User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 522 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 522
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 21, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. super mario 64 was great, but then after that, nintendo made a mario game that was very different than the others, super mario sunshine. Now this is one of my favorite mario games, but it's nothing like the regular games, it's probably the only mario game where the mushroom kingdom is not seen at all. So the plot is, mario is going on vacation to isle delfino And once ariving, he sees that the island is splattered with graffiti, after picking up FLUDD A water/backpack thing, they fight a giant graffiti Parana plant. after defeating this thing, the police take mario to court, after probably the most unfair court session i have ever seen, mario is sentenced to clean up the island. it turns out shadow mario (an evil version of mario) did the graffiti. so now here's where the gameplay starts. the gameplay in super mario sunshine is just like super mario 64. you finish the level by finding a shine spite. now the first thing i have to say is that this game is HARD, probably the second hardest mario game ever behind super mario bros 2 lost levels. so anyway, all of the missions aren't the same goal. the levels in this game are called episodes, and you have to do something different every time to get a shine sprite. like, find all 8 red coins or, complete a secret level, This gameplay setup is very cool especially in a mario game of all things. now for the secret levels, the hardest and most frustrating part of the game,so what happens is shadow mario has taken FLUDD away from you and puts you in an obstacle course with the shine sprite at the end. these are hard, these are classic mario platforming but all of them are unnecessarily hard, you have to platform through these blocks that rotate, spin, and sometimes even push you off the level, I died about 100 times at the noki bay's secret level. one secret level even has these guys that throw you to the next platform and you have to aim perfectly or else they will throw you off the level. anyway, isle delfino has some of the best areas i have ever seen in a mario game, like serina beach, or the beautiful noki bay. and some levels are just amazing, there was this one level in gelato beach where you are on a giant bird made out of sand flying high in the sky, and in another platform up a hill in noki bay. oh, and did i mention that there are yoshis in the game, the first time yoshis are used in a 3D mario game, only thing is that it's not the original green yoshi, just other color yoshis. and after a boss fight it is revealed that shadow mario is bowser jr, that's a pretty good twist, and this is bowser jr's first appearance in a mario game. this game is very underrated, probably because this was the first time a nintendo console was released without a super mario game alongside it. this made fans want the best mario game ever. but this was a great game anyway. the plot is great and has probably the best twist in any mario game, the levels are nice, the graphics are great, and the music is some of the best in the super mario series. It's probably my 2nd favorite super mario game. Expand
  2. May 27, 2012
    10
    Was a fun game. wish it was more in depth tho. But enjoyed the cartoony atmosphere
  3. Feb 21, 2013
    8
    While not quite as mind blowing and addictive as super mario 64, Super mario sunshine is still an excellent game on its own, with fantastic music, spot on controls, great design, and beautiful graphics (especially the water effects). The game play is innovative, but not quite as fun as other mario titles. however, this game has a very interesting design that borrows from Mario 64, butWhile not quite as mind blowing and addictive as super mario 64, Super mario sunshine is still an excellent game on its own, with fantastic music, spot on controls, great design, and beautiful graphics (especially the water effects). The game play is innovative, but not quite as fun as other mario titles. however, this game has a very interesting design that borrows from Mario 64, but also offers its own twist to the formula, which is always a good thing. This is a really awesome gamecube game, and one that i definitely reccomend. Expand
  4. Oct 28, 2012
    8
    The gameplay was great, F.L.U.D.D. Included, which helps Mario in his dirty vacation. The story is good to hear about. Same as its predecessor, Super Mario 64.
  5. Jan 19, 2013
    8
    While it is not one of Mario's brightest adventures, the game shines in its own unique way. The worlds are stunning and the platforming is challenging. Disappointingly, the camera bogs what are truly good controls and prevents the player from reaching difficult places more easily. Otherwise, this is a solid entry in the 3D Mario saga.
  6. Jun 26, 2013
    9
    As a sequel to Super Mario 64, I feel as though Nintendo made the right move. They incorporated entirely new elements, new locations, and a new feel that made this seem like a departure from the pre-established N64 norm. The level designs are great, the inclusion of Yoshi was awesome, and the setting was nice. The only issues with this game are the occasionally annoying camera, the poorAs a sequel to Super Mario 64, I feel as though Nintendo made the right move. They incorporated entirely new elements, new locations, and a new feel that made this seem like a departure from the pre-established N64 norm. The level designs are great, the inclusion of Yoshi was awesome, and the setting was nice. The only issues with this game are the occasionally annoying camera, the poor last level of the game, and the periodic annoying lever (I'm looking at you, Watermelon level). If you have a GameCube, do yourself a favor and pick this one up. You won't regret it. Expand
  7. Mar 22, 2013
    9
    One of my favourite games, I loved Mario as I child, still do. The game was so fun, there were so many different and interesting places to go, each with their own quests. The game can last for a long time and can be very enjoyable. There are sometimes where you feel like just jumping around and messing with water pumps but otherwise I got involved in the several quests. I didn't evenOne of my favourite games, I loved Mario as I child, still do. The game was so fun, there were so many different and interesting places to go, each with their own quests. The game can last for a long time and can be very enjoyable. There are sometimes where you feel like just jumping around and messing with water pumps but otherwise I got involved in the several quests. I didn't even finish the game...because I scratched the disc too much. I wish I had finished it but its too late now. I real favourite of mine. Expand
  8. Jun 19, 2013
    8
    It's just so fun interacting with the environment, doing flips, wall jumps, and dives. It makes me want to get on sometimes just so I can parkour for a little while. It has a good difficulty, but the camera angle when hovering can be somewhat annoying, adding a "bad" type of difficulty. Overall the game's a blast, whether you are completing the game or just experimenting with certainIt's just so fun interacting with the environment, doing flips, wall jumps, and dives. It makes me want to get on sometimes just so I can parkour for a little while. It has a good difficulty, but the camera angle when hovering can be somewhat annoying, adding a "bad" type of difficulty. Overall the game's a blast, whether you are completing the game or just experimenting with certain levels that you enjoy. Expand
  9. Jul 13, 2013
    10
    Coming off of my love for Mario64 I have to admit that I didn't care for the premise of the game. It sounded kind of stupid. But boy did I have a lot of fun playing this game. I have to say I do enjoy it even more than Mario64. There are many more levels and challenges, the controls are easy and the graphics ar even better than Mario64. An excellent edition to the Mario franchise.
  10. Aug 15, 2013
    10
    Best Mario game on GameCube along with Paper Mario! It is truly a great game and delivers plenty of gameplay, overall amazing game! I really love the graphics in this game they truly seem like graphics that are from the modern date and for the GameCube, the graphics are by far the best there ever has been on the GameCube.
