The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker GameCube

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 952 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 53 out of 952
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mac
    Mar 1, 2003
    10
    To everybody complaining about the graphics, would you rather Nintendo do the same boring thing that almost every other comany does of just making their games more life-like? Or would you rather they create them like art, which is what a truly good game is. Zelda has always been cartoony, and that's not just due to graphics restrictions. I'd say that OoT was the exception, not the rule.
  2. MichaelK.
    Mar 25, 2003
    10
    It's an absolute masterpiece, in graphics, sound, control, and gameplay. Elevates the gameplay of Orcarnia and Majora's Mask to unheralded new levels. Intense and emotional, with dark undertones that prove it's no kid's game. Like playing a Hayao Miyazaki film... already can see it being the best game of the year. Personally one of the best games I've ever had the It's an absolute masterpiece, in graphics, sound, control, and gameplay. Elevates the gameplay of Orcarnia and Majora's Mask to unheralded new levels. Intense and emotional, with dark undertones that prove it's no kid's game. Like playing a Hayao Miyazaki film... already can see it being the best game of the year. Personally one of the best games I've ever had the joy of experiencing. Expand
  3. SeanM.
    Mar 7, 2003
    10
    I cant believe you people who rated this game badly because it didnt have real life graphics! Have you ever play The Legend Of Zelda: A Link To The Past? That Is the best game ever made for any system anywhere, anytime. This game will be awesome! It's not about whether the graphics are good or not its about how fun the game is! I think this game will kick some major ass. I thought I cant believe you people who rated this game badly because it didnt have real life graphics! Have you ever play The Legend Of Zelda: A Link To The Past? That Is the best game ever made for any system anywhere, anytime. This game will be awesome! It's not about whether the graphics are good or not its about how fun the game is! I think this game will kick some major ass. I thought Ocarina Of Time was good but then I realized how good A Link To The Past was for SNES. I realized that games with cartoon graphics are way the hell better because they concentrate on the story more. You want to get sucked in to the game. Thats what Zelda is all about. I know that SNES is old but still A Link To The Past is the best game ever made and I'm positive this game will kick as much ass as the SNES version did. NUFF SAID! Expand
  4. BLove
    May 6, 2003
    10
    The only complaint that I have is the game is a little too short. However, I simply can't give it less than a 10 as much as I enjoyed it. Can't wait for the next zelda on the gamecube.
  5. SamG.
    May 7, 2003
    10
    I haven't played this game yet but I a Zelda Fan!!! So I don't care what it looks like because its not about the graphics. Its about what type of game you like.
  6. JasonH.
    Jun 2, 2003
    10
    This is much better than ocarina of time, and as that was the best game ever, the wind waker should now be classed as the best game ever.
  7. ErikF.
    Jun 9, 2003
    10
    Best game ever!
  8. ChaCha
    Aug 1, 2003
    10
    Incredible. All you people talk about are the cartoon like graphics, but once I played through the game, I couldn't imagine anything else. Tell me what game can you sail stormy seas, fight gigantic creatures from the depths of the ocean, and watch clouds form and move in the sky. This game is truely a dream. No this game doesn't have the dungeon depth in the Ocarina of Time, but Incredible. All you people talk about are the cartoon like graphics, but once I played through the game, I couldn't imagine anything else. Tell me what game can you sail stormy seas, fight gigantic creatures from the depths of the ocean, and watch clouds form and move in the sky. This game is truely a dream. No this game doesn't have the dungeon depth in the Ocarina of Time, but I love its courage to explore the Zelda universe and actually include more defined NPC's. I rank it up there with A Link to the Past. Expand
  9. JarkkoJ.
    Mar 25, 2004
    10
    I think this game is one of the best games ever made. Graphics are fantastic and gameplay is excellent. There is only one bad thing... it was too easy.
  10. JoseM.
    Feb 21, 2005
    10
    This i sthe second best zelda game to ocarina of time I hate those who say the graphics are whack i say "who cares it ain'tbout graphics it the gameply" and this game blew me away.
  11. MatthewV.
    Mar 2, 2005
    10
    The best game of 2003! The story line is excellent and exiting. The cell shaded graphics are unique but top notch and the gameplay is great. The controls are basically the same as OoT's, and the puzzles are the same wonderful zelda goodness. Best zelda game next to Ocarina of Time of course. A must have for any GCN owner!
