User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 269 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 269

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    Super Mario Sunshine was my first and one of my favorite games growing up. I worked through it and always enjoyed the great look and feel. Unfortunately my memory card went corrupt and I had to start over, which I put off until recently. The game is just as good if not better then I remember and I just wish Nintendo had gone back to Isle Delfino in another main title and not just as cameos in sports games. The closest thing to it are some of the planets from Super Mario Galaxy, and there my favorite planets in the game. The game is just is full of charm. Go out and find a copy right now, then buy it and don't ever stop playing. Expand
  2. May 5, 2011
    7
    It lacks the innovation of Mario 64, truth be told -- especially when it's compared to NGC masterpieces like Resident Evil 4 and Super Smash Bros. Melee. However, it's packed with enough flourishing colors and wacky gameplay to enthrall children and Mario fans of all ages. Pros: Rich, colorful visuals; beautifully structured environments; the gameplay is solid Mario platforming with a few new kicks. Cons: The worst controls and camera in a Mario game; lack of stages and some repetitious level design; the final boss battle is a bit too easy. Expand
  3. Jan 22, 2013
    10
    When I think abuot the "Gamecube" , first game I remember is SMS it was a hard game , but so good I never could playing it , it is an improvement from SM 64 and I agree with that! What a fun game it never gets old.
  4. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    One of my favorite games of all time. I play through sunshine probably twice a year and let me just say it NEVER gets old. Not a bad story for a mario game and i must say this was probably one of the best games on the GC
  5. Dec 1, 2010
    9
    I like it alot. It's more like a 9 1/2, but Mario over compences in his movements and it's way to chalanging way to early. But overall it's an amazing game!
  6. Feb 26, 2012
    10
    One of the best games ever made. ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
  7. Dec 17, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's just the best game ever.

    Loved the graphics and game it self.
    Story was amazing too. I really like the world in the game.
    Still the best Mario game I played, ha ha.
    Expand
  8. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    Mario is by far the most overrated game franchise to me, but to me this is one of the greatest video games ever made, and to me it is the best game of the next gen decade, and is my 2nd favorite game of all time
  9. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    This is one of the greatest single player games I've ever had the pleasure of playing. As far as GameCube games go, this one has gorgeous graphics, fantastic sound, and nearly flawless mechanics. Nintendo took the basic formula for Super Mario 64 and improved upon it in virtually every way. Nothing about this game is terribly difficult once you get the hang of the controls, and the level of exploration and free will that the player can exercise in any given world leaves this game bereft of linearity. The replayability is also great. Worlds change as you progress through their levels, and there are a lot of secrets shine sprites and blue coins that'll keep you searching every corner of Delfino Plaza and each of the worlds. Truly one of the best, if not THE best game that GameCube has in its extensive catalog. Expand
  10. Apr 16, 2012
    10
    For me, it is by far the best Mario game ever made. And I have played them all since Mario 64. It should have won a way larger fanbase, but it seems like Nintendo went wrong with the Gamecube, in somy way...