  11. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    THE GOOD: This 3D platformer is very original. Its a main series Mario title that actually has a real story! The gameplay usually involves Mario using a water jetpack named FLUDD to solve puzzles and defeat enemies. Level designs are fantastic and are all built around one big island. The levels are varied, including beaches, hotels, airstrip, a volcano, a theme park, and many others. VoiceTHE GOOD: This 3D platformer is very original. Its a main series Mario title that actually has a real story! The gameplay usually involves Mario using a water jetpack named FLUDD to solve puzzles and defeat enemies. Level designs are fantastic and are all built around one big island. The levels are varied, including beaches, hotels, airstrip, a volcano, a theme park, and many others. Voice acting and music are surprisingly great. The game rewards you for exploration. Its a very satisfying experience. Plenty of shine sprites to collect so plenty to do in the game.

    THE BAD: Hmm, surprisingly, I really don't have much bad to say about this game. Sure, i'll admit that it lacks the impact on the gaming industry that Super Mario 64 had, but thats really about it.

    This is a MUST OWN! MUST BUY! One of the best games that the platforming genre has to offer.
    Expand
  12. Nov 6, 2013
    9
    Undeniably this is one of the greatest, if not the greatest, of Mario's titles on the Nintendo Gamecube. The level design is great, the graphics are amazing for a GCN game, and the music is cool! The setting for a beach isn't the best, but the water looks realistic, so that doesn't matter. The use of F.L.U.D.D. is sometimes tiring, but I find it a great gimmick. The controls are nearUndeniably this is one of the greatest, if not the greatest, of Mario's titles on the Nintendo Gamecube. The level design is great, the graphics are amazing for a GCN game, and the music is cool! The setting for a beach isn't the best, but the water looks realistic, so that doesn't matter. The use of F.L.U.D.D. is sometimes tiring, but I find it a great gimmick. The controls are near perfect for this game, and the camera is good for me. I highly recommend people to play this amazing Gamecube classic. If you don't like a beach setting for nearly every stage, then play Super Mario 64. Expand
  13. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    Severely underrated. It should be right up there with Super Mario 64 and the Super Mario Galaxy series. Seriously, I had such a great time playing this game. The tropical island based levels were a welcome change form The Mushroom Kingdom, and offered plenty of unique, fun, and challenging opportunities. The F.L.U.D.D back pack is awesome too, and I really like how the fist half of theSeverely underrated. It should be right up there with Super Mario 64 and the Super Mario Galaxy series. Seriously, I had such a great time playing this game. The tropical island based levels were a welcome change form The Mushroom Kingdom, and offered plenty of unique, fun, and challenging opportunities. The F.L.U.D.D back pack is awesome too, and I really like how the fist half of the game had a very different story from the rest of the games in the Super Mario series. And the music in this game is phenomenally amazing. Seriously, expect the Ricco Harbour and Noki Bay themes to be stuck in your head for days after you play this game. The secret levels are also rally fun, and insanely challenging. This is one of the best video games of all time! Expand
  14. Dec 23, 2013
    8
    Childhood bias might creep into my review, but I really liked this addition to the Mario series. It's fresh, it's different, and perhaps a bit more satisfying to those with a touch of neat freak; clearing copious amounts of multi-colored goop and making areas clean again is very rewarding in itself. The visuals are colorful and fun, and though it's lacking in what story it tries toChildhood bias might creep into my review, but I really liked this addition to the Mario series. It's fresh, it's different, and perhaps a bit more satisfying to those with a touch of neat freak; clearing copious amounts of multi-colored goop and making areas clean again is very rewarding in itself. The visuals are colorful and fun, and though it's lacking in what story it tries to achieve, the atmosphere is enjoyable. Though not comparable to the SNES of 64 counterparts, I'd definitely recommend this game. Expand
  15. Jul 3, 2014
    9
    I love this game so much. It is the first GameCube game i have ever played and have fond memories of it and to this day i enjoy it a lot. The music is great, the level design is excellent, the setting is cleverly implemented into the gameplay and the controls are smooth and responsive. The game is hard though, probably the hardest 3D Mario game so far. Easily one of the best games on theI love this game so much. It is the first GameCube game i have ever played and have fond memories of it and to this day i enjoy it a lot. The music is great, the level design is excellent, the setting is cleverly implemented into the gameplay and the controls are smooth and responsive. The game is hard though, probably the hardest 3D Mario game so far. Easily one of the best games on the GameCube. Expand
  16. Mar 17, 2014
    10
    The best Super Mario game in general. the best platforming game in general. better then the galaxy games by far and deserves 10 out of 10s. I'd even say this game is better then Super Mario 64.
  17. Jun 30, 2014
    10
    This is my favourite game of all time, and I say this having played pretty much every Nintendo game released since the N64 came out!

    I prefer this to Super Mario 64 for a multitude of reasons- it has more charm, the areas are creative and varied, the hub world is far more interesting and also, get this; it has voice acting and BOWSER SPEAKS!!!

    Anyway, in short- best game ever!
  18. Jun 30, 2014
    8
    I loved Fludd and the bright colourful levels and visually it was perhaps the most impressive game on the Gamecube. I felt however that a lot of the stars were 'filler' and it began to feel like a chore to collect them all once I'd cost past the 80 mark. Something I don't generally feel in Mario Games, also I felt the controls weren't as smooth as they could have been and many deaths feltI loved Fludd and the bright colourful levels and visually it was perhaps the most impressive game on the Gamecube. I felt however that a lot of the stars were 'filler' and it began to feel like a chore to collect them all once I'd cost past the 80 mark. Something I don't generally feel in Mario Games, also I felt the controls weren't as smooth as they could have been and many deaths felt as if they weren't really your fault. As with any Mario game it's a lot of fun however and I thought the Fludd was a great and innovative idea. I'd absolutely love to see a remake of this on the Wii U with some of those issues sorted out. Expand
  19. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    Super Mario Sunshine was my first and one of my favorite games growing up. I worked through it and always enjoyed the great look and feel. Unfortunately my memory card went corrupt and I had to start over, which I put off until recently. The game is just as good if not better then I remember and I just wish Nintendo had gone back to Isle Delfino in another main title and not just asSuper Mario Sunshine was my first and one of my favorite games growing up. I worked through it and always enjoyed the great look and feel. Unfortunately my memory card went corrupt and I had to start over, which I put off until recently. The game is just as good if not better then I remember and I just wish Nintendo had gone back to Isle Delfino in another main title and not just as cameos in sports games. The closest thing to it are some of the planets from Super Mario Galaxy, and there my favorite planets in the game. The game is just is full of charm. Go out and find a copy right now, then buy it and don't ever stop playing. Expand
  20. RyanM.
    Aug 30, 2002
    7
    I don't know. Shoot me or something. I didn't get it. It was a weezy, jumbled up premise with nothing addictive about the gameplay. And the water pack is just plain frustrating. Sorry mario, you've lost your touch.
  21. Jan 22, 2013
    10
    When I think abuot the "Gamecube" , first game I remember is SMS it was a hard game , but so good I never could playing it , it is an improvement from SM 64 and I agree with that! What a fun game it never gets old.