  12. LisaI.
    Sep 29, 2005
    10
    Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker was great game.there was nothing wrong about it.but i still thinkMajoras Mask and Ocarina of time were better games including the better graphics Lisa xxx
  13. WilhelmB.
    Aug 3, 2007
    10
    The music, the bosses, the enviroment, the animations, have left a permanent imprint on me of what an amazing game should be.
  14. supert0n
    Feb 5, 2009
    10
    This is the best game in the world!The gameplay works perfectly,and the graphics has its own original style,making the game brilliant,and the storyline is perfect,you must play it!
  15. Sariachan
    Dec 7, 2003
    10
    One of the best Zelda game I ever played, I loved Link's new style of fighting, the cell-shaded graphics, the soundtrack, and the overall greatness of this game.
  16. TylerL.
    Feb 22, 2003
    10
    I'm so sick and tired of people who judges the book by its cover. Like Tom said its judged on how it is played not by how childish it looks. If you even played the game you will love it just as much as the previous Zelda games.
  17. Ness
    Mar 20, 2003
    10
    "Actually, when I first saw the toon shaded Zelda I was very surprised and excited by it. However, I was startled by the response we got from the press when we showed it off the first time. They all said, "Oh, so is Nintendo now taking Zelda and trying to aim it only at kids?" Really, the whole concept we had behind it was that we thought it was a very creative and new way to show off "Actually, when I first saw the toon shaded Zelda I was very surprised and excited by it. However, I was startled by the response we got from the press when we showed it off the first time. They all said, "Oh, so is Nintendo now taking Zelda and trying to aim it only at kids?" Really, the whole concept we had behind it was that we thought it was a very creative and new way to show off Link. All the sudden it had been interpreted as Nintendo's new strategy, and that was a shock for us. When it comes to Nintendo strategy, it's not that we want to make games for kids. It's that we want to make them creative while appealing to a wider audience. Obviously we see games as entertainment, and we want to find the best way to make the gameplay experience entertaining for everyone." -Shigeru Miyamoto Expand
  18. Mr.Wha
    Mar 22, 2003
    10
    Da Best! NUFF SAID.
  19. NikoB.
    Mar 26, 2003
    10
    This is truly a great game. The cell-shading animation takes nothing away from the game, and only adds to its creativity. Gameplay is easy to understand, and this Zelda has the best fighting in any of the games. Definitely one of the two best Zeldas.
  20. RyanM.
    Mar 29, 2003
    10
    This game has so much style that I have to agree with the comments from the majority of the magazines. There will be no finer gaming experience this year. Miyamoto strikes again!
  21. BrianS.
    Mar 7, 2003
    10
    How someone can give this a 3 is beyond me. The graphics are great, especially the animation, and the gameplay is classic.
  22. Diogoluz
    Apr 11, 2003
    10
    its super colorfull and the controls are very easy.
  23. APlayer
    Apr 10, 2003
    10
    BEST GAME I EVER PLAYED!!!! It's even better than metriod prime!!
  24. Daniel
    Apr 13, 2003
    10
    Everyone who hates this game because of the cel shading: You are STINKING IDIOTS!! This game is definitely one of the best games EVER in history!!! It's much better than OoT! I mean it, cel shading rocks!!
  25. MikeM.
    Apr 14, 2003
    10
    Great Game!!!
  26. RemainingNameless
    Apr 18, 2003
    10
    this game is wicked!!!!!!! the bosses r kinda easy though, but thats ok becuz the battle with ganon at the end was the best. finally zelda showed that she was useful 4 something other than screaming. even though the graphics r kinda screwed and the game is short, i think it was an amazing segment 2 the L.o.Z series! wicked game!!!!!!!!
  27. JackR.
    Apr 24, 2003
    10
    This game is freakin' amazing. I've been playing it now for about 4 nights and I still keep seeing things that make me say "Wow!". The graphics are gorgeous, the sound is well done, the music is great, the control is tight, the story is amazing, and the game overall is just very well polished. However, there are a few flaws. The camera can be annoying at times, although this This game is freakin' amazing. I've been playing it now for about 4 nights and I still keep seeing things that make me say "Wow!". The graphics are gorgeous, the sound is well done, the music is great, the control is tight, the story is amazing, and the game overall is just very well polished. However, there are a few flaws. The camera can be annoying at times, although this problem plagues almost all 3d games. Traveling the map sometimes feels tedious. Certain repetitive sounds like Link yapping when he jumps can be annoying. These few problems are minor however, and don't detract overall from my enjoyment of the game. This game is so polished and does so well in keeping me interested and amazed that I gave it a 10. Expand
  28. ChristopherG.
    Apr 24, 2003
    10
    This is my favorite game ever!!!!!!!!