  11. Sep 21, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. super mario 64 was great, but then after that, nintendo made a mario game that was very different than the others, super mario sunshine. Now this is one of my favorite mario games, but it's nothing like the regular games, it's probably the only mario game where the mushroom kingdom is not seen at all. So the plot is, mario is going on vacation to isle delfino And once ariving, he sees that the island is splattered with graffiti, after picking up FLUDD A water/backpack thing, they fight a giant graffiti Parana plant. after defeating this thing, the police take mario to court, after probably the most unfair court session i have ever seen, mario is sentenced to clean up the island. it turns out shadow mario (an evil version of mario) did the graffiti. so now here's where the gameplay starts. the gameplay in super mario sunshine is just like super mario 64. you finish the level by finding a shine spite. now the first thing i have to say is that this game is HARD, probably the second hardest mario game ever behind super mario bros 2 lost levels. so anyway, all of the missions aren't the same goal. the levels in this game are called episodes, and you have to do something different every time to get a shine sprite. like, find all 8 red coins or, complete a secret level, This gameplay setup is very cool especially in a mario game of all things. now for the secret levels, the hardest and most frustrating part of the game,so what happens is shadow mario has taken FLUDD away from you and puts you in an obstacle course with the shine sprite at the end. these are hard, these are classic mario platforming but all of them are unnecessarily hard, you have to platform through these blocks that rotate, spin, and sometimes even push you off the level, I died about 100 times at the noki bay's secret level. one secret level even has these guys that throw you to the next platform and you have to aim perfectly or else they will throw you off the level. anyway, isle delfino has some of the best areas i have ever seen in a mario game, like serina beach, or the beautiful noki bay. and some levels are just amazing, there was this one level in gelato beach where you are on a giant bird made out of sand flying high in the sky, and in another platform up a hill in noki bay. oh, and did i mention that there are yoshis in the game, the first time yoshis are used in a 3D mario game, only thing is that it's not the original green yoshi, just other color yoshis. and after a boss fight it is revealed that shadow mario is bowser jr, that's a pretty good twist, and this is bowser jr's first appearance in a mario game. this game is very underrated, probably because this was the first time a nintendo console was released without a super mario game alongside it. this made fans want the best mario game ever. but this was a great game anyway. the plot is great and has probably the best twist in any mario game, the levels are nice, the graphics are great, and the music is some of the best in the super mario series. It's probably my 2nd favorite super mario game. Expand
  12. Mar 24, 2011
    7
    basically mario 64 with a giant squirt gun and some of the fun yanked away. it just doesnt have the greatness that SM64 had. its fun sure but also kinda frustrating at times and it was so much nicer when you could just skip stars and not have to clear out every level like in this one you have to and have to do them in order which i found even more annoying . it does look very nice and controls pretty damn good now that we dont have that monstousity N64 controllor to deal with . the camera was ok didnt find it improved or worse and SM64 but usable . its a decent mario game worth your time atleast. Expand
  13. Jan 7, 2011
    8
    The reason this game is important to the gaming world is because it created the template for the ground breaking Super Mario Galaxy. Shame this game is so misunderstood. It has been unfairly criticised. I'm a huge Mario fan and I'm not giving it a good score just because I'm a Mario fan. The plot is a little weak I guess, and the camera is dodgy, but this game is seriously fun. (Oh yes. Check out the advertisement for Super Mario Sunshine on YouTube. Just see it. It's awful.) I loved walking around Delfino Plaza. FLUDD was a nice touch, even though he is annoying. at times. The minigames are fun. The freedom in the levels is really good. The challenge is perfect for any Mario fan. Riding on shells is heaps fun. The graphics are sweet too. All I'm saying is that if you want to play it, go ahead! It's great! Expand
  14. Jan 8, 2011
    10
    Super Mario Sunshine's story is yet again flawless, compelling and attractive, just like all Mario games are mant to be. F.L.U.D.D is an amazing addition to the already brilliant Mario, and the extra nozzles liven up the game. The ending is fantastic, despite the final boss battle being a bit of a pushover. There are many added levels to collect numerous shine sprites on, and even after finishing the game many will strive to collect all the shine sprites. Could easily be 10 if the camera wasn't so unbearable annoying, but this game is the best i have played on the gamecube. Expand
  15. Jan 11, 2012
    8
    Of course Super Mario Sunshine isn't Super Mario 64. Super Mario 64 is easily still one of my favorite video games ever made but Super Mario Sunshine shouldn't be condemned when compared to it. The Mario Franchise was trying to be creative and I believe that they succeeded. Super Mario Sunshine is a separate entity of its own right and will continue to entertain players who choose to either re-beat it or try it out for the first time. It's game play is very innovative and I believe this game would have received a 9 or 10 from me and many others if it wasn't a Mario game. The game itself is amazing but way to many people are just disappointed when they compare it to Super Mario 64 or even the classic 2D Mario games. Besides, Yoshi is back in Super Mario Sunshine! Expand
  16. Mar 2, 2012
    10
    This game feels like a real life Hawaiian vacation! The experience is truly innovative. As fun as SM64 was, this is even better. Great visuals, greater gameplay!
