Star Wars Rogue Squadron III: Rebel Strike GameCube

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 51
  2. Negative: 4 out of 51
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 26, 2016
    8
    Ahh, memories. I reemember when I played this game all the time. The graphics are simple. The music is amazing. And the gameplay. That gameplay. IS AMAZING.
  2. Jun 27, 2016
    10
    Brilliant game and what Star Wars flight games should be like. Great graphics from back then and much better game play than most of the games now. If you get the chance to play this masterpiece go for it.
  3. Jun 8, 2016
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this game was the first game i ever played i cant see why people are nagging and haten on the ground segments, and the co-op and 1v1 modes are great and the new best ever medal adds for more replayability and luke and wedges story modes are gr8 and the at-st, speeder bike and at-at missions are done splendidly. now my problems with this game, you need to play luke's story mode then wedge's to understand the end at the battle of endor story mode in triumph of the rebellion, there is to much multiplayer content rather than single player content. other than those the game is flawless. you can trust this review cause i played all the levels at least 3 times Expand
  4. LisaB.
    Jul 19, 2006
    8
    i thought this game was fairly good the ground missions SUCKED but the flying missions ROCKED my [***SPOILERS***] favorite part of the game is the multi player because inthe battle of hoth in story mode you get shot down and have to play on foot i liked when you get to take out the AT-ATs using the grappling hook and when you pull your self up you have to use your light saber to open the i thought this game was fairly good the ground missions SUCKED but the flying missions ROCKED my [***SPOILERS***] favorite part of the game is the multi player because inthe battle of hoth in story mode you get shot down and have to play on foot i liked when you get to take out the AT-ATs using the grappling hook and when you pull your self up you have to use your light saber to open the door and then throw your thermal bomb to destroy it thats the only part ilike about that mission but in the multi player battle of hoth your in a snow speeder and you get to use toe cable to take down the AT-ATs its a fun game but i think multi player is better for all you cheaters enter iouaoye and after that enter wimpiam! to get inf lives. Expand
  5. JohnB.
    Jun 10, 2005
    10
    This was the COOLEST game ever!!!!
  6. JoeL.
    May 10, 2005
    10
    I never played much Star Wars games and i gotta say it is the best Star Wars on the GC and outmasters any of them on PS2.
  7. M.A.
    Dec 26, 2003
    10
    I bought it and it was very good!!!!
  8. SteveB.
    Nov 25, 2003
    9
    Overall, this is a great effort put forth by Factor 5. They are able to pull off the vehicle gameplay flawlessly. You will have a blast when you are in a vehicle. That being said, I have read a lot of negative things about the the 3rd person ground missions. Take it from me, they do not ruin this game. Instead they present a new form of gameplay that broadens the Star Wars experience. Now Overall, this is a great effort put forth by Factor 5. They are able to pull off the vehicle gameplay flawlessly. You will have a blast when you are in a vehicle. That being said, I have read a lot of negative things about the the 3rd person ground missions. Take it from me, they do not ruin this game. Instead they present a new form of gameplay that broadens the Star Wars experience. Now I will be the first to admit that they did not pull this off perfectly. But I am glad that Factor 5 took a chance, and I hope that they will continue to improve this form of gameplay. I hope that they will give the player camera control and smarter allies the next time around. Expand
  9. DonoB.
    Oct 26, 2003
    10
    Really good game! Lots of variety and bonuses. Very fun game. Multiplayer is buckets loads of fun. One of the best games this year.
  10. W.
    Oct 25, 2003
    9
    This game is for FANS of starwars.
  11. RickR.
    Oct 20, 2003
    10
    Wow. I've only played a level or two of the single player game, but I've already gotten my money's worth on the multiplayer. Racing and dogfighting with Classic Star Wars vehicles, and the entire Rogue Leader game in co-op mode. Word is that all 3 classic Atari coin-op games are in there somewhere too! This is a gold mine for us 30 something SW geeks. It'll make you Wow. I've only played a level or two of the single player game, but I've already gotten my money's worth on the multiplayer. Racing and dogfighting with Classic Star Wars vehicles, and the entire Rogue Leader game in co-op mode. Word is that all 3 classic Atari coin-op games are in there somewhere too! This is a gold mine for us 30 something SW geeks. It'll make you feel like you're 10 again. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#20 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2003
#19 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2003
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. GMR Magazine
    70
    Topping off the game is the ability to go through all of RS's excellent missions in a splitscreen co-op mode with a friend. [Dec 2003, p.68]
  2. games(TM)
    60
    Anyone who has played any of the previous Rogue Squadron titles will know what to expect from most of this title, but while its predecessors have been unadventurously solid, Rebel Strike is quite the opposite. A valiant effort with some wonderful moments but it promises more than it can deliver. [Dec 2003, p.96]
  3. Edge Magazine
    50
    There's a prevalent fashion at the moment for games to contain a multitude of games styles, a presumption that suggests consumers have become bored of single genre games. But Rogue Squadron III exposes the lie. It's a game that tries too hard to do many things, but only manages to do a few of them well. [Dec 2003, p.92]