Super Mario Sunshine Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 61 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 566 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: When Mario, Peach, and an entourage of Peach's loyal Toad friends set out for a tropical vacation on lovely Isle Delfino, they're in store for much more than a relaxing holiday. A mustachioed maniac has mucked up the entire island, and Mario is accused of committing the crime. Armed with aWhen Mario, Peach, and an entourage of Peach's loyal Toad friends set out for a tropical vacation on lovely Isle Delfino, they're in store for much more than a relaxing holiday. A mustachioed maniac has mucked up the entire island, and Mario is accused of committing the crime. Armed with a hi-tech water cannon called FLUDD (Flash Liquidizer Ultra Dousing Device), Mario sets out to clean the island, clear his name, and solve the mystery of the villainous vandal. With new enemies, moves, and surprises, Super Mario Sunshine offers plenty of challenges. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 61
  2. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. 100
    A masterpiece of superior game design, infinite gameplay variety, creativity, and life-and it's got a water cannon…and a damn brilliant one at that.
  2. Combine the wonderfully fluid control system, level designs that ooze the 'one more go' appeal and the fact that it's Mario, and you've got one of the best games in a long time and certainly the GameCube's finest hour to date. [Import]
  3. An excellent title, and almost certainly the very best GameCube title to date.
  4. Sunshine isn't the leap forward from Mario 64 that Mario 64 was from the previous Marios. But of all the titles that are available right now, on viable platforms, this is as good as videogaming gets. [Import]
  5. Even three and a half years later, there hasn't been a more complete, entertaining, lovingly wrought platformer made for the GameCube.
  6. Although not quite the revolution in game play or visual aesthetics that "Super Mario 64" was in its heyday, Super Mario Sunshine still stands as one of the premier platform games of this console generation.
  7. To say that the camera in this game is atrocious is like saying being kicked in the teeth kinda hurts-it gives the person an idea about how bad it is, but it doesn't even begin to describe the agony in detail.