  22. ViperSniper[HF]
    Nov 22, 2002
    10
    The graphics rules, just like the game. When u play, just look at the water from upside down... it looks teriffic!
  23. JohnL.
    Nov 18, 2003
    10
    Awesome!!!!!
  24. Feb 26, 2012
    10
    One of the best games ever made. ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
  25. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    This is one of the greatest single player games I've ever had the pleasure of playing. As far as GameCube games go, this one has gorgeous graphics, fantastic sound, and nearly flawless mechanics. Nintendo took the basic formula for Super Mario 64 and improved upon it in virtually every way. Nothing about this game is terribly difficult once you get the hang of the controls, and theThis is one of the greatest single player games I've ever had the pleasure of playing. As far as GameCube games go, this one has gorgeous graphics, fantastic sound, and nearly flawless mechanics. Nintendo took the basic formula for Super Mario 64 and improved upon it in virtually every way. Nothing about this game is terribly difficult once you get the hang of the controls, and the level of exploration and free will that the player can exercise in any given world leaves this game bereft of linearity. The replayability is also great. Worlds change as you progress through their levels, and there are a lot of secrets shine sprites and blue coins that'll keep you searching every corner of Delfino Plaza and each of the worlds. Truly one of the best, if not THE best game that GameCube has in its extensive catalog. Expand
  26. Apr 16, 2012
    10
    For me, it is by far the best Mario game ever made. And I have played them all since Mario 64. It should have won a way larger fanbase, but it seems like Nintendo went wrong with the Gamecube, in somy way...
  27. AndrewG.
    Dec 17, 2006
    6
    The game looks beautiful, especially the water effects. But the bottom line is that I didn't want to continue playing it. I wasn't hooked like I was with Super Mario 64.
  28. May 5, 2011
    7
    It lacks the innovation of Mario 64, truth be told -- especially when it's compared to NGC masterpieces like Resident Evil 4 and Super Smash Bros. Melee. However, it's packed with enough flourishing colors and wacky gameplay to enthrall children and Mario fans of all ages. Pros: Rich, colorful visuals; beautifully structured environments; the gameplay is solid Mario platforming with a fewIt lacks the innovation of Mario 64, truth be told -- especially when it's compared to NGC masterpieces like Resident Evil 4 and Super Smash Bros. Melee. However, it's packed with enough flourishing colors and wacky gameplay to enthrall children and Mario fans of all ages. Pros: Rich, colorful visuals; beautifully structured environments; the gameplay is solid Mario platforming with a few new kicks. Cons: The worst controls and camera in a Mario game; lack of stages and some repetitious level design; the final boss battle is a bit too easy. Expand
  29. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    One of my favorite games of all time. I play through sunshine probably twice a year and let me just say it NEVER gets old. Not a bad story for a mario game and i must say this was probably one of the best games on the GC
  30. Dec 17, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's just the best game ever.

    Loved the graphics and game it self.
    Story was amazing too. I really like the world in the game.
    Still the best Mario game I played, ha ha.
    Expand
  31. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    Mario is by far the most overrated game franchise to me, but to me this is one of the greatest video games ever made, and to me it is the best game of the next gen decade, and is my 2nd favorite game of all time
  32. AlexS.
    Sep 7, 2002
    10
    Best. Need I say more?
  33. GregS.
    Aug 20, 2002
    10
    This game embodies everything that's great about 3D platformers. The water pack adds an extra dimension to the already great play mechanics. The best just got better!
  34. RobW.
    Aug 30, 2002
    9
    The best platforming game to date. More than just Mario64 with a water gun.
  35. CoryS.
    Oct 30, 2002
    10
    Wow, this is a great game. I spent maybe 8 hours playing the first day I bought it -- and eight hours the next day -- and the next. I still havn't gotten every shine either, I have 117 though. Its a great game, If I didn't have it, I would get it.
  36. MatthewV.
    Mar 2, 2005
    9
    Best game of 2002 for the gamecube. Isle Delfino is eye candy, the perfect place for a Mario game. The only flaw is that when you fail inside a level you come out to Delfino Plaza everytime and have to go back in the level which is annoying. Overall an excellent game a must have for GCN owners.
  37. JoshK.
    Jul 24, 2006
    8
    OK, maybe not Mario's finest 15 hours, but those traditional 3d platforming bits without FLUDD were fantastic.
  38. ApocalypseB.
    Nov 30, 2007
    7
    An excellent experience as Mario always is, but only married by almost mind-numbing boredom after a few hours or so. Simple, well crafted, decent graphics, fun gadgets but all too familiar stuff. Now for Mario galaxy.
  39. MeleeMaster
    Dec 18, 2002
    7
    While it is not as enjoyable as say Super Mario 64, this game does have it's moments. Still though, Mario needs to get back to roots in the Mushroom Kingdom stomping on goombas and kicking Bowser's butt.
  40. Mar 24, 2011
    7
    basically mario 64 with a giant squirt gun and some of the fun yanked away. it just doesnt have the greatness that SM64 had. its fun sure but also kinda frustrating at times and it was so much nicer when you could just skip stars and not have to clear out every level like in this one you have to and have to do them in order which i found even more annoying . it does look very nice andbasically mario 64 with a giant squirt gun and some of the fun yanked away. it just doesnt have the greatness that SM64 had. its fun sure but also kinda frustrating at times and it was so much nicer when you could just skip stars and not have to clear out every level like in this one you have to and have to do them in order which i found even more annoying . it does look very nice and controls pretty damn good now that we dont have that monstousity N64 controllor to deal with . the camera was ok didnt find it improved or worse and SM64 but usable . its a decent mario game worth your time atleast. Expand
  41. Jan 7, 2011
    8
    The reason this game is important to the gaming world is because it created the template for the ground breaking Super Mario Galaxy. Shame this game is so misunderstood. It has been unfairly criticised. I'm a huge Mario fan and I'm not giving it a good score just because I'm a Mario fan. The plot is a little weak I guess, and the camera is dodgy, but this game is seriously fun. (Oh yes.The reason this game is important to the gaming world is because it created the template for the ground breaking Super Mario Galaxy. Shame this game is so misunderstood. It has been unfairly criticised. I'm a huge Mario fan and I'm not giving it a good score just because I'm a Mario fan. The plot is a little weak I guess, and the camera is dodgy, but this game is seriously fun. (Oh yes. Check out the advertisement for Super Mario Sunshine on YouTube. Just see it. It's awful.) I loved walking around Delfino Plaza. FLUDD was a nice touch, even though he is annoying. at times. The minigames are fun. The freedom in the levels is really good. The challenge is perfect for any Mario fan. Riding on shells is heaps fun. The graphics are sweet too. All I'm saying is that if you want to play it, go ahead! It's great! Expand
  42. Jan 11, 2012
    8
    Of course Super Mario Sunshine isn't Super Mario 64. Super Mario 64 is easily still one of my favorite video games ever made but Super Mario Sunshine shouldn't be condemned when compared to it. The Mario Franchise was trying to be creative and I believe that they succeeded. Super Mario Sunshine is a separate entity of its own right and will continue to entertain players who choose toOf course Super Mario Sunshine isn't Super Mario 64. Super Mario 64 is easily still one of my favorite video games ever made but Super Mario Sunshine shouldn't be condemned when compared to it. The Mario Franchise was trying to be creative and I believe that they succeeded. Super Mario Sunshine is a separate entity of its own right and will continue to entertain players who choose to either re-beat it or try it out for the first time. It's game play is very innovative and I believe this game would have received a 9 or 10 from me and many others if it wasn't a Mario game. The game itself is amazing but way to many people are just disappointed when they compare it to Super Mario 64 or even the classic 2D Mario games. Besides, Yoshi is back in Super Mario Sunshine! Expand
  43. Mar 2, 2012
    10
    This game feels like a real life Hawaiian vacation! The experience is truly innovative. As fun as SM64 was, this is even better. Great visuals, greater gameplay!
