Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 61 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 61
  2. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. 100
    A masterpiece of superior game design, infinite gameplay variety, creativity, and life-and it's got a water cannon…and a damn brilliant one at that.
  2. 100
    The variety of moves at the player's disposal only makes the accessibility of the controls more impressive. Mario is immediately responsive to any command and makes flips, spins, wall jumps, and other complex maneuvers easier than you would think.
  3. Mario Sunshine can easily rank as one of the greatest games ever made, perhaps topping the list. [Apr 2002, p.62]
  4. 100
    If you don't enjoy Mario Sunshine, your GameCube should be taken away. [Oct 2002, p.70 - A+]
  5. 100
    Clever, challenging, unique and packed with things to do. In short, it's what every game should be. Problems with the camera and some potentially maddeningly frustrating points are all that holds it back from perfection.
  6. Super Mario Sunshine can be completed in roughly 20 hours with nowhere near the 120 Shines hidden in Isle Delfino. Completionists will want to go back and get everything, and considering how addictively fun this game is, I wouldn't blame them.
  7. One of the best games on the Gamecube. Everything is fun, and there is never a dull moment.
  8. Combine the wonderfully fluid control system, level designs that ooze the 'one more go' appeal and the fact that it's Mario, and you've got one of the best games in a long time and certainly the GameCube's finest hour to date. [Import]
  9. The three-dimensional stability of the environment in Mario Sunshine is astonishing. At no time do the seams show.
  10. Superb graphics, excellent music, clever layouts, funny cinema scenes and ingenious puzzles are among the many bright spots. [Sept 2002, p.160]
  11. The most impressive part of the graphics is the fact that mario can spot a coin or shine at the other side of the massive level. Becuse the game engine has amazing draw distance. It's really a sight to see.
  12. Step into the ultimate playground. When you're faced with a challenge or puzzle, you can be assured that the correct way to overcome it is also the most fun solution.
  13. It can be argued that it is the best Mario to date. [Sept 2002, p.82]
  14. It only takes about half of the total Shine Sprites to finish the game, so those determined to collect everything will be kept busy for ages.
  15. An excellent title, and almost certainly the very best GameCube title to date.
  16. It may not be as innovative as "Mario 64," although I would argue the waterpack alone makes it innovative, but it is a challenging game.
  17. A better game than "Mario 64." Super Mario Sunshine is gorgeous on practically every level, from storyline to graphics, sound to gameplay, design to concept – nothing has been left to languish in an uncared for state, and everything is polished to perfection.
  18. Every Shine is a joy to collect, with hundreds of different tasks to carry through... These different tasks mean that the game always feels fresh, and you never know what to expect next.
  19. The controls, sound, graphics, gameplay… they are all fantastic. Miyamoto has another genius of a game. Super Mario Sunshine beats out Mario 64 by a mile.
  20. 100 percent pure, unadulterated fun. The moment you start playing, everything just clicks - the same way it did with "Mario 64" - and you immediately know you're in for a hell of a ride. [Oct 2002, p.198]
  21. The outstanding puzzle design and tremendous challenge is what is going to make this game a huge hit, despite any of its flaws.
  22. If you don't mind the minor annoyance of F.L.U.D.D.'s voice or the occasional insignificant camera problem, you will fall in love with this game.
  23. 95
    It will take even the most hardcore gamers a couple weeks to complete 100%. Throughout the game there will be a total of 96 Shine Sprites to collect and 240 blue coins.
  24. 94
    My favorite single-player GameCube title to date. It's completely captivating from the start, and I can't rave enough about the tight controls.
  25. 94
    A little rushed at the end, with too few worlds to explore. Other than that, SMS is an absolute classic...This is pure, "Video Game Crack."
  26. The king of platform games has made a triumphant return, and he has shown that he has not lost a step.
  27. 94
    Mario Sunshine is utterly playable, and oozes quality. The addition of the FLUDD backpack was a wise decision, and really opens the 'fludd-gates' (sorry.) for some clever level design.
  28. Its gameplay is overwhelmingly addicting. We can't put it down – even after we've beaten it. It's definitely safe to say, Super Mario Sunshine is another classic installment in the Mario series.
  29. 93
    I was truly amazed at the overall completeness of the game.
  30. There is so much in this package that any sane gamer should not even think twice about passing it up. Everything in the game just reeks of shine and polish and though it's flawed in some areas, it's still one of the best games to come down the line this year.
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 340 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 121
  1. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    Super Mario Sunshine was my first and one of my favorite games growing up. I worked through it and always enjoyed the great look and feel.Super Mario Sunshine was my first and one of my favorite games growing up. I worked through it and always enjoyed the great look and feel. Unfortunately my memory card went corrupt and I had to start over, which I put off until recently. The game is just as good if not better then I remember and I just wish Nintendo had gone back to Isle Delfino in another main title and not just as cameos in sports games. The closest thing to it are some of the planets from Super Mario Galaxy, and there my favorite planets in the game. The game is just is full of charm. Go out and find a copy right now, then buy it and don't ever stop playing. Full Review »
  2. May 5, 2011
    7
    It lacks the innovation of Mario 64, truth be told -- especially when it's compared to NGC masterpieces like Resident Evil 4 and Super SmashIt lacks the innovation of Mario 64, truth be told -- especially when it's compared to NGC masterpieces like Resident Evil 4 and Super Smash Bros. Melee. However, it's packed with enough flourishing colors and wacky gameplay to enthrall children and Mario fans of all ages. Pros: Rich, colorful visuals; beautifully structured environments; the gameplay is solid Mario platforming with a few new kicks. Cons: The worst controls and camera in a Mario game; lack of stages and some repetitious level design; the final boss battle is a bit too easy. Full Review »
  3. AndrewG.
    Dec 17, 2006
    6
    The game looks beautiful, especially the water effects. But the bottom line is that I didn't want to continue playing it. I wasn't The game looks beautiful, especially the water effects. But the bottom line is that I didn't want to continue playing it. I wasn't hooked like I was with Super Mario 64. Full Review »