See all 61 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 157
  1. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    Super Mario Sunshine was my first and one of my favorite games growing up. I worked through it and always enjoyed the great look and feel.Super Mario Sunshine was my first and one of my favorite games growing up. I worked through it and always enjoyed the great look and feel. Unfortunately my memory card went corrupt and I had to start over, which I put off until recently. The game is just as good if not better then I remember and I just wish Nintendo had gone back to Isle Delfino in another main title and not just as cameos in sports games. The closest thing to it are some of the planets from Super Mario Galaxy, and there my favorite planets in the game. The game is just is full of charm. Go out and find a copy right now, then buy it and don't ever stop playing. Expand
  2. Jan 16, 2015
    10
    This game is the best mario for gameplay. The controls are EXTREMELY tight. Every move is very fluid. There are so many different ways toThis game is the best mario for gameplay. The controls are EXTREMELY tight. Every move is very fluid. There are so many different ways to jump. The parkour tricks you can pull off are limitless. FLUDD was an amazing addition to the game. It let them make harder levels while still making it doable. By far my favorite Mario of all time. Only downside is the voice acting is bad, but who cares about that when the gameplay is SO GOOD. My favorite videogame of all time. It is so free and open world. It is a great example of almost perfect gameplay. Also, the some people complain about the camera, but this game has one of the best camera systems because not only does it automatically change view, the c-stick can be used to manipulate the camera manually. This is very useful in this game because the levels are so complex. Im going to say it one more time because I can't emphasize this enough, the jump and movement mechanics in this game are LEGENDARY, fluid, innovative. Mario 64 used a lot of rigid jumps like the tuck backflip and the long jump. They didnt feel natural. Sunshine's backflip doesnt need a tuck beforehand. There are single, double and triple jumps, spin jumps, spin triple jumps, spin wall jumps, slides, dives. The dives can be performed in tandem with jumps that basically can substitute long jumps. The learning curve is decently quick, but it extends for a long time. Watch a speedrun of this game and you will see what I mean. This game is fun. Really fun. It is not perfect, but no game has given me more joy than this one. Expand
  3. CoryS.
    Oct 30, 2002
    10
    Wow, this is a great game. I spent maybe 8 hours playing the first day I bought it -- and eight hours the next day -- and the next. I still Wow, this is a great game. I spent maybe 8 hours playing the first day I bought it -- and eight hours the next day -- and the next. I still havn't gotten every shine either, I have 117 though. Its a great game, If I didn't have it, I would get it. Expand
  4. RobertJ.
    Mar 8, 2003
    9
    Mario is back. In super Mario Sunshine you get to explore the isle of Delfino, searching for shine sprites, and utilising a water pack to Mario is back. In super Mario Sunshine you get to explore the isle of Delfino, searching for shine sprites, and utilising a water pack to boost, propel, and spray. Besides spraying goop and grafitti, the water pack also allows you to extend your jumping range. This item is probably the most innovative facet of sunshines design and is so well implemented you may not immediately realise how well they pull it off. Was Sunshine is too subtle for certain gamers? The levels all share a similar vacation and sunshine theme, yet they all have their mysteries. Each area is a host to seven levels, and each one of those levels just goes to show how ingenious each area's design is both conceptually and in execution. At times you might wonder out loud "is this a puzzle, or a playground". It is that sort of feeling which sets Mario Sunshine apart from its competitors. Less mature gamers may not have their hunger for gore and T n' A satiated, but for us Nintendo veterans Sunshine is great fun all the way through. But Sunshine is not perfect. Some of the enemies are not quite memorable, and there is a lack power ups(for some, power ups are the spice of life). Yoshi again makes an appearance, but he just isn't that integral to the game and almost feels tacked on. Much has been made of Sunshines camera, however I am resolved in the opinion that THE CAMERA ISN'T THAT BAD. In fact, I feel better controlling this camera than the one from Ratchet and Clank which for some odd reason gamespot rated higher than SMS(imo, a mistake). Basically the camera is as good, if not better as any other platformer. The controls are sharp and highly refined. The games levels are ingeniously devised. A few small thematic gaffes perhaps hold this game back from being Mario's finest, like maybe the vacation theme wears thin for one entire game. Maybe the enemies could have been better. Perhaps SMS was a tad too subtle for less mature gamers. these things don't over shadow the glowing positives I found in playing this game. The water pack, the level design, the beautiful graphics, precise control etc. Mario still sets the agenda, and remains the high water mark for platformers to aspire to. Expand
  5. May 27, 2016
    9
    Super Mario Sunshine was a game that if not for a faulty camera system, would've been the best main series Mario game to date. Other than thatSuper Mario Sunshine was a game that if not for a faulty camera system, would've been the best main series Mario game to date. Other than that however, this game is a masterpiece from top to bottom, and it receives way more hate than it should. While FLUDD was fairly gimmicky, the platforming action was still top notch, and the gameworld felt more fleshed out than that of any other main series Mario game. In addition, the boss fights are immensely fun. Definitely one of the best Gamecube games out there. Expand
  6. Mar 19, 2016
    8
    Sunshine is a pretty good game, if you're not going for 100% completion. If you are... you may be disappointed. Super Mario Sunshine also hasSunshine is a pretty good game, if you're not going for 100% completion. If you are... you may be disappointed. Super Mario Sunshine also has somewhat of a story, but in the end, it's the same old Mario story we're used to, so no spoilers. But hey, Bowser Junior makes his first appearance in this game, so that's nice. It controls pretty well, the soundtrack, while not as good as previous games, is memorable. The graphics could be better, but they're still pretty good. Overall, Mario Sunshine is decent. I wish I could say that about the next games I'm going to review. Expand
  7. Nov 14, 2017
    0
    This game is easily the worst 3D Mario platform game. Super Mario Sunshine is a game that feels unfinished and rushed. The camera is mediocreThis game is easily the worst 3D Mario platform game. Super Mario Sunshine is a game that feels unfinished and rushed. The camera is mediocre and a lot of the levels is this game feel very repetitive and glitchy. Some of these levels would be the Il piantissimo levels, the shadow mario chase levels, and the giant blooper boss fight levels. These levels appear frequently throughout the game with little to no changes which make them feel stale very fast. The controls are said to be the best controls in a 3D Mario game ever which if you actually played the game, you would know is completely false. Mario slips and slides everywhere which makes the game frustrating as it is tiring to land on a platform only for Mario to slip right off. The physics engine in this game is unbelievably terrible because of this. Another example of terrible controls would be the levels where you're underwater collecting red coins and cleaning an eel's teeth. These levels are bad and aren't fun in execution because of the terrible controls not allowing Mario to go where you want him to. The worlds aren't very interesting to explore and it's a good thing too (probably the only good thing you can say about this heaping pile of trash) since Mario Sunshine doesn't reward you for exploration at all. You could argue the blue coins exist for this reason, but the blue coins don't do anything useful so they're completely pointless! Fludd doesn't do much to the gameplay, in fact he hinders it because of the removal of the long jump. Because of this, the levels where you don't have fludd are some of the worst in the game. After playing the extremely forgettable and overrated super mario sunshine, it's clear to see that people only like it because they are extremely blinded by nostalgia for the sonic 06 of the mario series. Maybe if the game wasn't so rushed it could actually be considered playable. I expect much more from Nintendo. You should too. Expand

See all 157 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Every Super Mario Bros. Game, Ranked

    Every Super Mario Bros. Game, Ranked Image
    Published: October 10, 2017
    We rank every Super Mario game by score from worst to best.
  2. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.

Awards & Rankings

5
2
#2 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2002
2
#2 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2002