  44. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Super Mario Sunshine, the primary Mario game for the Gamecube is an amazing game. First off the story, is surprisingly compelling, and throughout the game you want to know what is going to happen next. The design in the levels is top notch. The main area, Delfino Plaza acts like a portal to many different areas on Isle Delfino. In these areas you collect 8 shines each. The game looksSuper Mario Sunshine, the primary Mario game for the Gamecube is an amazing game. First off the story, is surprisingly compelling, and throughout the game you want to know what is going to happen next. The design in the levels is top notch. The main area, Delfino Plaza acts like a portal to many different areas on Isle Delfino. In these areas you collect 8 shines each. The game looks great for a gamecube game. Gameplay is always the most important thing in a Mario game, and it's no different here. This time around you'll won't only be jumping around to get where you want to go. You now have a nozzle that can spray things, hover you to unreachable places and much more. There is so much water here you will want to take a washroom break eventually. The music is interesting and memorable in this game. If I was to score this game, I would give it a 9.4. Expand
  45. Feb 8, 2012
    9
    One of my favorite mario games and one of my favorite gamecube games. I was still in elementary school when i was playing this. I played this game so much back then it's ridiculous. I loved it.
  46. Dec 31, 2014
    9
    By far the best 3D mario. Many people rag on the FLUDD mechanic simply because it doesn't follow the average mario formula. i believe this Mario was the most creative, interesting, and just downright fun 3D mario game. it is the predecessor to Super Mario Galaxy, and the successor to Super Mario 64. Sporting one of the best controllers of all time as a tool to play it with to boot, theBy far the best 3D mario. Many people rag on the FLUDD mechanic simply because it doesn't follow the average mario formula. i believe this Mario was the most creative, interesting, and just downright fun 3D mario game. it is the predecessor to Super Mario Galaxy, and the successor to Super Mario 64. Sporting one of the best controllers of all time as a tool to play it with to boot, the Gamecube controller. This game is easy to pick up, easy to learn, and will have you addicted all the way through. this game gets a solid 9 from me. this game is not a ten for the sole reason that the game is fairly short, with only 5 or 6 worlds, you can get to the final shine fairly quickly. but there are tons of side activities and shines to grab to occupy even more of your time

    Conclusion: Definitely worth a play. Whether or not you think its the best 3D mario after playing, you will certainly be enjoying yourself all the way through.
    Expand
  47. Mar 28, 2017
    2
    Freaking voice acting! The most fun levels are the bonus super mario galaxy-esque levels. Some of the levels in this game are really frustrating and the voice acting is awful!
  48. DemonicAngel
    Nov 26, 2003
    3
    I want some of what these reviewers were obviously smoking. Either that, or I must be playing the wrong game. Graphics and sound are lovely, but the controls seem too loose for a Mario game, and the third-person camera is the single worst third-person camera I have ever experienced. Combining these faults makes accurate control no more than a crazy dream, and a platformer lives or dies by I want some of what these reviewers were obviously smoking. Either that, or I must be playing the wrong game. Graphics and sound are lovely, but the controls seem too loose for a Mario game, and the third-person camera is the single worst third-person camera I have ever experienced. Combining these faults makes accurate control no more than a crazy dream, and a platformer lives or dies by the accuracy of its controls. This one is dead and buried. Expand
  49. Uter
    Jul 10, 2003
    4
    Hugely Disappointing - while it's fun at times I must say that I was expecting a lot more from the Mario series. The part that I find most disappointing is that you've got to load up the level for each star separately. If 1 goal stumps you, you've got to exit and reload the level if you want to attempt another. I just don't understand why they took a step backward from Hugely Disappointing - while it's fun at times I must say that I was expecting a lot more from the Mario series. The part that I find most disappointing is that you've got to load up the level for each star separately. If 1 goal stumps you, you've got to exit and reload the level if you want to attempt another. I just don't understand why they took a step backward from Mario 64. Another gripe is with the control, especially during the underwater and pinball machine areas. Yet another problem is with Yoshi. Quite frankly, he stinks. The Yoshi music is awful and cluttered; Yoshi dies if he touches water (hmm i seem to remember kinda liking water in mario world 1 and 2). Using Yoshi is more of a chore than a reward, which is just plain wrong. I dislike how Nintendo decided to ditch the 1st Bowser kids in favor of a generic one. Remember Wendy, Morton, Lemmy and the rest from Mario 3? What happened to them? It just seems poorly conceived on the whole. I'm sure others have probably mentioned this, but the levels all have the same theme which becomes a bit tiresome. Oh 1 final gripe is with the camera - my gosh, it's the worst ever in any game I've seen. It's also de-evolved from Mario 64 and become much worse. It's always wandering and adjusting by itself which can be frustrating while making tricky platfroming jumps. On the bright side, I was entertained enough to play through and beat it (109 shines!). I think die hard Mario fans will be very disappointed Mario SUnshine, but I could see newcomers thinking it's a quality title. Expand
  50. Fremenwarrior
    Apr 27, 2003
    3
    I liked this game but I was very disappointed. It wasn't like the other mario games, you don't get to use koopa shells and throw them at stuff or get a fire flower. It just didn't seem like a mario game at all much like Luigi's mansion. At least that had boo's but it still wasn't a classic mario game. Am I the only person that was disappointed?