  17. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Super Mario Sunshine, the primary Mario game for the Gamecube is an amazing game. First off the story, is surprisingly compelling, and throughout the game you want to know what is going to happen next. The design in the levels is top notch. The main area, Delfino Plaza acts like a portal to many different areas on Isle Delfino. In these areas you collect 8 shines each. The game looks great for a gamecube game. Gameplay is always the most important thing in a Mario game, and it's no different here. This time around you'll won't only be jumping around to get where you want to go. You now have a nozzle that can spray things, hover you to unreachable places and much more. There is so much water here you will want to take a washroom break eventually. The music is interesting and memorable in this game. If I was to score this game, I would give it a 9.4. Expand
  18. Feb 8, 2012
    9
    One of my favorite mario games and one of my favorite gamecube games. I was still in elementary school when i was playing this. I played this game so much back then it's ridiculous. I loved it.
  19. May 27, 2012
    10
    Was a fun game. wish it was more in depth tho. But enjoyed the cartoony atmosphere
  20. Feb 21, 2013
    8
    While not quite as mind blowing and addictive as super mario 64, Super mario sunshine is still an excellent game on its own, with fantastic music, spot on controls, great design, and beautiful graphics (especially the water effects). The game play is innovative, but not quite as fun as other mario titles. however, this game has a very interesting design that borrows from Mario 64, but also offers its own twist to the formula, which is always a good thing. This is a really awesome gamecube game, and one that i definitely reccomend. Expand
  21. Oct 28, 2012
    8
    The gameplay was great, F.L.U.D.D. Included, which helps Mario in his dirty vacation. The story is good to hear about. Same as its predecessor, Super Mario 64.
  22. Jan 19, 2013
    8
    While it is not one of Mario's brightest adventures, the game shines in its own unique way. The worlds are stunning and the platforming is challenging. Disappointingly, the camera bogs what are truly good controls and prevents the player from reaching difficult places more easily. Otherwise, this is a solid entry in the 3D Mario saga.
  23. Jun 26, 2013
    9
    As a sequel to Super Mario 64, I feel as though Nintendo made the right move. They incorporated entirely new elements, new locations, and a new feel that made this seem like a departure from the pre-established N64 norm. The level designs are great, the inclusion of Yoshi was awesome, and the setting was nice. The only issues with this game are the occasionally annoying camera, the poor last level of the game, and the periodic annoying lever (I'm looking at you, Watermelon level). If you have a GameCube, do yourself a favor and pick this one up. You won't regret it. Expand
  24. Mar 22, 2013
    9
    One of my favourite games, I loved Mario as I child, still do. The game was so fun, there were so many different and interesting places to go, each with their own quests. The game can last for a long time and can be very enjoyable. There are sometimes where you feel like just jumping around and messing with water pumps but otherwise I got involved in the several quests. I didn't even finish the game...because I scratched the disc too much. I wish I had finished it but its too late now. I real favourite of mine. Expand
  25. Jun 19, 2013
    8
    It's just so fun interacting with the environment, doing flips, wall jumps, and dives. It makes me want to get on sometimes just so I can parkour for a little while. It has a good difficulty, but the camera angle when hovering can be somewhat annoying, adding a "bad" type of difficulty. Overall the game's a blast, whether you are completing the game or just experimenting with certain levels that you enjoy. Expand
  26. Jul 13, 2013
    10
    Coming off of my love for Mario64 I have to admit that I didn't care for the premise of the game. It sounded kind of stupid. But boy did I have a lot of fun playing this game. I have to say I do enjoy it even more than Mario64. There are many more levels and challenges, the controls are easy and the graphics ar even better than Mario64. An excellent edition to the Mario franchise.
  27. Aug 15, 2013
    10
    Best Mario game on GameCube along with Paper Mario! It is truly a great game and delivers plenty of gameplay, overall amazing game! I really love the graphics in this game they truly seem like graphics that are from the modern date and for the GameCube, the graphics are by far the best there ever has been on the GameCube.
  28. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    THE GOOD: This 3D platformer is very original. Its a main series Mario title that actually has a real story! The gameplay usually involves Mario using a water jetpack named FLUDD to solve puzzles and defeat enemies. Level designs are fantastic and are all built around one big island. The levels are varied, including beaches, hotels, airstrip, a volcano, a theme park, and many others. Voice acting and music are surprisingly great. The game rewards you for exploration. Its a very satisfying experience. Plenty of shine sprites to collect so plenty to do in the game.