  29. D.C.
    Apr 3, 2003
    10
    Ups: Awesome graphics and visuals, incredible environments, great overall theme, fun combat and cool new items Downs: The Ocarina was better than the Windwaker, but if you're patient and don't mind sailing A LOT then there isn't much to complain about.
  30. WhipslashM.
    Apr 30, 2003
    10
    I thought that the game would be f*cked up cuz of the new graphicks, i was WRONG!!!!
  31. Chris
    May 13, 2003
    10
    Yeah, it's a bit easy in places... But it is, without doubt, the most enjoyable game I've ever played, OoT included. Explore the whole(enormous) world and it'll last for ages..
  32. KeeganM.
    May 22, 2003
    10
    Well... when I first saw how the game looked, m I was scpetical, to say the least. Link just doesn't look good as a cartoon. That aside, it is easily thebest games I've ever played... except maybe ocarina of Time. And once you get used to the cartoon-style graphics, you'll see how much better they can animate the game.
  33. SamA.
    May 9, 2003
    10
    Just got it and it is the best game ever! When you see the screenshots of it it looks rubbish but in action its as smooth as a babies bum. 10/10? Definitely
  34. MattR.
    May 9, 2003
    10
    This game is the best game on the GameCube, and is only rivalled by such titles as Final Fantasy on the PS2 and Halo on the Xbox. Every GameCube owner should buy this game because it boasts perfect gameplay, a huge storyline and graphics that (although many would consider them cartoony and a downside) grow on you until you wish all your other games looked like this. It looks like Zelda This game is the best game on the GameCube, and is only rivalled by such titles as Final Fantasy on the PS2 and Halo on the Xbox. Every GameCube owner should buy this game because it boasts perfect gameplay, a huge storyline and graphics that (although many would consider them cartoony and a downside) grow on you until you wish all your other games looked like this. It looks like Zelda has done it again. Expand
  35. AmberT.
    Jun 3, 2003
    10
    Absolutely brilliant!!!!
  36. AndoryuU.
    Jun 30, 2003
    10
    This game surpasses all others, an outstading play for all ages!
  37. Uter
    Jun 4, 2003
    10
    My only problem with the game is that it doesn't have very many dungeons when compared to other zeldas. the worst part is that 2 dungeons were pulled at the last minute only because the game was getting too long. but even so, there's lots of puzzles to solve and other things that'll keep even seasononed gamers busy for many many pleasant hours.
  38. CarolynB.
    Aug 10, 2003
    10
    The legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker is awesome! im always excited to see new boses and i love the animation. its a hard game with all the puzzles, but thats what makes so cool. this is why i rate this a 10.
  39. GameKing
    Aug 9, 2003
    10
    This game is the best GC game ive ever played (except for super smash bros melee.) i havnt even finished it and i still think its the best!!!!!! all my friends that have a GC have it. theres monsters to fight chalenges to take on etc.this is y i gave it a 10.
  40. AzizK.
    Sep 22, 2003
    10
    LINK IS DA@BEST!
  41. DanielM.
    Nov 2, 2004
    10
    I do not know how anyone can live without this game.
  42. JonathanA.
    Jan 2, 2004
    10
    I love this game, Its non-stop action!!!!!!
  43. Mercury
    Dec 26, 2004
    10
    Perfection.
  44. ArneL.
    Apr 1, 2004
    10
    It's great... everybody that says it's to similar to oot are right but oot is the best game of all time so thats not a bad score. if you don´t have it buy it.