  51. RyanB.
    Jul 10, 2005
    4
    Feels like it's lost the magic; the rhythm of the game is all wrong, and compared to the previous 3D Mario encounter, Sunshine is extremely restrictive on the player's actions in favor of telling a coherent plot - something Mario games have never, ever needed. The game holds your hand far too much, forcing you to complete events in a preset order rather than allowing you to go Feels like it's lost the magic; the rhythm of the game is all wrong, and compared to the previous 3D Mario encounter, Sunshine is extremely restrictive on the player's actions in favor of telling a coherent plot - something Mario games have never, ever needed. The game holds your hand far too much, forcing you to complete events in a preset order rather than allowing you to go anywhere and do anything as the level design suggests. Controlling Mario is amazing, though. The portly plumber stops on a dime - it's too bad most of the levels never really put his skills to the test. The game is full of boss encounters that look tough but aren't, and vice versa - bosses that you'd think to be easy are often times the hardest ones in the game. Overall - fairly unpolished, a Mario game that fires on all the wrong cylinders. It's not BAD, persay, but falls way below the standard we've come to expect from Nintendo. Expand
  52. JasonC.
    Jun 14, 2007
    2
    Maybe as a fan of the old 2D Mario, I am biased, but this game just seemed like a mess of poor controls, unresponsive camera, and mindless repetition. A couple of the boss fights were original, but mostly the game was frustrating. It seems to cater to kids, but would be way too hard for younger kids to beat.
  53. PaulW
    Nov 16, 2008
    7
    I have been playing videogames for 25+ years. Most critics reviewing Super Mario Sunshine stated that, whilst it was not as good as Super Mario 64, it was not far off. Well, that might not necessarily be untrue because I think that Super Mario 64 was bettered by Rare's N64 platformers, but Super Mario Sunshine is not close to the sense of fun, invention and level design found in, say I have been playing videogames for 25+ years. Most critics reviewing Super Mario Sunshine stated that, whilst it was not as good as Super Mario 64, it was not far off. Well, that might not necessarily be untrue because I think that Super Mario 64 was bettered by Rare's N64 platformers, but Super Mario Sunshine is not close to the sense of fun, invention and level design found in, say Banjo Kazooie. I didn't realise this at the time as I actully bought an N64 (brand new) AFTER I'd bought a Cube. At the time, Super Mario Sunshine was actually the first 3D platformer that I'd played to any extent so, naturally, I was rather impressed with it and would have given it 9/10. But ever since I've played Banjo Kazooie, or Rare's other 3D platformers, I've concluded that SMS, which Miyamoto did not spend a lot of time on himself in favour of concentrating on The Wind Waker, is a curiously empty experience. Some parts are great- Isle Defino itself is bouncy, bright and sun kissed, Noki Bay is a tantalising puzzle of a level and the levels with building blocks are like a precursor to Super Mario Galaxy. I didn't mind using FLUDD, if only the abilities it gives you- eg to shoot up like a rocket or off like a jet ski, could have been utliised in levels as intriguing as anything in Banjo Kazooie. But, no, instead you bounce along on washing lines connecting different windmills, leading to pretty much nothing except Shines. Or you hang from wire frames leading to pretty much nothing except Shines. It's all just like a big construction site at the end of the day, a holiday that you quite liked at the time but now realise really wasn't anywhere near as exciting as it could have been. The game strenously sticks to the holiday theme so much that it lacks varierty and yet there are all other kinds of ideas that could have been implemented- Mario at a water park for instance. Don't get me wrong, it's still much better than the vast majority of dully violent, cliched videoegames but, to me, Luigi's Mansion was the best game featuring Mario on the Gamecube (yes, Mario Kart- Double Dash!!, which I have also reviewed today, also had some disappointments). Expand
  54. Jan 8, 2011
    10
    Super Mario Sunshine's story is yet again flawless, compelling and attractive, just like all Mario games are mant to be. F.L.U.D.D is an amazing addition to the already brilliant Mario, and the extra nozzles liven up the game. The ending is fantastic, despite the final boss battle being a bit of a pushover. There are many added levels to collect numerous shine sprites on, and even afterSuper Mario Sunshine's story is yet again flawless, compelling and attractive, just like all Mario games are mant to be. F.L.U.D.D is an amazing addition to the already brilliant Mario, and the extra nozzles liven up the game. The ending is fantastic, despite the final boss battle being a bit of a pushover. There are many added levels to collect numerous shine sprites on, and even after finishing the game many will strive to collect all the shine sprites. Could easily be 10 if the camera wasn't so unbearable annoying, but this game is the best i have played on the gamecube. Expand
  55. ShawnT.
    Feb 23, 2003
    4
    Im sick of seeing Mario kick bowser's ass. Yes besides that this game is very bad. I rented it and i couldn't stand it!!! It got a 4 because i thought it had amazing graphics........dont buy this game it's like foreign Dilbert for preschoolers.
  56. MichaelF.
    Aug 23, 2002
    0
    He uses water for his attack and he uses it to clean the island. i wouldnt waste my time playing a fake world.
  57. ZiggyStardust
    Nov 9, 2002
    8
    While it's certainly the worst Mario game ever made, it's still quite good when not compared to the others.
  58. JonathanP.
    Sep 4, 2002
    10
    Simply an amazing game that is just about perfect in every aspect. Quite refreshing for a game to be so difficult in this day and age where every game is handed to you on a silver platter, the platform jumping levels and other minigames are harder than anything seen on a console in years. I loved being able to control the camera however I wanted and any 3D platform game from henceforth Simply an amazing game that is just about perfect in every aspect. Quite refreshing for a game to be so difficult in this day and age where every game is handed to you on a silver platter, the platform jumping levels and other minigames are harder than anything seen on a console in years. I loved being able to control the camera however I wanted and any 3D platform game from henceforth that does not include it will be graded down in my eyes. Expand
  59. RobertJ.
    Mar 8, 2003
    9
    Mario is back. In super Mario Sunshine you get to explore the isle of Delfino, searching for shine sprites, and utilising a water pack to boost, propel, and spray. Besides spraying goop and grafitti, the water pack also allows you to extend your jumping range. This item is probably the most innovative facet of sunshines design and is so well implemented you may not immediately realise how Mario is back. In super Mario Sunshine you get to explore the isle of Delfino, searching for shine sprites, and utilising a water pack to boost, propel, and spray. Besides spraying goop and grafitti, the water pack also allows you to extend your jumping range. This item is probably the most innovative facet of sunshines design and is so well implemented you may not immediately realise how well they pull it off. Was Sunshine is too subtle for certain gamers? The levels all share a similar vacation and sunshine theme, yet they all have their mysteries. Each area is a host to seven levels, and each one of those levels just goes to show how ingenious each area's design is both conceptually and in execution. At times you might wonder out loud "is this a puzzle, or a playground". It is that sort of feeling which sets Mario Sunshine apart from its competitors. Less mature gamers may not have their hunger for gore and T n' A satiated, but for us Nintendo veterans Sunshine is great fun all the way through. But Sunshine is not perfect. Some of the enemies are not quite memorable, and there is a lack power ups(for some, power ups are the spice of life). Yoshi again makes an appearance, but he just isn't that integral to the game and almost feels tacked on. Much has been made of Sunshines camera, however I am resolved in the opinion that THE CAMERA ISN'T THAT BAD. In fact, I feel better controlling this camera than the one from Ratchet and Clank which for some odd reason gamespot rated higher than SMS(imo, a mistake). Basically the camera is as good, if not better as any other platformer. The controls are sharp and highly refined. The games levels are ingeniously devised. A few small thematic gaffes perhaps hold this game back from being Mario's finest, like maybe the vacation theme wears thin for one entire game. Maybe the enemies could have been better. Perhaps SMS was a tad too subtle for less mature gamers. these things don't over shadow the glowing positives I found in playing this game. The water pack, the level design, the beautiful graphics, precise control etc. Mario still sets the agenda, and remains the high water mark for platformers to aspire to. Expand
  60. MikeD.
    Aug 15, 2003
    9
    The plot is odd but the graphics are great. The game is fun, but like i said, the plot is a little childish. but theres lots to be done, so you'll be plaing for a while.
