User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 46
  2. Negative: 1 out of 46

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 11, 2013
    10
    This might be one of the only accessible soccer games for people who aren't already hardcore fans. You don't even have to be a Mario fan. It's colorful, creative, combative, and creates an environment different than what is seen in your run-of-the-mill sports titles. The controls are crisp and on target, giving the player(s) the best opportunities to organize a high percentage play.This might be one of the only accessible soccer games for people who aren't already hardcore fans. You don't even have to be a Mario fan. It's colorful, creative, combative, and creates an environment different than what is seen in your run-of-the-mill sports titles. The controls are crisp and on target, giving the player(s) the best opportunities to organize a high percentage play. Storylines in sports games often come off forced, and Nintendo made the wise decision of passing up that formality. It's an enjoyable "pick up and play" game that gives the player a release from the day with their favorite Nintendo characters, without requiring the mental commitment of an over-arching story. Expand
  2. Apr 24, 2013
    10
    This game only needs one word to describe every single thing about it, it is nothing but amazingly FUN. It is undesputibly enjoyable. You can't not enjoy it. Although bowser, and the super strikes which give 2 goals were unfair, you can trun them off
  3. EthanR.
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    This game is absolutly incredible! The only con is that you can't really pick your own sidekicks and goalies. But none the less my favourite mario sports game to date. Also very funny at times. Great job nintendo!
  4. JoeC.
    Jan 8, 2006
    9
    It's fun. "Mario cash-in"?? That's like saying disney only makes money off it's characters. weak gameplay? If "Easy to learn but hard to master" is weak, then yes. "Zero Depths" not really sure what he is talking about. I think depths is actually singular, and "standard mario gimmicks". Right lets make a mario game that doesnt have the look or feel of a mario game. It's fun. "Mario cash-in"?? That's like saying disney only makes money off it's characters. weak gameplay? If "Easy to learn but hard to master" is weak, then yes. "Zero Depths" not really sure what he is talking about. I think depths is actually singular, and "standard mario gimmicks". Right lets make a mario game that doesnt have the look or feel of a mario game. It's a fun game. Expand
  5. MPA.
    Dec 10, 2005
    9
    Really great gameplay, extremely fun with friends. I think this is about as good as a sports game can get.
  6. Sander
    Dec 29, 2005
    10
    Superb! As told, don't expect realism, but in which game you see 50 shots on goal in 5 minutes!?? Easy and fun to play, fine graphics.
  7. MaxM.
    Mar 30, 2006
    9
    Definitely good, the Mario sports games keep on goin strong!
  8. JackB.
    Jul 30, 2009
    9
    A 9-mark for a really short game? Well, yes, but only if you play it with friends, then it's a really great and fun game. If you play this game alone, you van give it a 7, as it is short and repetitive.
  9. TonyG.
    Jan 14, 2006
    10
    pick up and play soccer is best to describe it. great smooth animations, control is perfect, graphics cool as mario himself. I love nintendo, brings out the kid at heart! they have my support in every way. this game just confirms it.
  10. ps
    Nov 24, 2005
    10
    This game is simply fun. It might not have a billion playable characters or stadiums as the reviews state but you can sit anyone down to play and in ten minutes they are hooked. Five year olds could enjoy the game at novice difficulty and I have had a tough time beating All-Star difficulty not to mention there is still legend to conquer. This is not football but it reminds me of NBA Jam This game is simply fun. It might not have a billion playable characters or stadiums as the reviews state but you can sit anyone down to play and in ten minutes they are hooked. Five year olds could enjoy the game at novice difficulty and I have had a tough time beating All-Star difficulty not to mention there is still legend to conquer. This is not football but it reminds me of NBA Jam for its easy to play hard to master twitchy gameplay. Don't believe the hype simply play it for 10 minutes (hopefully with friends) and you will love MSF Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. It's charmingly designed from the ground up to be as fun and accessible as possible, yet despite its astonishing simplicity, it still managed to hold our interest well beyond our expectations.
  2. Invite some pals over and you'll have a multiplayer dream session.
  3. 70
    Super Mario Strikers is an evolutionary step beyond Soccer Slam, and gives the small-team football game a new breath of life, trumping its predecessor and stamping other similar games such as FIFA Street into the ground.