  45. AndreB.
    May 12, 2004
    10
    This game is amazing. It is utterly perfect in every aspect. The graphics are beautiful. They look as good as any Xbox or PC game. The sound is great, including the music. The gameplay is perfect. This game has some of the best gameplay ever. It really feels like Zelda, even with the cel-shaded graphics. Of course it caused controversy, but now that I've played it I couldn't This game is amazing. It is utterly perfect in every aspect. The graphics are beautiful. They look as good as any Xbox or PC game. The sound is great, including the music. The gameplay is perfect. This game has some of the best gameplay ever. It really feels like Zelda, even with the cel-shaded graphics. Of course it caused controversy, but now that I've played it I couldn't imagine this game without cel-shading. Anyway, this game is perfect. Expand
  46. TedWilsonMattosdeAzevedo
    May 5, 2004
    10
    It´s the game of the year, that´s for sure, some people can talk bad about the game, but who told that never played thegame well, I have this game, I finished, and I can say one thing: This is one of the best games ever created. Perfect cel-shading graphics, incredible battle style, the sea, everything is perfect, the only thing that don´t get to be a problem is because It´s the game of the year, that´s for sure, some people can talk bad about the game, but who told that never played thegame well, I have this game, I finished, and I can say one thing: This is one of the best games ever created. Perfect cel-shading graphics, incredible battle style, the sea, everything is perfect, the only thing that don´t get to be a problem is because the game is a bit short compared to the other Zeldas. But this game is perfect. even with that little defect. Expand
  47. AndyX.
    Jul 12, 2004
    10
    This is one of the best games on Gamecube so far. I don't know how you people could say this game was short....could be since this is the first zelda game I ever played (still took me weeks to beat). The only other adventure game that gave me this much fun is Metal gear solid: twin snakes.
  48. JennaS.
    Dec 5, 2005
    10
    Wonderful graphics and awesome gameplay! One of my favorites.
  49. RobertF.
    Feb 15, 2006
    10
    Super! Graphics are incredible and longer than people think. Get past the Forsaken Forteress and then the fun with the sword will begin! The BOOMERANG is mega fun!
  50. AnthonyL.
    Mar 24, 2006
    10
    Ok, this was just wonderful. The graphics, the sound and the gameplay are all just top notch. the game was perfect!! If I has to find something to complain about maybe the sailing around the ocean got a tad redundant. this is just one of those games on the Gamecube like Metroid Prime the PS2 and Xbox can never touch.
  51. AdamF.
    Mar 27, 2007
    10
    This game is simply perfect. The art is unique and stylish, the overworld is huge, the sailing mechanic is original and fun, the dungeons are brilliant (as always) and for the first time in Zelda, the characters feel like actual people instead of figures to sell stuff or move the story along. Anyone saying this is not "true" Zelda is just plain wrong.
  52. FergusP.
    Apr 21, 2007
    10
    A legendary tragedy.It seems that everybody relates this game to it's biggger, bolder and more universally acclaimed brother OOT. At the end of the day this is a sparkling jewel that few will have the time to appreciate.
  53. AlexC
    Feb 20, 2009
    10
    The sailing feature is brilliant, and the ability to control the wind makes this one of the best zelda games ever. A must if you have a gamecube.
  54. [Anonymous]
    Feb 21, 2003
    10
    To the previous reviewer- Nice to see you TRY things first before you make a judgement about them...
  55. CliffB.
    Feb 8, 2003
    10
    What can do you expect, anything less. This game continues the Zelda legend with it's own superb changes. It carries on the francises name with honor.
  56. DaveN.
    Mar 11, 2003
    10
    The person who gave this game a 3 has some serious issues!
  57. GegM.
    Mar 10, 2003
    10
    This is the best game i've ever played in my life.
  58. StevenM.
    Mar 10, 2003
    10
    Truly a master peice well done Nintendo, yet another classic.
  59. DannyG.
    Mar 12, 2003
    10
    This is the best game ever! NUFF SAID.
  60. JobB.
    Mar 16, 2003
    10
    I own a PS2, XBox, and a Gamecube and am known to be very hard on game reviews. I started playing this game with great skepticism, but it has been impossible to not be consistently blown away. I have beaten the import version twice and can honestly say this: That in my 15 years of gaming this is BY FAR the best piece of interactive entertainment I have come across. This game is so close I own a PS2, XBox, and a Gamecube and am known to be very hard on game reviews. I started playing this game with great skepticism, but it has been impossible to not be consistently blown away. I have beaten the import version twice and can honestly say this: That in my 15 years of gaming this is BY FAR the best piece of interactive entertainment I have come across. This game is so close to perfection I beleive Nintendo raised the bar too high for their own good. I seriously doubt any game, even Nintendo's own, will compare to this work of art in years to come. Let me summarize my review to all skeptics (whether because of the game's cel-shading or Link's age, etc) with this: The Wind Waker is the most compelling argument that interactive entertainment really is art, and everything from concept to execution are worthy of nothing less than a plethora of Academy Awards. No self-respecting gamer can call himself one if they don't pick up this game and wallow in its masterful beaufy. If you don't at the very least give "The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker" a try, you don't deserve the right to play videogames at all. Expand
  61. PatB.
    Mar 21, 2003
    10
    This game is absolutely brilliaint. The people who say "This game is childish" are usually 9-14 years old! They feel if they say that, then play "mature" games, like Resident Evil, they are "mature. HA! Don't listen to the people who say it's childish. They are the children.