  61. PeterW.
    Feb 7, 2005
    7
    A good game, not a great game. At it's current "Player's Choice" price, I would recommend it, but don't expect it to change the way you play video games. I actually find the game to be very much like Mario 64, perhaps even a bit better. For it's time, Mario 64 was incredible but compared to what came after it definetly wasn't the best the system had to offer. Now A good game, not a great game. At it's current "Player's Choice" price, I would recommend it, but don't expect it to change the way you play video games. I actually find the game to be very much like Mario 64, perhaps even a bit better. For it's time, Mario 64 was incredible but compared to what came after it definetly wasn't the best the system had to offer. Now the same controls have basically been reused, minus punching and with the new projectiles. That's fine, as anyone who enjoyed Mario 64 can pick it up and play it. In fact, the only really terrible thing about this game is the camera. It hasn't evolved at all since Mario 64 and though the option to move the camera manually was great at the time, other innovations have been made since that could have been well implemented. As such, compared to more recent platformers, the camera is quite clunky and takes away from the enjoyment of the game. Still, if you've got $30 Canadian too much and some time to kill, I'd recomend it, if only because the Mario games released since (Power Tennis, Double Dash, Etc.) make reference to it and are quite confusing without. I spent my time with them asking "What the **** are these fat palm tree things?" and now that I've played sunshine, I understand it all that much better. Expand
  62. DonaldB.
    Nov 25, 2007
    9
    This game, with its bright colors, tight controls, and childishly amusing storyline, is perhaps the finest game in the series that I have played thus far. And the F.L.U.D.D. was cool too.
  63. AdamA.
    Apr 5, 2007
    8
    This game proved to be very enjoyable. The gameplay was creative and addicting. However, it eventually became focused on mini-games, which I had no patience to complete. They should have focused more on what made the game original.
  64. Faisal
    Sep 6, 2008
    10
    I've been playing video games for over 20 years and have owned consoles from every generation of gaming starting with the humble Atari vcs. I should think my gaming experience is more than the average person writing reviews here. Getting to my main point, of all the great games I have played this game provided me with the most fun. Other games have been great fun too but none so I've been playing video games for over 20 years and have owned consoles from every generation of gaming starting with the humble Atari vcs. I should think my gaming experience is more than the average person writing reviews here. Getting to my main point, of all the great games I have played this game provided me with the most fun. Other games have been great fun too but none so consistently fun from start to finish and without as FEW tedious or frustating moments as this. I only encountered two or three moments in the game where I found the level design lacking. Not bad for a game this long. I didn't have any serious problems with the camera either. The camera was inferior in Super Mario 64 but it didn't stop the critics (some of the very same ones who are dissing the camera in sunshine) from eulogising about how it was the best game ever. In finishing I would just like to say that I have never had such a happy time with a videogame or any form of enterainment as I had with this work of genius. Expand
  65. Miyamoto'sFu-bunny
    Nov 12, 2002
    10
    Blows the pants off anything else out there nice one shigsy!
  66. PeteP.
    Nov 18, 2002
    8
    I give this game an 8 because of two issues. I purchased this game just because it was Mario. I didn't initially get hooked on the game because of the controls. I'm talking about learning all of the many moves and jumps that Mario could accomplish. People, give it a chance, just like any game it'll grow on you. Let me tell you SMS is growing on me. So, getting over the I give this game an 8 because of two issues. I purchased this game just because it was Mario. I didn't initially get hooked on the game because of the controls. I'm talking about learning all of the many moves and jumps that Mario could accomplish. People, give it a chance, just like any game it'll grow on you. Let me tell you SMS is growing on me. So, getting over the control is one and second is the camera. At times, the camera gets stuck and it's a bit tricky trying to move the camera into a viewable position while say jumping to the next block. If the camera were improved I would've given this game a 9. It's not a 10 because it doesn't break new boundries like Mario 64 did. There's nothing really revolutionary about this game. It's been done before and you could consider it a revamped version of Mario 64 with better graphics and sound. Overall this is a good game. Maybe one of the best GCN has to offer. Definately worth purchasing because of the replay value and the overall exploration contained in this game. If you like SM64 then your sure to like this game. Expand
  67. ZachL.
    Oct 27, 2002
    10
    I thought it was a cool game just like an incoming thats normal like all the others. Later the game rocks I'm climbing trees and fences blasting water at enemys.I give it a 10 haha!
  68. DanielS.
    Aug 21, 2002
    10
    This is the best platformer to be released in years... It combines action, adventure and problem solving beautifully! As to where Entertainment Weekly came up with their review is a mystery... Mario has never been about Button Mashing and Sunshine is no exception.
  69. ChrisB.
    Aug 30, 2002
    10
    The Best!
  70. SaintPuhn
    Sep 10, 2002
    9
    First off, the learning curve for mastering the water cannon is pretty high (but that could be my arthritis acting up), but once you've got it... sweet! second, the only time i got extremely frustrated was trying to move up the back of the ferris wheel. stupid camera. i had to move between camera positions (Y) way too many times to accomplish that one. anyways, other than those twoFirst off, the learning curve for mastering the water cannon is pretty high (but that could be my arthritis acting up), but once you've got it... sweet! second, the only time i got extremely frustrated was trying to move up the back of the ferris wheel. stupid camera. i had to move between camera positions (Y) way too many times to accomplish that one. anyways, other than those two bad points, this game is a definite keeper. although i've only completed about 40%. hope the ending is good. Expand
  71. ScottP.
    Sep 1, 2002
    10
    Awesome game! Intense gameplay with tons of frustrating puzzles... Way to go Mario!
  72. MoisesdjcM.
    Sep 13, 2002
    10
    Um diversion que por muitas é ela que nos alegra para jogar mas eu queria saber se da para jogar online.
  73. K.P.
    Sep 18, 2002
    9
    A moderately successful platformer whose lack of variety and occasionally frustrating camera angles sometimes get in the way of its enormous potential.
  74. DanielM.
    Nov 2, 2004
    9
    A great game, but won't last forever.
  75. JonH.
    Dec 5, 2007
    8
    Very good game with a happy and fun backdrop with a new twist to Mario. Camera views need work though.