    THE BAD: Hmm, surprisingly, I really don't have much bad to say about this game. Sure, i'll admit that it lacks the impact on the gaming industry that Super Mario 64 had, but thats really about it.

    This is a MUST OWN! MUST BUY! One of the best games that the platforming genre has to offer.
    Expand
  29. Nov 6, 2013
    9
    Undeniably this is one of the greatest, if not the greatest, of Mario's titles on the Nintendo Gamecube. The level design is great, the graphics are amazing for a GCN game, and the music is cool! The setting for a beach isn't the best, but the water looks realistic, so that doesn't matter. The use of F.L.U.D.D. is sometimes tiring, but I find it a great gimmick. The controls are near perfect for this game, and the camera is good for me. I highly recommend people to play this amazing Gamecube classic. If you don't like a beach setting for nearly every stage, then play Super Mario 64. Expand
  30. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    Severely underrated. It should be right up there with Super Mario 64 and the Super Mario Galaxy series. Seriously, I had such a great time playing this game. The tropical island based levels were a welcome change form The Mushroom Kingdom, and offered plenty of unique, fun, and challenging opportunities. The F.L.U.D.D back pack is awesome too, and I really like how the fist half of the game had a very different story from the rest of the games in the Super Mario series. And the music in this game is phenomenally amazing. Seriously, expect the Ricco Harbour and Noki Bay themes to be stuck in your head for days after you play this game. The secret levels are also rally fun, and insanely challenging. This is one of the best video games of all time! Expand
  31. Dec 23, 2013
    8
    Childhood bias might creep into my review, but I really liked this addition to the Mario series. It's fresh, it's different, and perhaps a bit more satisfying to those with a touch of neat freak; clearing copious amounts of multi-colored goop and making areas clean again is very rewarding in itself. The visuals are colorful and fun, and though it's lacking in what story it tries to achieve, the atmosphere is enjoyable. Though not comparable to the SNES of 64 counterparts, I'd definitely recommend this game. Expand
  32. Jul 3, 2014
    9
    I love this game so much. It is the first GameCube game i have ever played and have fond memories of it and to this day i enjoy it a lot. The music is great, the level design is excellent, the setting is cleverly implemented into the gameplay and the controls are smooth and responsive. The game is hard though, probably the hardest 3D Mario game so far. Easily one of the best games on the GameCube. Expand
  33. Jun 30, 2014
    10
    This is my favourite game of all time, and I say this having played pretty much every Nintendo game released since the N64 came out!

    I prefer this to Super Mario 64 for a multitude of reasons- it has more charm, the areas are creative and varied, the hub world is far more interesting and also, get this; it has voice acting and BOWSER SPEAKS!!!

    Anyway, in short- best game ever!
  34. Jun 30, 2014
    8
    I loved Fludd and the bright colourful levels and visually it was perhaps the most impressive game on the Gamecube. I felt however that a lot of the stars were 'filler' and it began to feel like a chore to collect them all once I'd cost past the 80 mark. Something I don't generally feel in Mario Games, also I felt the controls weren't as smooth as they could have been and many deaths felt as if they weren't really your fault. As with any Mario game it's a lot of fun however and I thought the Fludd was a great and innovative idea. I'd absolutely love to see a remake of this on the Wii U with some of those issues sorted out. Expand
  35. May 26, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Mario is back and deadlier then ever. Nice 3D environments, gorgeous graphics, nice water and lava effects make this a oretty good-looking game. The ending is sad; F.L.U.D.D. dies. I'd like to see a sequel spawn on Wii. The infrared pointer could make aiming at enemies with FLUDD feel easier. Expand
  36. Oct 22, 2011
    10
    My favourite game when I was a kid, and still one of my favourites right now. Locations are beautiful, the music is amazing, there's a lot of variety in the missions, and it's all but together into a beautiful, colourful world. The only thing that troubles the game is the camera at times, but that is only a minor let-down.