  62. HeyWoodDja
    Mar 23, 2003
    10
    No flaws big enough to bring the game's score better. Challenging, and people who say its "young can go to hell. A+ game no questions.
  63. AbeH.
    Mar 23, 2003
    10
    This is the second best game I have ever played the first being Ocarina of Time. Its a masterpiece and do yourself a favour and buy this game. Buy two copies, one for playing and the other for collecting.
  64. ThomasW.
    Mar 25, 2003
    10
    A Masterpiece. It might be worse then OOT, it might be better. At this level of brillence its hard to tell. This game alone is a reason to own a Gamecube. (along with Metroid Prime, Eternal Darkness, even Super Monkey Ball)
  65. Al
    Mar 29, 2003
    10
    WOW so far this game has been a worthwhile investment....great graphics, great gameplay, great music, and probably the greatest zelda story.
  66. DamirM.
    Mar 6, 2003
    10
    Simply put, this is the best Zelda game ever.
  67. DanS.
    Mar 8, 2003
    10
    One of the best games ever.
  68. Cyrone
    Mar 8, 2003
    10
    Simply brilliant. I can't even say in words how perfect, how genious Nintendo is. Its such a shame that everyone has a bad image of Gamecube, but hopefully Zelda will change it all. Very satisfying battles and gameplay!
  69. BrendanJ.
    Apr 12, 2003
    10
    WOW. this is one great game. anyone who gives this game less than an 8 obciously hasnt bought this game. "well i played a demo at target" what kind of thing is that to say. the dungeons are masterpieces, the puzzles, challenging enough to test you but not so hard you'll get stuck, the graphics...INCREDIBLE, the sound, amazing, and the overall gameplay and combat is truly tremendous. WOW. this is one great game. anyone who gives this game less than an 8 obciously hasnt bought this game. "well i played a demo at target" what kind of thing is that to say. the dungeons are masterpieces, the puzzles, challenging enough to test you but not so hard you'll get stuck, the graphics...INCREDIBLE, the sound, amazing, and the overall gameplay and combat is truly tremendous. anyone who claims its a kiddy game is insane about trying to prove how manly they are (weirdos) is missing out on the best Zelda game ever created. The combat is spectacular and dont expect your enemies to take turns like in poorly made games, they'll all come at you if once if they please. anyone who doubts the graphics or gameplay or anything is missing out on the greatest video game experience of all time. It blow metroid prime out of the water, its in a whole different league than metroid prime and thats a great game. anyone who doubts it is half witted. until you BUY and play this game you wont know how truly wonderful it is. playing a demo doesnt give you any perspective of the unbelieveably vast world of zelda. dont pass judgement until you play at least three full dungeons, they are mind boggeling. Expand
  70. JoshJ.
    Apr 12, 2003
    10
    An epic masterpeice of enormous proportions. Absolutely stunning dungeons.
  71. MarkH
    Apr 12, 2003
    10
    Best game EVER!, if you don't buy it this instant.....then.....then.... Your just a friggin mad man.
  72. j.jBoNd
    Apr 13, 2003
    10
    this game is the best i've ever played.
  73. ThomasG.
    Apr 16, 2003
    10
    Gaming Perfection.