  76. Melody
    Jan 30, 2008
    9
    I love this game! My favorite village was the one on top of the big sunshine where there's this red warp pipe. Super Mario Sunshine is very beautiful and not just that, the game is very fun to play. I love this game a lot.
  77. JordanH.
    Nov 3, 2002
    10
    This game is just pure fun! The controls are easy, the storyline is cool, I love this game!
  78. JohnO.
    Sep 11, 2002
    10
    This game is perfect. Hey, Mike F., go back to playing Halo and GTA III, I want a challenging platformer, not an ultra-violent bloodbath. If I want that I'll watch CNN.
  79. ChrisS.
    Sep 29, 2002
    9
    Good game. Changed the classic mario a bit, but it still remains a good game. Much better then Luigi's Mansion which i thought was pretty lame. When you first get your "mission" you think it will be childish, but after about 1 hour (which soon turns into 15 hours) you will grow to love this game. I am up to 62 shines or whatever they are, and i am stuck. LOVE THIS GAME.
  80. BarbaraB.
    Apr 26, 2003
    8
    I love everything about this game (that I have managed to see) except that it requires such tight precision for jumping & shooting - both are nearly impossible for me being vision impaired. It is not easy for a kindergartner either though.
  81. MattP.
    Jul 14, 2004
    10
    Fan-Freakin'-Tastic! That's the only word tha will fully describe Super Mario Sunshine. Hardcore gamers will dismiss this title as childish, but just because it games about a chubby Itialian plumber it is by no means easy. Some levels made me question my abilities as a gamer, but once I beat said levels I felt like the best damn person on the face of the planet.
  82. puffy
    Nov 29, 2005
    9
    great game,,,,, real fun ..... lot of intresting ideas.... but kind hard..graphics are pretty godo... i thougth star fox adverure had great water afects.. i played this game an this game beats that ... the sand n water will flip ur mind out ... i luv knoick that big calapiller or what ever that thing on its back..... the stand it blows up as it runs buy u look pretty dang real...the great game,,,,, real fun ..... lot of intresting ideas.... but kind hard..graphics are pretty godo... i thougth star fox adverure had great water afects.. i played this game an this game beats that ... the sand n water will flip ur mind out ... i luv knoick that big calapiller or what ever that thing on its back..... the stand it blows up as it runs buy u look pretty dang real...the mirror afects are cool.... them are jsut trippy.... i can say this game is worth buyin for that fact even worth rentin...the camra does take some time to get use too but once u do .....ur flyin...one great gamecube game... one that u should not miss out on...... Expand
  83. RogerS.
    Jul 29, 2005
    10
    My 5 year old son and I loved playing it together....for us, it was challenging, but we don't play many games. The only drawback: There is no Mario Sunshine II yet!
  84. May 26, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Mario is back and deadlier then ever. Nice 3D environments, gorgeous graphics, nice water and lava effects make this a oretty good-looking game. The ending is sad; F.L.U.D.D. dies. I'd like to see a sequel spawn on Wii. The infrared pointer could make aiming at enemies with FLUDD feel easier. Expand
  85. Oct 22, 2011
    10
    My favourite game when I was a kid, and still one of my favourites right now. Locations are beautiful, the music is amazing, there's a lot of variety in the missions, and it's all but together into a beautiful, colourful world. The only thing that troubles the game is the camera at times, but that is only a minor let-down.
  86. Jul 19, 2013
    4
    I think, that this game is the most bad mario game I've ever played (I don't count Games like "Mario teaches typing" or "Hotel Mario"). For me as Ultimate Mario Fan, I can count myself to one of those who were disappointed. Why do you have a watercannon? And what's with the synchronisation of everyone?
    If you want to play a good 3D-Mario-Game: Buy Super Mario 64.
  87. Jul 22, 2013
    8
    It's not as good as SM64 or SM3DL but it's better than SMB2. The visuals are nice and were good for its time. The artwork for it is similar to today's Mario games. FLUDD is awesome and the story is awesome. 8/10
  88. Apr 8, 2017
    9
    Super Mario Sunshine is the best Mario game I've ever played in the Nintendo GameCube. It had more storytelling than Mario 64, beautiful graphics and designs, fun gameplay, a lot of new elements including F.L.U.D.D. and Yoshi, smoother controls, improved boss battles and difficulty over Mario 64 and excellent music. Unfortunately, it still has the same camera issues like Mario 64 and theSuper Mario Sunshine is the best Mario game I've ever played in the Nintendo GameCube. It had more storytelling than Mario 64, beautiful graphics and designs, fun gameplay, a lot of new elements including F.L.U.D.D. and Yoshi, smoother controls, improved boss battles and difficulty over Mario 64 and excellent music. Unfortunately, it still has the same camera issues like Mario 64 and the secret levels are a mix, sometimes it can be fun and challenging especially with F.L.U.D.D and the red coin missions, while others, it can get quite frustrating and annoying without F.L.U.D.D, and if you make a mistake once, you have to start all over again without any sort of checkpoints due to how short these levels are. That's all the flaws I can easily point out. If you loved Super Mario 64 so much, you'll love this game even more. And If you ever own a Nintendo GameCube, this is a must-own for your NGC library. I gave it the same score as Super Mario 64, a 9 out of 10. Expand
  89. Jan 16, 2015
    10
    This game is the best mario for gameplay. The controls are EXTREMELY tight. Every move is very fluid. There are so many different ways to jump. The parkour tricks you can pull off are limitless. FLUDD was an amazing addition to the game. It let them make harder levels while still making it doable. By far my favorite Mario of all time. Only downside is the voice acting is bad, but who caresThis game is the best mario for gameplay. The controls are EXTREMELY tight. Every move is very fluid. There are so many different ways to jump. The parkour tricks you can pull off are limitless. FLUDD was an amazing addition to the game. It let them make harder levels while still making it doable. By far my favorite Mario of all time. Only downside is the voice acting is bad, but who cares about that when the gameplay is SO GOOD. My favorite videogame of all time. It is so free and open world. It is a great example of almost perfect gameplay. Also, the some people complain about the camera, but this game has one of the best camera systems because not only does it automatically change view, the c-stick can be used to manipulate the camera manually. This is very useful in this game because the levels are so complex. Im going to say it one more time because I can't emphasize this enough, the jump and movement mechanics in this game are LEGENDARY, fluid, innovative. Mario 64 used a lot of rigid jumps like the tuck backflip and the long jump. They didnt feel natural. Sunshine's backflip doesnt need a tuck beforehand. There are single, double and triple jumps, spin jumps, spin triple jumps, spin wall jumps, slides, dives. The dives can be performed in tandem with jumps that basically can substitute long jumps. The learning curve is decently quick, but it extends for a long time. Watch a speedrun of this game and you will see what I mean. This game is fun. Really fun. It is not perfect, but no game has given me more joy than this one. Expand
  90. Oct 22, 2017
    10
    Super Mario Sunshine was amazing. It had a great story, soundtrack and it had an amazing feel to it. Would I call it better than 64, no... Would I call it worse, no... They are equally great games, F.L.U.D.D. was the cute little assist that really made this game what it was. Overall Mario Sunshine had some minor issues but they were all made up for with the game's charm.
