is largely better than Adventures. Expand
  4. FoxMcCloud
    Mar 15, 2005
    8
    Star Fox: Assault is a very fun game. It is a bit short, but almost all of the levels are fun enough to enjoy several more times on different Star Fox: Assault is a very fun game. It is a bit short, but almost all of the levels are fun enough to enjoy several more times on different difficulty settings and trying to get new medals. The multi-player is a blast with about twelve different weapons, all of which fill their own niche. The weapons are fairly well balanced and while none of the weapons are obsolete, some are obviously better than others. The game would have much better replay value though if it had bots in the multi-player and coop in the story mode. That and the fact that it's short are my only three knocks against it. It is for most a good purchase, especially if there is another person you can play against regularly. The multi-player is really what will keep it entertaining months after you get it. Expand
  5. Jul 13, 2016
    8
    Star Fox Assault isn't as good as the other games but it still has the replay value that every star fox game has! Still has good controls andStar Fox Assault isn't as good as the other games but it still has the replay value that every star fox game has! Still has good controls and great graphics so this one ain't bad! Expand
  6. NintendoPSBox
    Feb 6, 2005
    7
    It's a decent game, but not as impressive or good as Metroid Prime 2 or Ratchet and Clank 3.
  7. BReilly
    Feb 4, 2005
    0
    Worst Star Fox game ever. Huge disappointment.

See all 44 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

47
5
#5 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2005
5
#5 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2005