  74. JonathanL.
    Apr 18, 2003
    10
    This game completely kicks *insert words here*. However it is very different but nonetheless it is amazing. The graphics are amazing the sound is also amazing and the battle style(much like the other zelda games but better)is awesome. If the rating could go higher I would rate it an amazing 1000. This has to be the greatest Zelda game ever. Those who claim the graphics are kiddy are just This game completely kicks *insert words here*. However it is very different but nonetheless it is amazing. The graphics are amazing the sound is also amazing and the battle style(much like the other zelda games but better)is awesome. If the rating could go higher I would rate it an amazing 1000. This has to be the greatest Zelda game ever. Those who claim the graphics are kiddy are just plain stupid and probably haven't played it. Expand
  75. (Still)RemainingNameless
    Apr 18, 2003
    10
    i have 2 say one thing......WTF IS WRONG WITH ALL U PPL THAT DIDNT BUY IT JUST CUZ OF THE F...ING GRAPHICS?!?! this game is awsome! although the bosses were a sinch, the ending battle with ganon proved that zelda was useful 4 something other than screaming and running around. she actually fought! enev though the graphics were really screwed and it might have seemed kiddish, i bought this i have 2 say one thing......WTF IS WRONG WITH ALL U PPL THAT DIDNT BUY IT JUST CUZ OF THE F...ING GRAPHICS?!?! this game is awsome! although the bosses were a sinch, the ending battle with ganon proved that zelda was useful 4 something other than screaming and running around. she actually fought! enev though the graphics were really screwed and it might have seemed kiddish, i bought this game cuz i was a hardcore zelda fan, and u know what, i loved it. the graphics may make link look like a powerpuff girl, but who the fuck cares. its not graphics that make a good game, its gameplay and stroyline and this game followed that of zelda perfectly. this is aa amazing segment 2 the L.o.Z series and those of u that didnt buy it just cuz of the kiddish cartooning are seriously, SERIOUSLY F...ED! wicked game!!! Expand
  76. ScottM.
    Apr 29, 2003
    10
    This game is the most awesome and breathtaking game i've ever played.I've got all 3 next generation systems and this is by far the best game there is for all 3 systems.The Legend Of Zelda:The Wind Waker is the best game ever.Makers of zelda games, you rock!Thanks for the best game ever!
  77. GanonS.
    Apr 9, 2003
    10
    All I have to say is WOW! And maybe, WOW! again. I never doubted Miyamoto for a second, and neither should have you! This is definetely the best, standing with OoT, Zelda game ever! You know what I'm going to say to everyone who goes on crapping about the kiddy graphics, so I just won't say it. And for everyone who thought they were going to be cool, you were right! The All I have to say is WOW! And maybe, WOW! again. I never doubted Miyamoto for a second, and neither should have you! This is definetely the best, standing with OoT, Zelda game ever! You know what I'm going to say to everyone who goes on crapping about the kiddy graphics, so I just won't say it. And for everyone who thought they were going to be cool, you were right! The cel-shading adds a whole new concept of gaming, for this series at least, and I hope the next title will be the same. Sound and FX are great as always, as well as an excellent story line which I believe blends in very nicely to Ocarina. Also, the addition of a few sword combos, as well as the hurricane spin double the sword-swinging fun! This is truly an instant masterpice; the game of the year without a doubt, and one who's legend will live on for ages to come... Expand
  78. JesseK.
    May 10, 2003
    10
    This is one of the most interactive games I have ever seen. Despite the length of the game, I have never wanted to put the controller down until I saw the last bit of credits. I wish the dungeons were longer, but the Anime-style graphics were amazing! Later people! Peace to Brampton! Holla!
  79. JuanG.
    May 31, 2003
    10
    Although I give this game a Perfect ten I still beilieve that Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time is better. The dungeons in this game are extremely difficult compared to the other Zelda games. I dont think that a person that never played Zelda before could beat it.
  80. KyleH.
    May 9, 2003
    10
    How on earth can you say that this game does not have godly visuals. Ive played the whole thing threw and was constantly amazed at the animation, character modeling, particle effects and every other detail that I would have never thought to add. This is how cell-shading should be used. This game has the most polished graphics I have ever seen, except perhaps for Splinter Cell running on How on earth can you say that this game does not have godly visuals. Ive played the whole thing threw and was constantly amazed at the animation, character modeling, particle effects and every other detail that I would have never thought to add. This is how cell-shading should be used. This game has the most polished graphics I have ever seen, except perhaps for Splinter Cell running on PC with a geforce4. Zelda definitley deserves a 10! Expand
  81. LinktheHeroSwordsman
    Jun 17, 2003
    10
    The game is very cool and i like the fact that it is so long. It keeps players busy like me, I'm still trying to find Makar for the Wind God. Anyway I like the game better than any other game that I've ever played and it's a must have game for Zelda lovers.
  82. AntónioB.
    Jun 2, 2003
    10
    Fantastic.
  83. MarshMellow
    Jun 29, 2003
    10
    As good as it gets!!!!!!!
  84. DevonN.
    Jul 8, 2003
    10
    Awesome game. Need I say more?