  91. Aug 31, 2016
    2
    O jogo é tedioso, o gamecube nao tem um jogo memorável do mario, fases chatas, musicas fracas, estilo de jogabilidade nada divertida, os graficos estao bons
  92. Mar 14, 2017
    9
    Graphics - 10
    Music - 10
    Story - 7
    Gameplay - 10
    Content - 10
    Personal Fun - 9
    DIfficulty - 9 .
  93. Nov 6, 2017
    9
    This is the best Mario 64 sequel we could have got. It improves in almost every way while having new mechanics to feel new. It would be a 10/10 if it wasn't for the lack of polish that other mario games have.
  94. Nov 14, 2017
    0
    This game is easily the worst 3D Mario platform game. Super Mario Sunshine is a game that feels unfinished and rushed. The camera is mediocre and a lot of the levels is this game feel very repetitive and glitchy. Some of these levels would be the Il piantissimo levels, the shadow mario chase levels, and the giant blooper boss fight levels. These levels appear frequently throughout the gameThis game is easily the worst 3D Mario platform game. Super Mario Sunshine is a game that feels unfinished and rushed. The camera is mediocre and a lot of the levels is this game feel very repetitive and glitchy. Some of these levels would be the Il piantissimo levels, the shadow mario chase levels, and the giant blooper boss fight levels. These levels appear frequently throughout the game with little to no changes which make them feel stale very fast. The controls are said to be the best controls in a 3D Mario game ever which if you actually played the game, you would know is completely false. Mario slips and slides everywhere which makes the game frustrating as it is tiring to land on a platform only for Mario to slip right off. The physics engine in this game is unbelievably terrible because of this. Another example of terrible controls would be the levels where you're underwater collecting red coins and cleaning an eel's teeth. These levels are bad and aren't fun in execution because of the terrible controls not allowing Mario to go where you want him to. The worlds aren't very interesting to explore and it's a good thing too (probably the only good thing you can say about this heaping pile of trash) since Mario Sunshine doesn't reward you for exploration at all. You could argue the blue coins exist for this reason, but the blue coins don't do anything useful so they're completely pointless! Fludd doesn't do much to the gameplay, in fact he hinders it because of the removal of the long jump. Because of this, the levels where you don't have fludd are some of the worst in the game. After playing the extremely forgettable and overrated super mario sunshine, it's clear to see that people only like it because they are extremely blinded by nostalgia for the sonic 06 of the mario series. Maybe if the game wasn't so rushed it could actually be considered playable. I expect much more from Nintendo. You should too. Expand
  95. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    What I have to say about this game is... MY FAVOURITE VIDEOGAME! It is the best Mario game that could have been made! The graphics are marvelous, the platforms are very, very different, from the other Mario games, this time are bigger, hilarious and fun, and I think this the only game when the characters talk all the time, that was funny, and even the new characters are very funny. I willWhat I have to say about this game is... MY FAVOURITE VIDEOGAME! It is the best Mario game that could have been made! The graphics are marvelous, the platforms are very, very different, from the other Mario games, this time are bigger, hilarious and fun, and I think this the only game when the characters talk all the time, that was funny, and even the new characters are very funny. I will never stop loving this game. Expand
  96. Nov 15, 2017
    2
    It's not just the blue coins that are the problem. There is just an insane amount of unfun things that the game wants you to do. The hub world is absolutely incredible though and is clearly the best thing about the game.
  97. Apr 21, 2016
    9
    Super Mario Sunshine is a great game but it has some flaws. The camera is notoriously bad and the controls are not the best, but the design of the game is flawless.
  98. Dec 16, 2013
    10
    Hands down my favourite game on the Gamecube. This game sucked me in, and took me on a ride! Beat it 100% and proud. Story is fantastic! Gameplay is fluid (except for the occasional camera spasms). Regular story is a bit short but there is much more to do after. If you have a Gamecube, GET THIS GAME. I guarantee you'll be entertained for hours and will love this game for the rest of your life.
  99. Nov 14, 2017
    10
    A see a lot of mixed opinions on this game and I understand why, this game is missing a lot of defining features that other mario games had. Things like the triple jump, the long jump, and etc. Those are just minor things though and I really hope they make a tribute to this game one day. I think it's too late to ever make a second one but hey, I'll stay optimistic on this one. This gameA see a lot of mixed opinions on this game and I understand why, this game is missing a lot of defining features that other mario games had. Things like the triple jump, the long jump, and etc. Those are just minor things though and I really hope they make a tribute to this game one day. I think it's too late to ever make a second one but hey, I'll stay optimistic on this one. This game was really a breath of fresh air from traditional mario games and I'm glad they took that step because so many fun and original characters came out of this game. The environments are also spectacular in this game, I feel like I say that with most mario games though. I loved how the continued the idea of having a hub world in this game though because it feels closely linked to super mario 64. This game is so fun, so bright, and challenging enough to keep anyone playing. Once again Nintendo has found a way to make a perfect balance Expand
  100. Jan 4, 2014
    9
    One of the most memorable games of my childhood, I still return now and again to beat the game in one long session. Of course, it has that huge trouble with the camera, but I personally never noticed it until I looked. So -1 for that flaw. It really does a sort of timeless charm that makes people come back for more. I beat the same boss 3 times in a row just because it was so satisfying toOne of the most memorable games of my childhood, I still return now and again to beat the game in one long session. Of course, it has that huge trouble with the camera, but I personally never noticed it until I looked. So -1 for that flaw. It really does a sort of timeless charm that makes people come back for more. I beat the same boss 3 times in a row just because it was so satisfying to pull off his tentacles. The game was a bit of a challenge, especially with those darn secret stages. But I was looking for a challenge, and I was happy with that. The only real gameplay criticism I have is that the game could've been a bit more innovative with how you used the FLUDD. Moving along, the graphics are beautiful, especially for a GameCube game. The Delfino Isle hub is fun to mess around in, and it wasn't too painful looking for all the hidden Shines. All in all, definitely a game any GameCube/Wii owner should play. Expand

Awards & Rankings

5
2
#2 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2002
2
#2 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2002
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 61 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 61
  2. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. The FLUDD system is used throughout the game and can either be why the game is so great or why the game is so mediocre.
  2. To say that the camera in this game is atrocious is like saying being kicked in the teeth kinda hurts-it gives the person an idea about how bad it is, but it doesn't even begin to describe the agony in detail.
  3. 100
    A masterpiece of superior game design, infinite gameplay variety, creativity, and life-and it's got a water cannon…and a damn brilliant one at that.