  37. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    What I have to say about this game is... MY FAVOURITE VIDEOGAME! It is the best Mario game that could have been made! The graphics are marvelous, the platforms are very, very different, from the other Mario games, this time are bigger, hilarious and fun, and I think this the only game when the characters talk all the time, that was funny, and even the new characters are very funny. I will never stop loving this game. Expand
  38. Jul 19, 2013
    4
    I think, that this game is the most bad mario game I've ever played (I don't count Games like "Mario teaches typing" or "Hotel Mario"). For me as Ultimate Mario Fan, I can count myself to one of those who were disappointed. Why do you have a watercannon? And what's with the synchronisation of everyone?
    If you want to play a good 3D-Mario-Game: Buy Super Mario 64.
  39. Jul 22, 2013
    5
    It's not as good as SM64 or SM3DL but it's better than SMB2. The visuals are nice and were good for its time. The artwork for it is similar to today's Mario games. FLUDD is awesome and the story is awesome. 8/10
  40. Dec 16, 2013
    10
    Hands down my favourite game on the Gamecube. This game sucked me in, and took me on a ride! Beat it 100% and proud. Story is fantastic! Gameplay is fluid (except for the occasional camera spasms). Regular story is a bit short but there is much more to do after. If you have a Gamecube, GET THIS GAME. I guarantee you'll be entertained for hours and will love this game for the rest of your life.
  41. Jan 4, 2014
    9
    One of the most memorable games of my childhood, I still return now and again to beat the game in one long session. Of course, it has that huge trouble with the camera, but I personally never noticed it until I looked. So -1 for that flaw. It really does a sort of timeless charm that makes people come back for more. I beat the same boss 3 times in a row just because it was so satisfying to pull off his tentacles. The game was a bit of a challenge, especially with those darn secret stages. But I was looking for a challenge, and I was happy with that. The only real gameplay criticism I have is that the game could've been a bit more innovative with how you used the FLUDD. Moving along, the graphics are beautiful, especially for a GameCube game. The Delfino Isle hub is fun to mess around in, and it wasn't too painful looking for all the hidden Shines. All in all, definitely a game any GameCube/Wii owner should play. Expand
  42. Jan 15, 2014
    10
    Super Mario Sunshine is a beautiful game. The graphics are stunning for the gamecube, and leave the player visually satisfied in every moment of play. My favorite visual is the water, the physics are great, the crystal clearness with the sunlight shimmering off the surface is enticing, making the player wish they could jump in themselves. The controls are innovative and create opportunity for a vast array of moves, however they can be frustrating in the frequent occasion where their functionality wavers. The physics often fail the user leaving you glitched on an edge or falling through a solid surface. Frustrating glitchyness aside, the gameplay is great, constantly keeping the player immersed and having fun. The difficulty level is not extraordinarily high, but, i wouldnt call it an easy game, there are definetly some challenging elements such as the secret levels, sometimes genneral levels. All in all it is a fantastic game and is one of if not my alltime favorite mario game. Definetly worth a play through. Expand
  43. Jan 18, 2014
    9
    My favorite and most played game of all time. From when I was 6 years old, to now, 16 years old, I can never get enough of this game. One of the most challenging yet fun Mario games ever. Graphics are stunning for a Gamecube game, and the music is perfect.

    Only complaints I have that doesn't make it a perfect 10: Some levels are a pain, and just not that fun and by far the worst part
    about this game, the camera angle. The camera can be really annoying at times, but doesn't take away from the game to the point where you can't enjoy it.

    9/10
    Expand
  44. Feb 28, 2014
    9
    I prefer this to 64 for one reason. I don't know that reason though :P
    I just feel this game has more charm than 64. The difficulty was definitely toned up for this game.
  45. Feb 8, 2014
    8
    I see this game getting compared to super Mario 64, and I'm surprised people don't like this game because it's not as good as that beautiful sparkling cider on the n64. There's a very good hover plat forming game in sunshine if you look hard enough. Sm64 and this are both good games.