  85. Jelly_Bean_Man
    Oct 11, 2004
    10
    All you whiners shut up. (In my best whiny, high-pitched voice) "The graphics are bad, it's too childish." Those are probably just people who just looked at the demo of the game from outside the store while drinking or hitting themselves hard on the head. This game, in my opinion, is a lot better than OoT or Majora's Mask. It solves a lot of the truy frustrating parts in those All you whiners shut up. (In my best whiny, high-pitched voice) "The graphics are bad, it's too childish." Those are probably just people who just looked at the demo of the game from outside the store while drinking or hitting themselves hard on the head. This game, in my opinion, is a lot better than OoT or Majora's Mask. It solves a lot of the truy frustrating parts in those games (like having to redo half of what you just spent an hour doing after playing the Song of Time, or the water level changing in the water temple in OoT). Jai Dave, having to hit your weapons teacher 500 times with you sword is monotonous, I'll give you that, but that's like saying Mario Party 3 sucks because one of the mini-games suck. Your claim that the music is bad is just not true. It is still the fantastic score it was throughout the Zelda series. Also, half of these (idiotic) people dragging the score of this excellent game down say that the graphics are bad and it's too childish. Hmmmm... The graphics are excellent, you actually feel like your playing in a cartoon, instead of the realistic but still bad (because it's on the N64) OoT and Majora's Mask. Jack in the box, have you looked at OoT lately? The graphics are not exactly excellent. There are no fingers, the ground seems to be made of solid rock, and to get EVERY single thing in the game, it will take about 90 hours and weeks lying in your bed shivering because you can't find the last heart piece. Cel-shaded DOES NOT MEAN IT WAS MADE FOR LITTLE KIDS, PEOPLE. Just look at South Park, the Simpsons, Tales of Symphonia, and anime game/book. Ryan, TWW topped sales charts a lot. The only problem I have with this game is the sailing can get somewhat boring, but that is easily forgotten while playing this beautiful game. And by the way, this game was NOT just designed for children. Just give it to your 7 year old brother and see how long it takes before he has no idea what is going on and is just playing the same mini-game over and over and over....Anyway, I'm going to go beat the crap out of something until I calm down and start hunting you idiots who dragged the score down down. ;). ~+=STARCRAFT+=~ Expand
  86. JackM.
    Oct 9, 2004
    10
    Buy this game. Even if you jsut buy the gamecube just for this game its all worth it.. this is the best game ever made since star control 2!!
  87. S.J.
    Apr 13, 2004
    10
    Beautiful absolutely beautiful, sound is crisp , and visuals are great.
  88. JorgeC.
    Jul 16, 2004
    10
    GREAT
  89. CurtisG.
    Jul 6, 2004
    10
    If you shun this (or any game) for its unrealistic graphics, you are a moron and you are nolonger allowed to play videogames lest the knives of a thousand ninjas pierce your corneas. [Ed: A little extremel?]
  90. RPierce
    Jul 7, 2004
    10
    Incredible. Replay value is high and options are endless; I have played it 4 separate times, enjoying the experience on a different level each time. Highly recommended for gamers of all ages. A+
  91. Clay
    Jan 13, 2005
    10
    Subtle, unique and superlative. Verging on video game as form of artistic expression reminiscent of the best subversive childrens literature. Very young boy is given a sword and and some clothes and sent out into the wide world to face truly frightening villians alone.
  92. Scott
    Jan 27, 2005
    10
    This game is fun.
  93. MorkN.
    Feb 1, 2005
    10
    This is the best style I'v seen in a zelda game yet or in any game in general. I hate ignorant tards who say the graphics of this game are childish and stupid. The style used in windwaker is a perfect example of what a zelda game is supposed to be like.
  94. DittoLink
    May 20, 2005
    10
    Not as good as OOT but that doesn't mean it isn't one of the best games I have ever played. The cellshading is flawless. The style fits in with the story perfectly. A better combat system than any other Zelda game. If you can't wait for the new Zelda game that will be out later this year, I suggest you buy this to pass the time. One of the best on the Cube.
  95. GM
    May 24, 2005
    10
    The most beautiful game ever created, all flaws seem like nothing in comparson to the detail and skill that has gone into this game. Put simply, a masterpiece.