  46. Feb 25, 2014
    7
    Personally, I think the Mario games from the Game-cube era were the best of all time. I love Super Mario Sunshine, Paper Mario Thousand Year Door, Mario Power Tennis, Mario Kart Double Dash, Mario Party 4, etc. etc. even more than the N64 counterparts that I grew up with. I love the N64 ones of course, but the Game cube sequels brought so much innovation and creativity they were ultimately very enjoyable games. Although Luigi's Mansion had no N64 counterpart, it is also a prime example of an innovative Gamecube Game. Great Review :) Expand
  47. Feb 26, 2014
    10
    This is a very good game, yes it has it's glitches and stupid missions. Once again it is a good game fun and decent physics. (Again the glitches). And it is different, but does it matter? It is still at least ok. You will not come across most of the glitches in normal gameplay so don't worry. If you haven't then you should try it. If you hate it then replay it please. Thank you for reading.
  48. Mar 17, 2014
    10
    The best Super Mario game in general. the best platforming game in general. better then the galaxy games by far and deserves 10 out of 10s. I'd even say this game is better then Super Mario 64.
  49. Mar 30, 2014
    10
    Words almost cant describe how much I love Super Mario Sunshine. I know this is one of the most underrated Mario games out there and it's such a shame because SMS is one of the greatest gems Nintendo has ever made and I loved it more than Super Mario 64 for sure! It took some of the great things about SM64 like the hub and level traveling, the star system (even though it's shine sprites this time) and made them even better. Sure FLUDD was kind of weird but I was okay with her, I thought the system controlled well. I am of course not a fan about the lack of the long jump and backwards jump that were in SM64 but luckily they returned in the Galaxy games. I guess one of the biggest reasons I love this game so much is probably the fact that it's one of the first Mario games I've ever played, or maybe I'm just blinded by nostalgia too much. I just really like the whole vacation theme of this game. I suggest that everyone should give this game a try; it's really not as bad as people say. Expand
  50. Apr 21, 2014
    9
    this game is totally different compared to other Mario games, kind of in the same way of luigi's mansion which I loved, but this is a different game entirely. exploring all the different worlds is awesome and flood is a creative gimmick in the game. most of the objectives in the game are so much fun, but there are a few that I can remember that were quite frustrating, but It never felt like It was frustrating for the sake of being frustrating,(most of the time) but was instead truly challenging. a great Mario game, that as good or better than Super Mario Galaxy. yep I said it. :) Expand
  51. Jun 22, 2014
    9
    My favorite 3D Mario game, I think the stages well made​​, and the various modes of play really cool, you can also play with Yoshi, you have to search multiple shines, the game has great graphics for the time of it, in some points it is very difficult, but in the end, is a very fun game.
  52. Jul 26, 2014
    8
    Super Mario Sunshine is much like the shine sprite in the center of Delfino Island: It's grand, it's colorful, but it's also plastered with graffiti that prevents it from being a truly masterful game. While containing some of the most inventive segments and levels in the 3D Mario series, it also stumbles on more of its key concepts than any game prior. FLUDD and the nozzles with it, for instance, work most of the time, but can harm the player at inopportune times, and the camera can be hard to control in corners and behind obstacles. In general, Super Mario Sunshine is a delightful game, as long as the player can overlook the structural flaws that appear every so often. For a full review, check out the review on my site at Wordpress.com. Expand
  53. Jul 21, 2014
    10
    Super Mario Sunshine es sinónimo de diversión. He vuelto a jugar muy pocos juegos igual de divertidos que este. Los escenarios, los personajes que los habitan, las habilidades con la máquina del agua, la búsqueda de los soles,... Todo era colorido y te invitaba a seguir jugando, que difícil era soltar el mando! Podría volver a jugarlo ahora y volver a engancharme, es uno de esos juegos que no tienen fecha de caducidad. Imprescindible. Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 61 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 61
  2. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. The FLUDD system is used throughout the game and can either be why the game is so great or why the game is so mediocre.
  2. To say that the camera in this game is atrocious is like saying being kicked in the teeth kinda hurts-it gives the person an idea about how bad it is, but it doesn't even begin to describe the agony in detail.
  3. 100
    A masterpiece of superior game design, infinite gameplay variety, creativity, and life-and it's got a water cannon…and a damn brilliant one at that.