  96. AndyE.
    Jul 4, 2005
    10
    This game was awesome! Really all levels are bit of challenging and I like that! It was almost as cool as the Majora's Mask just that game was more challenging... Um, a bit. And by the way you that guy that gave this game a 0, really, you and your friend just want to end the game fast. What's wrong about a bit of challenge? I guess you never have ended a game that is challenging This game was awesome! Really all levels are bit of challenging and I like that! It was almost as cool as the Majora's Mask just that game was more challenging... Um, a bit. And by the way you that guy that gave this game a 0, really, you and your friend just want to end the game fast. What's wrong about a bit of challenge? I guess you never have ended a game that is challenging like this one. Expand
  97. BrandonB.
    Jan 27, 2006
    10
    anyone who gave this game an 8 or less obviously lacks the mental capacity to recognize the beauty of this chapter in the Zelda series. the simple fact that the hero of time took so long to arise onc again to defend the land of hyrule is enough reason (for a true fan of the series) to dive right in and right any wrongs with "courage and valor". a bit frustrating, though, was the distance anyone who gave this game an 8 or less obviously lacks the mental capacity to recognize the beauty of this chapter in the Zelda series. the simple fact that the hero of time took so long to arise onc again to defend the land of hyrule is enough reason (for a true fan of the series) to dive right in and right any wrongs with "courage and valor". a bit frustrating, though, was the distance between bodies of land, that is until you have the cyclones at your disposal... other than that, this game is nothing short of brilliant as far as storyline, graphics and gameplay. and for the record... the NES and SNES titles were the greatest games of their time. no one other than miyamoto could tie these timeless classics together in a way any more heart-felt. hats-off to you, sir. Expand
  98. PaulW.
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    One of the reasons that i love this game is that, by sailing between islands that you explore, it reminds me of The Secret of Monkey Island series. It's not as funny as that series, of course, (and not trying to be) but no videogame is. Coupled with this is animation that is the equal of or better than the very best that has ever been put on film- the guards, the lava and heat haze, One of the reasons that i love this game is that, by sailing between islands that you explore, it reminds me of The Secret of Monkey Island series. It's not as funny as that series, of course, (and not trying to be) but no videogame is. Coupled with this is animation that is the equal of or better than the very best that has ever been put on film- the guards, the lava and heat haze, the town or the dragon, for instance. It is games like this that convince you that videogames shouldn't have to have their own Oscar-style cermemonies- they should have their own Oscar category like animation does. This is one of those pieces of entertainment that should be put in a time capsule for future generations. They will probably get the wrong idea about our times in general though because not everyone is as creative or peace-loving as the cast-iron genius and great man Shigeru Miyamoto. By being the perspective of a young boy, with eyes wide like saucers, it gives the game an additional amount of wonderment. 'Beyond good and evil' is perhaps the closest to the characterisation of this game in this generation. The Wind Waker keeps the formula even more classically simple. It's a fairy tale, a fable, a quest, an adventure. You could regard it as the story of a boy forced to become a man who still retains his innocence. The game gives Link enough space in his character for you to fill in the blanks how you want though. This is a game that allows you to savour just enjoying the sights. There are moments that are more poignant than cinema has realised- the guards, depicted in black and white, frozen in time in a great hall. I found it too difficult to find the pieces of the map, though, and the game is too generous with jewels. The level design many not be as intricate as Metroid Prime but then I am comparing two classic games. The sound is wonderful and the game is elegant in philosophy and style. Finally, this game is perfect for newcomers to Zelda like myself. It is not quite flawless but, in the grand scheme of things, in a world that needs innocence, elegance and art, I give this game a 10. Collapse
  99. TimS.
    Apr 8, 2006
    10
    The Wind Waker is easily one of my favorite games of all time. I find it to easily fit the phrase "next-gen expansion of OoT." I love nearly everything about it, including controversial aspects like the sailing.
  100. KevinB.
    Aug 2, 2006
    10
    this game is so dum that what I said a 2years ago but then my cousin showed me that it was cool then I stared to enjoy it and now I am real far in the game but i have not beat it but it took me to years to love this game this game rocks.

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2003
#4 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2003
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 80 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 80
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 80
  3. Negative: 0 out of 80
  1. Weekly Famitsu
    100
    10 / 10 / 10/ 10 - 40 platinum
  2. 100
    When one picks up the controller, the ability to step into that time and place (never more hauntingly beautiful than in this latest instalment) never loses its allure. Even the most hardened of cynics would have to admit that this title is something else entirely. It's the stuff of dreams. [JPN Import]
  3. 100
    Simply a stunning, magical game.